DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species 3 in the reply filed on 8/24/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Species 1 and 4 are not independent embodiments but rather comparative examples and claim 1 is generic. This is found persuasive.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
No claims are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 8/24/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Porchia et al. (US 5492705, hereinafter ‘Porchia’) in view of Yamada (US 2014/0086514).
Porchia discloses a pouch for food, which comprises a sheet forming an inner space with its edges fused (see Fig. 1); a first exhaust unit positioned in a central region of the sheet and comprising a plurality of first exhaust holes; and a second exhaust unit positioned in a peripheral region of the sheet as spaced apart from the first exhaust unit and comprising a plurality of second exhaust holes (see annotated Figures below); except does not expressly disclose the perforated line as claimed.
However, Yamada discloses food packaging being provided with a perforated line formed in the sheet (5, para 0049) as claimed.
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add the perforated line taught by Yamada to the packaging bag taught by Porchia, in order to allow the packaging bag to be easily opened as taught by Yamada (para 0049).
When viewed in combination, Porchia as modified above results in a device wherein the plurality of second exhaust holes are arranged perpendicular to the perforated line (see annotated Figure below).
Porchia as modified above further results in a device wherein the first exhaust holes and the second exhaust holes are each holes that pass through the sheet (see Porchia Fig. 2); the first exhaust holes are arranged in a direction parallel to the perforated line and a direction perpendicular to the perforated line, respectively (see annotated Figure above); the number of the first exhaust holes arranged in the direction perpendicular to the perforated line is greater than the number of the first exhaust holes arranged in the direction parallel to the perforated line (see annotated Figure above); the number of the first exhaust holes is 6 to 9 (any quantity choosable as the ‘unit’); the second exhaust unit is positioned on the left and right sides of the first exhaust unit, respectively (see annotated Figure above); the second exhaust unit positioned on the left side of the first exhaust unit and the second exhaust unit positioned on the right side comprise the same number of the second exhaust holes (see annotated Figure above); the total number of the plurality of second exhaust holes is 12 to 14 (any quantity choosable as the ‘unit’); the total number of the plurality of first exhaust holes and the plurality of second exhaust holes is 20 to 22 (any quantity choosable as the ‘units’).
Porchia as modified above further results in a device wherein the sheet does not comprise other penetrating holes than the first exhaust holes and the second exhaust holes (selecting all the middle holes between the second exhaust unit holes as the ‘first exhaust unit); the first exhaust holes are formed on the front side of the pouch for food, and the second exhaust holes are formed on the rear side of the pouch for food (Porchia all holes through both sheets); the number of the plurality of first exhaust holes is smaller than the number of the plurality of second exhaust holes (see annotated Figure above).
Regarding claims 13-16, the difference between the combination set forth above and the claimed invention is the claimed ratios of dimensions for the first and second exhaust holes. The level of ordinary skill in the art prior to the invention by applicant included the ability to change the size and/or spacing of exhaust holes to permit a desired amount of air volume to pass through, as evidenced by Porchia itself teaching different ratios of opening area percentages (col. 4, ll. 11-28). Specifying a particular dimensional proportion is not sufficient for patentability.
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to create the perforated bag taught by Porchia with the claimed ratio of dimensions, in order to allow the desired amount of air to pass through the openings as needed.
In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Regarding claim 17, Porchia as modified above discloses all limitations of the claim(s) as detailed above except does not expressly disclose the particular depth of the perforated line.
The level of ordinary skill in the art prior to the invention by applicant included the ability to change the size or depth of a portion of a flexible bag perforated line.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to construct the perforated lien with the claimed depth, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claims 17-20, Porchia as modified above discloses all limitations of the claim(s) as detailed above except does not expressly disclose the particular material properties as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the claimed materials with the claimed strengths, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/PETER N HELVEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734
October 23, 2026