DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1:
Line 8 recites “at one hanging portion”; it is unclear if this is referring to one of the previously set forth hanging portions
Line 10 recites “the hanging portion”; however, at least two hanging portions and possible three hanging portions (see “one hanging portion” discussed above) are previously recited; it is unclear which hanging portion is being referred to
The claim recites “the output terminal far away from the hanging portion”. It is unclear if “the output terminal far away…” is the output terminal previously referenced, if it is different, or if it is being further limited. The phrase “far away” is also relative and it is unclear what constitutes “far away”.
The second to last line recites “the hanging state detector”; however, the claim previously recites that each hanging portion is provided with a hanging state detector, meaning there are multiple hanging state detectors. It is unclear if only one is being referenced.
Claim 2 recites “the branch gas pipe” twice in line 3; however, the claim previously recites “at least two branch gas pipes” and it is unclear which is being referenced and whether the same one is referenced.
Claim 3 recites “one end of the main gas pipe”; however,
Claim 3 recites “the other end of the main gas pipe”
Claim 3 recites “two branch gas pipes” and “one branch gas pipe”; however, claim 2 previously recites “at least two branch gas pipes” and it is unclear if additional branch gas pipes are being claimed or if the previously recited ones are being referenced.
Claim 3 recites “the other branch gas pipe” and “the branch gas pipe”; claim 2 recites “at least two branch gas pipes” and claim 3 recites another two branch gas pipes. It is unclear which of these are being referenced.
Claims 3, 5, 7 and 8 recite “the hanging portion” and it is unclear which hanging portion is being referenced.
Claims 9 and 16 recites “the branch pipe”; however, at least two branch pipes are previously claimed and it is unclear if only one branch pipe is being referenced and if so, which one.
Claim 5 recites “the hanging state detector”; however, claim 1 previously recites that each hanging portion is provided with a hanging state detector, meaning there are multiple hanging state detectors. It is unclear if only one is being referenced.
Claim 11 recites “the main pipe” in the last line. It is unclear which of the main pipes this is referring to.
Claim 12, line 8 recites “two main pipes”; however, claim 11 previously recites “two parallel main pipes” and it is unclear if these are the ones being referred to.
Claim 10 recites the limitation " the adjustment device is configured to start and receive the adjustment signal in response to that the control device receives the liquid discharge start signal." in lines 6-7 of the claim. The claim limitation as stated is unclear and unintelligible to be examined and interpreted. Furthermore, it is unclear what the claim limitation should correctly read.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the pump assembly" in line 2 of the claim and “the dental liquid”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the pump assembly" in lines 12 and 13 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 is dependent on claim 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, therefore claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the liquid pipe set" in lines 10 and 18-19 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 15 and 16 recites “the hanging state detector” and “the hanging portion”; however, a plurality of each is previously set forth and it is unclear which is being referenced or if all are being referenced.
Claim 16 recites “two parallel main pipes” but main pipes are previously recited and unclear if these are the same or not; later recitation of “the main pipe” and “the two main pipes” is therefore also unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1- 2 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (CN 204072375 U) in view of Qi et al. (CN 109106456 A) (hereafter, “Qi”).
Regarding claim 1, Guo discloses a medical workbench (Fig. 1), comprising: a gas container (4 Fig. 1); a workbench body (see annotated Fig. 1); and a control device (mobile control platform [Abstract]), wherein: the gas container is connected to the workbench body and is configured to accommodate compressed gas ([0003-0012]; the gas tank is provided with an air pressure gauge which indicates that the air is pressurized (compressed)); the workbench body is provided with at least two hanging portions, and an output terminal is configured to be hung at one hanging portion ([0004]: elements 14, 15, 16, 13, and 12 are configured to be hung on a plurality of hooks provided on operation panel 2; see Fig. 1); the workbench body is further provided with a gas pipe set and a gas valve assembly ([0004] and [0018]) connected in series in the gas pipe set; one end of the gas pipe set is connected to the gas container (4 Fig. 1), and the other end of the gas pipe set is connected to the output terminal (see annotated Fig. 1; the output terminals (elements 14, 15, 16, 13, and 12) are provided with
pipe holes below the hooks to connect the pipes of the elements into the mobile console 1 ).
Guo does not disclose the device wherein, each hanging portion is provided with a hanging state detector, and the hanging state detector is configured to detect whether the output terminal is far away from the hanging portion; the hanging state detector is electrically connected to a signal input end of the control device, and a controllable end of the gas valve assembly is electrically connected to a signal output end of the control device; and the control device is configured to establish a gas discharge channel between the output terminal far away from the hanging portion and the gas container according to a detection signal of the hanging state detector and a gas valve on-off signal, to output the compressed gas to outside.
Qi teaches an analogous device (Figs. 1-3) comprising a gas container (200 Fig. 3); a workbench body (Figs. 1-3); a control device (pg. 3, paragraph 3: In one embodiment, the dental mobile phone liquid removing device further comprises a controller…); and a hanging portion (100 Figs. 1-3). Qi further teaches each hanging portion is provided with a hanging state detector, and the hanging state detector is configured to detect whether the output terminal is far away from the hanging portion (pg. 3, paragraph 3; the plurality of detectors senses or detects whether the mounting seat is equipped with an output termina or not). Qi further teaches that the hanging state detector is electrically connected to a signal input end of the control device, and a controllable end of the gas valve assembly is electrically connected to a signal output end of the control device; and the control device is configured to establish a gas discharge channel between the output terminal far away from the hanging portion and the gas container according to a detection signal of the hanging state detector and a gas valve on-off signal, to output the compressed gas to outside (pg. 3, paragraph 3; see that the detection of the dental mobile phone being away from the mounting seat results in the controller changing the configuration of the control valve to open thus opening the air pump; which is disclosed to be used together with the liquid removing function of the dental mobile phone (pg. 3, paragraph 2); see pages 5-6 and Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Guo to be configured such that each hanging portion is provided with a hanging state detector which can detect the presence or absence of an output terminal at the hanging portion, and subsequently signal the control device to effect gas discharge via opening or closing of the gas valves, as taught by Qi, in order to create a device that is power efficient by preventing power waste of the air pump when a given output terminal is not in-use.
Regarding claim 2, Guo as modified by Qi discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 1. Guo further teaches the medical workbench according to claim 1, wherein the gas pipe set comprises a main gas pipe and at least two branch gas pipes; one end of the main gas pipe is communicated with the gas container (4 Fig. 1 and annotated Fig. 1), and the other end of the main gas pipe is communicated with the branch gas pipe; the branch gas pipe is communicated with the output terminal in a one- to-one correspondence (see annotated Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 14, Guo as modified by Qi discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 1. Guo further discloses a dental operation device (Figs. 1 and 2), comprising: an output terminal (12/13/14/15/16 Fig. 1); and the medical workbench (elements 1 and 2; Fig. 1) according to claim 1; wherein the output terminal comprises at least two of a power connector, a three-way gun (12 Fig. 1; [0018]), an ultrasonic tooth cleaner and a sandblasting gun (14/15 Fig. 1; [0020-21]).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (CN 204072375 U) in view of Qi et al. (CN 109106456 A) (hereafter, “Qi”) and further in view of Kim (WO 2008018667 A1).
Guo as modified by Qi discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 2. Guo further teaches the medical workbench according to claim 2, wherein: the output terminal (12/13/14/15/16 Fig. 1) comprises a three-way gun (12 Fig. 1; [0018]) and a sandblasting gun (14/15 Fig. 1; [0020-21]); the gas pipe set is provided with a gas branch connector, and the gas valve assembly comprises a gas channel on-off valve; one end of the main gas pipe is communicated with the gas container, and the other end of the main gas pipe is communicated with two branch gas pipes through the gas branch connector; one branch gas pipe is connected to the three-way gun, and the other branch gas pipe is connected to the sandblasting gun; the gas channel on-off valve is connected in series to the branch gas pipe of the sandblasting gun (see annotated Figs. 1 below).
Guo is silent regarding claim 3, wherein the control device stores a preset disconnection signal for disconnecting the gas channel on- off valve, and the control device is further configured to use the preset disconnection signal as the gas valve on-off signal in response to that the three-way gun is away from the hanging portion, to form the gas discharge channel between the three-way gun and the gas container according to the preset disconnection signal; and the gas channel on-off valve is electrically connected to the signal output end of the control device, and the control device is further configured to receive a gas discharge start signal configured to turn on the gas channel on-off valve as the gas valve on-off signal in response to that the sandblasting gun is away from the hanging portion, to form the gas discharge channel between the sandblasting gun and the gas container according to the gas discharge start signal.
Kim teaches an analogous device comprising a control device (190 Fig. 4). Kim further teaches that the control device stores a preset disconnection signal for disconnecting the gas channel on- off valve ([53] element 191 of the control unit is capable of storing data which can be used to prompt the unit controller of element 190), and the control device is further configured to use the preset disconnection signal as the gas valve on-off signal in response to that the three-way gun is away from the hanging portion, to form the gas discharge channel between the three-way gun and the gas container according to the preset disconnection signal ([53]: element 191 controls the operation of the three-way valve 170 in response to an operation end signal of element 191 which have pre-stored data); and the gas channel on-off valve is electrically connected to the signal output end of the control device (see Fig. 1 and [51]: the control unit controls element 170 which is a valve for element 145 (air supply)), and the control device is further configured to receive a gas discharge start signal configured to turn on the gas channel on-off valve as the gas valve on-off signal in response to that the sandblasting gun is away from the hanging portion, to form the gas discharge channel between the sandblasting gun and the gas container according to the gas discharge start signal ([53], [60-61]; the timer sends start signal to the unit controller which turns on the valve connected to the handpiece thus allowing introduction of compressed air in to element 140 of the handpiece).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Guo as modified by Qi, to be configured such that the control device stores a preset disconnection signal for disconnecting the gas channel on-off valve and to form a gas discharge channel between the three-way gun and the gas container, and said control device configured to receive a gas discharge start signal to turn on the gas channel on-off valve, as taught by Kim, in order to provide a device that selectively adjusts the functionality of a dental handpiece based on received feedback signal thus improving efficiency and conserving energy and resources.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (CN 204072375 U) in view of Qi et al. (CN 109106456 A) (hereafter, “Qi”) in view of Pittet (WO 2011117488 A1).
Guo as modified by Qi discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 2. Guo further discloses the medical workbench, wherein the gas pipe set (5 Fig. 1 and [0016]) is provided with a gas pressure detector (an air tank pressure gauge and phone barometer; [0016]) and a pressure regulation valve (7 Fig. 1 and [0016]); the gas pressure detector is configured to detect a gas pressure in the gas pipe set, and the pressure regulation valve is configured to regulate a downstream gas pressure of the gas pipe set (the limitation as presented is functional thus, while Guo does not explicitly disclose the limitation as claimed, it clearly demonstrates that the device of Guo is capable of functioning as claimed because the air tank pressure gauge and the phone barometer can be configured to detect gas pressure in element 5, and valve 7 can be configured to regulate the air pressure of element 5, therefore satisfies the claimed limitation);
Guo does not disclose that the gas pressure detector is electrically connected to the signal input end of the control device, and the signal output end of the control device is electrically connected to a controllable end of the pressure regulation valve; the control device is configured to make the pressure regulation valve adjust the downstream gas pressure of the gas pipe set according to a gas pressure detection value of the gas pressure detector; and the gas pressure detector is configured to detect a gas pressure in the main gas pipe, and the pressure regulation valve is connected in series to the main gas pipe to adjust a downstream gas pressure of the main gas pipe.
Pittet teaches an analogous device comprising a gas pip set (see Fig. 3) provided with a gas pressure detector (34/12/13 Fig. 3) and a pressure regulation valve (33/43/22 Fig. 3). Pittet further teaches that the gas pressure detector (34/12/13 Fig. 3) is electrically connected to the signal input end of the control device (pg. 7: pressure sensors 12/13 transmits pressure measurements in the form of electrical signals to control system, 5; see Fig. 3), and the signal output end of the control device is electrically connected to a controllable end of the pressure regulation valve (see Fig. 3; element 5 is connected to element 22; pg. 7: Within the control system 5, the corresponding to the instantaneous pressure measurements of the sensors are compared with predetermined threshold values and, depending on the result of these comparisons, the controllable 22 is controlled either to remain closed if no malfunction is observed); the control device (5 Fig. 3) is configured to make the pressure regulation valve adjust the downstream gas pressure of the gas pipe set according to a gas pressure detection value of the gas pressure detector (pg. 7: The control system 5 therefore controls the 22 in response to the pressure measurements made by at least one of the sensors 12, 13); and the gas pressure detector (12 Fig. 3) is configured to detect a gas pressure in the main gas pipe (11 Fig. 3) (pg. 6-7: More specifically, using a first pressure sensor 12, also called upstream sensor 12, whose gas pressure tap is connected fluidly to the main line 11 between the inlet port 14a and the non-return means 15, and a second pressure sensor 13, also called downstream sensor 13, whose gas pressure tap is connected fluidly to the main line 11 between the non-return means 15 and the outlet 14b), and the pressure regulation valve is connected in series to the main gas pipe to adjust a downstream gas pressure of the main gas pipe (see Fig. 3; see pgs. 6-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Guo/Qi to be configured such that the gas pressure is electronically connected to the control device and the control device is connected to the pressure regulation valve; and the control device configured to adjust the downstream gas pressure via the pressure regulation valve, as taught by Pittet, in order to provide a device with a gas distribution network that provides automatic and rapid response such has increasing gas pressure or shutting off the gas valve, when failures in the gas distribution is detected.
Claim(s) 5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (CN 204072375 U) in view of Qi et al. (CN 109106456 A) (hereafter, “Qi”) and Kim (WO 2008018667 A1) and further in view of Childress (US 4106198 A).
Regarding claim 5, Guo as modified by Qi discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 1. Guo further discloses a gas compressor (3 Fig. 3); and a liquid container (water bottle; [0016]), wherein: a compressed gas output end of the gas compressor is connected to a gas inlet end of the gas container (see Fig. 3; see that air output from element 3 is connected to element 4 via elements 5 and 7). Guo does not disclose that the liquid container is connected to the workbench body, and the liquid container is configured to accommodate dental liquid; the workbench body is further provided with a liquid pipe set and a liquid valve assembly connected in series in the liquid pipe set; one end of the liquid pipe set is communicated with the liquid container, and the other end of the liquid pipe set is communicated with the output terminal; the liquid pipe set is connected to a pump assembly; the control device is further configured to receive a liquid discharge start signal input by a user; a controllable end of the liquid valve assembly is electrically connected to the signal output end of the control device, and a controllable end of the pump assembly is electrically connected to the signal output end of the control device; the control device is further configured to establish a liquid discharge channel between an output terminal and the liquid container through the liquid valve assembly and the liquid pipe set in response to that the hanging state detector detects that the output terminal is away from the hanging portion; and the control device is further configured to start the pump assembly and deliver the dental liquid in an established liquid discharge channel in response to receiving the liquid discharge start signal.
Childress teaches the analogous device, wherein the liquid container (water supply Fig. 2) is connected to the workbench body (see Figs. 1 and 2; Col. 2 lines 15-20: FIG. 2 is a schematic diagram, largely in block form, showing the control apparatus of the present invention as applied to the environmental setting of FIG. 1), and the liquid container is configured to accommodate dental liquid (the limitation as stated is functional thus, while the device of Childress does not have to teach the limitation as claimed, the water supply element of Childress is capable to function as claimed, therefore satisfying the claim requirement); the workbench body is further provided with a liquid pipe set (31/16a-d Fig. 2) and a liquid valve assembly (valves; Fig. 2) connected in series in the liquid pipe set (see Figs. 2); one end of the liquid pipe set is communicated with the liquid container (see Fig. 2; an end of element 31 is communicated with the water supply), and the other end of the liquid pipe set is communicated with the output terminal (see Figs. 2; the other end of element 16a-d is communicated with elements 15a-d); the liquid pipe set is connected to a pump assembly (element 31 is connected to solenoid operated valves; Col. 4 lines 10-15 and Fig. 2);
the control device (control apparatus means, in the form of an electrical circuit arrangement using semi-conductor devices; Col. 4 lines 15-25; see that elements 36, 39,38,40 are electrical circuits) is further configured to receive a liquid discharge start signal input by a user ( Col. 4 lines 15-35: functioning of the control apparatus means enable delivery of a selected fluid through the valves from element 31 based on user input (actuation of the foot switch 28)); a controllable end of the liquid valve assembly is electrically connected to the signal output end of the control device, and a controllable end of the pump assembly is electrically connected to the signal output end of the control device (see Fig. 2; see that the solenoid valves are connected to element 39 (an aspect of the control apparatus));
the control device is further configured to establish a liquid discharge channel between an output terminal and the liquid container through the liquid valve assembly and the liquid pipe set in response to that the hanging state detector detects that the output terminal is away from the hanging portion (see [abstract] and claim 1: control apparatus is operatively connected with and responsive to the detector means 24a; the control identifies the handpiece that have been selected by the user and removed from the console… enables delivery of a selected fluid through the applicable one of the solenoid valves receiving fluid from the conduits 29, 30, 31, and disables the handpiece locking means from locking any other handpiece in extended position (Col. 4 lines 15-35)); and
the control device is further configured to start the pump assembly and deliver the dental liquid in an established liquid discharge channel in response to receiving the liquid discharge start signal (Col. 4 lines 15-35: the control apparatus enables fluid delivery through the applicable one of the solenoid valves…).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Guo as modified by Qi, to be configured such that it is comprised of a liquid container, a liquid pipe set, a liquid valve assembly, and a pump assembly that are controllably communicated with a control device to control liquid discharge via the liquid pipe assembly, as taught by Childress, in order to provide a device that selectively adjusts the functionality of a dental handpiece based on received feedback signal thus improving efficiency and conserving energy and resources.
Regarding claim 7, Guo as modified by Qi, Kim, and Childress discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 5. Regarding claim 7, Guo does not disclose the medical workbench according to claim5, wherein: the workbench body is provided with an information output device, and the information output device is electrically connected to the signal output end of the control device; and the control device is further configured to make the information output device output a first preset prompt message.
Kim teaches an analogous device (Figs. 1 and 8), wherein: the workbench body is provided with an information output device (860 Fig. 8; [125]: element 860 is a display unit), and the information output device is electrically connected to the signal output end of the control device (see that element 860 is electrically connected to the control device 770. [129]: the timer component of element 770 transmits signals to element 860 and controls element 860 thus, element 860 must be connected to the signal output end of element 770 for it to be able to receive the signal from the timer component of element 770); and the control device (770 Fig. 8) is further configured to make the information output device (860 Fig. 8) output a first preset prompt message ([129]: the signal from the time component of element 770 controls element 860, so that the indicator lamp of element 860 indicates the current processing state).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Guo/Qi/Kim/Childress to be configured to comprise an information output device electronically connected to the signal output end of the control device, in order to provide a means for the device to indicated the current processing state of the device thus increasing functionality and efficacy.
Furthermore, Guo does not disclose that the control device is further configured to make the information output device output a first preset prompt message and/or make the pump assembly stop pumping dental liquid in response to that at least two of the hanging state detectors detect that the corresponding output terminal is away from the hanging portion.
Childress further teaches the analogous device according to claim 5, wherein the control device is further configured to make the pump assembly stop pumping dental liquid in response to that at least two of the hanging state detectors detect that the corresponding output terminal is away from the hanging portion (Col. 4 lines 15 – Col. 5 line 20: the control apparatus (including circuits 36/38-40) is configured to initiate the energizing of the solenoid valves upon selection of any handpiece which is detected via a change in the conductive state of element 24a/b/c/d connected to circuit 36 thus, the deselection of the handpiece would also cause the control apparatus to de-energize the solenoid valves since the control apparatus enables the delivery of a selected liquid through the applicable one of the solenoid valves receiving fluid from the conduits 29/30/31. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Guo/Qi/Kim/Childress to be configured such that the control device makes the pump assembly stop pumping dental liquid in response to that at least two of the hanging state detectors detect that the corresponding output terminal is away from the hanging portion, in order to allow for fluid delivery only to selected handpiece or output component thus improving efficiency and conservation of resources.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (CN 204072375 U) in view of Qi et al. (CN 109106456 A) (hereafter, “Qi”) and Kim (WO 2008018667 A1) further in view of Hsieh (US 20130295520 A1) and Gallant (WO 9844861 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Guo as modified by Qi and Kim discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 5. Guo further discloses that the control device (mobile control platform [Abstract]) comprises a circuit board (the device comprises a mobile control platform with multiple electrical components that operates base on input thus, it is obvious to an ordinary artisan that a circuit board would be an intrinsic feature of the device of Guo); and the liquid container (water bottle [abstract]), the circuit board (the device comprises a mobile control platform with multiple electrical components that operates base on input thus, it is obvious to an ordinary artisan that a circuit board would be an intrinsic feature of the device of Guo), the gas container (4 Fig. 1) and the gas compressor (3 Fig. 1) are arranged at the workbench body from up to down (see Fig. 1 and [abstract]); the workbench body comprises a workbench shell (1/2 Fig. 1), and the gas container (4; annotated Fig. 1) and the gas compressor (3; annotated Fig. 1) are arranged in the workbench shell (see annotated Fig. 1); and the gas container (4; annotated Fig. 1) is mounted at a lower side of the partition plate (see annotated Fig. 1), and the gas compressor (3; annotated Fig. 1) is mounted at a bottom end of an inner side of the workbench shell (see annotated Fig. 1).
Guo is silent regarding the control device comprising an executive device mounted at the circuit board.
Kim teaches an analogous device comprising a control device (190 Fig. 4). Kim further teaches the analogous device, wherein the control device (190 Fig. 4) comprises an executive device (192 Fig. 4) mounted at the circuit board (while Kim does not explicitly teach an executive board mounted at the circuit board, it is conventional knowledge in the field that processors and the likes are generally mounted at the circuit board for the purpose of reducing complex wiring and avoiding major design challenges. Furthermore, at the time the invention was made, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to an ordinary artisan to have the executive device mounted at the circuit board for the purpose of reducing complex wiring and avoiding major design challenges, since applicant has not disclosed that having the executive device mounted at the circuit board provides any advantage, solves any stated problem, or is used for any particular purpose and it appears that the design would perform equally well with either designs. Furthermore, absent a teaching as to criticality that mounting the executive device at the circuit board provides, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975)).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Guo/Qi to be configured such that the control device comprises an executive device mounted at the circuit board, as taught by Kim, in order to provide a device with reduced wiring complexity and efficient processing of inputted or store data to efficient functioning of the device.
Furthermore, Guo as modified by Qi and Kim does not teach that the liquid container is mounted at an upper end of an outer side of the workbench shell, and the circuit board is arranged in the workbench shell.
Hsieh teaches an analogous device (Figs. 1 and 2), wherein the liquid container (4 Figs. 1 and 2) is mounted at an upper end of an outer side of the workbench shell (1 Figs. 1 and 2) (see Figs. 1 and 2), and the circuit board (5 Fig. 3) is arranged in the workbench shell (1 Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Guo/Qi/Kim to be configured such that the liquid container is mounted at an upper end of an outer side of the workbench shell and the circuit board is arranged in the workbench shell, as taught by Hsieh, in order to provide a device with removable liquid container allowing for effective storage of the device when not in use, and a circuit board that is securely confined within the workbench shell to reduce signal interference or damages.
Furthermore, Guo as modified by Qi and Kim does not teach that the circuit board is mounted at an upper side of the partition plate.
Gallant teaches an analogous device (Figs. 1-4) comprising a gas container/compressor (200 Fig. 7; pneumatic unit), a workbench shell (10 Fig. 4); a liquid container (201 Fig. 7) and a control device (35 Figs. 1-4/ 70 Fig. 7). Gallant further teaches that the medical workbench is comprises a partition plate is provided in the workbench shell, and the circuit board (claim 5: the control means/device comprises a microprocessor) is mounted at an upper side of the partition plate (see annotated Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Guo/Qi/Kim to be configured such that the circuit board is mounted at an upper side of the partition plate, as taught by Gallant, in order to provide a device with a means for safely controlling, monitoring and operating the plurality of power tools associated with the device.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (CN 204072375 U) in view of Qi et al. (CN 109106456 A) (hereafter, “Qi”), Kim (WO 2008018667 A1) and Childress (US 4106198 A), and further in view of Gallant (WO 9844861 A1).
Guo as modified by Qi, Kim, and Childress discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 7. The combination of Guo/Qi/Kim and Childress does not disclose the medical workbench, wherein the workbench body is provided with a plurality of preset marks; the preset marks correspond to the hanging portion one by one, and the preset marks corresponding to different hanging portions comprise different preset forms.
Gallant teaches an analogous device (Figs. 1-4), wherein the workbench body (35/40/10 Figs. 1-2) is provided with a plurality of preset marks (see annotated Figs. 2 and 6); the preset marks correspond to the hanging portion one by one, and the preset marks corresponding to different hanging portions comprise different preset forms (see annotated Figs. 2 and 6; see that the power tools are of different shapes and dimensions thus have present forms that would match each respective tool).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Guo/Qi/Kim/Childress to be configured to comprise preset marks corresponding to the hanging portion one by one, and the preset marks corresponding to different hanging portions comprise different preset forms, as taught by Gallant, in order to provide a device with distinct position for each power tool as to limit placement of the pool tool in the wrong hanging portion or mis-detection of the power tools by respective sensors.
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (CN 204072375 U) in view of Qi et al. (CN 109106456 A) (hereafter, “Qi”), Kim (WO 2008018667 A1), Childress (US 4106198 A) and further in view of Raun et al. (CN 213130032 U) (hereafter “Raun”).
Regarding claim 9, Guo as modified by Qi, Kim, and Childress discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 7. The combination of Guo/Qi/Kim/Childress does not disclose that the liquid pipe set comprises a main pipe and at least two branch pipes; one end of the main pipe is communicated with the liquid container, and the other end of the main pipe is communicated with the branch pipe; the pump assembly is connected to the main pipe.
Raun teaches a liquid pipe set (Fig. 1) of an analogous device (1 Fig. 1) that comprises a main pipe (see annotated Fig. 1) and at least two branch pipes (see annotated Fig. 1); one end of the main pipe is communicated with the liquid container (14 Fig. 1) (see that an end of the annotated main pipe is communicated with element 14), and the other end of the main pipe is communicated with the branch pipe (see that an end of the annotated main pipe is communicated with the annotated branch pipes; see annotated Fig. 1); the pump assembly (19 Fig. 1) is connected to the main pipe (see that the annotated main pipe is connected to
element 19; annotated Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Guo/Qi/Kim/Childress to be configured such that the pipe set comprises a main pipe and at least two branch pipes; one end of the main pipe is communicated with the liquid container, and the other end of the main pipe is communicated with the branch pipe; the pump assembly is connected to the main pipe, as taught by Raun, in order to create a device with an efficient water circulatory piping system that allows for quick delivery of liquid to desired tools and elimination of any excess fluid which may occur in the system.
Regarding claim 10, Guo as modified by Qi, Kim, Childress and Raun discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 9. Referencing the device of Guo/Qi/Kim/Childress/Raun, Kim further teaches that the analogous device (Fig. 8) is further provided with an adjustment device (850 Fig. 8), and the adjustment device is electrically connected to the signal input end of the control device (770 Fig. 8; [125]: element 850 is an input unit that allows a user to input functioning instruction data to the control unit 770); the adjustment device is configured to receive an adjustment signal input by a user ([125]: Using the input unit 850, a user or a manufacturer can input the time when the clean water-circulating operation of the dental chair is to be conducted, the duration of the circulating operation, the time when the clean water-draining operation of the dental unit chair is to be conducted, the duration of the draining operation, the time when the water- filling operation of the dental unit chair is to be conducted and the duration of the filling operation); and the adjustment device is configured to start and receive the adjustment signal in response to that the control device receives the liquid discharge start signal (see examiner’s comments in the 35 USC 112 rejection section of this Office Action).
Furthermore, Kim further teaches that the pump assembly (760 Fig. 8) is configured to adjust according to the adjustment signal ([125]: element 850 is used to input operational instructions which are received in the timer 772 component of the control device 770; and [130]: … the unit controller 774 controls the state and the operation of the fourth valve 750, the fifth valve 780 and the circulation pump 760).
However, the device of Guo/Qi/Kim/Childress/Raun does not disclose that the pump assembly is configured to adjust a rotation speed according to the adjustment signal.
Raun further teaches that the analogous device (1 Fig. 1) provided with an adjustment device (3 Fig. 1) and a pump assembly (19 Fig. 1). Raun further that the pump assembly is configured to adjust a rotation speed according to the adjustment signal (pages 5 and 6; element 3 is an industrial controller that is able to receive a feedback signal and controls element 19 to start or stop pumping. Element 19 is a peristaltic pump (page 4) and it is an intrinsic feature that a peristaltic pump has a rotor thus, the control by element 3 to either start or stop the pumping function of element 19 has to adjust the rotation speed of the rotor of the peristaltic pump, 19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Guo/Qi/Kim/Childress/Raun to be configured to such that the pump assembly is configured to adjust a rotation speed according to the adjustment signal, as taught by Raun, in order to provide a device with a pumping system with rotors that can be easily adjusted for precise liquid dispensing.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (CN 204072375 U) in view of Qi et al. (CN 109106456 A) (hereafter, “Qi”), Kim (WO 2008018667 A1), Childress (US 4106198 A), Raun et al. (CN 213130032 U) (hereafter “Raun”) and further in view of Hahn et al. (EP 1044655 A1) (hereafter, “Hahn”).
Guo as modified by Qi, Kim, Childress and Raun discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 9. Referencing the combination device of Guo/Qi/Kim/Childress/Raun, Raun further teaches the analogous device, wherein the pump assembly comprises a peristaltic pump (19 Fig. 1; Element 19 is a peristaltic pump (page 4)), and the output terminal comprises a power connector (50 Fig. 1); the liquid pipe set comprises two parallel main pipes (see annotated Fig. 1).
The combination device of Guo/Qi/Kim/Childress/Raun does not disclose that the pump assembly comprises a serial pump, and one main pipe of the two parallel main pipes is connected in series with the serial pump, and the other main pipe is configured to connect to the power connector; the peristaltic pump is arranged in cooperation with the main pipe connected to the power connector, to make the main pipe transport the dental liquid.
Hahn teaches an analogous device (Fig. 7) comprising a peristaltic pump (184 Fig. 7) and a serial pump (186/188 Fig. 7), an output terminal comprising a power connector (10 Fig. 7); and a liquid pipe set comprising two parallel main pipes (240 and 198/206; Fig. 7). Hahn further teaches that one main pipe (198/206; Fig. 7) of the two parallel main pipes is connected in series with the serial pump (198/206 are connected to pumps 186 and 188 in series; Fig. 7), and the other main pipe (240; Fig. 7) is configured to connect to the power connector (see that element 240 connects to element 174 which is connected to the power connector, element 10); the peristaltic pump (184 Fig. 7) is arranged in cooperation with the main pipe connected to the power connector (see Fig. 7), to make the main pipe transport the dental liquid (see Fig. 7; element 240 facilitates the delivery of the content of element 194 to element 10 [abstract]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Guo/Qi/Kim/Childress/Raun to be configured such that one main pipe of the two parallel main pipes is connected in series with the serial pump, and the other main pipe is configured to connect to the power connector; the peristaltic pump is arranged in cooperation with the main pipe connected to the power connector, to make the main pipe transport the dental liquid, as taught by Hahn, in order to provide a device with a controlled fluid delivery system allowing for precise fluid delivery while reducing waste of resources.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (CN 204072375 U) in view of Qi et al. (CN 109106456 A) (hereafter, “Qi”), Kim (WO 2008018667 A1), Childress (US 4106198 A), Raun et al. (CN 213130032 U) (hereafter “Raun”) and further in view of Hahn et al. (EP 1044655 A1) (hereafter, “Hahn”).
Regarding claim 12, Guo as modified by Qi, Kim, Childress, Raun and Hahn discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 11. Referencing the combination device of Guo/Qi/Kim/Childress/Raun/Hahn, Hahn further teaches a detachable connector (190 Fig. 7; page 9: The storage container 194 has a removal head 208, which cooperates with the cannula unit 190 and will be described in more detail later) is serially connected to the main pipe (240/174 Fig. 7) connected to the power connector (10 Fig. 7), and the detachable connector is arranged at an upstream end of the peristaltic pump (184 Fig. 7) in a liquid delivery direction (see Fig. 7; the liquid flows from element 194 to element 10); and the control device (212 Fig. 7) is further configured to control the peristaltic pump (184 Fig. 7) to start and stop and the serial pump (186/188 Fig. 7) to start and stop according to the liquid discharge start signal, to form the liquid discharge channel between each output terminal and the liquid container (page 10: element 212 controls pumps 184/186/188 with corresponding ON and OFF times).
The combination device of Guo/Qi/Kim/Childress/Raun/Hahn does not disclose the medical workbench, wherein: the liquid pipe set is provided with a first distribution connector and a second distribution connector; the valve assembly comprises a distribution valve, and the liquid pipe set further comprises a common pipe; one end of the common pipe is communicated with the liquid container, and the other end of the common pipe is connected to two main pipes through the first distribution connector; two branch pipes are connected to the main pipe serially connected to the serial pump through the second distribution connector, and at least one branch pipe is connected to two branch sub-pipes through the distribution valve.
Raun teaches an embodiment of the analogous device (Fig. 2), wherein: the liquid pipe set is provided with a first distribution connector (10 Fig. 2) and a second distribution connector (32 Fig. 2); the valve assembly comprises a distribution valve (5/31 Fig. 2), and the liquid pipe set further comprises a common pipe (see annotated Fig. 2); one end of the common pipe is communicated with the liquid container (24 Fig. 2; see annotated Fig. 2), and the other end of the common pipe is connected to two main pipes through the first distribution connector (10; see annotated Fig. 2); two branch pipes are connected to the main pipe serially connected to the serial pump through the second distribution connector (32; see annotated Fig. 2), and at least one branch pipe is connected to two branch sub-pipes through the distribution valve (see annotated Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Guo/Qi/Kim/Childress/Raun/Hahn to be configured such that the liquid pipe set is provided with a first distribution connector and a second distribution connector; the valve assembly comprises a distribution valve, and the liquid pipe set further comprises a common pipe; one end of the common pipe is communicated with the liquid container, and the other end of the common pipe is connected to two main pipes through the first distribution connector; two branch pipes are connected to the main pipe serially connected to the serial pump through the second distribution connector, and at least one branch pipe is connected to two branch sub-pipes through the distribution valve, as taught by Raun, in order to create a device with an efficient water circulatory piping system that allows for quick delivery of liquid to desired tools and elimination of any excess fluid which may occur in the system.
Furthermore, the combination device of Guo/Qi/Kim/Childress/Raun/Hahn does not disclose the medical workbench, wherein: the distribution valve is configured as a three-position two-way solenoid valve comprising a cut-off position and two conduction positions; the distribution valve is electrically connected to the signal output end of the control device, and the control device is further configured to control each conduction position of the distribution valve according to an output signal of the hanging state detector.
Childress further teaches the analogous device (Fig. 2) comprising a main pipe (31 Fig. 2) and a distribution valve (valves Fig. 2); and the distribution valve (valves Fig. 2) is configured as a three-position two-way solenoid valve comprising a cut-off position and two conduction positions (the “valves” disclosed in Fig. 2 are solenoid facilitates the operative communication between the conduits 29, 30, 31 and the various hand pieces; Col. 4 lines 50-57); the distribution valve (valves Fig. 2) is electrically connected to the signal output end of the control device (see Fig. 2; see that the solenoid valves are connected to element 39 (an aspect of the control apparatus)), and the control device is further configured to control each conduction position of the distribution valve according to an output signal of the hanging state detector (Col. 4 lines 15 – Col. 5 line 20: the control apparatus (including circuits 36/38-40) is configured to initiate the energizing of the solenoid valves upon selection of any handpiece which is detected via a change in the conductive state of element 24a/b/c/d connected to circuit 36 thus, the deselection of the handpiece would also cause the control apparatus to de-energize the solenoid valves since the control apparatus enables the delivery of a selected liquid through the applicable one of the solenoid valves receiving fluid from the conduits 29/30/31.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Guo/Qi/Kim/Childress/Raun/Hahn to be configured such that the distribution valve is configured as a three-position two-way solenoid valve comprising a cut-off position and two conduction positions; the distribution valve is electrically connected to the signal output end of the control device, and the control device is further configured to control each conduction position of the distribution valve according to an output signal of the hanging state detector, as taught by Childress, in order to provide a device that selectively adjusts the functionality of a dental handpiece based on received feedback signal thus improving efficiency and conserving energy and resources.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (CN 204072375 U) in view of Qi et al. (CN 109106456 A) (hereafter, “Qi”) and further in view of Longo (IT 202100022874 A1), Hsieh (US 20130295520 A1) and Anderson et al. (US 20060204922 A1) (hereafter, “Anderson”).
Guo as modified by Qi discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 1. Guo further discloses that the medical workbench further comprises a start device (9 Fig. 1), and the start device comprises a foot pedal device (element 9 is a foot pedal) separately arranged with the output terminal and/or the start device comprises a switch assembly provided at the output terminal (12/13/14/15/16 Fig. 1; it is the examiner’s interpretation the element 9 initials delivery of air to the output terminal and as illustrated is arranged separately with the output terminal). The combination of Guo/Qi does not disclose the medical workbench, wherein: the pump assembly is configured as an electric pump, and the workbench body is further provided with a current detector and an information output device; the current detector is configured to detect a driving current of the pump assembly; the signal output end of the current detector is electrically connected to the control device, and the signal output end of the control device is electrically connected to the information output device; in response to that a detection value of the current detector is greater than or equal to a preset upper limit value or the detection value of the current detector is less than or equal to a preset lower limit value, the control device is further configured to make the information output device output a second preset prompt message and/or make the pump assembly stop pumping the dental liquid.
Longo teaches an analogous device (Fig. 1), wherein: the pump assembly (solenoid; page 2) is configured as an electric pump (solenoid are a type of an electric pump), and the workbench body is further provided with a current detector (5 Fig. 1; see page 2: … sensors 5 are configured for detecting voltage…) and an information output device (3 Fig. 1); the current detector is configured to detect a driving current of the pump assembly (page 2; sensor 5 is configured to detect the voltage applied to the solenoid valves); the signal output end of the current detector is electrically connected to the control device (see that element 5 is connected to element 4 which is the computing unit; Fig. 2. For element 5 to function as disclosed, it is the examiner’s interpretation that the signal output end of the sensor 5 must be electrically connected to the control device 4 which is configured to generate an alarm signal (6), based on the signal sent by element 5; page 2), and the signal output end of the control device is electrically connected to the information output device (Fig. 2; see that control device/computing unit 4 is connected to element 6; page 2: element 4 which is the computing unit of the electronic device 3, sends an alarm signal (6) to element 3);
in response to that a detection value of the current detector is greater than or equal to a preset upper limit value or the detection value of the current detector is less than or equal to a preset lower limit value, the control device is further configured to make the information output device output a second preset prompt message and/or make the pump assembly stop pumping the dental liquid (control device 4 which is configured to generate an alarm signal (6), based on the signal sent by element 5 which detects the voltage applied to the solenoid valves; page 2; alarm signal 6 is in the form of a written message, for example of the pop-up type, in which an indication such as "fault on the compressor", "fault on the aspirator", "fault on the solenoid valves" is expected).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Guo/Qi to be configured to comprise an electric pump and a current detector capable of detecting the driving current of the electric pump and said current detector connected to the control device which can prompt a signal output to the information display system based on the signaling of the current detection system, as taught by Longo, in order to provide a device that allows the operator to be notified of any faults attributable to a specific component of the device in order to proceed with the repair and improve efficiency of the device.
Furthermore, Guo as modified by Qi does not disclose the medical workbench, wherein an accommodation groove is provided at a top of the workbench body; part of the liquid container is accommodated in the accommodation groove, and the liquid container is detachably connected to the workbench body; a grip boss is provided at an outer side of the liquid container, and a height gap is formed between the grip boss and the top of the accommodation groove.
Hsieh teaches an analogous dental device (Figs. 1 and 2), wherein an accommodation groove (123/122 Fig. 2) is provided at a top of the workbench body (1 Figs. 1 and 2) (see Fig. 2); part of the liquid container (4 Figs. 1 and 2) is accommodated in the accommodation groove ([0034]), and the liquid container (4 Figs. 1 and 2) is detachably connected to the workbench body ([0019]: element 1 (the base) can be detached from element 4 and stored inside element 4 in order to reduce the overall side of the water jet); a grip boss is provided at an outer side of the liquid container (see annotated Fig. 1), and a height gap is formed between the
grip boss and the top of the accommodation groove (see annotated Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to the one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Guo/Qi to be configured such that the liquid container is accommodated in an accommodation groove provided at the top of the workbench with the liquid container further comprising a grip boss that is at a distance from the top of the accommodation groove, as taught by Hsieh, in order to provide a device with removable liquid container allowing for effective storage of the device when not in use.
Furthermore, Guo as modified by Qi does not disclose that for the at least one of the output terminals, the control device is configured to receive the liquid discharge start signal input by a user through the foot pedal device or through the switch assembly.
Anderson teaches an analogous device (20 Fig. 1), wherein for at least one of the output terminals (24/36 Fig. 1), the control device (28; [0042]) is configured to receive the liquid discharge start signal input by a user through the foot pedal device or through the switch assembly (74/76 Fig. 4) ([0042]: element 50 connects to the control unit 28 (Fig. 5); [0043]: element 50 can be used to control the discharge of fluid from the element 36 on or off. Element 76 can be used to control the discharge of fluid via element 24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Guo/Qi to be configured such that for at least one of the output terminals, the control device is configured to receive the liquid discharge signal input by a user through the foot pedal device or through the switch assembly, as taught by Anderson, in order to provide a device configured with a foot switch which is advantageous if the procedure to be performed requires one's hands for other activities.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (CN 204072375 U) in view of Qi et al. (CN 109106456 A) (hereafter, “Qi”), Kim (WO 2008018667 A1), Childress (US 4106198 A) and further in view of Anderson et al. (US 20060204922 A1) (hereafter, “Anderson”).
Guo as modified by Qi, Kim, and Childress discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 5.
Referencing the device of Guo/Qi/Kim/Childress according to claim 5 above, Guo further discloses a dental operation device (Figs. 1 and 2), comprising an output terminal (12/13/14/15/16 Fig. 1); and the medical workbench according to claim 5, wherein: the output terminal comprises a three-way gun (12 Fig. 1; [0018]), and the medical workbench further comprises a start device (9 Fig. 1; element 9 is a pedal switch that starts or closes gas channel to the output terminal [0025]).
Referencing the device of Guo/Qi/Kim/Childress according to claim 5 above, Childress further teaches that in response to that the hanging state detector detects that the three-way gun is away from the hanging portion, the control device is configured to establish a gas discharge channel between the three-way gun and the gas container through the gas channel switch, or receive the liquid discharge start signal input by a user through the liquid channel switch (see [abstract] and claim 1: control apparatus is operatively connected with and responsive to the detector means 24a; the control identifies the handpiece that have been selected by the user and removed from the console… enables delivery of a selected fluid through the applicable one of the solenoid valves receiving fluid from the conduits 29, 30, 31, and disables the handpiece locking means from locking any other handpiece in extended position (Col. 4 lines 15-35));
Guo as modified by Qi, Kim, and Childress does not disclose that the start device comprises a switch assembly provided at the three-way gun; the switch assembly comprises a gas channel switch and a liquid channel switch; the gas channel switch is configured to cause the gas discharge channel corresponding to the three-way gun to be connected to an outside world or closed with the outside world, and the liquid channel switch is configured to cause the liquid discharge channel corresponding to the three-way gun to be connected to the outside world or closed with the outside world; the liquid channel switch is provided with a signal output end electrically connected to the controllable end of the pump assembly.
Anderson teaches an analogous device (20 Fig. 1), wherein the start device comprises a switch assembly (86/88 Fig. 3) provided at the three-way gun (42 Fig. 4); the switch assembly comprises a gas channel switch (86; [0028]) and a liquid channel switch (88; [0028]); the gas channel switch is configured to cause the gas discharge channel corresponding to the three-way gun to be connected to an outside world or closed with the outside world ([0028]: when element 86 is pushed toward the body of element 42, the first valve 74 allows air through nozzle 42 thus causing gas discharge channel to be connected to an outside word ), and the liquid channel switch is configured to cause the liquid discharge channel corresponding to the three-way gun to be connected to the outside world or closed with the outside world ([0028]: when element 88 is pushed toward the body of element 42, the first valve 76 allows water through nozzle 42 thus causing water discharge channel to be connected to an outside word ); the liquid channel switch is provided with a signal output end electrically connected to the controllable end of the pump assembly ([0020] discloses that the fluid delivery system of element 42 comprises a pump to propel fluid through the system and towards element 42 and the liquid switch 88 provided on element 42 (Fig. 3) controls the discharge of water from element 42 ([0028]) thus, element 88 has to be connected to the pump in order to control the flow of water through the nozzle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Guo/Qi/Kim/Childress to be configured such that the start device comprises a switch assembly provided at the three-way gun, wherein the switch assembly comprises a gas channel switch and a liquid channel switch which can be used to connect the gas channel or the liquid channel to the outside world, respectively, as taught by Anderson, in order to provide a dental device that allows the user to select between discharge of air or water or combination of air/water, depending on the user’s preference.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (CN 204072375 U) in view of Qi et al. (CN 109106456 A) (hereafter, “Qi”), Kim (WO 2008018667 A1), Childress (US 4106198 A), Anderson et al. (US 20060204922 A1) (hereafter, “Anderson”) and further in view of Tocchini (US 3229368 A), Raun et al. (CN 213130032 U) (hereafter “Raun”), and Hahn et al. (EP 1044655 A1) (hereafter, “Hahn”).
Guo as modified by Qi, Kim, Childress and Anderson discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 15. Referencing the combination device of Guo/Qi/Kim/Childress/Anderson, Guo further discloses that the output terminal comprises a sandblasting gun (14/15 Fig. 1; [0020-21]), and the start device comprises a foot pedal device (9 Fig. 1) separately arranged with the output terminal (12/13/14/15/16 Fig. 1; it is the examiner’s interpretation the element 9 initials delivery of air to the output terminal and as illustrated is arranged separately with the output terminal);
The combination device of Guo/Qi/Kim/Childress/Anderson does not disclose a dental operation device, wherein a gas channel on-off valve is connected in series in the gas discharge channel corresponding to the sandblasting gun, and a liquid channel on-off valve is connected in series in the liquid discharge channel corresponding to the sandblasting gun.
Tocchini teaches an analogous device (Figs. 1 and 2) comprising a sandblasting gun (35 Figs. 1-3) and a foot pedal device (25 Fig. 2), wherein a gas channel on-off valve (60/62 Fig. 3) is connected in series in the gas discharge channel (see Fig. 3) corresponding to the sandblasting gun (35; see Fig. 3), and a liquid channel on-off valve (59/61 Fig. 3) is connected in series in the liquid discharge channel corresponding to the sandblasting gun (35; see Fig. 3), and the liquid channel on-off valve (59/61 Fig. 3) is configured as the distribution valve (Col. 3 lines 39-44: elements 59/61 serves as a distribution valve that facilitates the flow of water from element 58 to element 35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Guo/Qi/Kim/Childress/Anderson to be configured such that a gas channel on-off valve is connected in series in the gas discharge channel corresponding to the sandblasting gun, and a liquid channel on-off valve is connected in series in the liquid discharge channel corresponding to the sandblasting gun ), and the liquid channel on-off valve is configured as the distribution valve, as taught by Tocchini, in order to provide a device with a sandblasting gun arranged to selectively communicate with pressurized water tank and/or air supply tank by means of valves for more efficient functioning.
The combination device of Guo/Qi/Kim/Childress/Anderson does not disclose a dental operation device, wherein in response to that the hanging state detector detects that the sandblasting gun is away from the hanging portion, the control device is configured to receive the gas valve on-off signal or the liquid discharge start signal input by the user through the foot pedal device; in response to that the hanging state detector detects that the ultrasonic tooth cleaner is away from the hanging portion, the control device is further configured to receive the liquid discharge start signal input by the user through the foot pedal; and in response to that the hanging state detector detects that the power connector is away from the hanging portion, the control device is further configured to receive the liquid discharge start signal input by the user through the foot pedal.
Childress teaches the combination device of Guo/Qi/Kim/Childress/Anderson, wherein in response to that the hanging state detector detects that the sandblasting gun is away from the hanging portion, the control device is configured to receive the gas valve on-off signal or the liquid discharge start signal input by the user through the foot pedal device (Col. 4 lines 15 – Col. 5 line 20: the control apparatus (including circuits 36/38-40) is configured to initiate the energizing of the solenoid valves upon selection of any handpiece which is detected via a change in the conductive state of element 24a/b/c/d connected to circuit 36 thus, the deselection of the handpiece would also cause the control apparatus to de-energize the solenoid valves since the control apparatus enables the delivery of a selected liquid through the applicable one of the solenoid valves receiving fluid from the conduits 29/30/31. Col. 3 lines 55 – Col. 4 lines 14: exertion of foot pressure on the foot pedal device (25), air is delivered via the conduits 29 and 30 which are connected to the solenoid valves which allows air to be delivered to the hand pieces (15a/b/c/d). Note that this same function is applicable to the ultrasonic tooth cleaner and the power connector, respectively).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Guo/Qi/Kim/Childress/Anderson to be configured such that in response to that the hanging state detector detects that the sandblasting gun or the ultrasonic tooth cleaner or the power connector is away from the hanging portion, the control device is configured to receive the gas valve on-off signal or the liquid discharge start signal input by the user through the foot pedal device, as taught by Childress, in order to provide a device that selectively adjusts the functionality of a dental handpiece based on received feedback signal thus improving efficiency and conserving energy and resources.
The combination device of Guo/Qi/Kim/Childress/Anderson does not disclose a dental operation device, wherein the liquid pipe set comprises a main pipe and at least two branch pipes; one end of the main pipe is communicated with the liquid container, and the other end of the main pipe is communicated with the branch pipe; the pump assembly is connected to the main pipe.
Raun teaches a liquid pipe set (Fig. 1) of an analogous device (1 Fig. 1) that comprises a main pipe (see annotated Fig. 1) and at least two branch pipes (see annotated Fig. 1); one end of the main pipe is communicated with the liquid container (14 Fig. 1) (see that an end of the annotated main pipe is communicated with element 14), and the other end of the main pipe is communicated with the branch pipe (see that an end of the annotated main pipe is communicated with the annotated branch pipes; see annotated Fig. 1); the pump assembly (19 Fig. 1) is connected to the main pipe (see that the annotated main pipe is connected to
element 19; annotated Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Guo/Qi/Kim/Childress/Anderson to be configured such that the pipe set comprises a main pipe and at least two branch pipes; one end of the main pipe is communicated with the liquid container, and the other end of the main pipe is communicated with the branch pipe; the pump assembly is connected to the main pipe, as taught by Raun, in order to create a device with an efficient water circulatory piping system that allows for quick delivery of liquid to desired tools and elimination of any excess fluid which may occur in the system.
The combination device of Guo/Qi/Kim/Childress/Anderson does not disclose a dental operation device, wherein the pump assembly comprises a peristaltic pump and a serial pump, and the output terminal further comprises a power connector; the liquid pipe set comprises two parallel main pipes.
Raun further teaches the analogous device, wherein the pump assembly comprises a peristaltic pump (19 Fig. 1; Element 19 is a peristaltic pump (page 4)), and the output terminal comprises a power connector (50 Fig. 1); the liquid pipe set comprises two parallel main pipes (see annotated Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Guo/Qi/Kim/Childress/Anderson to be configured such that the pipe set the pump assembly comprises a peristaltic pump and a serial pump, and the output terminal further comprises a power connector; the liquid pipe set comprises two parallel main pipes, as taught by Raun, in order to create a device with an efficient water circulatory piping system that allows for quick delivery of liquid to desired tools and elimination of any excess fluid which may occur in the system.
The combination device of Guo/Qi/Kim/Childress/Anderson does not disclose that the serial pump is connected in series to one main pipe, and the power connector is connected to the other main pipe; the peristaltic pump is arranged in cooperation with the main pipe connected to the power connector, to make the main pipe transport dental liquid.
Hahn teaches an analogous device (Fig. 7) comprising a peristaltic pump (184 Fig. 7) and a serial pump (186/188 Fig. 7), an output terminal comprising a power connector (10 Fig. 7); and a liquid pipe set comprising two parallel main pipes (240 and 198/206; Fig. 7). Hahn further teaches that one main pipe (198/206; Fig. 7) of the two parallel main pipes is connected in series with the serial pump (198/206 are connected to pumps 186 and 188 in series; Fig. 7), and the other main pipe (240; Fig. 7) is configured to connect to the power connector (see that element 240 connects to element 174 which is connected to the power connector, element 10); the peristaltic pump (184 Fig. 7) is arranged in cooperation with the main pipe connected to the power connector (see Fig. 7), to make the main pipe transport the dental liquid (see Fig. 7; element 240 facilitates the delivery of the content of element 194 to element 10 [abstract]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Guo/Qi/Kim/Childress/Anderson to be configured such that one main pipe of the two parallel main pipes is connected in series with the serial pump, and the other main pipe is configured to connect to the power connector; the peristaltic pump is arranged in cooperation with the main pipe connected to the power connector, to make the main pipe transport the dental liquid, as taught by Hahn, in order to provide a device with a controlled fluid delivery system allowing for precise fluid delivery while reducing waste of resources.
The combination device of Guo/Qi/Kim/Childress/Anderson does not disclose that the liquid pipe set is provided with a first distribution connector and a second distribution connector; the liquid valve assembly comprises a distribution valve, and the liquid pipe set further comprises a common pipe; one end of the common pipe is communicated with the liquid container, and the other end of the common pipe is connected to the two main pipes through the first distribution connector; the two branch pipes are connected to the main pipe connected in series with the serial pump through the second distribution connector, and at least one branch pipe is connected to two branch sub-pipes through the distribution valve, and the output terminal further comprises an ultrasonic tooth cleaner; the ultrasonic tooth cleaner and the sandblasting gun are connected to the two branch sub-pipes one by one.
Raun teaches an embodiment of the analogous device (Fig. 2), wherein: the liquid pipe set is provided with a first distribution connector (10 Fig. 2) and a second distribution connector (32 Fig. 2); the valve assembly comprises a distribution valve (5/31 Fig. 2), and the liquid pipe set further comprises a common pipe (see annotated Fig. 2); one end of the common pipe is communicated with the liquid container (24 Fig. 2; see annotated Fig. 2), and the other end of the common pipe is connected to two main pipes through the first distribution connector (10; see annotated Fig. 2); the two branch pipes are connected to the main pipe connected in series with the serial pump through the second distribution connector (32; see annotated Fig. 2), and at least one branch pipe is connected to two branch sub-pipes through the distribution valve (see annotated Fig. 2), and the output terminal further comprises an ultrasonic tooth cleaner (28; see annotated Fig. 2); the ultrasonic tooth cleaner and the sandblasting gun (50; see annotated Fig. 2) are connected to the two branch sub-pipes one by one (see annotated Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Guo/Qi/Kim/Childress/Anderson to be configured such that the liquid pipe set is provided with a first distribution connector and a second distribution connector; the liquid valve assembly comprises a distribution valve, and the liquid pipe set further comprises a common pipe; one end of the common pipe is communicated with the liquid container, and the other end of the common pipe is connected to the two main pipes through the first distribution connector; the two branch pipes are connected to the main pipe connected in series with the serial pump through the second distribution connector, and at least one branch pipe is connected to two branch sub-pipes through the distribution valve, and the output terminal further comprises an ultrasonic tooth cleaner; the ultrasonic tooth cleaner and the sandblasting gun are connected to the two branch sub-pipes one by one, as taught by Raun, in order to create a device with an efficient water circulatory piping system that allows for quick delivery of liquid to desired tools and elimination of any excess fluid which may occur in the system.
Furthermore, the combination device of Guo/Qi/Kim/Childress/Anderson does not disclose that the distribution valve is configured as a three-position two-way solenoid valve comprising a cut-off position and two conduction positions; the distribution valve is electrically connected to the signal output end of the control device, the control device is further configured to control each conduction position of the distribution valve according to an output signal of the hanging state detector.
Childress further teaches the analogous device (Fig. 2) comprising a main pipe (31 Fig. 2) and a distribution valve (valves Fig. 2); and the distribution valve (valves Fig. 2) is configured as a three-position two-way solenoid valve comprising a cut-off position and two conduction positions (the “valves” disclosed in Fig. 2 are solenoid facilitates the operative communication between the conduits 29, 30, 31 and the various hand pieces; Col. 4 lines 50-57); the distribution valve (valves Fig. 2) is electrically connected to the signal output end of the control device (see Fig. 2; see that the solenoid valves are connected to element 39 (an aspect of the control apparatus)), and the control device is further configured to control each conduction position of the distribution valve according to an output signal of the hanging state detector (Col. 4 lines 15 – Col. 5 line 20: the control apparatus (including circuits 36/38-40) is configured to initiate the energizing of the solenoid valves upon selection of any handpiece which is detected via a change in the conductive state of element 24a/b/c/d connected to circuit 36 thus, the deselection of the handpiece would also cause the control apparatus to de-energize the solenoid valves since the control apparatus enables the delivery of a selected liquid through the applicable one of the solenoid valves receiving fluid from the conduits 29/30/31.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Guo/Qi/Kim/Childress/Anderson to be configured such that the distribution valve is configured as a three-position two-way solenoid valve comprising a cut-off position and two conduction positions; the distribution valve is electrically connected to the signal output end of the control device, the control device is further configured to control each conduction position of the distribution valve according to an output signal of the hanging state detector, as taught by Childress, in order to provide a device that selectively adjusts the functionality of a dental handpiece based on received feedback signal thus improving efficiency and conserving energy and resources.
Furthermore, the combination device of Guo/Qi/Kim/Childress/Anderson does not disclose that the control device is further configured to control the peristaltic pump to start and stop and the serial pump to start and stop according to the liquid discharge start signal, to make the liquid discharge channel formed between each output terminal and the liquid container.
Hahn further teaches the control device (212 Fig. 7) is further configured to control the peristaltic pump (184 Fig. 7) to start and stop and the serial pump (186/188 Fig. 7) to start and stop according to the liquid discharge start signal, to form the liquid discharge channel between each output terminal and the liquid container (page 10: element 212 controls pumps 184/186/188 with corresponding ON and OFF times).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Guo/Qi/Kim/Childress/Anderson to be configured such that control device is further configured to control the peristaltic pump to start and stop and the serial pump to start and stop according to the liquid discharge start signal, to make the liquid discharge channel formed between each output terminal and the liquid container, as taught by Hahn, in order to provide a device with a controlled fluid delivery system allowing for precise fluid delivery while reducing waste of resources.
Conclusion
/C.A./ Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/ERIC J ROSEN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3772