DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,240,536. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claim 1 is anticipated by the conflicting patented claim 1. The difference between the instant examined claim and the conflicting patented claim is that the conflicting patented claim is narrower in scope and falls within the scope of the examined claim. Thus, species or sub-genus claimed in the conflicting patent anticipates the examined claimed genus. Therefore, a patent to the examined claim genus would improperly extend the right to exclude granted by a patent to the species or sub-genus should the genus issue as a patent after the species or sub-genus. See MPEP §804(II)(B)(1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 3, 6 – 9, 12 – 17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhao et al (US 2018/0020218, hereafter Zhao).
As per claim 1, Zhao discloses a method for decoding a video signal, comprising:
determining a non-zero region in a transform block based on a width and a height of the transform block (¶ 105 and 106), wherein a last non-zero transform coefficient is positioned in the non-zero region (¶ 146);
obtaining first information regarding a position of the last non-zero transform coefficient, wherein the first information regarding a position of the last non-zero transform coefficient comprises prefix information of a horizontal position and prefix information of a vertical position for the last non-zero transform coefficient, and suffix information of the horizontal position and suffix information of the vertical position for the last non-zero transform coefficient (¶ 110 - 113); and
decoding a current transform block based on the position of the last non-zero transform coefficient (¶ 28 and 33).
As per claim 2, Zhao discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the prefix information of the horizontal position and the prefix information of the vertical position for the last non-zero transform coefficient are determined based on truncated unary binarization (¶ 110).
As per claim 3, Zhao discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the suffix information of the horizontal position and the suffix information of the vertical position for the last non-zero transform coefficient are determined based on fixed-length binarization, wherein a length of a fixed length code used for determining the suffix information of the horizontal position for the last non-zero transform coefficient is determined based on a value of the prefix information of the horizontal position for the last non-zero transform coefficient, and a length of a fixed length code used for determining the suffix information of the vertical position for the last non- zero transform coefficient is determined based on the value of the prefix information of the vertical position for the last non-zero transform coefficient (¶ 110 - 115).
As per claim 6, Zhao discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: determining the horizontal position for the last non-zero transform coefficient based on the prefix information of the horizontal position and the suffix information of the horizontal position; and determining the vertical position for the last non-zero transform coefficient based on the prefix information of the vertical position and the suffix information of the vertical position (¶ 110 - 115).
Regarding claim 8, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable for claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 2 are applicable for claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 3 are applicable for claim 10.
Regarding claim 13, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 6 are applicable for claim 13.
Regarding claim 15, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable for claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 2 are applicable for claim 16.
Regarding claim 17, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 3 are applicable for claim 17.
Regarding claim 20, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 6 are applicable for claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao in view of Cherepanov et al (US 2017/0034530, hereafter Cherepanov).
As per claim 7, Zhao discloses the method of claim 1.
However, Zhao does not explicitly teach wherein in response to the width and the height of the transform block being equal to a specific value, the non-zero region is a limited region, wherein a number of pixels in the non-zero region is a specific number.
In the same field of endeavor, Cherepanov wherein in response to the width and the height of the transform block being equal to a specific value, the non-zero region is a limited region, wherein a number of pixels in the non-zero region is a specific number (¶ 63 – 65, 76, and 77).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Zhao in view of Cherepanov. The advantage is improving transform coding.
Regarding claim 14, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 7 are applicable for claim 14.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 4, 5, 11, 12, 18, and 19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CHIKAODILI E ANYIKIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487