DETAILED ACTION
This is a final Office action responsive to the reply filed on 07/09/2026.
Claims 1 and 6 have been amended.
Claims 7 and 8 have been canceled.
Claims 1-6 and 9 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 2 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 2 “a central convex shaft” should be - - a center convex shaft - -.
Claim 1, line 18 “a spring” should be - - the spring - -.
Claim 1, line 18 “the convex pillars” should be - - the convex pillar - -.
Claim 1, line 19 “each elastic unit” should be - - each of the elastic unit - -.
Claim 1, line 28 “each spacer” should be - - each of the spacer - -.
Claim 2, line 2 “each spacer” should be - - each of the spacer - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US Patent No. 9867432), in view of Mazelsky (US Patent No. 4,742,604).
Regarding claim 1, Wu discloses a safety belt buckle locking structure comprising:
a main locking member with an axial column having a central convex shaft; the axial column further comprising a plurality of grooves arranged radially outward from the center convex shaft; the main locking member further comprising a plurality of spacers at a peripheral edge arranged at intervals and between the grooves and defining a plurality of buckle ends among the spacers; each of the grooves further comprising an elastic unit pushing from a center of the main locking member outwardly along the grooves (see annotated Figs. 4 and 5);
a cover correspondingly paired with the main locking member, and an accommodation space disposed at a bottom of the cover; the accommodation space and the openings being connected, the accommodation space further comprising a plurality of protrusions corresponding to the spacers of the main locking member, and a convex pillar disposed between adjacent pairs of the protrusions (see annotated Figs. 4 and 5);
a securing device disposed between the main locking member and the cover and having a plurality of buckle posts, a plurality of springs, a tapered spring, a linking member and an engaging disk; each of the buckle posts having an inner aperture with a spring and respectively jacketed onto the convex pillars of the cover, and the spring pushing out the buckle post and the buckle post corresponding to each elastic unit of the main locking member; the tapered spring disposed in the accommodation space of the cover; the linking member also disposed in the accommodation space of the cover and abutting one end of the tapered spring; the linking member having a positioning aperture for accepting the stopping shaft of the cover, and the stopping shaft abutting the center convex shaft of the axial column; the linking member further having a plurality of clamp openings for clamping the buckle posts; the engaging disk disposed under the linking member and abutting each spacer of the main locking member, and the engaging disk having a central aperture sleeved onto the axial column of the main locking member and further having a plurality of through holes and a plurality of notches, and the through holes are arranged corresponding to the grooves of the main locking member and accepting the buckle posts, the notches and the through holes being alternatively arranged, and the notches disposed corresponding to the spacers of the main locking member (see annotated Figs. 4 and 5); and
Wu does not disclose the cover comprising two openings and an abutting portion between the two openings the abutting portion further comprising a stopping shaft facing the accommodation space, the positioning aperture further having two convex arms perpendicular to the linking member and passing through the two openings of the cover, and the two convex arms respectively having a corresponding assembly aperture; and a handle disposed on a top of the cover and between the two convex arms of the linking member, and the handle having an eccentric shaft hole at one end corresponding to the assembly apertures of the two convex arms; an engaging shaft passing through the assembly aperture and the eccentric shaft hole such that the handle is capable of being turned and positioned between the two convex arms,
wherein the abutting portion of the cover further comprises a recess facing the stopping shaft, the recess is configured for accepting a spring piece and a pushing button disposed on one end of the spring piece, and the spring piece pushes the pushing button to contact side edges of the handle, and
wherein the handle further comprises an abutting face at a front end, when the handle is turned upward to be perpendicular to the cover, the abutting face is pushed by the pushing button therefore limiting the handle and unlocking the linking member.
However, Mazelsky teaches the cover comprising two openings and an abutting portion between the two openings the abutting portion further comprising a stopping shaft facing the accommodation space, the positioning aperture further having two convex arms perpendicular to the linking member and passing through the two openings of the cover, and the two convex arms respectively having a corresponding assembly aperture; and a handle disposed on a top of the cover and between the two convex arms of the linking member, and the handle having an eccentric shaft hole at one end corresponding to the assembly apertures of the two convex arms; an engaging shaft passing through the assembly aperture and the eccentric shaft hole such that the handle is capable of being turned and positioned between the two convex arms (see annotated Figs. 1 and 2).
wherein the abutting portion of the cover further comprises a recess facing the stopping shaft, the recess is configured for accepting a spring piece and a pushing button (68) disposed on one end of the spring piece, and the spring piece pushes the pushing button to contact side edges of the handle (see annotated Fig. 2 and Fig. 4), and
wherein the handle further comprises an abutting face at a front end, when the handle is turned upward to be perpendicular to the cover, the abutting face is pushed by the pushing button therefore limiting the handle and unlocking the linking member (see annotated Fig. 2 and Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the safety belt buckle locking structure from Wu by adding a handle disposed on a top of the cover as taught by Mazelsky in order to release simultaneously all restraining lugs by pulling the handle.
Regarding claim 2, Wu discloses, wherein each spacer further has a through hole, each protrusion of the cover has a locking aperture, and a plurality of locking members respectively pass the through holes and are respectively locked with the locking apertures (see annotated Figs. 4 and 5).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Wu in view of Mazelsky discloses, wherein an opposite end of the eccentric shaft hole of the handle further comprises a tying hole for connecting to a rope (see annotated Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Wu in view of Mazelsky discloses, wherein the handle is connected to the cover and extends beyond the cover (see annotated Figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 5, Wu discloses, wherein the elastic unit comprises a shaft, a spring member and a sliding member; the spring member is jacketed onto the shaft, the sliding member further has an axial hole for being slidably jacketed onto one end of the shaft; when the elastic unit is disposed in the groove, another end of the shaft moves towards the center convex shaft, and the spring member pushes the sliding member outwardly (see annotated Figs. 4 and 5).
Regarding claim 6, Wu discloses, wherein the sliding member further has a pushing portion (see annotated Figs. 4 and 5).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Wu in view of Mazelsky discloses, wherein the two openings of the cover further respectively comprise an arced convex portion for covering a sidewall of the convex arm of the linking member (see annotated Fig. 2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant alleged that Wu in view of Mazelsky does not teach or suggest an abutting portion of a cover having a recess facing the stopping shaft, in which the recess is configured for accepting a spring piece and a pushing button disposed on one end of the spring piece, and the spring piece pushes the pushing button to contact side edges of the handle, and the handle having an abutting face at a front end, and when the handle is turned upward to be perpendicular to the cover, the abutting face is pushed by the pushing button therefore limiting the handle and unlocking the linking member. The examiner disagrees because Mazelsky broadly teaches an abutting portion of a cover having a recess facing the stopping shaft, in which the recess is configured for accepting a spring piece and a pushing button (68) disposed on one end of the spring piece, and the spring piece pushes the pushing button to contact side edges of the handle, and the handle having an abutting face at a front end, and when the handle is turned upward to be perpendicular to the cover, the abutting face is pushed by the pushing button therefore limiting the handle and unlocking the linking member (see annotated Fig. 2 and Fig. 4). Applicant’s arguments are more limiting than claimed invention.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LOUIS A. MERCADO/
Examiner
Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/SPE, Art Unit 3677