DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tanaka et al. (US 2010/0283555).
Regarding Claim 1, Tanaka discloses an electronic component (Figures 1-21C) comprising:
a first main body (23, Figures 3, 4B, 7-8, 10A) including a plurality of dielectric layers stacked together (Paragraph 63, “…The wiring board 23 is constructed by stacking a plurality of dielectric layers to assume a multilayer wiring structure…”), a plurality of conductors (comprising conductors connected to 25a, 25b, 12, 13, Figures 3, 7-8, 10A, 10B, 206, 212, Figure 6B, 207, 213, Figure 6C, 208, 214, Figure 6D, 209, 215, Figure 6E), and a first circuit constituted using the plurality of conductors (first circuit comprising inductors 3, 5, 7, capacitors 2, 4 constituted using the plurality of conductors, Figures 3, 4B, 7-8, 10A, 10B); and
a second main body (20, Figures 3, 7-8, 10A) including a second circuit connected to the first circuit (second circuit 20 connected to the first circuit, Figures 3, 4B, 7-8, 10A, 10B), wherein the first main body includes a first surface located at an end of the plurality of dielectric layers in a stacking direction (a first surface of 23 adjacent to 20), the second main body is mounted on the first surface (20 mounted the first surface), the first main body includes a first region that overlaps the second main body when viewed in the stacking direction, and a second region that does not overlap the second main body when viewed in the stacking direction (Figures 4B, 10A shows a first region that overlaps the second main body and a second region that does not overlap the second main body), the plurality of conductors include a plurality of capacitor conductors to constitute at least one capacitor (comprising 206, 212, Figure 6B, 207, 213, Figure 6C), and at least one inductor conductor to constitute at least one inductor (comprising 208, 214, Figure 6D, 209, 215, Figure 6E), at least a part of the plurality of capacitor conductors is disposed in the first region 2, 4, Figure 8), the at least one inductor conductor includes a major part disposed in the second region (part of 206, 212 and 207, 213 in the second region/toward the periphery of 203, Figures 6B, 6C), and a non-major part (non-major part of 206, 212 and 207, 213 toward center of 203, Figures 6B, 6C), and the non-major part is disposed in the second region, or is disposed at least in part in the first region (non-major part of 206, 212 and 207, 213 toward center of 203, Figures 6B, 6C).
Regarding Claim 2, Tanaka discloses the electronic component according to Claim 1, wherein the first circuit includes the at least one capacitor and the at least one inductor (capacitor comprising 2, 4 and inductor comprising 3, 5, Figures 1, 3, 7, 8).
Regarding Claim 3, Tanaka discloses the electronic component according to Claim 1, wherein no other inductors and no other capacitors are provided between the at least a part of the plurality of capacitor conductors and the second main body (2, 4, Figures 1, 3, 7, 8, no other capacitors between 206, 212 in Figure 6B and between 207, 213 in Figure 6C).
Regarding Claim 4, Tanaka discloses the electronic component according to Claim 1, wherein an area of a planar figure created by vertically projecting the at least a part of the plurality of capacitor conductors, the at least a part being disposed in the first region, onto the first surface is greater than an area of a planar figure created by vertically projecting a part of the non-major part, the part being disposed in the first region, onto the first surface (spacing of 206, 212 and 207, 213 in Figures 6B, 6C relative to 208, 214 and Figures 6D, 6E respectively).
Regarding Claim 5, Tanaka discloses the electronic component according to Claim 1, wherein the at least one capacitor comprises a plurality of capacitors, and the at least a part of the plurality of capacitor conductors (capacitors 2, 4 and capacitor conductors connected to 12, 13, Figures 1, 3, 7-8, capacitor conductors 206, 212, 207, 213, Figures 6B, 6C), the at least a part being disposed in the first region, constitutes two or more of the plurality of capacitors (206, 212, 207, 213, Figures 6B, 6C).
Regarding Claim 6, Tanaka discloses the electronic component according to Claim l, wherein the at least one inductor comprises a plurality of inductors (inductors 3, 5, 7), and the at least one inductor conductor comprises a plurality of inductor conductors (inductor conductors 25a, 25b, Figures 10A, 10B).
Regarding Claim 7, Tanaka discloses the electronic component according to Claim 1, wherein the at least one inductor conductor is wound around an axis extending in a direction parallel to the stacking direction (3, 5 wound around an axis parallel to the stacking direction, stacking axis being perpendicular plane/surface).
Regarding Claim 8, Tanaka discloses the electronic component according to Claim 1, wherein the second region covers at least a part of an outer circurnferential portion of the first region (non-overlapping/second region of the first main body 23, Figures 4A, 10A).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Shinkai et a. (US 11,328,872) discloses an electronic component (1, Figures 1-5) comprising:
a first main body (37, Figure 2) including a plurality of dielectric layers stacked together (37 comprising dielectric layers 31-37, Figure 2), a plurality of conductors (comprising 311, 331, 341, 351, 311, 316, 326, 336, 312, 332, 342, 352, Figure 2), and a first circuit constituted using the plurality of conductors (comprising inductors 11, 12, 17, capacitors 13, 14, 15, 16, Figure 2); and a second main body (21, Figure 2), wherein the first main body includes a first surface located at an end of the plurality of dielectric layers in a stacking direction (a first surface of 37 adjacent to 21a), the second main body is mounted on the first surface (21 mounted the first surface, Figure 2).
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/LUCY M THOMAS/Examiner, Art Unit 2838, 10/30/2026
/CRYSTAL L HAMMOND/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838