DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2024-075723, filed on 05/08/2024 and received 02/17/2025.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 3-4 and 6-9 are pending in the instant patent application. Claims 1 and 3-4 have been amended. Claims 2 and 5 have been canceled and Claims 6-9 are new.
Response to Claim Amendments
Applicant’s amendments to the claims are insufficient to overcome the 35 U.S.C. §101 rejections. The rejections remain pending and are updated and addressed below in light of the amendments and per guidelines for 101 analysis (PEG 2019).
Applicant’s amendments to the claims are insufficient to overcome the 35 U.S.C. §103 rejections. The rejections remain pending and are updated and addressed below in light of the amendments.
Response to 35 U.S.C. §101 Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding 35 U.S.C. §101 rejection of the claims have been fully considered, but are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments that the amended language and additional elements amount to significantly more than the abstract idea, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner maintains and asserts that the “acquire unit information…”, “acquire service information…” and “set an operation schedule…” limitations still recite abstract ideas, specifically Mental Processes. Examiner will also note remind Applicant that the courts have found claims requiring a generic computer or nominally reciting a generic computer may still recite a mental process even though the claim limitations are not performed entirely in the human mind. Furthermore, the amended limitations are not indicative of integration into a practical application because they are generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP 2106.05(h) and adds insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(g).
Examiner will further note an important consideration to evaluate when determining whether the claim as a whole integrates a judicial exception into a practical application is whether the claimed invention improves the functioning of a computer or other technology. MPEP 2106.04(a) and 2106.05(a) provide a detailed explanation of how to perform this analysis. In short, first the specification should be evaluated to determine if the disclosure provides sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the claimed invention as providing an improvement. The specification need not explicitly set forth the improvement, but it must describe the invention such that the improvement would be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art. Conversely, if the specification explicitly sets forth an improvement but in a conclusory manner (i.e., a bare assertion of an improvement without the detail necessary to be apparent to a person of ordinary skill in the art), the examiner should not determine the claim improves technology. In analyzing the specification, Examiner maintains that the specification sets forth an improvement, but in a conclusory manner and furthermore the claims do not reflect the disclosed improvement or effectively demonstrate an improvement to existing technology. In addition, (ref: 2106.04(d)(1)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Regarding Claims 1, 3-4 and 6-9, they are directed to a system, however the claims are directed to a judicial exception without significantly more. Claims 1, 3-4 and 6-9 are directed to the abstract idea of managing an autonomous robot.
Performing the Step 2A Prong 1 analysis while referring specifically to independent Claim 1, claim 1 recites to acquire unit information on the plurality of accessory units, acquire service information on the multiple types of services to be executed; set an operation schedule, the operation schedule including information on a corresponding time period for each service of the multiple types of services and information the operation schedule including information on a corresponding time period for each service of the multiple types of services and information for executing the service at the corresponding time period; and display schedule information indicating the operation schedule.
These claim limitations fall within the Mental Processes grouping of abstract ideas for they are concepts that can be practically performed in the human mind and/or with pen/paper. Furthermore, the courts have found claims requiring a generic computer or nominally reciting a generic computer may still recite a mental process even though the claim limitations are not performed entirely in the human mind.
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea and dependent claims 3, and 6-9 further recite the abstract idea.
Regarding Step 2A Prong 2 analysis, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular the claim recites the elements of an autonomous mobile robot; a plurality of accessory units configured to be mounted on the autonomous mobile robot to execute multiple types of services, the plurality of accessory units including at least one of a conveyance unit, a cleaning unit, a security unit, or a guide unit; a user terminal; and wherein the autonomous mobile robot is configured to perform a mounting operation to mount the accessory units and execute the multiple types of services based on the operation schedule. These are merely generic computing devices and do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Furthermore, the “user terminal” limitation recites insignificant extra-solution activity and the limitations are further generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
With respect to 2B, the claims do not include additional elements amounting to significantly more than the abstract idea. Claims 1, 3-4, and 6-9 includes various elements that are not directed to the abstract idea under 2A. These elements include an autonomous robot, a plurality of accessory units, a processor, a user terminal, a management system, a conveyance unit, a cleaning unit, a security unit, a guide unit and the generic computing elements described in the Applicant's specification in at least Para 0028-0029. These elements do not amount to more than the abstract idea because it is a generic computer performing generic functions.
Therefore, Claims 1, 3-4 and 6-9 alone or in combination, are not drawn to eligible subject matter as they are directed to abstract ideas without significantly more.
Response to 35 U.S.C. §103 Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding 35 U.S.C. §103 rejection of the claims have been fully considered, but are not persuasive. Furthermore, Applicant’s arguments are moot in light of newly amended language and newly cited art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kisiler et al. (US 2021/0188430 A1) in view of Huang et al. (US 2020/0050198 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kisiler teaches the limitations of Claim 1 which state
an autonomous robot (Kisiler: Para 0054 via Referring again to FIG. 1, the workforce system 100 includes a task server system 122 that facilitates task creation and execution, among other workforce management functions. In particular, the task server system 122 manages one or more autonomous machines for automating one or more tasks. Autonomous machines may include, for example, task robots 124 and task tools 128. The task robots 124 may be any type of machine that is capable of carrying out complex tasks automatically that have effects on the physical world and is programmable by a computer).
a plurality of accessory units configured to be mounted on the autonomous mobile robot to execute multiple types of services, the plurality of accessory units including at least one of a conveyance unit, a cleaning unit, a security unit, or a guide unit (Kisiler: Para 0056, 0089 via The task tools 128 include tools, attachments, appendages, and accessories used to execute a variety of tasks. Exemplary task tools are indicated by numeral 130, for example, a rake head attachment, a cleaning brush attachment, a vacuum attachment, and a lawn maintenance blade. In some embodiments, the task robots 124 may include one or more of the task tools 128 (e.g., as an appendage or attachment) and/or may be able to utilize one or more of the task tools 128 for completing a task… the task robots 124 may also include task attachments 716. In some embodiments, the task attachments 716 include one or more of the task tools 126, for example, as shown in FIG. 1 by numeral 130, a rake head attachment, a cleaning brush attachment, a vacuum attachment, and a lawn maintenance blade. In some embodiments, the task attachments 716 are integrated with the task robots 124. In other embodiments, the task attachments 716 are detachable from the task robots 124 and may be exchanged with other task attachments 716. It is appreciated that some task attachments 716 may perform multiple functions. For example, a vacuum attachment may also include a cleaning brush function. In some embodiments, the task attachments 716 may have computer functionality (e.g., a smart task tool that is internet-enabled) while other task attachments 716 may not have computer functionality (e.g., dumb or non-internet-enabled physical devices and everyday objects);
a processor configured to: acquire information on the plurality of accessory units (Kisiler: Para 0056, 0089 via The task tools 128 include tools, attachments, appendages, and accessories used to execute a variety of tasks. Exemplary task tools are indicated by numeral 130, for example, a rake head attachment, a cleaning brush attachment, a vacuum attachment, and a lawn maintenance blade. In some embodiments, the task robots 124 may include one or more of the task tools 128 (e.g., as an appendage or attachment) and/or may be able to utilize one or more of the task tools 128 for completing a task… the task robots 124 may also include task attachments 716. In some embodiments, the task attachments 716 include one or more of the task tools 126, for example, as shown in FIG. 1 by numeral 130, a rake head attachment, a cleaning brush attachment, a vacuum attachment, and a lawn maintenance blade. In some embodiments, the task attachments 716 are integrated with the task robots 124. In other embodiments, the task attachments 716 are detachable from the task robots 124 and may be exchanged with other task attachments 716. It is appreciated that some task attachments 716 may perform multiple functions. For example, a vacuum attachment may also include a cleaning brush function. In some embodiments, the task attachments 716 may have computer functionality (e.g., a smart task tool that is internet-enabled) while other task attachments 716 may not have computer functionality (e.g., dumb or non-internet-enabled physical devices and everyday objects).
However, Kisiler does not explicitly disclose the limitations of Claim 1 which states to set an operation schedule of the autonomous mobile robot and the plurality of accessory units and the operating schedule including information on a corresponding time period for each service of the multiple types of services.
Huang though, with the teachings of Kisiler, teaches of
set an operation schedule of the autonomous mobile robot and the plurality of accessory units and the operating schedule including information on a corresponding time period for each service of the multiple types of services (Huang: Para 0043-0044 via A mobile application 208, executed by a processor 206 on the mobile device 204, presents (222) an interface including a prompt to create a cleaning schedule for the autonomous cleaning robot 214. The user 202, through at least one input (e.g., a button, a touch screen display, etc.) of the mobile device 204, selects (224) cleaning schedule parameters. Cleaning schedule parameters include scheduling parameters (time, day, frequency, etc.) and cleaning parameters (spot cleaning, edge cleaning, etc.), to define the schedule. The cloud computing system 210, checks (226), by a processor 212, whether parameters of the selected cleaning schedule conflict with previously stored cleaning schedules. In some implementations, cleaning schedules may not overlap, may not be within a certain amount of time (e.g., 3 hours) after another cleaning schedule (e.g., to allow time for completion of the cleaning schedule and charging time), etc. If the selected cleaning schedule conflicts with another cleaning schedule, an error message is presented (228) on the mobile device 204 and the user 202 is prompted (222) to create a new cleaning schedule. If the selected cleaning schedule does not conflict with another cleaning schedule, the selected cleaning schedule is presented (230) on a list of cleaning schedules. At a time corresponding to a scheduled time of the cleaning schedule, the mobile device 204 transmits (232) data to the autonomous cleaning robot 214 to cause the autonomous cleaning robot 214 to initiate a cleaning mission according to the cleaning schedule. A processor 216 of the autonomous cleaning robot 214 causes the autonomous cleaning robot to execute (234) the cleaning mission according to the schedule).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kisiler with the teachings of Huang in order to have set an operation schedule of the autonomous mobile robot and the plurality of accessory units and the operating schedule including information on a corresponding time period for each service of the multiple types of services. The motivations behind this being to incorporate the teachings of scheduling and controlling autonomous cleaning robots as taught by Huang. Furthermore, in addition to being in the same CPC class, the teachings, suggestions, and motivations in this prior art would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
The combination of Kisiler/Huang, further teaches the limitations of Claim 1 which state
and information on an assigned accessory unit among the plurality of accessory units to be mounted on the autonomous mobile robot for executing the service at the corresponding time period (Kisiler: Para 0056, 0089, 0103 via The task tools 128 include tools, attachments, appendages, and accessories used to execute a variety of tasks. Exemplary task tools are indicated by numeral 130, for example, a rake head attachment, a cleaning brush attachment, a vacuum attachment, and a lawn maintenance blade. In some embodiments, the task robots 124 may include one or more of the task tools 128 (e.g., as an appendage or attachment) and/or may be able to utilize one or more of the task tools 128 for completing a task… Referring again to FIG. 7, the task robots 124 may also include task attachments 716. In some embodiments, the task attachments 716 include one or more of the task tools 126, for example, as shown in FIG. 1 by numeral 130, a rake head attachment, a cleaning brush attachment, a vacuum attachment, and a lawn maintenance blade. In some embodiments, the task attachments 716 are integrated with the task robots 124. In other embodiments, the task attachments 716 are detachable from the task robots 124 and may be exchanged with other task attachments 716. It is appreciated that some task attachments 716 may perform multiple functions. For example, a vacuum attachment may also include a cleaning brush function…The task execution and scheduling manager 1010 is configured to facilitate performance and completion of one or more tasks in conjunction with the base station pod 132, the task robots 124, and the task tools 128. For example based on the task, one or more task robots 124 and/or one or more task tools 128 are deployed to the task area 102. As the task is being performed, real-time data from the task robots 124, the task tools 128, and/or the devices 116 is transmitted to the task server system 122. Using the real-time data, the task server system 122 confirms when tasks are completed and may control the task robots 124 and/or the task tools 128 to switch to another task and/or return to the base station pod 132).
a user terminal configured to display schedule information indicating the operation schedule (Huang: Para 0054 via Referring to FIG. 10, an interface 1000 shows a list of cleaning schedules including a first cleaning schedule 1002 and a second cleaning schedule 1004. The first cleaning schedule 1002 is a clean all cleaning schedule for 9:00 AM on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays. The first cleaning schedule is deactivated as shown by the a toggle 1006 being in a first position. In some implementations, the first schedule may be shown on the interface 1000 as greyed out, in a different color, etc. The first cleaning schedule may be activated by selecting a toggle 1006. The second cleaning schedule 1004 is a room-specific cleaning schedule for 9:00 AM on Tuesdays and Thursdays. The second cleaning schedule 1004 includes instructions to clean the Kitchen, Living Room, Entryway, and Dining Room).
wherein the autonomous mobile robot is configured to perform a mounting operation to mount the accessory units and execute the multiple types of services based on the operation schedule (Kisiler: Para 0056, 0089, 0103 via The task tools 128 include tools, attachments, appendages, and accessories used to execute a variety of tasks. Exemplary task tools are indicated by numeral 130, for example, a rake head attachment, a cleaning brush attachment, a vacuum attachment, and a lawn maintenance blade. In some embodiments, the task robots 124 may include one or more of the task tools 128 (e.g., as an appendage or attachment) and/or may be able to utilize one or more of the task tools 128 for completing a task… Referring again to FIG. 7, the task robots 124 may also include task attachments 716. In some embodiments, the task attachments 716 include one or more of the task tools 126, for example, as shown in FIG. 1 by numeral 130, a rake head attachment, a cleaning brush attachment, a vacuum attachment, and a lawn maintenance blade. In some embodiments, the task attachments 716 are integrated with the task robots 124. In other embodiments, the task attachments 716 are detachable from the task robots 124 and may be exchanged with other task attachments 716. It is appreciated that some task attachments 716 may perform multiple functions. For example, a vacuum attachment may also include a cleaning brush function…The task execution and scheduling manager 1010 is configured to facilitate performance and completion of one or more tasks in conjunction with the base station pod 132, the task robots 124, and the task tools 128. For example based on the task, one or more task robots 124 and/or one or more task tools 128 are deployed to the task area 102. As the task is being performed, real-time data from the task robots 124, the task tools 128, and/or the devices 116 is transmitted to the task server system 122. Using the real-time data, the task server system 122 confirms when tasks are completed and may control the task robots 124 and/or the task tools 128 to switch to another task and/or return to the base station pod 132).
Regarding Claim 3, Kisiler/Huang teaches the limitations of Claim 3 which state
wherein the processor is configured to generate a control signal for the autonomous mobile robot and the accessory units based on the output schedule information (Huang: Para 0044 via At a time corresponding to a scheduled time of the cleaning schedule, the mobile device 204 transmits (232) data to the autonomous cleaning robot 214 to cause the autonomous cleaning robot 214 to initiate a cleaning mission according to the cleaning schedule. A processor 216 of the autonomous cleaning robot 214 causes the autonomous cleaning robot to execute (234) the cleaning mission according to the schedule. The cleaning schedule may instruct the autonomous cleaning robot 214 to perform specific cleaning tasks, clean specific areas (e.g., rooms, floors), etc., as discussed below with respect to FIGS. 3-11).
Regarding Claim 7, Kisiler/Huang teaches the limitations of Claim 7 which state
wherein the cleaning unit includes at least one of a cleaner configured to suck dust, a brush, a pad for wiping a floor, and a mop (Kisiler: Para 0056 via The task tools 128 include tools, attachments, appendages, and accessories used to execute a variety of tasks. Exemplary task tools are indicated by numeral 130, for example, a rake head attachment, a cleaning brush attachment, a vacuum attachment, and a lawn maintenance blade. In some embodiments, the task robots 124 may include one or more of the task tools 128 (e.g., as an appendage or attachment) and/or may be able to utilize one or more of the task tools 128 for completing a task).
Regarding Claim 8, Kisiler/Huang teaches the limitations of Claim 8 which state
wherein the security unit includes at least one of a camera, an infrared camera, a ranging sensor, an optical sensor, a thermal sensor, and a smoke sensor. (Kisiler: Para 0084, 0088 via The task robot 124 includes a robot processor 702, a robot memory 704, a robot database 706, a robot location system 708, robot input/output (I/O) devices 710, robot interfaces 712, robot sensors 714, and task attachments 716… Generally, the robot sensors 714 discussed herein sense and measure a stimulus (e.g., a signal, a property, a measurement, a quantity) associated with the task robot 124 and/or an environment surrounding the task robot 124, which may include, the task area 102, other robots, the task tools 126, among others. The robot sensors 714 may generate a data stream and/or a signal representing the stimulus, analyze the signal and/or transmit the signal to another component, for example, the robot processor 702. The robot sensors 714 discussed herein may include one sensor, more than one sensor, groups of sensors, and may be part of larger sensing systems, for example, monitoring systems, the robot location system 708. Further, the robot sensors 714 may include one or more of the sensors 900 described in FIG. 9. The sensors may be in various configurations and may include different types of sensors, for example, electric current/potential sensors (e.g., proximity, inductive, capacitive, electrostatic), acoustic sensors, subsonic, sonic, and ultrasonic sensors, vibration sensors (e.g., piezoelectric) visual sensors, imaging sensors, thermal sensors, temperature sensors, pressure sensors, photoelectric sensors, among others).
Regarding Claim 9, Kisiler/Huang teaches the limitations of Claim 9 which state
wherein the guide unit includes an input device configured to receive an input of a destination from a visitor (Huang: Para 0051 via Referring to FIG. 7, an interface 700 shows scheduling options for scheduling a recurring cleaning mission for the autonomous cleaning robot 214 in individual rooms. The interface 700, similar to interfaces 400, 500, and 600 discussed previously, includes a time section 702, a rooms section 704, and a settings section 706. In the time section 702, a once button 710 and a weekly button 712 are presented along with a time selector 608. Cleaning parameters may be set by selecting cleaning preferences option 718 in the setting section 706. Array 714 including day of the week buttons is presented as the weekly button 712 is selected. In the rooms section 704, a choose rooms button 722 and a clean all button 724 are presented).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kisiler et al. (US 2021/0188430 A1) in view of Huang et al. (US 2020/0050198 A1) further in view of Pruitt et al. (US 2024/0165802 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, while Kisiler/Huang teaches the limitations of Claim 1, it does not explicitly disclose the limitations of Claim 4 which state the management system further includes a plurality of autonomous mobile robots, and the processor is configured to set the operation schedule so as to cause the plurality of autonomous mobile robots to execute the multiple types of services in a distributed manner.
Pruitt though, with the teachings of Kisiler/Huang, teaches of
the management system further includes a plurality of autonomous mobile robots, and the processor is configured to set the operation schedule so as to cause the plurality of autonomous mobile robots to execute the multiple types of services in a distributed manner (Priutt: Para 0011 via Examples disclosed herein are directed to a server comprising: a memory; and a processor interconnected with the memory, the processor configured to: obtain a planning period divided into a plurality of timeslots; obtain a planning period divided into a plurality of timeslots; obtain input constraints including (i) a number of mobile robots in the robot pool, (ii) a number of docks for charging the mobile robots and (iii) a target number of active robots available for work at a given timeslot; obtain robot parameters and generate a robot agent based on the robot parameters for each of the mobile robots; define a work weight and a charge weight for each timeslot in the planning period; determine, for each mobile robot by the respective robot agent, a schedule portion based on the work weights, the charge weights and the robot parameters, the schedule portion selecting, for each timeslot in the planning period for the mobile robot to work or to charge; and in response to determining that a finalization condition and the input constraints are satisfied by the schedule portions, send the schedule portions to each respective mobile robot to fulfill during the planning period).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kisiler/Huang with the teachings of Pruitt in order to have the management system further includes a plurality of autonomous mobile robots, and the processor is configured to set the operation schedule so as to cause the plurality of autonomous mobile robots to execute the multiple types of services in a distributed manner. The motivations behind this being to incorporate the teachings of scheduling mobile robots to perform tasks as taught by Pruitt. Furthermore, combining prior art elements according to known methods will yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kisiler et al. (US 2021/0188430 A1) in view of Huang et al. (US 2020/0050198 A1) further in view of List et al. (US 2023/0150321 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, while Kisiler/Huang teaches the limitations of Claim 1, it does not explicitly disclose the limitations of Claim 6 which state wherein the conveyance unit is a wagon or a cart with wheels configured to convey an object.
List though, with the teachings of Kisiler/Huang, teaches of
wherein the conveyance unit is a wagon or a cart with wheels configured to convey an object (List: Para 0096 via The robot (16) moves in a sideward direction with the end effector (9) pressed into the receiver hitch to mechanically align the end effector (9) and tow arm (6) squarely with the receiver hitch (1). At least one of the second sensors (111) can be used to detect this alignment (e.g., using any of the alignment techniques discussed above). Once aligned, the end effector (9) clamps (11) are retracted onto the side posts (3) to secure the receiver hitch (1) to the robot (16) for towing the cart (22). Based on the parameters (28) of the cart (22), the arms (113) are extended to extend beyond the outside edges of the cart (22) to provide sideward and rearward sensor coverage even when the cart (22) exceeds the default sensor envelope of the robot (16)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kisiler/Huang with the teachings of List in order to have wherein the conveyance unit is a wagon or a cart with wheels configured to convey an object. The motivations behind this being to incorporate the teachings of using an autonomous robot for the transportation of carts. Furthermore, combining prior art elements according to known methods will yield predictable results.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.E.S./ Examiner, Art Unit 3625
/BETH V BOSWELL/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3625