DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response to restriction requirement filed on June 5, 2026 have been received and entered. Claims 1-30 are pending in the instant application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-22 (group I) in the reply filed on June 26, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 23-30 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on June 5, 2026.
Claims 1-22 are under consideration.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-14 16, 19-21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rengifo (US20220183301, 6/16/2022), Tan et al (Appl Environ Microbiol 2013;79(16):4838–4844) and Suzuki et al (Plant Science, 2006, 170, 5, 1010-1019).
Claims are directed to a DNA construct comprising the following genetic components:(a) a gene that encodes a hydrogenase;(b) a gene that encodes a p-type ATPase;(c) a gene that encodes phosphoenol pyruvate carboxylase;(d) a gene that encodes phosphoenol pyruvate carboxykinase;(e) a gene that encodes tonB;(f) a gene that encodes a heat shock protein; and (g) a gene that encodes RuBisCO large subunit 1.
Claim interpretation: Claims 1-3, 6-8, 12-13, 19-22 are interpreted to be a DNA construct comprising 7 different gene in any orientation with or without any regulatory sequence.
With respect to claim 1-3, 6-10, Rengifo teaches a DNA construct comprising the following genetic components: (a) a gene that expresses a heat shock protein, (b) a gene that expresses RuBisCO large subunit 1, (c) a gene that expresses tonB, (d) a gene that expresses hydrogenase, and (e) a gene that expresses p-type ATPase (see para. 39-44 and claims in ‘301).
With respect to claim 2, Rengifo teaches gene that encodes the hydrogenase has SEQ ID NO: 4 that has 100% sequence homology to SEQ ID NOL 6 (see sequence search results , see below).
Query Match 100.0%; Score 1557; Length 1580;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 1557; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 ATGACTGAACTTGGTTCTGATACTTTGCCCTCTGTGGGCCAGTGGCAACAAATTCTGACT 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 13 ATGACTGAACTTGGTTCTGATACTTTGCCCTCTGTGGGCCAGTGGCAACAAATTCTGACT 72
Qy 61 GCGCCACCCGTCTGGCAGGTCAAGGTGCAGACTGCATCCTGGACAAGTGCCGCGCTGGCG 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 73 GCGCCACCCGTCTGGCAGGTCAAGGTGCAGACTGCATCCTGGACAAGTGCCGCGCTGGCG 132
Qy 121 CTGCGCGATCAGGGCGGGCGTTTGCTGGGATTGTGGGGAGAGGCGGGCCATGAAAATGCA 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 133 CTGCGCGATCAGGGCGGGCGTTTGCTGGGATTGTGGGGAGAGGCGGGCCATGAAAATGCA 192
Qy 181 TTTTTTTACATACATGCGCTGGGCCTTGGTTCAACCGGATATTTGTGGATCACTCTGACG 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 193 TTTTTTTACATACATGCGCTGGGCCTTGGTTCAACCGGATATTTGTGGATCACTCTGACG 252
Qy 241 GTGCAATCCAGCGAGGGACAATTTCCCTCGCTGGCCGACATTTTTCCCGCTGCCTCGCGG 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 253 GTGCAATCCAGCGAGGGACAATTTCCCTCGCTGGCCGACATTTTTCCCGCTGCCTCGCGG 312
Qy 301 ATGGAGCGGGCCCTGTACGATCTTACGGGAATCAGGGCGGCGGGGAATGCCGATACCCGG 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 313 ATGGAGCGGGCCCTGTACGATCTTACGGGAATCAGGGCGGCGGGGAATGCCGATACCCGG 372
Qy 361 CCATGGCTCCGCCATCAGTGCTGGCCAGCGGGGATTTTTCCACTGCGGGAGGGACAACTG 420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 373 CCATGGCTCCGCCATCAGTGCTGGCCAGCGGGGATTTTTCCACTGCGGGAGGGACAACTG 432
Qy 421 GATGGCAGTTCCTTCGGCGTGGATGGTGATGCCGATTATCCTTTTCAATTAATCGATAGC 480
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 433 GATGGCAGTTCCTTCGGCGTGGATGGTGATGCCGATTATCCTTTTCAATTAATCGATAGC 492
Qy 481 GTGGATGTCCACCAGATTCCAGTGGGACCGGTACACGCGGGCACCATTGAGCCCGGACAC 540
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 493 GTGGATGTCCACCAGATTCCAGTGGGACCGGTACACGCGGGCACCATTGAGCCCGGACAC 552
Qy 541 TTTCGTTTTTCGTGTGTCGGTGAACAAATTCTGCGTCTGGAAGAACGATTGGGATACACC 600
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 553 TTTCGTTTTTCGTGTGTCGGTGAACAAATTCTGCGTCTGGAAGAACGATTGGGATACACC 612
Qy 601 CACAAGGGCGTCGAACGCCTTTTCCAAGATCGGGATGTGTTTGCGGGTGCGCGTCTGGCA 660
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 613 CACAAGGGCGTCGAACGCCTTTTCCAAGATCGGGATGTGTTTGCGGGTGCGCGTCTGGCA 672
Qy 661 GGACGCATCAGTGGTGACACTACAGCGGGTTATGCCTGGGCCTACAGCATGGCGGTGGAA 720
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 673 GGACGCATCAGTGGTGACACTACAGCGGGTTATGCCTGGGCCTACAGCATGGCGGTGGAA 732
Qy 721 TCCATTGCCCGATGCGAAATCCCGCCTCGTGCAGCCGCTTTGCGTGCTGTTTGCCTGGAA 780
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 733 TCCATTGCCCGATGCGAAATCCCGCCTCGTGCAGCCGCTTTGCGTGCTGTTTGCCTGGAA 792
Qy 781 CGGGAGCGCATGGCCAACCATCTGGGTGATCTTGCCGCTCTGGGGAATGACGCTGGCTTC 840
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 793 CGGGAGCGCATGGCCAACCATCTGGGTGATCTTGCCGCTCTGGGGAATGACGCTGGCTTC 852
Qy 841 GCCTTCTGTCAGTCACAATTCCTGTTCATCAAGGAAAGCCTGCTGCGCGAAAACCAGGAA 900
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 853 GCCTTCTGTCAGTCACAATTCCTGTTCATCAAGGAAAGCCTGCTGCGCGAAAACCAGGAA 912
Qy 901 ATTTTCGGACACCGCTATTTGATGGACTGCATTATTCCCGGTGGTGTAGCTTTTGATCTG 960
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 913 ATTTTCGGACACCGCTATTTGATGGACTGCATTATTCCCGGTGGTGTAGCTTTTGATCTG 972
Qy 961 AACTCCGCGCAAACAGCCGCGATTCAGCGTAACAGTGAATCCTGGCAGCGCACCGTGCAG 1020
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 973 AACTCCGCGCAAACAGCCGCGATTCAGCGTAACAGTGAATCCTGGCAGCGCACCGTGCAG 1032
Qy 1021 CGTTTGGACCTCCTCTTGCAGGAGCACTCCGGTCTGCGGGATCGTCTGGTGGGTACAGGA 1080
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1033 CGTTTGGACCTCCTCTTGCAGGAGCACTCCGGTCTGCGGGATCGTCTGGTGGGTACAGGA 1092
Qy 1081 AAAATTGTGCCACCCCGTGCTGCAGCACTCGGTATGGCGGGGCTTGCCGGCCGCGCCAGT 1140
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1093 AAAATTGTGCCACCCCGTGCTGCAGCACTCGGTATGGCGGGGCTTGCCGGCCGCGCCAGT 1152
Qy 1141 GGTCAGGCCTGGGATTTGCGGGTCCAGTTTCCCCATGCACCTTATCAGAATCTGGATGTT 1200
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1153 GGTCAGGCCTGGGATTTGCGGGTCCAGTTTCCCCATGCACCTTATCAGAATCTGGATGTT 1212
Qy 1201 TCCATGCAGCTTTCCCCGGAAGGTGACGTGGCCGCACGCTGGCAATTGCGCTTTCGGGAA 1260
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1213 TCCATGCAGCTTTCCCCGGAAGGTGACGTGGCCGCACGCTGGCAATTGCGCTTTCGGGAA 1272
Qy 1261 TTCTATGAGTCTCTGCGTCTGCAGACCCAGTTGCTGTTGGATCTACCCAGTGGAGATGTC 1320
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1273 TTCTATGAGTCTCTGCGTCTGCAGACCCAGTTGCTGTTGGATCTACCCAGTGGAGATGTC 1332
Qy 1321 AGCGCAACCATTCCGGAAAGCATCCCCGATGGCGAAGGCTTGGGCATTGTCGAAGCATGG 1380
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1333 AGCGCAACCATTCCGGAAAGCATCCCCGATGGCGAAGGCTTGGGCATTGTCGAAGCATGG 1392
Qy 1381 CGCGGCGAGGTCTTTGTCGCCCTATCTGTGGAAAACGCCCGTATTAAACGCTGCCATCCC 1440
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1393 CGCGGCGAGGTCTTTGTCGCCCTATCTGTGGAAAACGCCCGTATTAAACGCTGCCATCCC 1452
Qy 1441 CACGATCCCTCGTGGACCCTCTGGCCGGTCCTTGAGGAGGCCGTGCTGAACGATATTGTT 1500
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1453 CACGATCCCTCGTGGACCCTCTGGCCGGTCCTTGAGGAGGCCGTGCTGAACGATATTGTT 1512
Qy 1501 GCCGACTTTCCGCTGATCAATAAATCGTTCAATTTGAGTTACAGCGGACATGATTTA 1557
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1513 GCCGACTTTCCGCTGATCAATAAATCGTTCAATTTGAGTTACAGCGGACATGATTTA 1569
Regarding claim 3, Rengifo teaches gene that encodes the p-type ATPase has SEQ ID NO: 5 that has 100% sequence homology to SEQ ID NOL 7 (see sequence search result and below).
Query Match 100.0%; Score 2199; Length 2219;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 2199; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 ATGTCGACTCCTGACAATCACGGCAAGAAAGCCCCTCAATTTGCTGCGTTCAAACCGCTA 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 12 ATGTCGACTCCTGACAATCACGGCAAGAAAGCCCCTCAATTTGCTGCGTTCAAACCGCTA 71
Qy 61 ACCACGGTACAGAACGCCAACGACTGTTGCTGCGACGGCGCATGTTCCAGCACGCCAACT 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 72 ACCACGGTACAGAACGCCAACGACTGTTGCTGCGACGGCGCATGTTCCAGCACGCCAACT 131
Qy 121 CTCTCTGAAAACGTCTCCGGCACCCGCTATAGCTGGAAAGTCAGCGGCATGGACTGCGCC 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 132 CTCTCTGAAAACGTCTCCGGCACCCGCTATAGCTGGAAAGTCAGCGGCATGGACTGCGCC 191
Qy 181 GCCTGTGCGCGCAAGGTAGAAAATGCCGTGCGCCAGCTTGCAGGCGTGAATCAGGTGCAG 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 192 GCCTGTGCGCGCAAGGTAGAAAATGCCGTGCGCCAGCTTGCAGGCGTGAATCAGGTGCAG 251
Qy 241 GTGTTGTTCGCCACCGAAAAACTGGTGGTCGATGCCGACAATGACATTCGTGCACAAGTT 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 252 GTGTTGTTCGCCACCGAAAAACTGGTGGTCGATGCCGACAATGACATTCGTGCACAAGTT 311
Qy 301 GAATCTGCGCTGCAAAAAGCAGGCTATTCCCTGCGCGATGAACAGGCCGCCGAAGAACCG 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 312 GAATCTGCGCTGCAAAAAGCAGGCTATTCCCTGCGCGATGAACAGGCCGCCGAAGAACCG 371
Qy 361 CAAGCATCACGCCTGAAAGAGAATCTGCCGCTGATTACGCTAATCGTGATGATGGCAATC 420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 372 CAAGCATCACGCCTGAAAGAGAATCTGCCGCTGATTACGCTAATCGTGATGATGGCAATC 431
Qy 421 AGCTGGGGTCTGGAGCAGTTCAATCATCCGTTCGGGCAACTGGCGTTTATCGCGACCACG 480
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 432 AGCTGGGGTCTGGAGCAGTTCAATCATCCGTTCGGGCAACTGGCGTTTATCGCGACCACG 491
Qy 481 CTGGTTGGGCTGTACCCGATTGCTCGTCAGGCATTACGGTTGATCAAATCCGGCAGCTAC 540
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 492 CTGGTTGGGCTGTACCCGATTGCTCGTCAGGCATTACGGTTGATCAAATCCGGCAGCTAC 551
Qy 541 TTCGCCATTGAAACCTTAATGAGCGTAGCCGCTATTGGTGCACTGTTTATTGGCGCAACG 600
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 552 TTCGCCATTGAAACCTTAATGAGCGTAGCCGCTATTGGTGCACTGTTTATTGGCGCAACG 611
Qy 601 GCTGAAGCTGCGATGGTGTTGCTGCTGTTTTTGATTGGTGAACGACTGGAAGGCTGGGCC 660
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 612 GCTGAAGCTGCGATGGTGTTGCTGCTGTTTTTGATTGGTGAACGACTGGAAGGCTGGGCC 671
Qy 661 GCCAGCCGCGCGCGTCAGGGCGTTAGCGCGTTAATGGCGCTGAAACCAGAAACCGCCACG 720
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 672 GCCAGCCGCGCGCGTCAGGGCGTTAGCGCGTTAATGGCGCTGAAACCAGAAACCGCCACG 731
Qy 721 CGCCTGCGTAAGGGTGAGCGGGAAGAGGTGGCGATTAACAGCCTGCGCCCTGGCGATGTG 780
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 732 CGCCTGCGTAAGGGTGAGCGGGAAGAGGTGGCGATTAACAGCCTGCGCCCTGGCGATGTG 791
Qy 781 ATTGAAGTCGCCGCAGGTGGGCGTTTGCCTGCCGACGGTAAACTGCTCTCACCGTTTGCC 840
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 792 ATTGAAGTCGCCGCAGGTGGGCGTTTGCCTGCCGACGGTAAACTGCTCTCACCGTTTGCC 851
Qy 841 AGTTTTGATGAAAGCGCCCTGACCGGCGAATCCATTCCGGTGGAGCGCGCAACGGGCGAT 900
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 852 AGTTTTGATGAAAGCGCCCTGACCGGCGAATCCATTCCGGTGGAGCGCGCAACGGGCGAT 911
Qy 901 AAAGTCCCTGCTGGTGCCACCAGCGTAGACCGTCTGGTGACGTTGGAAGTGCTGTCAGAA 960
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 912 AAAGTCCCTGCTGGTGCCACCAGCGTAGACCGTCTGGTGACGTTGGAAGTGCTGTCAGAA 971
Qy 961 CCGGGAGCCAGCGCCATTGACCGGATTCTGAAACTGATCGAAGAAGCCGAAGAGCGTCGC 1020
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 972 CCGGGAGCCAGCGCCATTGACCGGATTCTGAAACTGATCGAAGAAGCCGAAGAGCGTCGC 1031
Qy 1021 GCTCCCATTGAGCGGTTTATCGACCGTTTCAGCCGTATCTATACGCCCGCGATTATGGCC 1080
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1032 GCTCCCATTGAGCGGTTTATCGACCGTTTCAGCCGTATCTATACGCCCGCGATTATGGCC 1091
Qy 1081 GTCGCTCTGCTGGTGACGCTGGTGCCACCGCTGCTGTTTGCCGCCAGCTGGCAGGAGTGG 1140
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1092 GTCGCTCTGCTGGTGACGCTGGTGCCACCGCTGCTGTTTGCCGCCAGCTGGCAGGAGTGG 1151
Qy 1141 ATTTATAAAGGGCTGACGCTGCTGCTGATTGGCTGCCCGTGTGCGTTAGTTATCTCAACG 1200
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1152 ATTTATAAAGGGCTGACGCTGCTGCTGATTGGCTGCCCGTGTGCGTTAGTTATCTCAACG 1211
Qy 1201 CCTGCGGCGATTACCTCCGGGCTGGCGGCGGCAGCGCGTCGTGGGGCGTTGATTAAAGGC 1260
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1212 CCTGCGGCGATTACCTCCGGGCTGGCGGCGGCAGCGCGTCGTGGGGCGTTGATTAAAGGC 1271
Qy 1261 GGAGCGGCGCTGGAACAGCTGGGTCGTGTTACTCAGGTGGCGTTTGATAAAACCGGTACG 1320
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1272 GGAGCGGCGCTGGAACAGCTGGGTCGTGTTACTCAGGTGGCGTTTGATAAAACCGGTACG 1331
Qy 1321 CTGACCGTCGGTAAACCGCGCGTTACCGCGATTCATCCGGCAACGGGTATTAGTGAATCT 1380
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1332 CTGACCGTCGGTAAACCGCGCGTTACCGCGATTCATCCGGCAACGGGTATTAGTGAATCT 1391
Qy 1381 GAACTGCTGACACTGGCGGCGGCGGTCGAGCAAGGCGCGACGCATCCACTGGCGCAAGCC 1440
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1392 GAACTGCTGACACTGGCGGCGGCGGTCGAGCAAGGCGCGACGCATCCACTGGCGCAAGCC 1451
Qy 1441 ATCGTACGCGAAGCACAGGTTGCTGAACTCGCCATTCCCACCGCCGAATCACAGCGGGCG 1500
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1452 ATCGTACGCGAAGCACAGGTTGCTGAACTCGCCATTCCCACCGCCGAATCACAGCGGGCG 1511
Qy 1501 CTGGTCGGGTCTGGCATTGAAGCGCAGGTTAACGGTGAGCGCGTATTGATTTGCGCTGCC 1560
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1512 CTGGTCGGGTCTGGCATTGAAGCGCAGGTTAACGGTGAGCGCGTATTGATTTGCGCTGCC 1571
Qy 1561 GGGAAACATCCCGCTGATGCATTTACTGGTTTAATTAACGAACTGGAAAGCGCCGGGCAA 1620
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1572 GGGAAACATCCCGCTGATGCATTTACTGGTTTAATTAACGAACTGGAAAGCGCCGGGCAA 1631
Qy 1621 ACGGTAGTGCTGGTAGTACGTAACGATGACGTGCTTGGTGTCATTGCGTTACAGGATACC 1680
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1632 ACGGTAGTGCTGGTAGTACGTAACGATGACGTGCTTGGTGTCATTGCGTTACAGGATACC 1691
Qy 1681 CTGCGCGCCGATGCTGCAACTGCCATCAGTGAACTGAACGCGCTGGGCGTCAAAGGGGTG 1740
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1692 CTGCGCGCCGATGCTGCAACTGCCATCAGTGAACTGAACGCGCTGGGCGTCAAAGGGGTG 1751
Qy 1741 ATCCTCACCGGCGATAATCCACGCGCAGCGGCGGCAATTGCCGGGGAGCTGGGGCTGGAG 1800
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1752 ATCCTCACCGGCGATAATCCACGCGCAGCGGCGGCAATTGCCGGGGAGCTGGGGCTGGAG 1811
Qy 1801 TTTAAAGCGGGCCTGTTGCCGGAAGATAAAGTCAAAGCGGTGACCGAGCTGAATCAACAT 1860
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1812 TTTAAAGCGGGCCTGTTGCCGGAAGATAAAGTCAAAGCGGTGACCGAGCTGAATCAACAT 1871
Qy 1861 GCGCCGCTGGCGATGGTCGGTGACGGTATTAACGACGCGCCAGCGATGAAAGCTGCCGCC 1920
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1872 GCGCCGCTGGCGATGGTCGGTGACGGTATTAACGACGCGCCAGCGATGAAAGCTGCCGCC 1931
Qy 1921 ATCGGGATTGCAATGGGTAGCGGCACAGACGTGGCGCTGGAAACCGCCGACGCAGCATTA 1980
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1932 ATCGGGATTGCAATGGGTAGCGGCACAGACGTGGCGCTGGAAACCGCCGACGCAGCATTA 1991
Qy 1981 ACCCATAACCACCTGCGCGGCCTGGTGCAAATGATTGAACTGGCACGCGCCACTCACGCC 2040
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1992 ACCCATAACCACCTGCGCGGCCTGGTGCAAATGATTGAACTGGCACGCGCCACTCACGCC 2051
Qy 2041 AATATCCGCCAGAACATCACTATTGCGCTGGGGCTGAAAGGGATCTTCCTCGTCACCACG 2100
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2052 AATATCCGCCAGAACATCACTATTGCGCTGGGGCTGAAAGGGATCTTCCTCGTCACCACG 2111
Qy 2101 CTGTTAGGGATGACCGGGTTGTGGCTGGCAGTGCTGGCAGATACGGGGGCGACGGTGCTG 2160
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2112 CTGTTAGGGATGACCGGGTTGTGGCTGGCAGTGCTGGCAGATACGGGGGCGACGGTGCTG 2171
Qy 2161 GTGACAGCGAATGCGTTAAGATTGTTGCGCAGGAGATAA 2199
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2172 GTGACAGCGAATGCGTTAAGATTGTTGCGCAGGAGATAA 2210
With respect to claim 6, Rengifo teaches gene that encodes the tonB has SEQ ID NO: 3 that has 100% sequence homology to SEQ ID NOL 3 (see sequence search result and below).
Query Match 100.0%; Score 735; Length 741;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 735; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 ATGACGAAAACGCGCTCGAACATGGCGCGCTACGGCACCAGCCTGGCCATCGTGCTGGGC 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 7 ATGACGAAAACGCGCTCGAACATGGCGCGCTACGGCACCAGCCTGGCCATCGTGCTGGGC 66
Qy 61 GTGCACGTGGTCGCCGTGGTGCTGACGCTCAACTGGTCGGTGCCCCAGGCCATCGAGCTG 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 67 GTGCACGTGGTCGCCGTGGTGCTGACGCTCAACTGGTCGGTGCCCCAGGCCATCGAGCTG 126
Qy 121 CCGCCGGCAGCGATGATGGTCGAGTTGGCGCCGTTGCCGGAGCCCGCGCCACCGCCACCG 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 127 CCGCCGGCAGCGATGATGGTCGAGTTGGCGCCGTTGCCGGAGCCCGCGCCACCGCCACCG 186
Qy 181 CCCAAGGCCGCGCCCAAGCCACCGGCAGAGGTCGAGGAGCCGCCGCTGCCCAAGCTGGTG 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 187 CCCAAGGCCGCGCCCAAGCCACCGGCAGAGGTCGAGGAGCCGCCGCTGCCCAAGCTGGTG 246
Qy 241 GAGGCCCCCAAGCCGAAGATCGCCATCGCCAAGCCGCCCAAGCCCAAGGCCAAGCCGCAG 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 247 GAGGCCCCCAAGCCGAAGATCGCCATCGCCAAGCCGCCCAAGCCCAAGGCCAAGCCGCAG 306
Qy 301 CCGCCCAAGCCTGAGAAAAAGCCTGAGCCGCCGAAGGACGAACCACCGGCCAAGGACGAT 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 307 CCGCCCAAGCCTGAGAAAAAGCCTGAGCCGCCGAAGGACGAACCACCGGCCAAGGACGAT 366
Qy 361 GTGGCGGATACCCCGCCAAGCAACGCGCAGCCGCAGAAATCGGCCGCACCGGCACCGAGC 420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 367 GTGGCGGATACCCCGCCAAGCAACGCGCAGCCGCAGAAATCGGCCGCACCGGCACCGAGC 426
Qy 421 ATCGCCTCCAACAGCAATGCCCTGCCCAGCTGGCAGAGCGACCTGCTGCGCCACCTGGCC 480
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 427 ATCGCCTCCAACAGCAATGCCCTGCCCAGCTGGCAGAGCGACCTGCTGCGCCACCTGGCC 486
Qy 481 AAGTACAAGAAGTACCCGGAAGACGCTCGCCGTCGCGGCCTGCAGGGCATCAACCGCCTG 540
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 487 AAGTACAAGAAGTACCCGGAAGACGCTCGCCGTCGCGGCCTGCAGGGCATCAACCGCCTG 546
Qy 541 CGCTTCGTGGTCGACGCCGAGGGCAAGGTAGTCTCGTACTCGCTGGCCGGAGGCTCGGGC 600
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 547 CGCTTCGTGGTCGACGCCGAGGGCAAGGTAGTCTCGTACTCGCTGGCCGGAGGCTCGGGC 606
Qy 601 AGCGCGGCGCTGGACCGGGCGACCCTGGAAATGATCCGTCGCGCAGGCTCCGTACCGAAG 660
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 607 AGCGCGGCGCTGGACCGGGCGACCCTGGAAATGATCCGTCGCGCAGGCTCCGTACCGAAG 666
Qy 661 CCGCCAGCGGAGCTGTTGAACAATGGCACGATCGAAGTCGTGGCGCCGTTCGTCTATTCC 720
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 667 CCGCCAGCGGAGCTGTTGAACAATGGCACGATCGAAGTCGTGGCGCCGTTCGTCTATTCC 726
Qy 721 CTGGACCGACGCTAA 735
|||||||||||||||
Db 727 CTGGACCGACGCTAA 741
With respect to claim 7, Rengifo teaches that the construct comprises a gene that encodes the heat shock protein has SEQ ID NO: 10 that has 99.8% sequence homology to SEQ ID NO: 1 (see sequence search result and below).
. Regarding claim 8, Rengifo teaches that the construct comprises gene that encodes the RuBisCO large subunit 1 has SEQ ID NO. 2 that has 100% sequence homology to SEQ ID NOL 2 (see sequence search result and below).
Query Match 100.0%; Score 1467; Length 1491;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 1467; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 ATGTCTCAATCCGTAGAATCACGGACTCGAATCAAAAACGAACGTTACGAATCAGGTGTT 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 13 ATGTCTCAATCCGTAGAATCACGGACTCGAATCAAAAACGAACGTTACGAATCAGGTGTT 72
Qy 61 ATCCCTTACGCAAAAATGGGATACTGGGATGCTGATTACGTTATCAAAGATACTGACGTA 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 73 ATCCCTTACGCAAAAATGGGATACTGGGATGCTGATTACGTTATCAAAGATACTGACGTA 132
Qy 121 CTTGCAATGTTCCGTATGACACCTCAAAAAGGTGTTGACCCAGTTGAATGTGCAGCCGCA 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 133 CTTGCAATGTTCCGTATGACACCTCAAAAAGGTGTTGACCCAGTTGAATGTGCAGCCGCA 192
Qy 181 ATCGCAGGTGAATCTTCAACAGCAACTTGGACAGTTGTATGGACAGACCTTCTAACAGCA 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 193 ATCGCAGGTGAATCTTCAACAGCAACTTGGACAGTTGTATGGACAGACCTTCTAACAGCA 252
Qy 241 TGTGATCTTTACCGTGCAAAAGCATACCGTGTTGACCCAGTTCCTGGTGCAACTGATCAA 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 253 TGTGATCTTTACCGTGCAAAAGCATACCGTGTTGACCCAGTTCCTGGTGCAACTGATCAA 312
Qy 301 TACTTTGCTTACATCGCATACGAATTAGACCTATTTGAAGAAGGTTCTTTAGCTAACTTA 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 313 TACTTTGCTTACATCGCATACGAATTAGACCTATTTGAAGAAGGTTCTTTAGCTAACTTA 372
Qy 361 ACAGCATCAATTATTGGTAACGTATTCGGATTCAAAGCGGTAAATGCTTTAAGATTAGAA 420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 373 ACAGCATCAATTATTGGTAACGTATTCGGATTCAAAGCGGTAAATGCTTTAAGATTAGAA 432
Qy 421 GATATGCGTCTTCCAATTGCATACCTAAAAACTTTCCAAGGTCCAGCAACTGGTGTAATT 480
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 433 GATATGCGTCTTCCAATTGCATACCTAAAAACTTTCCAAGGTCCAGCAACTGGTGTAATT 492
Qy 481 GTAGAACGTGAAAGATTAGACAAATATGGTCGTCCTTTATTAGGTGCAACAGTTAAACCA 540
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 493 GTAGAACGTGAAAGATTAGACAAATATGGTCGTCCTTTATTAGGTGCAACAGTTAAACCA 552
Qy 541 AAATTAGGTCTATCTGGTAAAAACTATGGTCGTGTAGTTTACGAAGGTCTTAAAGGTGGT 600
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 553 AAATTAGGTCTATCTGGTAAAAACTATGGTCGTGTAGTTTACGAAGGTCTTAAAGGTGGT 612
Qy 601 CTAGATTTCCTTAAAGATGATGAAAACATTAACTCTCAACCATTCATGAGATGGAAAGAG 660
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 613 CTAGATTTCCTTAAAGATGATGAAAACATTAACTCTCAACCATTCATGAGATGGAAAGAG 672
Qy 661 CGTTTCTTATTCGGTATCGAAGGTGTAAACCGTGCTGCTGCTGCTGCTGGTGAAGTAAAA 720
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 673 CGTTTCTTATTCGGTATCGAAGGTGTAAACCGTGCTGCTGCTGCTGCTGGTGAAGTAAAA 732
Qy 721 GGTCACTACTTCAACGTTACTGCTGGTACAATGGAAGATATGTATGAACGTGCTGAATTC 780
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 733 GGTCACTACTTCAACGTTACTGCTGGTACAATGGAAGATATGTATGAACGTGCTGAATTC 792
Qy 781 TGTAAAGAAATCGGTAGTGTAATCTGTATGATCGACCTTGTAATCGGATATACTGCTATT 840
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 793 TGTAAAGAAATCGGTAGTGTAATCTGTATGATCGACCTTGTAATCGGATATACTGCTATT 852
Qy 841 CAAAGTATGGCGATCTGGGCACGTAAAAACAGTATGATTCTTCACTTACACCGTGCTGGT 900
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 853 CAAAGTATGGCGATCTGGGCACGTAAAAACAGTATGATTCTTCACTTACACCGTGCTGGT 912
Qy 901 AACTCTACATACTCACGTCAAAAAACACATGGTATGAACTTCCGTGTAATTTGTAAGTGG 960
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 913 AACTCTACATACTCACGTCAAAAAACACATGGTATGAACTTCCGTGTAATTTGTAAGTGG 972
Qy 961 ATGCGTATGGCAGGTGTTGACCACATACACGCAGGTACAGTTGTAGGTAAACTAGAAGGG 1020
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 973 ATGCGTATGGCAGGTGTTGACCACATACACGCAGGTACAGTTGTAGGTAAACTAGAAGGG 1032
Qy 1021 GATCCTTTAATGGTTAAAGGTTTCTATAACACATTATTAGAAACACAAACAGATGTAAAT 1080
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1033 GATCCTTTAATGGTTAAAGGTTTCTATAACACATTATTAGAAACACAAACAGATGTAAAT 1092
Qy 1081 CTTGTACAAGGTCTTTTCTTTGCTCAAGATTGGGCAGCACTTAACAAATGTATGCCAGTT 1140
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1093 CTTGTACAAGGTCTTTTCTTTGCTCAAGATTGGGCAGCACTTAACAAATGTATGCCAGTT 1152
Qy 1141 GCTTCAGGTGGTATTCACTGTGGTCAAATGCACCAACTTATTAACTACTTAGGTGACGAC 1200
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1153 GCTTCAGGTGGTATTCACTGTGGTCAAATGCACCAACTTATTAACTACTTAGGTGACGAC 1212
Qy 1201 GTAGTATTACAATTTGGTGGTGGTACTATTGGTCACCCAGATGGTATCCAAGCTGGTGCT 1260
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1213 GTAGTATTACAATTTGGTGGTGGTACTATTGGTCACCCAGATGGTATCCAAGCTGGTGCT 1272
Qy 1261 ACTGCAAACCGTGTAGCACTTGAATGTATGGTTGTAGCACGTAACGAAGGTCGTGACTAT 1320
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1273 ACTGCAAACCGTGTAGCACTTGAATGTATGGTTGTAGCACGTAACGAAGGTCGTGACTAT 1332
Qy 1321 GTAACAGAGGGTCCTCAAATTCTTCGTAATGCAGCTAAGAGCTGTGGACCTCTTCAAACA 1380
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1333 GTAACAGAGGGTCCTCAAATTCTTCGTAATGCAGCTAAGAGCTGTGGACCTCTTCAAACA 1392
Qy 1381 GCATTAGATTTATGGAAAGACATTACTTTCAACTATGCTTCTACTGATACAGCTGACTTC 1440
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1393 GCATTAGATTTATGGAAAGACATTACTTTCAACTATGCTTCTACTGATACAGCTGACTTC 1452
Qy 1441 GTAGAAACTGCAACAGCTAACAAGTAA 1467
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1453 GTAGAAACTGCAACAGCTAACAAGTAA 1479
With respect to claims 9-10, Rengifo teaches that the DNA construct further comprises a promoter., wherein the promoter comprises a GAL1 promoter (see para. 223).
Regarding claim 11, Rengifo teaches that the DNA construct, wherein a GAL1 promoter is positioned before (a) the gene that expresses a heat shock protein, (b) the gene that expresses RuBisCO large subunit 1, (c) the gene that expresses tonB, (d) the gene that expresses hydrogenase, (e) the gene that expresses p-type ATPase, or any combination thereof (see para. 223, aspect 12).
With respect to claims 12-13, Rengifo teaches that the DNA construct further comprises a fluorescent reporter protein (see para. 70), wherein the fluorescent reporter protein is a green fluorescent protein having SEQ ID NO. 6 (see para. 89) that has 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 8.
Regarding claim 14, Rengifo teaches that the DNA construct, wherein the construct comprises from 5' to 3' the following genetic components in the following order: (1) a gene that expresses hydrogenase, (2) a gene that expresses p-type ATPase, (3) a gene that expresses tonB, (4) a gene that expresses a heat shock protein, and (5) a gene that expresses RuBisCO large subunit 1 (see para. 223, aspect 126).
With respect to claim 15, Rengifo teaches that the DNA construct, wherein the construct comprises from 5' to 3' the following genetic components in the following order: (1) a gene that expresses hydrogenase having SEQ ID NO. 4 that has 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 6, (2) a gene that expresses p-type ATPase having SEQ ID NO. 5 that has 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 7 , (3) a gene that expresses tonB having SEQ ID NO. 3 that has 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 3 , (4) a gene that expresses a heat shock protein having SEQ ID NO. 5 that has 100% sequence identity to, and (5) a gene that expresses RuBisCO large subunit 1 having SEQ ID NO. 2 that has 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 2 (see para. 223, aspect 127).
Regarding claims 16-17, Rengifo teaches that the DNA construct is a pYES2 plasmid having from 5′ to 3′ the following genetic components in the following order: (1) a gene that expresses hydrogenase having SEQ ID NO. 4 that has 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 6,, (2) a CYC1 terminator, (3) a GAL1 promoter, (4) a gene that expresses P-type ATPase having SEQ ID NO. 5, (5) a CYC1 terminator, (6) a GAL1 promoter, (7) a gene that expresses tonB having SEQ ID NO. 3, (8) a CYC1 terminator, (9) a GAL1 promoter, (10) a gene that expresses a heat shock protein having SEQ ID NO. 1, (11) a CYC1 terminator, (12) a GAL1 promoter, (13) a gene that expresses RuBisCO large subunit 1 having SEQ ID NO. 2 (see para. 109-110).
With respect to claim 19-22, Rengifo teaches a vector comprising the DNA construct as discussed above, wherein the vector is a pYES2 plasmid (see para. 109-110).
Rengifo differs from claimed invention by not disclosing including (i) a gene that encodes phosphoenol pyruvate carboxylase; and (ii) a gene that encodes phosphoenol pyruvate carboxykinase in the construct.
Tan provides motivation to investigate expression of phosphoenolpyruvate carboxykinase (PPC) and PEP carboxykinase (PCK) to improve succinate production in a microorganism. It is shown that PPC and PCK overexpression results in a synergistic effect in improving succinate production (see abstract, page 4843, col. 2, para. 2 and 3). Suzuki cure the deficiency by disclosing use of DNA construct comprising a gene that encodes phosphoenol pyruvate carboxylase; and (ii) a gene that encodes phosphoenol pyruvate carboxykinase (see fig. 1) to study carbon flow (abstract). It is disclosed that cells expressing phosphoenol pyruvate carboxykinase in chloroplast shows C4-type photosynthetic carbon flow (see page 1011, col. 1, para. 1), while expressing C4-specific PEPC at high levels in their levees show reduced sensitivity to inhibition of photosynthesis by oxygen (see page 1010, col. 2, para. 1).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of prior art to modify the DNA construct of Rengifo by further incorporating gene encoding phosphoenol pyruvate carboxylase and gene encoding phosphoenol pyruvate carboxykinase as suggested in Tan and Suzuki, to study carbon flux in an organism, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of instant application. Said modification amounting to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so to recruit advantage of incorporating each of these two enzymes to optimize carbon flux and improve succinate production in the microorganism. Other limitation of gene under the control of Gal1 promoter and CYC1 terminator would be an obvious modification of known method to transfect or transform bacterial cell or that could be used in a plant cell as disclosed in Rengifo. One of skill in the art would have been expected to have a reasonable expectation of success in studying activation of carbon flux and succinate production by including both gene in the construct of Rengifo because prior art successfully reported using nucleic acid encoding PPC and PCK (phosphoenol pyruvate carboxylase and nucleic acid encoding phosphoenol pyruvate carboxykinase) in the construct. It should be noted that the KSR case forecloses the argument that a specific teaching, suggestion, or motivation is required to support a finding of obviousness See the recent Board decision Ex parte Smith, --USPQ2d--, slip op. at 20, (Bd. Pat. App. & Interf. June 25, 2007) (citing KSR, 82 USPQ2d at 1396) (available at http: www. uspto.gov/web/offices/dcom/bpai/prec/fd071925.pdf).
Claims 1, 4-5, 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rengifo (US20220183301, 6/16/2022), Suzuki et al (Plant Science, 2006, 170, 5, 1010-1019) as evidenced by Tan et al (Appl Environ Microbiol 2013;79(16):4838–4844) as applied above and further in view of NCBI accession no NM_002591.4, dated 06/12/2022) and NCBI accession no AJ223496.1, 04/15/2005) .
The teaching of Rengifo, Suzuki and Tan have been described above and relied in same manner here. The combination of reference differs from claimed invention by not disclosing (i) a gene that encodes phosphoenol pyruvate carboxylase having SEQ ID NO. 5 or at least 70% homology thereto; (ii) a gene that encodes phosphoenol pyruvate carboxykinase having SEQ ID NO. 4 or at least 70% homology thereto.
NCBI accession no NM_002591.4 teaches phosphoenol pyruvate carboxykinase gene that has about 80% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 4, while NCBI accession no AJ223496.1 teaches phosphoenolpyruvate carboxylase gene sequence that has about 77% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 5 (see attached sequence alignments).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of prior art to modify the pYES2 plasmid construct of Rengifo by further incorporating gene encoding phosphoenol pyruvate carboxylase; and gene encoding phosphoenol pyruvate carboxykinase as suggested in Tan and Suzuki using sequences disclosed in NCBI accession number, to study carbon flux, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of instant application. Said modification amounting to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so to recruit advantage of incorporating each of two enzymes to optimize carbon flux and improve succinate production. Other limitation of gene under the control of Gal1 promoter and CYC1 terminator would be an obvious modification of known method to transform bacterial cell or use in plant cells as disclosed in Rengifo. One of skill in the art would have been expected to have a reasonable expectation of success in studying activation of carbon flux and succinate production by including both gene sequences that are known in prior art in the construct of Rengifo because prior art successfully reported using nucleic acid encoding phosphoenol pyruvate carboxylase and nucleic acid encoding phosphoenol pyruvate carboxykinase in a construct to study carbon flux and succinate expression. It should be noted that the KSR case forecloses the argument that a specific teaching, suggestion, or motivation is required to support a finding of obviousness See the recent Board decision Ex parte Smith, --USPQ2d--, slip op. at 20, (Bd. Pat. App. & Interf. June 25, 2007) (citing KSR, 82 USPQ2d at 1396) (available at http: www. uspto.gov/web/offices/dcom/bpai/prec/fd071925.pdf).
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
Bailey et al (Plant Physiology, 2007, 144, 479-486) teaches a tight, reciprocal regulation between the phosphorylation states of two critical enzymes: Phosphoenolpyruvate Carboxylase (PEPC) and Phosphoenolpyruvate Carboxykinase (PEPCK).
/ANOOP K SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1632