DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “fastening portion” in claim 1; and “fastening component” in claim 1.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 1 be found allowable, claim 9 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “at least a part of the flow path is at respective distances from the insert mounting seat, from the fastening portion, and from a periphery of the body, in a cross-section perpendicular to an axial direction of the body, wherein each of the distances is equal to or greater than a predetermined size.” It is unclear whether there are plural distances relative to each feature (seat, fastening portion, and periphery) or if there is a respective (singular) distance required to meet the limitation. Furthermore, the metes and bounds of the distances being equal to or greater than a predetermined size are unclear. That is, the claim lacks description of how the predetermined size is set. Appropriate correction required.
Claim 3 recites “the distance from [each recited feature] . . . are almost the same.” The boundary of where each distance is considered almost the same and not so considered is not clearly delineated. Appropriate correction required.
Claim 5 recites “in a cross-section perpendicular to the axial direction” in Lines 2-3. Yet, claim 1 sets forth antecedent basis for said cross-section. As such, it is unclear whether the cross-section recited in claim 5 is the same cross-section or a different cross-section. Appropriate correction required.
Claim 5 recites “a substantially fan-like shape” in Line 3. The metes and bounds of what is considered fan-like, let alone, substantially fan-like, are not clearly delineated. Specifically, it is unclear when something is considered like a fan, especially substantially like a fan in shape. Appropriate correction required.
Claim 6 recites “in a cross-section perpendicular to the axial direction” in Lines 2-3. Yet, claim 1 sets forth antecedent basis for said cross-section. As such, it is unclear whether the cross-section recited in claim 6 is the same cross-section or a different cross-section. Appropriate correction required.
Claim 9 recites “[a] cutting tool comprising a body according to claim 1.” Yet, claim 1 requires a cutting insert mounted to the insert pocket. As such, it is unclear how claim 9 further limits claim 1 as it is already a combination that reads upon a cutting tool. Appropriate correction required.
Claim 9 recites “[a] cutting tool comprising a body according to claim 1.” Yet, claim 1 already sets forth antecedent basis for the “body.” Likewise, claim 1 already sets forth antecedent basis for “a cutting tool.” Appropriate correction required.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Because claim 1 requires a cutting insert mounted to the insert pocket, the body recited in claim 1 is a combination of body and cutting insert, which is a cutting tool. As such, claim 9 does not further limit. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sung et al. (KR 101014122 B1).
(Claims 1 and 9) Sung et al. (“Sung”) discloses a body of a cutting tool (140, 110; Fig. 1). The body (and cutting tool) includes an insert mounting seat (141, 142) on which a cutting insert (210, 220) is mounted (Fig. 1); a fastening portion (140) in which a fastening component (Fig. 2 showing bolt) for fastening the cutting insert onto the insert mounting seat is inserted; and a flow path (150, 160, 151, 161b, 152, 162b181, 182, 171b, 172b) for allowing fluid to be discharged through a discharge port that is open at a leading end of the body (Fig. 5). At least a part of the flow path is at respective distances from the insert mounting seat, from the fastening portion, and from a periphery of the body, in a cross-section perpendicular to an axial direction of the body (Figs. 2, 5, 6, 9). As best understood, each of the distances is equal to or greater than a predetermined size. That is, neither the respective distances nor the predetermined size is not defined in any explicit manner. The combination of body and cutting insert qualifies as a cutting tool (100; Figs. 1-9).
(Claim 2) The distance from the insert mounting seat, the distance from the fastening portion, and the distance from the periphery of the body are each 0.1 mm or more and 0.5 mm or less. Again, the manner in which these distances is measured is not clearly delineated. As such, a part of the coolant channel may meet the claimed range. This also depends on the diameter of the body.
(Claim 3) As best understood, the distance from the insert mounting seat, the distance from the fastening portion, and the distance from the periphery of the body are almost the same size (Figs. 2, 5, 9).
(Claim 6) The discharge port is different in shape from at least a part of the flow path in a cross-section perpendicular to the axial direction (Figs. 3, 5, 9).
(Claim 7) A part of the flow path that continues to the discharge port is curved along a periphery of the fastening portion (Figs. 5, 9).
(Claim 8) Another flow path (161a, 162a, 171a, 172a) is open at a base end side of the insert mounting seat (Figs. 1, 5, 9).
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Streigl (GB 2143446 A).
(Claims 1 and 9) Streigl discloses a body of a cutting tool (Fig. 1). The body (and cutting tool) includes an insert mounting seat (Figs. 1-3) on which a cutting insert (13) is mounted (Figs. 1-3); a fastening portion (Fig. 2) in which a fastening component (19) for fastening the cutting insert onto the insert mounting seat is inserted; and a flow path (14, 16) for allowing fluid to be discharged through a discharge port that is open at a leading end of the body (Fig. 3). At least a part of the flow path is at respective distances from the insert mounting seat, from the fastening portion, and from a periphery of the body, in a cross-section perpendicular to an axial direction of the body (Figs. 2, 3). As best understood, each of the distances is equal to or greater than a predetermined size. That is, neither the respective distances nor the predetermined size is not defined in any explicit manner. The combination of body and cutting insert qualifies as a cutting tool (Figs. 1-3).
(Claim 2) The distance from the insert mounting seat, the distance from the fastening portion, and the distance from the periphery of the body are each 0.1 mm or more and 0.5 mm or less. Again, the manner in which these distances is measured is not clearly delineated. As such, a part of the coolant channel may meet the claimed range. This also depends on the diameter of the body. Here, the cutting tool is described as being able to cut holes as small as 12 mm (Page 1, Lines 25-28). As such, the body may be less than 12 mm. With the fastening portion being broadly construed to be the portion opposite the shank, the body here reads upon the claim as the smallest distance to each feature would be well less than half the overall diameter.
(Claim 3) As best understood, the distance from the insert mounting seat, the distance from the fastening portion, and the distance from the periphery of the body are almost the same size (Figs. 1-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sung et al. (KR 101014122 B1) in view of Grunsky (US Patent No. 4,826,364) or Takai (US Pub. No. 2015/0321267 A1).
Sung discloses that at least a part of the periphery of the body has a circular-arc-shaped portion in a cross-section perpendicular to the axial direction (Figs. 1-9). Yet, Sung does not explicitly disclose at least a part of the flow path has a substantially triangular shape in a cross-section perpendicular to the axial direction, and at least a part of the flow path has a substantially fan-like shape in the cross-section, the fan-like shape including a circular-arc-shaped portion that conforms to the periphery of the body. It is worth noting that the claim requires a part of the flow path to have the claimed shape, which is different than a cross-sectional shape of a flow path channel. Nevertheless, examiner will address the claim with what Applicant likely intends to further prosecution.
Grunsky discloses at least a part of the flow path has, as best understood, a substantially triangular shape in a cross-section perpendicular to the axial direction, and at least a part of the flow path has, as best understood, a substantially fan-like shape in the cross-section, the fan-like shape including a circular-arc-shaped portion that conforms to the periphery of the body (Fig. 8). At a time prior to filing it would have been obvious to provide the body disclosed in Sung with at least a part of the flow path having the claimed shape that conforms to the periphery of the body as suggested by Grunsky in order to adequately cool the front end portion of the body and form the shape during extrusion instead of an extra machining step (Col. 8, Lines 1-5).
Takai discloses at least a part of the flow path has, as best understood, a substantially triangular shape in a cross-section perpendicular to the axial direction, and at least a part of the flow path has, as best understood, a substantially fan-like shape in the cross-section, the fan-like shape including a circular-arc-shaped portion that conforms to the periphery of the body (Figs. 3-5). At a time prior to filing it would have been obvious to provide the body disclosed in Sung with at least a part of the flow path having the claimed shape that conforms to the periphery of the body as taught by Takai in order to increase a cross-sectional area of a cutting fluid supply hole without reducing rigidity of the body (¶¶ 0004-0006).
Conclusion
/RYAN RUFO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722