DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The office notes that claims 13-20 remain withdrawn and must be labelled accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartwig (DE 19900196 A1) in view of Li (WO 2014146287 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hartwig discloses an excrement treatment material comprising:
a grain for treating excrement of an animal (¶ 0010, lines 1-3, “Essentially, the granules according to the invention are produced by using cellulose-containing materials, preferably waste paper, as the basic component, which is swollen with potato juice“),
wherein the grain contains a moisturizing component that moisturizes a skin of the animal (¶ 0015, lines 3 and 4 “The glycerin solution provides protection against drying out [has a moisturizing effect], so that the entire material according to the invention remains stable”).
Hartwig, however, fails to specifically disclose and a weight ratio of the moisturizing component with respect to the grain is between 3% and 15%, inclusive.
Li is in the field of cat litter and teaches a weight ratio of the moisturizing component with respect to the grain is between 3% and 15%, inclusive (¶ 0037, lines 5-7, “After soaking for 8 hours, the solution was dried at 85°C to a moisture content of less than 4 wt%. This pH indicator material contains 0.5 wt% of the mixed indicator and 5 wt% of glycerol;” a specific example in the prior art which is within a claimed range anticipates the range (MPEP 2131.03)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of cat litter before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hartwig to include a weight ratio of the moisturizing component with respect to the grain is between 3% and 15%, inclusive, as taught by the moisturizer weight ratio of Li. The moisturizer weight ratio would optimize the overall moisture content for the material, which would improve overall performance. The modification would have a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 2, Hartwig in view of Li discloses the device of claim 1.
Hartwig discloses wherein the moisturizing component is exposed on a surface of the grain (¶ 0015, lines 1 and 2, “For use as cat litter, the mass is cut into small pieces [less than 1 cc] and additionally sprayed with a 25% aqueous glycerin solution and dried”).
Regarding claim 3, Hartwig in view of Li discloses the device of claim 1.
Hartwig discloses wherein the moisturizing component is a natural component (glycerin; ¶ 0015).
Regarding claim 4, Hartwig in view of Li discloses the device of claim 1.
Hartwig discloses wherein the grain is composed of a plurality of layers (¶ 0015, spraying forms a layer).
Regarding claim 5, Hartwig in view of Li discloses the device of claim 4 including a second layer that is provided outside the first layer and contains the moisturizing component, and a weight ratio of the moisturizing component with respect to the second layer is larger than a weight ratio of the moisturizing component with respect to the first layer (¶ 0015, spraying forms a layer of glycerin around core), however, the modified reference fails to specifically disclose wherein the plurality of layers include a first layer that contains the moisturizing component.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Hartwig in view of Li such that the plurality of layers includes a first layer that contains the moisturizing component, in order to expand the distribution of the moisturizer throughout the grain. Additionally, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C); In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
Regarding claim 6, Hartwig in view of Li discloses the device of claim 4.
Hartwig discloses wherein the moisturizing component is contained only in an outermost layer out of the plurality of layers (¶ 0015).
Regarding claim 7, Hartwig in view of Li discloses the device of claim 4.
Hartwig discloses wherein the moisturizing component is contained only in an outermost layer out of the plurality of layers (¶ 0015).
Regarding claim 8, Hartwig in view of Li discloses the device of claim 7.
Hartwig discloses wherein the outermost layer is provided partially (¶ 0015).
Regarding claim 9, Hartwig in view of Li discloses the device of claim 1.
Hartwig discloses wherein the grain has a hydrophobic property (vegetable oil; ¶ 0009, lines 9-11, “According to the invention, it is provided that the material is preferably a] 40-80 wt.% cellulose-containing material, b] 1-10% by weight vegetable oil,”).
Regarding claim 10, Hartwig in view of Li discloses the device of claim 1.
Hartwig discloses wherein the grain contains an organic substance as a main material (¶ 0009, lines 9 and 10).
Regarding claim 12, Hartwig in view of Li discloses the device of claim 1.
Hartwig discloses wherein the animal is a cat (¶ 0001, “The invention relates to a non-dusting, cellulose-based material which can be used as a liquid-absorbing litter, e.g. It can be used, for example, in cat hygiene or as a material, especially insulation material”).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartwig (DE 19900196 A1) in view of Li (WO 2014146287 A1), as applied to claim 10, and further in view of Lipscomb (WO 2016081953 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Hartwig in view of Li discloses the device of claim 10, however, the modified reference fails to specifically disclose wherein the grain is made only of an organic substance.
Lipscomb is in the field of absorptive cat litter and teaches wherein the grain is made only of an organic substance (¶ 0040, lines 17-20, “As discussed in more detail below, dust-suppressing blend component 78 is composed of at least a plurality of pairs of dust-adhering absorbent granules 46 each made substantially completely of a starch-containing organic material preferably composed or otherwise formed of or from a starch-containing extrudate”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of absorptive cat litter before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hartwig in view of Li such that the grain is made only of an organic substance, as taught by the organic composition of Lipscomb. The organic composition would make the litter more biodegradable, which would provide environmental benefits. The modification would have a reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 04/16/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
Gordon, US 4641605 A, discusses animal litter and method of preparation.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.T.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3642
/MAGDALENA TOPOLSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642