DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 2, 3, 9 and 10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/10/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-8, 11, 12, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (2) as being anticipated by Diao (US 11,471,242, hereinafter “Diao I”).
In regards to claim 1, Diao I discloses a surgical probe (abstract) comprising:
a handpiece configured to be held by a user (Fig. 4A, element 301); and
a tube (e.g., Figs. 4A-4B, 10-11E, element 340) comprising:
a proximal end coupled to the handpiece (Figs. 4A-4B);
a distal end opposite the proximal end and comprising a distal tip (Figs. 10-11E), wherein the distal tip is beveled (e.g., Figs. 10, 11C, 11E; note beveled end of tube 340) and comprises an end face at least partially defining a port for aspiration (opening of 340; col. 8, lines 53-56; col. 9, lines 49-50); and
at least one functional component disposed in the tube (element 332, “optical fiber,” col. 8, lines 4-11).
In regards to claim 4, the at least one functional component includes an optical fiber (element 332, “optical fiber,” col. 8, lines 4-11), a proximal end of the optical fiber connected to a light source (col. 8, lines 5-11, “extend from the fiber subsystem 120”).
In regards to claim 5, the optical fiber is configured to transmit light for illumination (col. 2, lines 39-43, “cause a field of illumination”).
In regards to claim 6, the optical fiber is configured to transmit laser light for photocoagulation (col. 17, lines 60-64, “the optical fiber included in implementations of the surgical instrument 110 may provide for transmission of laser light to provide a photocoagulation laser at a distal tip of the surgical instrument”).
In regards to claim 7, the probe further comprises at least one of a lens, a camera, or an image sensor (col. 6, lines 27-28; “the fiber subsystem 120 may further include sensors, lenses, filters, and other optical devices”).
In regards to claim 8, the at least one functional component is extendable relative to the tube (col. 8, lines 12-44; at least a portion of the fiber is able to extend relative to the tube -- the claim does not require the ability of the functional component to extend from the distal face of the tube).
In regards to claim 11, the at least one functional component includes an optical fiber (element 332, “optical fiber,” col. 8, lines 4-11).
In regards to claim 12, the optical fiber comprises a straight optical fiber (col. 8, lines 27-29; “permit slidable transition for the optical fiber 332 through a straight, offset or curved path”).
In regards to claim 14, the optical fiber is configured to transmit light for illumination (col. 2, lines 39-43, “cause a field of illumination”).
In regards to claim 15, the optical fiber is configured to transmit laser light for photocoagulation (col. 17, lines 60-64, “the optical fiber included in implementations of the surgical instrument 110 may provide for transmission of laser light to provide a photocoagulation laser at a distal tip of the surgical instrument”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diao I in view of Diao et al. (US 2021/0173143, hereinafter “Diao II”).
Diao I discloses the essential features of the claimed invention except for wherein a portion of the optical fiber is disposed in a shape memory material having a pre-formed curve.
However, Diao II in the same field of endeavor of laser eye surgical devices teaches providing a similar system with a portion of the optical fiber that is disposed in a shape memory material having a pre-formed curve (par. 0034, second curved portion including the optical fiber is surrounded by a Nitinol tube, which is a shape-memory material) to provide the predictable results of better access to the target anatomical site, as shown in Fig. 1A.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Diao I by providing a portion of the optical fiber that is disposed in a shape memory material having a pre-formed curve to provide the predictable results of better access to the target anatomical site.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diao I in view of Lopez et al. (US 10,639,197, hereinafter “Lopez”).
Diao I discloses the essential features of the claimed invention, including a beveled end face, but does not expressly disclose wherein the end face is disposed at an angle between about 10 degrees and about 30 degrees relative to a normal of the a longitudinal axis of the tube.
However, Lopez in the same field of endeavor of eye surgical instruments teaches providing an instrument wherein the end face is disposed at an angle range covering between about 10 degrees and about 30 degrees relative to a normal of a longitudinal axis of the tube (col. 13, lines 40-53) to provide the predictable results of allowing the user to place the instrument closer to the target without cutting the target, allow shaving and dissection of the target, and allow the user to lift and pick membranes without having to switch to another instrument (col. 9, line 57 to col. 10, line 7). Further Lopez recognizes that this bevel angle is a results-effective variable (col. 13, lines 40-53; col. 9, line 57 to col. 10, line 7) and it has been held that "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Diao I by providing an instrument wherein the end face is disposed at an angle range covering between about 10 degrees and about 30 degrees relative to a normal of a longitudinal axis of the tube to provide the predictable results of allowing the user to place the instrument closer to the target without cutting the target, allow shaving and dissection of the target, and allow the user to lift and pick membranes without having to switch to another instrument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Berlin (US 2002/0013572) is another example of an eye surgical instrument with aspiration, fiber functional element, and beveled tip.
/MICHAEL W KAHELIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792