DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action supersedes the earlier mailed Non-Final Rejection.
The indicated allowability of claims 2-9 and 12-19 is withdrawn in view of a newly discovered reference to Joseph (US 2025/0319420). Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) follow.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Therefore, the “settling tank baffle wall” (claims 4 and 14) and the “second fluid opening extending through the divider wall” (claims 6 and 16) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to for the contents of paragraph [0005], the first paragraph of the “BRIEF SUMMARY”, which recites the following:
This summary is provided to describe select concepts in a simplified form that are further described in the Detailed Description. This summary is not intended to identify key or essential features of the claimed subject matter, nor is it intended to be used as an aid in determining the scope of the claimed subject matter.
37 C.F.R. 1.73 requires the following of a brief summary of invention:
A brief summary of the invention indicating its nature and substance, which may include a statement of the object of the invention, should precede the detailed description. Such summary should, when set forth, be commensurate with the invention as claimed and any object recited should be that of the invention as claimed.
(emphasis added).
MPEP 608.01(d), in discussing 37 C.F.R. 1.73, clarifies that “the purpose of the brief summary of invention is to apprise the public, and more especially those interested in the particular art to which the invention relates, of the nature of the invention,” and that “The brief summary, if properly written to set out the exact nature, operation, and purpose of the invention, will be of material assistance in aiding ready understanding of the patent in future searches.” MPEP 608.01(d) further states that “The brief summary of invention should be consistent with the subject matter of the claims.”
A brief summary which does not identify key features of the claimed subject matter and/or cannot be used as an aid in determining the scope of the claimed subject matter does not comply with the requirements set forth in 37 C.F.R. 1.73. Thus, paragraph [0005] is objectionable because it at least suggests that brief summary does not describe key features of the invention as claimed and/or that it cannot be used as an aid in determining the scope of the claimed subject matter.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 2 and 12 recite a first nozzle wall having at least one first baffle nozzle formed therein and a second nozzle wall having at least one second baffle nozzle formed therein.
Examiner interprets the claimed first and second baffle nozzles as being passages which are tapered and/or which project from their respective nozzle walls.
Examiner notes that this interpretation is given on account of the usage of the word “nozzle” and is consistent with the Merriam-Webster Definition of “nozzle, as well as Applicant’s depiction of the baffle nozzles (see elements 214 and 216 in Figures 3 and 4).
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because it is a substantial duplicate of claim 8.
Claim 19 is objected to because it is a substantial duplicate of claim 9.
Claim 20 is objected to because it is a substantial duplicate of claim 11.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-13, and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Joseph (US 2025/0319420).
With regard to claim 1: Joseph teaches a distillation (evaporation) system (abstract, paragraphs [0003]-[0005], Figures 1-7), the system comprising:
A tank 100 having a first end wall, a second end wall, a front wall, a back wall, a top wall, and a bottom wall that together define an inner volume, a divider wall (end wall) 145 disposed within the tank and dividing the inner volume into a main chamber and a settling chamber (exit chamber) 286, the main chamber (which is further divided into chambers 220, 240, 250, 270, and 280) having at least a fluid inlet port (water inlet) 510 and an exhaust gas inlet port 210, the settling chamber having at least an exhaust gas outlet port (tank outlet/exit) 290, the divider wall 145 having a divider wall opening (window) 146 formed therein that provides fluid communication between the main chamber and the settling chamber (Figures 1, 2, and 4-7, paragraphs [0019]-[0020], [0024]-[0030], and [0034]).
A diffuser (inlet duct) 215 disposed within the main chamber and coupled to the exhaust gas inlet port 210 (Figures 1, 2, and 3-7, paragraph [0026]).
And a gas turbine engine 300 in fluid communication with the exhaust gas inlet port 210 (Figures 1, 2, and 4-7, paragraphs [0019] and [0021]-[0026]).
With regard to claim 2: The system of Joseph further comprises:
A first nozzle wall disposed within the main chamber and coupled to the diffuser 215, the first nozzle wall spaced apart from the front wall of the tank to define, within the main chamber, an inlet volume (evaporation chamber) 220 between the first nozzle wall and the front wall, the first nozzle wall having at least one first baffle nozzle (outlet/nozzle) 230 formed therein (Figures 3-7, paragraphs [0025]-[0027]).
A first baffle wall (impingement wall) 245 having a plurality of first baffle openings (windows) 246 extending therethrough, the first baffle wall 245 disposed within the main chamber and spaced apart from the first nozzle wall to define, within the main chamber, a first mixing volume (chamber) 240 between the first nozzle wall and the first baffle wall 245 (Figures 3-7, paragraph [0027]).
A second nozzle wall (chamber wall) 255 disposed within the main chamber and spaced apart from the first baffle wall to define, within the main chamber, an intermediate volume (chamber) 250, the second nozzle wall having at least one second baffle nozzle (outlet/nozzle) 260 formed therein (Figures 3-7, paragraph [0028]).
And a second baffle wall (impingement wall) 275 having a plurality of second baffle openings (windows) 276 extending therethrough, the second baffle wall disposed within the main chamber and spaced apart from the second nozzle wall 255 to define, the within the main chamber, a second mixing volume (chamber) 270 between the second nozzle wall 255 and the second baffle wall 275, the second baffle wall 275 further spaced apart from the back wall of the tank to define, within the main chamber, an outlet volume (chamber) 280 (Figures 3-7, paragraphs [0028]-[0029]).
With regard to claim 12: Joseph teaches a distillation (evaporation) system (abstract, paragraphs [0003]-[0005], Figures 1-7), the system comprising:
A tank 100 having a first end wall, a second end wall, a front wall, a back wall, a top wall, and a bottom wall that together define an inner volume, a divider wall (end wall) 145 disposed within the tank and dividing the inner volume into a main chamber and a settling chamber (exit chamber) 286, the main chamber (which is further divided into chambers 220, 240, 250, 270, and 280) having at least a fluid inlet port (water inlet) 510 and an exhaust gas inlet port 210, the settling chamber having at least an exhaust gas outlet port (tank outlet/exit) 290, the divider wall 145 having a divider wall opening (window) 146 formed therein that provides fluid communication between the main chamber and the settling chamber (Figures 1, 2, and 4-7, paragraphs [0019]-[0020], [0024]-[0030], and [0034]).
A diffuser (inlet duct) 215 disposed within the main chamber and coupled to the exhaust gas inlet port 210 (Figures 1, 2, and 3-7, paragraph [0026]).
A first nozzle wall disposed within the main chamber and coupled to the diffuser 215, the first nozzle wall spaced apart from the front wall of the tank to define, within the main chamber, an inlet volume (evaporation chamber) 220 between the first nozzle wall and the front wall, the first nozzle wall having at least one first baffle nozzle (outlet/nozzle) 230 formed therein (Figures 3-7, paragraphs [0025]-[0027]).
A first baffle wall (impingement wall) 245 having a plurality of first baffle openings (windows) 246 extending therethrough, the first baffle wall 245 disposed within the main chamber and spaced apart from the first nozzle wall to define, within the main chamber, a first mixing volume (chamber) 240 between the first nozzle wall and the first baffle wall 245 (Figures 3-7, paragraph [0027]).
A second nozzle wall (chamber wall) 255 disposed within the main chamber and spaced apart from the first baffle wall to define, within the main chamber, an intermediate volume (chamber) 250, the second nozzle wall having at least one second baffle nozzle (outlet/nozzle) 260 formed therein (Figures 3-7, paragraph [0028]).
And a second baffle wall (impingement wall) 275 having a plurality of second baffle openings (windows) 276 extending therethrough, the second baffle wall disposed within the main chamber and spaced apart from the second nozzle wall 255 to define, the within the main chamber, a second mixing volume (chamber) 270 between the second nozzle wall 255 and the second baffle wall 275, the second baffle wall 275 further spaced apart from the back wall of the tank to define, within the main chamber, an outlet volume (chamber) 280 (Figures 3-7, paragraphs [0028]-[0029]).
And a gas turbine engine 300 in fluid communication with the exhaust gas inlet port 210, the gas turbine engine configured, during operation thereof, to discharge exhaust gas into the inlet volume via the diffuser (Figures 1, 2, and 4-7, paragraphs [0019] and [0021]-[0026]).
With regard to claims 3 and 13: The outlet volume 280 is in fluid communication with the settling chamber 286 via the divider wall opening 146 (Figures 3-7, paragraphs [0020] and [0029]).
With regard to claims 5 and 15: The system of Joseph further comprises:
A plurality of first fluid openings (gaps) 228, 248, 258, and 278 extending through each of the first nozzle wall, the first baffle wall, the second nozzle wall, and the second baffle wall, the first fluid openings located adjacent the bottom wall of the tank and providing fluid communication between the inlet volume, the first mixing volume, the intermediate volume, the second mixing volume, and the outlet volume (Figures 3-7, paragraph [0029]).
With regard to claims 6 and 16: Joseph’s Figures 4-7 at least suggest a second fluid opening extending through the divider wall 145 and located adjacent to the bottom wall of the tank, wherein said second fluid opening provides fluid communication between the settling chamber and the main chamber (see Annotated Figures 4 and 5 below).
With regard to claims 7 and 17: During operation, fluid within the main chamber is maintained at or above a predetermined fluid level, i.e. any of levels W1, W2, W3, W4, and/or W5 (Figure 6, paragraphs [0026] and [0030]).
The system of Jospeh is at least capable of operating according to a mode wherein the at least one first baffle nozzle 230 and the at least one second baffle nozzle 260 are each located below the predetermined fluid level; and the plurality of first baffle openings 246 and the plurality of second baffle openings 276 are each located above the predetermined fluid level (Figure 6, paragraph [0026]; see MPEP 2114 for guidance).
With regard to claims 8 and 18: The system of Joseph further comprises:
A fluid source and a fluid pump 520 disposed between, and in fluid communication with, the fluid source and the main chamber, the fluid pump 520 configured to maintain the fluid within the main chamber at or above the predetermined fluid level (Figures 1-2 and 3-7, especially Figures 6 and 7, paragraphs [0030] and [0034]).
With regard to claims 9 and 19: The system of Joseph further comprises a fluid level sensor 540 disposed on or within the tank, the fluid level sensor configured to sense the fluid level within the main chamber and supply a fluid level signal to the fluid pump 520 (Figure 7, paragraph [0034]).
With regard to claim 10: The system of Joseph further comprises an engine control in operable communication with the gas turbine engine, and configured to control the operation of the gas turbine engine (Figure 1, paragraph [0022]).
With regard to claims 11 and 20: The system of Joseph further comprises an exhaust duct 390 coupled between the gas turbine engine and the exhaust gas inlet port, the exhaust duct configured to direct the exhaust gas discharged from the gas turbine engine into the exhaust gas inlet port (Figure 1, paragraph [0024]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 6, 14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joseph in view of Rumell et al. (US 7,192,469), hereafter referred to as Rumell.
With regard to claims 4, 6, 14, and 16: Joseph teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 12 as described in the 102 rejections set forth above.
Joseph does not explicitly teach a settling tank baffle wall disposed within the settling chamber and having a third baffle opening extending therethrough.
However, in Joseph, the settling tank (exit chamber) 286 is a chamber through which evaporated water and exhaust gas exit the tank into the exhaust gas outlet port 290 (Figures 1, 2, 4, and 5, paragraphs [0020], [0025], and [0029]). Bearing this in mind, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would be advantageous to provide the exit chamber with a mist eliminator (aka droplet separator, demister, etc.) which serves to separate any entrained liquid from the evaporated water and exhaust gas, thereby preventing any such entrained liquid from contaminating purified water produced by the system.
Mist eliminators comprised of baffles having openings therein are well known in the art. For example, Rumell, drawn to an exhaust gas treatment system (abstract), teaches a system comprising such mist eliminators (droplet retainers) 34 (Figure 2, Column 2 Lines 15-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Joseph in view of Rumell by adding a settling tank baffle wall disposed within the settling chamber and having a third baffle opening extending therethrough, said settling tank baffle wall serving as a mist eliminator, in order to provide the system of Joseph with a means of separating any entrained liquid from the evaporated water and exhaust gas, thereby preventing any such entrained liquid from contaminating purified water produced by the system.
Joseph’s Figures 4-7 at least suggest a second fluid opening extending through the divider wall 145 and located adjacent to the bottom wall of the tank, wherein said second fluid opening provides fluid communication between the settling chamber and the main chamber (see Annotated Figures 4 and 5 below).
Nevertheless, should it be argued that Joseph does not include such a second fluid opening, a person having ordinary skill in the art, having added the third baffle wall to serve as a mist eliminator, would find it desirable that the divider wall be provided with such a second fluid opening to allow entrained liquid collected by the third baffle wall to renter the main chamber, rather than accumulating within the settling chamber.
Systems having such second openings are known in the art. For example, Rumell at least suggests that a droplet reservoir, which collates entrained liquid separated by the mist eliminators (droplet retainers) 34 be placed in fluid communication with a main reservoir 17 (Figure 1, Column 2 Lines 25-30).
If Joesph does not include a second fluid opening extending through the divider wall 145 and located adjacent to the bottom wall of the tank, wherein said second fluid opening provides fluid communication between the settling chamber and the main chamber, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify Joseph in view of Rumell by adding such a second fluid opening, in order to provide a means to allow entrained liquid collected by the third baffle wall to renter the main chamber, rather than accumulating within the settling chamber.
Claim(s) 1, 10, 11, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duesel et al. (US 2008/0174033), hereafter referred to as Duesel in view of Wood et al. (US 2,921,004), hereafter referred to as Wood.
With regard to claim 1: Duesel teaches a distillation system (abstract, Figures 1 and 5, paragraphs [0031], [0032], and [0051]), the system comprising:
A tank (vessel) 30/330 having walls that define an inner volume, a divider wall (weir) 40/340 disposed within the tank and dividing the inner volume into a main chamber (volume; i.e. chamber to the right of the divider in Figures 1 and 5) 70/370 and a settling chamber (volume; i.e. chamber to the right of the divider in Figures 1 and 5) 71, the main chamber 70/370 having at least a fluid inlet port 34/334 and an exhaust gas inlet port (gas inlet tube) 22/322, the settling chamber having at least an exhaust gas outlet port (gas exit port) 360, the divider wall 40/340 having divider wall openings formed therein (i.e. at the bottom and top of the divider wall) that provide fluid communication between the main chamber and the settling chamber (Figures 1 and 5, paragraphs [0031], [0032], [0035]-[0037], and [0051]).
A diffuser (gas exit ports/sparge ports) 24 disposed in the main chamber and coupled to the exhaust gas inlet port 22/322 (Figures 1 and 5, paragraphs [0032], and [0035]-[0037]).
A source of exhaust gas (“for example, a flare stack, a reciprocating engine, a turbine, or other source of waste heat”) in fluid communication with the exhaust gas inlet port 22/322, said source of exhaust gas configured to discharge exhaust gas into the main chamber 70/370 via the diffuser 24 (Figure 5, paragraph [0051]).
With respect to the embodiments relied upon in this rejection (those of Figures 1 and 5), Duesel does not teach any particular shape associated with the tank 30/330. Regardless of the shape of said tank 30/330, it is inarguable that the tank has a top wall and a bottom wall which are partially responsible for defining said inner volume. Furthermore, regardless of the shape of said tank 30/330, said tank is fairly characterized as having a first end wall, a second end wall, a back wall, and a front wall. For example, if the tank is cylindrical in shape, the circumferential portion of said tank walls can be fairly characterized as constituting two end walls, a front wall, and a back wall, each of said walls being constituted by a quarter of the circumferential portion.
In the alternative, Duesel teaches that, “While several different types air strippers having different weir configurations are illustrated herein, it will be understood that the shapes and configurations of the components, including the weirs, baffles, liquid entry ports, liquid discharge ports, gas entry ports and gas discharge ports used in these devices could be varied or altered as desired,” (paragraph [0055]). This teaching, to one of ordinary skill in the art would at least suggest that the shape of the tank is unimportant. It is well established that mere changes in shape are considered to be matters of obvious design choice absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant (MPEP 2144.04(IV)B).
If, for the sake of argument, the tank 30/330 cannot be considered as having a first end wall, a second end wall, a back wall, and a front wall, e.g. as the result of it having some particular shape, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to change the shape of the tank, such that said tank were shaped (e.g. as a cube or a rectangular prism) so as to inarguably comprise first and second end walls, a back wall, and a front wall, in order to obtain a predictably functional distillation system of different shape.
Duesel does not explicitly teach that the source of exhaust gas is a gas turbine.
However, as discussed above, Duesel teaches that the source of exhaust gas can be “a flare stack, a reciprocating engine, a turbine, or other source of waste heat” (paragraph [0051]). To one of ordinary skill in the art, this teaching would suggest the use of a gas turbine as the source of exhaust gas, as gas turbines generate waste heat, and are turbines.
Nevertheless, Wood, drawn to an apparatus for purifying hot water by evaporation using a hot gas derived from a source of waste heat (Column 1, especially lines 55-63), expressly suggests that exhaust gases from gas turbines can yield good results when applied as a heating gas for evaporating water (Column 4 Lines 20-25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Duesel by using a gas turbine as the source of exhaust gas, in order to obtain a predictably functional evaporation system which uses a predictably suitable source of hot exhaust gas/waste heat.
With regard to claim 10: Modified Duesel does not explicitly teach an engine control in operable communication with the gas turbine and configured to control operation of the gas turbine. However, every engine necessarily comprises at least a rudimentary engine control of some sort, e.g. at least means for turning the gas turbine on and off (starting and stopping operation thereof).
In the alternative, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Duesel by adding an engine configured to control operation of the gas turbine, i.e. at least for turning the gas turbine on and off (starting and stopping operation thereof), in order to obtain a system wherein the gas turbine engine can advantageously be stared when desired and stopped when desired or necessary.
With regard to Claims 11 and 20: Modified Duesel comprises an exhaust duct coupled between the gas turbine engine and the exhaust gas inlet port, the exhaust gas duct configured to direct the exhaust gas discharged from the gas turbine engine into the exhaust gas inlet port (Duesel: Figures 1 and 5).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 10, 11, and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 19/083,820.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘820 application anticipate or otherwise render obvious the subject matter of claims 1, 10, 11, and 20.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 2-9 and 12-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 19/083,820 in view of Joseph (US 2025/0319420).
The claims are drawn to a similar distillation system.
The principal difference between the two claim sets is that the claims of the ‘820 Application do not include limitations to the baffle walls and nozzle walls as recited in claims 2 and 12 of the present Application.
Joseph teaches an evaporation system having such baffle walls and nozzle walls (Figures 1-7, paragraphs [0019]-[0034]).
When considered in combination, the claims of the ‘820 Application and the disclosure of Jospeh suggest the distillation system of the present claims, i.e. a system comprising baffle walls and nozzle walls as recited in claims 2 and 12 of the present Application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 10, 11, and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of copending Application No. 19/083,936.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘936 application anticipate or otherwise render obvious the subject matter of claims 1, 10, 11, and 20.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 2-9 and 12-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of copending Application No. 19/083,936 in view of Joseph (US 2025/0319420).
The claims are drawn to a similar distillation system.
The principal difference between the two claim sets is that the claims of the ‘936 Application do not include limitations to the baffle walls and nozzle walls as recited in claims 2 and 12 of the present Application.
Joseph teaches an evaporation system having such baffle walls and nozzle walls (Figures 1-7, paragraphs [0019]-[0034]).
When considered in combination, the claims of the ‘936 Application and the disclosure of Jospeh suggest the distillation system of the present claims, i.e. a system comprising baffle walls and nozzle walls as recited in claims 2 and 12 of the present Application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 10, 11, and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 and 14 of copending Application No. 19/282,186.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘186 application anticipate or otherwise render obvious the subject matter of claims 1, 10, 11, and 20.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 2-9 and 12-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 and 14 of copending Application No. 19/282,186 in view of Joseph (US 2025/0319420).
The claims are drawn to a similar distillation system.
The principal difference between the two claim sets is that the claims of the ‘186 Application do not include limitations to the baffle walls and nozzle walls as recited in claims 2 and 12 of the present Application.
Joseph teaches an evaporation system having such baffle walls and nozzle walls (Figures 1-7, paragraphs [0019]-[0034]).
When considered in combination, the claims of the ‘186 Application and the disclosure of Jospeh suggest the distillation system of the present claims, i.e. a system comprising baffle walls and nozzle walls as recited in claims 2 and 12 of the present Application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 8,382,075 is the granted patent corresponding to the Duesel PG pub relied upon in the 103 rejections above.
US 9,156,711 belongs to the same patent family as the Duesel PG pub relied upon in the 103 rejections above.
US 2,373,519 teaches a “wash box” which closely resembles the device illustrated Applicant’s Figure 1 (Column 1, Figure 1). Said “wash box” is at least capable of functioning as an evaporator/distillation system. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to configure said wash box to receive hot exhaust from a gas turbine.
US 3,757,708 teaches a pollution control device which closely resembles the device illustrated Applicant’s Figure 1 (Abstract, Column 1, Figures 1 and 3).
US 5,606,965; US 5,636,623; US 6,293,277 B1, US 6,338,337; and US 8,852,394 all teach devices submerged combustion evaporators which bear similarities to the invention of claim 1. Examiner finds that Applicant’s invention (including the embodiment presently expressed in claim 1) is NOT fairly characterized as a submerged combustion evaporator/distiller. Nevertheless, the prior art references in question are relevant on account of their teachings to baffle assemblies similar to that recited in present claim 1.
US 7,416,172; US 8,425,665; US 7,832,714; US 8,043,479; US 8,833,738; US 8,136,797; US 2012/0318009 all disclose similar subject matter to the Duesel PG pub relied upon in the 103 rejections above, and all have at least one inventor in common therewith.
US 3,998,613; US 4,005,999; US 4,039,307; US 4,406,843; US 4,612,176; and US 6,546,883 teach devices similar to the device claimed in claims 2 and 12.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN LUKE PILCHER/ Examiner, Art Unit 1772