DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakano et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0359537 (hereinafter Sakano) in view of Onishi et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 2016/0050381 (hereinafter Onishi).
Consider claim 1, Sakano teaches a detection device comprising (Figure 1): a sensor circuit provided with a first photodiode and a second photodiode in a semiconductor layer (Figure 1, pixel array unit 41. Figures 5-6, 161); and a signal detector configured to acquire a detection value corresponding to a signal output from the sensor circuit (Figure 1, 43, 48, 200 (see also figure 6)), wherein the first photodiode has one end coupled to the signal detector and another end coupled to a reference potential (Figures 5-6, 161-162 and 200), both ends of the second photodiode are electrically connected to the signal detector (Figures 5-6, 161-162 and 200. Figure 1, pixel array 141).
Sakano does not appear to specifically disclose the signal detector is configured to output a difference value between a detection value acquired by the first photodiode and a detection value acquired by the second photodiode.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Onishi teaches an imaging system (abstract) and further teaches the signal detector is configured to output a difference value between a detection value acquired by the first photodiode and a detection value acquired by the second photodiode (Figure 5 and [0069-0070]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a difference value as taught by Onishi in order to improves common mode rejection ratio and power supply rejection ration as suggested in [0069].
Consider claim 2, Sakano and Onishi teaches all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Sakano teaches wherein the sensor circuit comprises: a first detection electrode and a second detection electrode that are provided on a detection surface side of the semiconductor layer (Figure 5, 161, 162 and 200); and a first power supply electrode and a second power supply electrode, the first photodiode has one end coupled to the first detection electrode and another end coupled to the first power supply electrode (Figure 5, 161, 162, 200 and Vmid), and the second photodiode has one end coupled to the second detection electrode and another end coupled to the second power supply electrode (Figure 5, 161, 162, 200 and Vmid. Figure 1, pixel array 141).
Consider claim 6, Sakano teaches a detection device comprising: a sensor circuit provided with a first photodiode having a first detection electrode and a first power supply electrode with a semiconductor layer therebetween (Figure 5, Vmid, 161-163 and 200); a second detection electrode adjacent to the first detection electrode (Figure 1, pixel array 141 (and thus a plurality of adjacent electrodes)); and a signal detector configured to acquire a detection value corresponding to a signal output from the sensor circuit (Figure 1, 43, 48, 200 (see also figure 6)), wherein one end of the first detection electrode and the first power supply electrode is coupled to the signal detector (Figure 5, 200 and 161) and another end of the first detection electrode and the first power supply electrode is coupled to a reference potential (Figure 5, 162 and Vmid), the second detection electrode is coupled to the signal detector (Figure 5, 200 and 161. Figure 1, pixel array 141).
Sakano does not appear to specifically disclose the signal detector is configured to output a difference value between a detection value acquired by the first detection electrode and a detection value acquired by the second detection electrode.
However, Onishi teaches the signal detector is configured to output a difference value between a detection value acquired by the first detection electrode and a detection value acquired by the second detection electrode (Figure 5 and [0069-0070]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a difference value as taught by Onishi in order to improves common mode rejection ratio and power supply rejection ration as suggested in [0069].
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakano and Onishi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Blessinger U.S. Patent Publication No. 2009/0303363 (hereinafter Blessinger).
Consider claim 3, Sakano and Onishi teaches all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Sakano teaches wherein the sensor circuit comprises: a first detection electrode that is provided on a detection surface side of the semiconductor layer, and coupled to the one end of the first photodiode (Figure 5, 161 and 200); and a second detection electrode that is provided adjacent to the first detection electrode (Figure 1, pixel array 141 (and thus a plurality of adjacent photodiodes)), and coupled to the one end of the second photodiode (Figure 1, pixel array).
Sakano does not appear to specifically disclose a gain ratio of a gain of the first detection circuit to that of the second detection circuit is set to be substantially equal to a reciprocal of an area ratio of an area of the first detection electrode to that of the second detection electrode.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Blessinger teaches an array of pixel circuits (abstract) and further teaches a gain ratio of a gain of the first detection circuit to that of the second detection circuit is set to be substantially equal to a reciprocal of an area ratio of an area of the first detection electrode to that of the second detection electrode ([0011], different size detector and gain is proportional to the responsive area).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have different size detector areas as taught by Blessinger in [0011] in order to provide an extended dynamic range.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakano and Onishi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0349666 (hereinafter Chen).
Consider claim 4, Sakano teaches wherein the sensor circuit comprises: a first detection electrode that is provided on a detection surface side of the semiconductor layer, and coupled to the one end of the first photodiode (Figure 5, 161 and 200); and a second detection electrode that is provided adjacent to the first detection electrode, and coupled to the one end of the second photodiode (Figure 5, 161 and 200. Figure 1, pixel array 141 (and thus a plurality of adjacent photodiodes)).
Sakano does not appear to specifically disclose the second detection electrode is provided so as to surround the first detection electrode.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Chen teaches common-mode noise eliminated in the differential amplifier in [0027] and further teaches the second detection electrode is provided so as to surround the first detection electrode (Figure 7 and [0042], reference electrode 713 and sensing electrode 711).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a reference electrode as taught by Chen with the benefit that the reference sensing signal 720 received by the differential amplifier 223 illustrated in FIG. 7 may also contribute to reducing the DC offset component contained in the differential input signal as suggested in [0043].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Prior arts do not appear to disclose the states of the switches mentioned in claim 5 in combination to others limitations in the claim and any intervening claim.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-6 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,236,707.
Claim 1
Claims 1, 3 and 5 of Patent
A detection device comprising: a sensor circuit provided with a first photodiode and a second photodiode in a semiconductor layer;
A detection device comprising: a sensor circuit provided with a first photodiode in a semiconductor layer;
Claim 3: a second detection circuit coupled to one end of the second photodiode
and a signal detector configured to acquire a detection value corresponding to a signal output from the sensor circuit,
and a signal detector configured to acquire a detection value corresponding to a signal output from the sensor circuit,
wherein the first photodiode has one end coupled to the signal detector and another end coupled to a reference potential, both ends of the second photodiode are electrically connected to the signal detector
wherein the signal detector comprises: a first detection circuit coupled to one end of the first photodiode; a first switch circuit configured to apply a power supply potential to another end of the first photodiode;
and a second switch circuit configured to short both ends of the first photodiode, and wherein the signal detector has: a first state in which the first switch circuit is controlled to be on and the second switch circuit is controlled to be off; and a second state in which the first switch circuit is controlled to be off and the second switch circuit is controlled to be on, and is configured to output a difference value between a detection value acquired by the first detection circuit in the first state and a detection value acquired by the first detection circuit in the second state.
and the signal detector is configured to output a difference value between a detection value acquired by the first photodiode and a detection value acquired by the second photodiode.
Claim 5: to output a difference value between a first detection value acquired by the first detection circuit and a second detection value acquired by the second detection circuit.
Claim 3 of Patent includes the limitations of claim 2.
Claim 4 of Patent includes the limitations of claim 3.
Claims 4-5 of Patent include the limitations of claim 4.
Claim 8 of Patent include the limitations of claim 5.
Claim 1 and 5 of Patent include the limitations of claim 6.
Conclusion
/ROBERTO W FLORES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621