DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 04/01/25 & 06/26/25. The submission are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR § 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14, 17-25 & 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by J. Pfaff et al. ("Intra Prediction and Mode Coding in VVC," in IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems for Video Technology, vol. 31, no. 10, pp. 3834-3847, Oct. 2021, hereinafter Pfaff)
Regarding Claim 1, Pfaff discloses a method of decoding video data, the method comprising:
generating a prediction block for a current block of the video data using a sample position-dependent intra-prediction mode, including, for one or more samples of the prediction block (Section II, sample position-dependent intra-prediction mode including Angular Intra Prediction, Wide-Angle Intra Prediction (WAIP) , Position Dependent Prediction Combination (PDPC) , Multiple Reference Line (MRL) Matrix-Based Intra Prediction (MIP)):
selecting a filter for the sample according to a shape of the current block and a position of the sample (Section IV.G, FIG. 6, Matrix-Based Intra Prediction (MIP): The intra prediction samples can be generated by modes which perform a downsampling of the reference samples, a matrix vector multiplication and an upsampling of the result; Section IV.G. Sub Section 4, Each matrix Ak occurring in (9) is uniquely determined by mipSizeId and by the MIP-mode k – dependence of the shape using different blocks in the image with the MIP modes); and
predicting the sample using the selected filter (Section IV.G. Sub Section 2, a reduced prediction signal predMip of size predSize⋅predSize is generated by matrix-vector multiplication out of the reduced boundary: where predSize(W,H)=4 , if mipSizeId(W,H)∈{0,1} and predSize(W,H)=8 , otherwise. )
decoding a residual block for the current block of the video data; and combining the prediction block with the residual block to decode the current block of the video data (Section II, decoding a residual block for the current block combining the prediction block using Angular Intra Prediction, Wide-Angle Intra Prediction (WAIP) , Position Dependent Prediction Combination (PDPC) , Multiple Reference Line (MRL) Matrix-Based Intra Prediction (MIP)).
Regarding Claim 2, Pfaff discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the filter comprises a matrix of coefficients, and wherein predicting the sample comprises multiplying the matrix of coefficients by a causal template of samples neighboring the current block (Section IV.G, FIG. 6, Matrix-Based Intra Prediction (MIP): The intra prediction samples can be generated by modes which perform a downsampling of the reference samples, a matrix vector multiplication and an upsampling of the result).
Regarding Claim 3, Pfaff discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising selecting the matrix of coefficients from a set of available matrices according to one or more of a direction of the intra- prediction or a size of the current block (Section IV.G. Sub Section 4, Each matrix Ak occurring in (9) is uniquely determined by mipSizeId and by the MIP-mode k – dependence of the shape using different blocks in the image with the MIP modes).
Regarding Claim 4, Pfaff discloses the method of claim 2, wherein multiplying the matrix of coefficients by the causal template comprises subsampling the matrix of coefficients using a first subsampling factor and subsampling the causal template using a second subsampling factor to generate an intermediate prediction block (Section IV.G. Sub Section 1, Averaging: the top and left boundary samples refT and refL are reduced to smaller boundaries redT and redL of size boundarySize=2 for 4×4 blocks and of size boundarySize=4 for all other blocks).
Regarding Claim 5, Pfaff discloses the method of claim 4, wherein at least one of the first subsampling factor or the second subsampling factor corresponds to one or more of a direction of the intra- prediction, the shape of the current block, or a size of the current block (Section IV.G. Sub Section 4, Each matrix Ak occurring in (9) is uniquely determined by mipSizeId and by the MIP-mode k – dependence of the shape using different blocks in the image with the MIP modes).
Regarding Claim 6, Pfaff discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising determining to use the sample position-dependent intra-prediction mode based on a size of the current block being below a threshold (Section IV.G. Sub Section 4, Each matrix Ak occurring in (9) is uniquely determined by mipSizeId and by the MIP-mode k – dependence of the shape using different blocks in the image with the MIP modes).
Regarding Claim 7, Pfaff discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the size corresponds to one of an area of the current block, a width of the current block, or a height of the current block (Section IV.G. Sub Section 4, Each matrix Ak occurring in (9) is uniquely determined by mipSizeId and by the MIP-mode k – dependence of the shape using different blocks in the image with the MIP modes).
Regarding Claim 8, Pfaff discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising determining to use the sample position-dependent intra-prediction mode based on an aspect-ratio for the current block (Section IV.G. Sub Section 4, Each matrix Ak occurring in (9) is uniquely determined by mipSizeId and by the MIP-mode k – dependence of the shape using different blocks in the image with the MIP modes).
Regarding Claim 9, Pfaff discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising determining to use the sample position-dependent intra-prediction mode when:
a width of the current block is less than 32, a height of the current block is less than 32, and a signaled angular intra prediction mode for the current block has an index value of one of 0, 1, or (2+2*k) where k is an integer value between 0 and 32; or
the width of the current block is greater than or equal to 32 or the height of the current block is greater than or equal to 32, and the signed angular intra prediction mode for the current block has the index value of 0, 1, or (2+4*k) where k is an integer value between 0 and 16 (Section II, FIG. 3, Filtering with spatially varying weights is applied to blocks that use Planar and DC modes as well as certain angular modes using Position Dependent Prediction Combination (PDPC); Note: PDPC is automatically activated based on the block dimensions (Width (W), Height (H)) and the intra-prediction mode index. It is generally disabled if the block is smaller than 4x4, or if other specific tools like Multiple Reference Line (MRL) or Block-based Differential Pulse-Code Modulation (BDPCM) are used).
Regarding Claim 10, Pfaff discloses the method of claim 1, wherein predicting the sample using the selected filter comprises:
determining a number of reference lines of neighboring samples to the current block to which to apply the selected filter according to a size of the current block; and applying the selected filter to the number of reference lines of neighboring samples (Section IV.G, FIG. 6, Matrix-Based Intra Prediction (MIP): The intra prediction samples can be generated by modes which perform a downsampling of the reference samples, a matrix vector multiplication and an upsampling of the result).
Regarding Claim 11, Pfaff discloses the method of claim 1, wherein generating the prediction block comprises:
predicting a subsampled set of samples using respective filters for the subsampled set of samples to form an intermediate prediction block; and upsampling the intermediate prediction block to form the prediction block(Section IV.G, FIG. 6, Matrix-Based Intra Prediction (MIP): The intra prediction samples can be generated by modes which perform a downsampling of the reference samples, a matrix vector multiplication and an upsampling of the result).
Regarding Claim 12, Pfaff discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the current block has a width of W and a height of H, and wherein a causal template to which the filter is to be applied includes at least one of one or more 2*W-width rows of samples above the current block or 2*H-height columns of samples to the left of the current block(Section IV.G. Sub Section 1, Averaging: the top and left boundary samples refT and refL are reduced to smaller boundaries redT and redL of size boundarySize=2 for 4×4 blocks and of size boundarySize=4 for all other blocks).
Regarding Claim 13, Pfaff discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the current block has a width of W and a height of H, and when a signaled angular intra prediction mode for the current block has an index value between 19 and 49, a causal template to which the selected filter is to be applied includes a W-width rows of samples above the current block and an H-height columns of samples to the left of the current block (Section IV.G. Sub Section 1, Averaging: the top and left boundary samples refT and refL are reduced to smaller boundaries redT and redL of size boundarySize=2 for 4×4 blocks and of size boundarySize=4 for all other blocks).
Regarding Claim 14, Pfaff discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising transposing the selected filter to form a transposed filter, wherein predicting the sample using the selected filter comprises predicting the filter using the transposed filter (Section IV.G, FIG. 6, Matrix-Based Intra Prediction (MIP): The number nMIP of MIP modes supported on a given transform block is equal to 16 for mipSizeId=0 , equal to 8 for mipSizeId=1 and equal to 6 for mipSizeId=2. Here, mipSizeId is set to 0 for 4×4 blocks, to 1 for 8×8 blocks and for blocks that have exactly one side of length 4, and to 2 for all other blocks. Each MIP mode can be transposed which is determined by a flag mipTranspose).
Regarding Claims 17-25, Apparatus claims 17-25 of using the corresponding method claimed in claims 1 and 6-14, and the rejections of which are incorporated herein for the same reasons as used above.
Regarding Claims 27-28, are lists of hardware the usage of which components is well known in the art.
Regarding Claim 29, Encoding method claim 29 of using the corresponding decoding method claimed in claim 1, and the rejections of which are incorporated herein for the same reasons as used above.
Regarding Claim 30, Apparatus claim 30 of using the corresponding method claimed in claim 29, and the rejections of which are incorporated herein for the same s used above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-16 & 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over J. Pfaff et al. ("Intra Prediction and Mode Coding in VVC," in IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems for Video Technology, vol. 31, no. 10, pp. 3834-3847, Oct. 2021, hereinafter Pfaff) in view of CHIANG et al. (US 20250280107, hereinafter CHIANG).
Regarding Claim 15, Pfaff in view of CHIANG discloses the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein generating the prediction block comprises generating the prediction block using a decoder-derived intra prediction mode
CHIANG teaches generating the prediction block using a decoder-derived intra prediction mode ([0146], two intra modes are derived from the reconstructed neighbour samples, and those two predictors are combined with the planar mode predictor with the weights derived from the gradients when Decoder Side Intra Mode Derivation (DIMD) is applied).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of decoder-derived intra prediction mode as taught by CHIANG ([0146]) into the decoding system of Pfaff in order to 7improve video coding efficiency, blending one or more hypotheses of predictions with the existing one or more hypotheses of predictions used for achieving a better accuracy of prediction, and improve the coding performance (CHIANG, [0002]).
Regarding Claim 16, Pfaff in view of CHIANG discloses the method of claim 15, CHIANG discloses wherein the decoder-derived intra prediction mode comprises one of decoder-side intra mode derivation (DIMD), template-based intra mode derivation (TIMD), multiple reference lines (MRL), or spatial geometric partition mode (SGPM) ([0154], FIG. 22, Template-based intra mode derivation(TIMD) mode implicitly derives the intra prediction mode of a CU using a neighbouring template at both the encoder and decoder, and The intra prediction mode with the minimum cost is selected as the DIMD mode and used for intra prediction of the CU). The same reason or rational of obviousness motivation applied as used above in claim 15.
Regarding Claim 26, Apparatus claim 26 of using the corresponding method claimed in claim 16, and the rejections of which are incorporated herein for the same reasons as used above.
Conclusion
/SAMUEL D FEREJA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487