DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ono et al. (US 20150298742 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ono et al. discloses “A vehicle front structure (11; Ono et al. Fig 1) comprising: a pair of framework portions (1 &3; Ono et al. Fig 1) extending in a vehicle front-rear direction, the framework portions being each provided on a side of a vehicle front portion in a vehicle width direction; a suspension member (17; Ono et al. Fig 1) disposed on a vehicle lower side of the framework portions; a joint portion (19; Ono et al. Fig 1) that joins the framework portion and the suspension member; and a protruding portion (25; Ono et al. Fig 1) provided at the joint portion and protruding to an outer side in the vehicle width direction.”
In reference to claim 2, Ono et al. discloses “The vehicle front structure (11; Ono et al. Fig 1) according to claim 1, wherein an inclined portion (25bs; Ono et al. Fig 1) that is inclined to a vehicle rear side and the outer side in the vehicle width direction in a plan view is provided at an end of the protruding portion (25; Ono et al. Fig 1) on the outer side in the vehicle width direction.”
With respect to claim 3, Ono et al. discloses “The vehicle front structure (11; Ono et al. Fig 2) according to claim 1, wherein in a region on a vehicle front side including the protruding portion (25bs; Ono et al. Fig 2), the end of the protruding portion on the outer side in the vehicle width direction is positioned on the outer side in the vehicle width direction with respect to the framework portion (1; Ono et al. Fig 2) and the suspension member (17a; Ono et al. Fig 2).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ono et al. (US 20150298742 A1) in view of Sekiguchi et al. (US 8857902 B2).
Regarding claim 4, Ono et al. teaches a vehicle front structure (11; Ono et al. Fig 1).
Ono et al. does not teach suspension towers.
However, Sekiguchi et al. teaches “…a pair of suspension tower portions (27; Sekiguchi et al. Fig 1) erected from upper surfaces of the framework portions, and integrated with the framework portions (15; Sekiguchi et al. Fig 1), the suspension tower portions being each provided on the side of the vehicle front portion in the vehicle width direction; and a suspension tower bar (28; Sekiguchi et al. Fig 1) connecting the suspension tower portions in the vehicle width direction.”
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the suspension towers and bar of Sekiguchi et al. with the vehicle front structure of Ono et al. with a reasonable expectation of success for softening the ride by adding suspension towers and corresponding struts .
7. Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ono et al. (US 20150298742 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Ono et al. teaches a joint (19; Ono et al. Fig 1) and framework (1 &3; Ono et al. Fig 1).
The art does not disclose that they are integrated as a uniform piece.
However, the court has affirmed the rejection holding, among other reasons, “that the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in [the prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice.”); In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965) (A claim to a fluid transporting vehicle was rejected as obvious over a prior art reference which differed from the prior art in claiming a brake drum integral with a clamping means, whereas the brake disc and clamp of the prior art comprise several parts rigidly secured together as a single unit. See MPEP § 2144.04; V, B.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have integrated the joint and framework portion of Ono et al. with a reasonable expectation of success for a simplified mold for manufacturing and simplifying assembly.
In reference to claim 6, Ono et al. teaches a joint (19; Ono et al. Fig 1) and protruding piece (25; Ono et al. Fig 1).
The art does not disclose that they are integrated as a uniform piece.
However, the court has affirmed the rejection holding, among other reasons, “that the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in [the prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice.”); In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965) (A claim to a fluid transporting vehicle was rejected as obvious over a prior art reference which differed from the prior art in claiming a brake drum integral with a clamping means, whereas the brake disc and clamp of the prior art comprise several parts rigidly secured together as a single unit. See MPEP § 2144.04; V, B.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have integrated the joint and protruding piece of Ono et al. with a reasonable expectation of success for a simplified mold for manufacturing and simplifying assembly.
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ramoutar et al. (US-8807632-B2) teaches a framework, a suspension member, a joint and a protruding piece. However, the art does not teach suspension towers.
Murai (US-11548557-B2) a framework and suspension towers. However, the art does not teach a lower suspension member or joint.
Bhatta et al. (US 11628883 B2) teaches a joint and protruding piece connecting a framework and lower suspension side member, the protrusion piece and joint are not a single uniform component.
/D.R.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/AMY R WEISBERG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612