DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to claims in application 19/013,316 filed on 1/8/2025.
The instant application claims benefit to foreign application KR10-2024-0005681 with a priority date of 1/12/2024.
The Pre-Grant publication # US 20250229128 is published on 7/17/2025.
Claims 1-10 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. The claimed invention is to a process (claim 1--19) and a computer devices (20) and thus fall within one of the four statutory categories (Step 1: YES).
Claims 1 and 6 are directed to a performing golf lesson on a server, receiving information on the golfer's gender, age, and body type, and setting a golfer's lesson goal, analyzing the golfer's swing motion, golfer's club face control and lever system, club's path control according to the golfer's swing, control accuracy of the impact of hitting a golf ball and the flight of the golf ball. The golf teaching session further analyzing the consistency between the golfer's golf swing and the flight of the golf ball according to the golf ball over a plurality of times, analyzing the club's head speed and the speed of the golf ball and determining whether the golfer's set lesson goal is achieved.
All of these involve steps drawn to concept categorized as an actions that are receiving, observing, identifying, evaluating and judging of various golfer’s profile and golfing ball related actions. A concept that are mental processes and by including determining lesson by processing specific swing and flight of the golf ball are falling into “certain methods of organizing human activities” The further recitation of analysis by machine-learned model for categorized use mathematical calculations are within some mathematical concepts. They are all generally categorized as a grouping of an abstract idea (Step 2A: Prong 1 YES).
The independent claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to be significantly more than the judicial exception because the limitations of “a computer system with interface display”, “a processor’, “a memory’, "network remote storage", "databases of digital content with predetermined string of argument building blocks”, “aggregation of club's head speed and the speed of the golf ball on user-interface input field”, “determination of control accuracy” are merely use of generic computer functions and computer parts. The amendments wherein a server is generating a database from teaching history of identified golfers, when the server provides a video of other well trained golfer in same stage is not an improvement on computer technology. Hence not indicative of integration of a practical application (Step 2A: Prong 2 No).
The steps in the recited claims that are highlighted are a well-understood, routine, and conventional WRC activities known in art. Fig.5,6 of the instant specification depict touchable object movements and golf swing dynamic model known for an appropriate hardware/ software use in a standard environment with image panel and text interface implementation. They are also disclosed in their specification in a manner that indicates that those features are from club and lever system that are well-known, routine, and conventional . They are not dealing with actual improvements of machine learning, etc.
For example in case of Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93, the activities of storing and retrieving of information in a memory of consumer electronic for a field of practical use purposes are recognized to be computer functions well-understood, routine, and conventional, when they are claimed in a merely generic manner. Further, there found to be no additional elements here in the claim recitation that improves the functioning of a computer itself to overcome the abstract idea rejection (Step 2B: No).
The dependent claims 2-5,7-10 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Additionally, taking the claimed elements individually yields no difference from taking them in combination because each element simply performs its respective function as discussed above. In other words, these claims merely apply an abstract idea to a programmable processor or computer and do not improve the performance of the processor or computer itself or provide a technical solution to a problem in a technical field. They do not effect a transformation of a particular article to a different state or thing, the underlying computing elements remain the same. The server analyzes the consistency between the golf swing and the flight of the golf ball and the club head speed and the golf ball speed and accordingly and determines that it does not satisfy a predetermined condition, it moves to a third step of analyzing the path control of the club and performs re-learning. It or sub-steps determines whether the golfer's set lesson goal has been achieved, and if it is determined that the lesson goal has been achieved, a higher lesson goal is set than the previously set lesson goal. These additional features merely amount to an instruction to apply the abstract idea using generic, functional, and conventional components well-known in the art. Mere instructions to apply an exception using the generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept.
Therefore, for these reasons, claims 1-10 are not patent-eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 10786722 B2 to Wyeth.
Claim 1. Wyeth teaches a method for performing golf lesson on a server (Fig.1 element 103; Para 0034 server functions may be embedded in recording and analysis system), the method comprising:
at the server (Fig.1 element 103 recording and analyzing server), receiving information on the golfer's gender, age, and body type, and setting a golfer's lesson goal (Para 0008,0021 receiving body movement of golf club profile that could include gender and age; Para 0040 instruction to golfer for set goal like how to hit Famous Golfer's Fade Shot); it was input from the user device (Fig.1 elements 152, 154, projector, cameras; Para 0023 some motion capture apparatus could easily be inputs from user device);
at the server, analyzing the golfer's swing motion obtained from the server (Para 0021 suitable instructional swing and analyzing), and
at the server, analyzing the golfer's club face control and lever system (Fig.1 element 103 para 0021 analysis system records the movements or lack thereof that may include a swing pattern e.g., a profile versus time of a position of the golf club or of certain body parts e.g., hands, feet, shoulders, etc. from a lever system);
at the server, analyzing the club's path control according to the golfer's swing ( Para 0008 captured motion path control for a swing );
at the server, analyzing the control accuracy of the impact of hitting a golf ball and the flight of the golf ball (Para 0021 recording of movements or lack thereof with respect to accuracy);
at the server, analyzing the consistency between the golfer's golf swing and the flight of the golf ball according to the golf ball over a plurality of times (Para 0032 swing of 100 times per day etc.);
at the server, analyzing the club's head speed and the speed of the golf ball (Para 0010 golf club swing; Para 0042 estimated distance traveled by a struck golf ball may be normalized or calibrated by the measured club head speed as well as golf ball speed) ; and
determining whether the golfer's set lesson goal is achieved (Para 0056, 0057 goal achievements).
wherein the server creates a database saving teaching history of each identified golfers ( Fig.1 element 114 identified golfers) along with a computer-based recording and analysis system), and the server provides a video of another golfer in same stage who is well trained in this area (Fig.1 element 105 display screen video; Para 0021-0023 displaying on a screen various contextual views of a golf course and may easily include video of another golfer in same stage) and
provide a reference for following from the database (Fig.1 element 104 Reference to professional PRO ).
Claim 2. Wyeth teaches the method of claim 1, wherein, if the server analyzes the consistency between the golf swing and the flight of the golf ball accordingly and determines that it does not satisfy a predetermined condition (Para 0030,0034 predetermined conditions like moisture and other parameters recorded), it moves to a third step of analyzing the path control of the club and performs re-learning (Para 0034 , 0035 unstructured queries and analysis based on AI integrated techniques performing re-learning when analyzed for all conditions not satisfied).
Claim 3. . Wyeth teaches the method of claim 1, wherein, when the server analyzes the club head speed and the golf ball speed and determines that they do not meet the predetermined conditions, the method moves to the second step of analyzing the club face control and lever system (Para 0021,0042 analysis club head speed; Para 0011 golf swing and arc of movement of golfer amount to control of lever system).
Claim 4. Wyeth teaches the method of claim 1, wherein, in the server, it is determined whether the golfer's set lesson goal has been achieved, and if it is determined that the lesson goal has been achieved, a higher lesson goal is set than the previously set lesson goal (Para 0042 improvements or golfing with higher lesson goals in based upon the evaluation of lesson goals, and retesting done using the improved equipment).
Claim 5. Wyeth teaches the method of claim 1, wherein each step comprises a sub-step, and a goal can be set for each sub-step (Para 0053 sub-combinations or variation of sub-combinations).
Claim 6. Wyeth teaches a golf teaching system server (Para 0005 to have access to adequate training facilities to learn and incorporate the ideal mechanics; for Fig.1 element 103; Para 0034 server functions may be embedded in recording and analysis system), comprising,
a device for receiving information on the gender, age, and body type of a golfer, and capturing the swing motion of the golfer, the movement of the golf club, and the flight of the ball; and a server comprising: a golf motion analysis unit configured for analyzing a club face control and lever system, a path control of the club according to the swing, the control accuracy of the impact of hitting the golf ball and the flight of the golf ball (Para 0021 recording of movements or lack thereof with respect to accuracy), the consistency between the golfer's golf swing and the flight of the golf ball over a plurality of times, the head speed of the club, and the speed of the golf ball; a goal achievement determination unit configured for receiving the golfer's lesson goal and determining whether the golfer's lesson goal has been achieved; and a teaching saving unit configured for saving the golfer's teaching information and creating a database (Para 0008,0021 body movement of golf club profile that could include gender and age; Para 0056,0057 goal savings and achievements ).
wherein the server creates a database saving teaching history of each identified golfers ( Fig.1 element 114 identified golfers) along with a computer-based recording and analysis system), and the server provides a video of another golfer in same stage who is well trained in this area (Fig.1 element 105 display screen video; Para 0021-0023 displaying on a screen various contextual views of a golf course and may easily include video of another golfer in same stage) and
provide a reference for following from the database (Fig.1 element 104 Reference to professional PRO ).
Claim 7. Wyeth teaches the system of claim 6, wherein the goal achievement determination unit is configured to set to analyze the consistency between the golf swing and the flight of the golf ball accordingly, and if it determines that the predetermined condition is not satisfied, to request the golfer's swing again to reanalyze the path control of the club (Para 0030,0034,0035 predetermined conditions like moisture and other parameters recorded; it moves to a step of analyzing the path control of the club and performs re-learning such as by unstructured queries and on AI integrated when analyzed for every predetermined measurements, conditions not satisfied).
Claim 8. . Wyeth teaches the system of claim 6, wherein, if it analyzes the club head speed and the golf ball speed and determines that the predetermined conditions are not met, it is set to request the golfer's swing again to reanalyze the club face control and lever system (para 0010 repetitive training of a golf swing)
Claim 9. . Wyeth teaches the system of claim 6, wherein, in the server, it judges whether the golfer's set lesson goal has been achieved, and, if it is judged that the lesson goal has been achieved, it sets a higher lesson goal than the previously set lesson goal (Para 0042 improvements or golfing with higher lesson goals in based upon the evaluation of lesson goals, and retesting done using the improved equipment).
Claim 10. . Wyeth teaches the teaches the system of claim 6, wherein it sets sub-goals for each of the club face control and lever system, the club path control according to the swing, the control accuracy of the impact hitting the golf ball and the flight of the golf ball (Para 0021 recording of movements or lack thereof with respect to accuracy), the consistency between the golfer's golf swing and the flight of the golf ball according to the golf swing, the club head speed and the golf ball speed, and determines whether the set sub-goals have been achieved (Para 0053 sub-combinations or variation of sub-combination goal).
Response to Arguments/Remarks
Applicant's arguments/amendments filed on November 18, 2025 have been considered.
Upon further consideration, any new ground(s) of rejection if made, has been necessitated by amendments changing the scope of the claims.
35USC101
Applicant asserted on Pages 5-6 that "the analyzing, evaluating and judging golfer's swing" is not a mental process that can be performed by a human being. Since the identifying of an account from "a specified area of the memory" cannot be performed by a human, at least this operation cannot be seen as a purely mental step.
Examiner respectfully traverses and indicates that the claim could be characterize as an abstract in terms of collecting data (e.g., user input to server including those from camera sensor and radar), analyzing that data (e.g., analyzing golfer's swing motion from camera sensor, and golfer's club face control and lever system from server storage), and providing processed outputs based on that analysis (e.g., output display data) and, therefore, a mental process. This could also be a method of organizing human activity in terms of teaching/training a human being to learn how to read input parameter effects get trained by a professional like how to fly a plane. It is also a rules of a game in terms of providing a golf simulator game, similar to the guitar simulator game found to be patent ineligible in Yousician.
35USC102
Applicant on pages 6-7 of argument/remarks 11/18/2025 asserted that in addition, the teaching saving unit (103) of the server does not simply record and save the teaching information of each golfer, but also provides teaching information from the teaching of another golfer at the same stage, and can create an environment that can be used as reference information. For example, if a golfer continues to lift his head during a swing motion, the teaching saving unit (103) according to an embodiment of the present invention can provide a video of another golfer who is well trained in this area and provide a reference for following. But prior art, Wyeth, is not disclosing or implying "the database provides a video of another golfer in same stage who is well trained in this area and provides a reference for following from the database."
Applicant alleged that Wyeth just discloses first golfer and second golfer to compare to sporting motions, but it is in order to show the desired golf swing form of first golfer (Pro). In present invention, the golfer and another golfer are in same stage to learn golf swing.
Examiner respectfully traverses and would like to point out the prior art have multiple golfers (Fig.1, paragraphs 0023-0025). They could be specific student and student or professional and any other golfer according to a context situations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 9486669 B2 Niegowski; James A. et al.
Systems and methods for storing and analyzing golf data, including community and individual golf data collection and storage at a central hub.
US 20110230985 A1 LAFORTUNE M A et al.
Golf swing evaluation system for providing individual training, coaching, and equipment fitting information to player, has output unit that provides golf swing feedback generated by swing analysis unit
US 12005337 B2 Imes; Kevin R.
Autonomous digital media processing systems and methods he present disclosure is directed to digital media production.
US 11941915 B2 Tyomkin; Boris
Golf game video analytic system of golf game.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.Z/Examiner, Art Unit 3715
February 17, 2026
/XUAN M THAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715