Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6-7, 9, 13, 15, 16 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8, 10, 10-12, 14, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keslin (US 8,427,491 B2)
Regarding claim 1, Keslin teaches an image processing method (See title, “SYSTEM, METHOD, AND COMPUTER PROGRAM PRODUCT FOR REMOTE GRAPHICS PROCESSING”), comprising:
determining retrieval information corresponding to at least one image to be used (See Fig. 1 element 107. See col. 3 line 40 – 45, “The basic architecture of an embodiment of the present invention is illustrated in FIG. 1. A user or process at a client machine 103 wishes to have rendering performed remotely. Accordingly, client 103 issues commands 107 to a remotely located server 109.” Fig. 1 element 145 or 150, col. 3 line 53 – col. 4 line 1, “Graphics instructions 125 are sent to a remote rendering control system 130. Remote rendering control system 130 accepts graphics instructions 125 and modifies them to create modified graphics instructions 135. An example of a remote
rendering control system is the VIZSERVER software system produced by Silicon Graphics, Inc. As will described In greater detail below, the modifications to graphics instructions 125 are performed to take into account the differences between server 109 and client 103 with respect to their imaging processing capabilities and graphics contexts. In response to modified graphics instructions 135, graphics resources 140
render one or more images and return image data 145 to remote rendering control system 130. In an embodiment of the invention, image data 145 is then compressed to form compressed image data 150. Compressed image data 150 is then sent to client 103, via network 115.”); and
the main embodiment doesn’t explicitly disclose obtaining a target parameter to be sent to a first serving end by processing text descriptive information of the image to be used and the retrieval information, to cause the first serving end to perform image processing based on the target parameter;
wherein the text descriptive information corresponds to image content of the image to be used.
An alternative embodiment teaches obtaining a target parameter to be sent to a first serving end by processing text descriptive information of the image to be used and the retrieval information, to cause the first serving end to perform image processing based on the target parameter (See col. 4 line 40 – col. 5 line 22);
wherein the text descriptive information corresponds to image content of the image to be used (See col. 4 line 40 – col. 5 line 22)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the main embodiment of Keslin in view of the alternative embodiment of Keslin as the prior at embodiment are known and yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 2, Keslin teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
obtaining at least one image to be processed and rendering the image to be processed according to a preset rendering method to obtain the at least one image to be used (See col. 4 line 62 – col. 5 line 15, the parameters specified in the parameter, function call, references or graphics instructions may be preset prior to a modification).
Regarding claim 3, Keslin teaches the method of claim 2, further comprising:
determining text descriptive information corresponding to the at least one image to be processed and associating the text descriptive information with the at least one image to be used (See col. 4 line 62 – col. 5 line 15).
Regarding claim 5, Keslin teaches the method of claim 1, wherein obtaining the target parameter to be sent to the first serving end by processing the text descriptive information of the image to be used and the retrieval information includes:
obtaining the target parameter to be sent to the first serving end by concatenating the
retrieval information of the image to be used and the corresponding text descriptive information (See col. 4 line 62 – col. 5 line 15).
Regarding claim 8, Keslin teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the retrieval information includes a uniform resource identifier of the image to be used (See col 4 line 52 – 67).
Claims 10-12, 14, 17, 19 and 20 recite similar limitations to that of claim 1-3, 5, and 8 and thus are rejected under similar rationale as detailed above.
Conclusion
/ROBERT J CRADDOCK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2618