Double Patenting
Claims 2, 10, 18, and 23 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,243,496. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims represent a broader form of those independent claims in the ‘496 patent.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 2-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Specifically there does not appear to be support in the specification for “obscured object is present in the external environment within the area of the blind spot of the vehicle; and change the display of the instrument representation in the electronic display” found in the independent claims. Dependent claims inherit this issue and are similarly rejected. Specific and clear citations are respectfully requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Di Censo et al. (US App. 20150245017 hereinafter referred to as “Di”).
In regard to claim 2, Di teaches a display system for a vehicle (see at least Abstract and Para. 13), comprising: an electronic display (see Para. 13); a sensor interface to receive video data of an external environment from at least one camera disposed on the vehicle, the external environment including an area of a blind spot of the vehicle (see Para. 45 hood blindspot and Figs. 1A-1d); and processing circuitry, operably coupled to the electronic display and the sensor interface, configured to:display an instrument representation in the electronic display, the instrument representation corresponding to operation of the vehicle (see Para. 14-15 transparent instrument panel overlay); and in response to an event occurring in the vehicle (see Para. 14 and 51 user controls display video and placement of items on the display): display a view of an obscured object in the electronic display based on the video data, wherein the obscured object is present in the external environment within the area of the blind spot of the vehicle (see Para. 14-15); and change the display of the instrument representation in the electronic display (see Para. 14-15, 51 transparent instrument panel overlay can change using driving context or selection of position of elements by user input).
In regard to claim 10, Di teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (see at least Abstract and Para. 58) capable of storing instructions that, when executed, cause at least one processing device of a display system (see Para. 13) for a vehicle to: receive video data of an external environment from at least one camera disposed on the vehicle, the external environment including an area of a blind spot of the vehicle (see Para. 13, 17, 30, and 45 camera for hood blindspot and Figs. 1A-1d); display an instrument representation in an electronic display of the vehicle, the instrument representation corresponding to operation of the vehicle (see Para. 14-15, 26 transparent instrument panel overlay includes speedometer); and, in response to an event occurring in the vehicle (see Para. 14 and 51 user controls display video and placement of items on the display): display a view of an obscured object in the electronic display based on the video data, wherein the obscured object is present in the external environment within the area of the blind spot of the vehicle (see Para. 14-15); and change the display of the instrument representation in the electronic display (see Para. 14-15, 51 transparent instrument panel overlay can change using driving context or selection of position of elements by user input).
In regard to claim 18, Di teaches an apparatus for a vehicle (see at least Abstract and Para. 13), comprising: means for capturing video data of an external environment from at least one camera disposed on the vehicle, the external environment including an area of a blind spot of the vehicle (see Para. 13, 17, 30, and 45 camera for hood blindspot and Figs. 1A-1d); means for displaying an instrument representation in an electronic dashboard display, the instrument representation corresponding to operation of the vehicle (see Para. 14-15, 26 transparent instrument panel overlay includes speedometer); means for displaying, in response to an event occurring in the vehicle (see Para. 14 and 51 user controls display video and placement of items on the display), a view of an obscured object in the electronic dashboard display based on the video data, wherein the obscured object is present in the external environment within the area of the blind spot of the vehicle (see Para. 14-15); and means for changing, in response to the event occurring in the vehicle, the instrument representation in the electronic dashboard display (see Para. 14-15, 51 transparent instrument panel overlay can change using driving context or selection of position of elements by user input).
In regard to claim 23, Di teaches a method (see at least Abstract), comprising: receiving video data of an external environment from at least one camera disposed on a vehicle, the external environment including an area of a blind spot of the vehicle (see Para. 13, 17, 30, and 45 camera for hood blindspot and Figs. 1A-1d); displaying an instrument representation in an electronic display of the vehicle, the instrument representation corresponding to operation of the vehicle (see Para. 14-15, 26 transparent instrument panel overlay includes speedometer); and, in response to an event occurring in the vehicle (see Para. 14 and 51 user controls display video and placement of items on the display): displaying a view of an obscured object in the electronic display based on the video data, wherein the obscured object is present in the external environment within the area of the blind spot of the vehicle (see Para. 14-15); and changing the displaying of the instrument representation (see Para. 14-15, 51 transparent instrument panel overlay can change using driving context or selection of position of elements by user input).
Regarding claims 3 and 11, Di teaches all the limitations of claims 2 and 10 respectively. Di further teaches wherein the instrument representation includes one or more objects, and wherein to change the display of the instrument representation includes to move the one or more objects of the instrument representation relative to the display of the view of the obscured object (see Para. 14-15, 51 transparent instrument panel overlay can change using driving context or selection of position of elements by user input including Figs. 2A-2C with different depths).
Regarding claims 4 and 12, Di teaches all the limitations of claims 3 and 11 respectively. Di further teaches wherein to move the display of the instrument representation includes to superimpose the one or more objects of the instrument representation onto the view of the obscured object (see Para. 14-15, 51 and Fig. 2C).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Di teaches all the limitations of claims 2 and 10 respectively. Di further teaches wherein the instrument representation includes one or more virtual gauge or dial corresponding to the operation of the vehicle (see Para. 26 speedometer).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Di teaches all the limitations of claims 5 and 13 respectively. Di further teaches wherein the one or more virtual gauge or dial includes a speedometer or revolutions per minute (RPM) gauge (see Para. 26 speedometer).
Regarding claims 7 and 15 and 26, Di teaches all the limitations of claims 2 and 10 and 23 respectively. Di further teaches wherein the electronic display is included in a dashboard of the vehicle (See Para. 20 and 25).
Regarding claims 8 and 16 and 27, Di teaches all the limitations of claims 2 and 10 and 23 respectively. Di further teaches wherein the blind spot is occluded from view of a driver by a portion of the vehicle (see Para. 13, 17, 30, and 45 camera for hood blindspot and Figs. 1A-1D).
Regarding claims 9 and 17 and 28, Di teaches all the limitations of claims 2 and 10 and 23respectively. Di further teaches wherein the event is an action from a driver (see Para. 14-15, 51 transparent instrument panel overlay can change using driving context or selection of position of elements by user input).
Regarding claim 19, Di teaches all the limitations of claim 18. Di further teaches
wherein the instrument representation includes one or more objects, and wherein changing the instrument representation includes: moving the one or more objects of the instrument representation relative to a display of the view of the obscured object (see Para. 14 and 51 user controls display video and placement of items on the display); and superimposing the one or more objects of the instrument representation onto the view of the obscured object (see Fig. 2C speedometer in front of cat).
Regarding claim 20, Di teaches all the limitations of claim 18. Di further teaches wherein the instrument representation includes one or more virtual gauge or dial corresponding to the operation of the vehicle, and wherein the one or more virtual gauge or dial includes a speedometer or revolutions per minute (RPM) gauge (see Para. 26 speedometer and Fig. 2C).
Regarding claim 21, Di teaches all the limitations of claim 18. Di further teaches
wherein the electronic dashboard display is provided by a display means included in a dashboard of the vehicle (See Para. 20 and 25).
Regarding claim 22, Di teaches all the limitations of claim 18. Di further teaches
wherein wherein the blind spot is occluded from view of a driver by a portion of the vehicle (see Para. 13, 17, 30, and 45 camera for hood blindspot and Figs. 1A-1D).
Regarding claim 24, Di teaches all the limitations of claim 23. Di further teaches wherein the instrument representation includes one or more objects, and wherein changing the displaying of the instrument representation includes:moving the one or more objects of the instrument representation relative to the displaying of the view of the obscured object (see Para. 14 and 51 user controls display video and placement of items on the display); and superimposing the one or more objects of the instrument representation onto the view of the obscured object (see Fig. 2C speedometer in front of cat).
Regarding claim 25, Di teaches all the limitations of claim 23. Di further teaches wherein the instrument representation includes one or more virtual gauge or dial corresponding to the operation of the vehicle, and wherein the one or more virtual gauge or dial includes a speedometer or revolutions per minute (RPM) gauge (see Para. 26 speedometer and Fig. 2C).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Lee et al. (US App. 20140019005); Boss et al. (US Pat. 9469195); Kubota et al. (US App. 20080309764).
/MATTHEW YEUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625