DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1 – 15 in the reply filed on 09/11/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 16 – 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 3, 9 – 12, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 114335947 (Wang) (references are given according to English translation) or alternatively, in additional view of one or more of (US 20140184302 (Makita) and/or US 20120200368 (Gagnon)).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches “A sub-harmonic mixer module (paragraph 0003: circuit of a terahertz subharmonic mixer) comprising:
a dielectric circuit unit; and a ground conductor unit (see below for complete mapping of the claimed structure onto the disclosure of Wang. Also see Sketch 1 below based on Wang’s sole FIG 1 with the Examiner’s annotations),
wherein the dielectric circuit unit includes:
a dielectric substrate (paragraph 0037: gallium arsenide substrate 2 as the microstrip dielectric);
a first conversion probe configured to convert a radio frequency (RF) electromagnetic wave into a first electrical signal (paragraph 0038: a radio frequency probe 221);
a second conversion probe configured to convert a local oscillator (LO) electromagnetic wave into a second electrical signal (paragraph 0042: a local oscillator probe 241);
a nonlinear element configured to switch depending on the second electrical signal and generate a third electrical signal (paragraph 0036: A reverse-parallel Schottky diode pair 26 is provided between the local oscillator filter structure 23 and the radio frequency probe transition structure 22. The function of this Schottky diode pair is exactly as claimed); and
a radio frequency RF/direct current (DC) ground circuit configured to provide ground voltage (paragraph 0054: the radio frequency grounding structure 21 is grounded via gold wire 102. The radio frequency grounding structure 21 can be grounded by means of silver paste coating, substrate sidewall metallization, gold wire bonding, etc.),
wherein the ground conductor unit includes a ground conductor connected with the RF/DC ground circuit and configured to provide the ground voltage (paragraph 0054: the radio frequency grounding structure 21 is grounded via gold wire 102. The radio frequency grounding structure 21 can be grounded by means of gold wire bonding, representing “a ground conductor”),
wherein the first conversion probe, the second conversion probe, the nonlinear element, and the RF/DC ground circuit are formed on one surface of the dielectric substrate (although not explicitly disclosed, it may be inferred from FIG 1 that all components are installed on the same surface of the dielectric substrate. Alternatively, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to install all the recited components on the same surface so that no connection through the dielectric to the other surface would be needed, thus simplifying the assembly), and
wherein the ground conductor is disposed to make contact with the one surface of the dielectric substrate (paragraph 0054: the radio frequency grounding structure 21 is grounded via gold wire 102. The radio frequency grounding structure 21 can be grounded by means of gold wire bonding which are connected to the same surface of the dielectric substrate) and is position-adjustable (although not explicitly disclosed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to make the position of the attachment and/or the shape of the gold wires 102 fully adjustable since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954).).”
Additionally or alternatively, Makita in paragraph 0056 and FIG 4 teaches grounding to a ground pattern 100 (a ground conductor) via the input side ground line 43. Further, this arrangement is disclosed in more details in FIG 5 and paragraph 0063, which teaches that the input side ground line 43 branches into the plurality of branch ground lines 48. Each branch ground line 48 is connected to the ground pattern 100. By means of removing, or cutting, individual branch ground lines 48, the adjustment is performed. In other words, Makita teaches a “ground conductor is disposed to make contact with the one surface of the dielectric substrate and is position-adjustable” by means of removing individual branch ground lines 48.
Still additionally or alternatively, Gagnon in FIG 1A and 4A and paragraphs 0023 – 0026 teaches usage of bond wires 130/130A and 131/131A for grounding purposes. The connection point of a set of one or more bond wires can be varied to achieve desired electrical properties. During manufacturing of the device, the locations of the connection points of the bond wires can be tuned to improve performance of the device. In other words, Gagnon teaches a “ground conductor is disposed to make contact with the one surface of the dielectric substrate and is position-adjustable” by means of varying the position of the connecting points of the bond wires.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filing date of the application to utilize disclosed by Makita and/or Gagnon adjustability of grounding wires, in the system of Wang, and specifically for the grounding wires 102. Doing so would have allowed to achieve improved performance of the entire assembly.
Sketch 1
Regarding claim 2, Wang alone or in combination with Makita and/or Gagnon teaches or fairly suggests “wherein the first conversion probe, the second conversion probe, the nonlinear element, and the RF/DC ground circuit are disposed along a virtual first line (see position of this line marked in Sketch 1 above), and wherein the ground conductor is located on the RF/DC ground circuit (paragraph 0054: the radio frequency grounding structure 21 (“the ground conductor”) is grounded via gold wire 102 (“the ground conductor”)) and is position-adjustable along the virtual first line (as explained in the rejection of claim 1 above, it would have been obvious to make the position of the attachment and/or shape of the gold wires 102 fully adjustable. Thus, this adjustability generally would be along this “virtual first line”, perpendicular to this line and along any other angle relative to the line in all three dimensions).”
Regarding claim 3, Wang alone or in combination with Makita and/or Gagnon teaches or fairly suggests “wherein the ground conductor is located on the RF/DC ground circuit (paragraph 0054: the radio frequency grounding structure 21 (“the ground conductor”) is grounded via gold wire 102 (“the ground conductor”)) and is further position-adjustable along a virtual second line perpendicular to the one surface of the dielectric substrate (paragraph 0054: the radio frequency grounding structure 21 (“the ground conductor”) is grounded via gold wire 102 (“the ground conductor”). As explained in the rejection of claim 1 above, it would have been obvious to make the position of the attachment and/or shape of the gold wires 102 fully adjustable. Therefore, this adjustability would be not only along this “virtual first line”, but also perpendicular to this line and along any other angle relative to the line in all three dimensions by simply changing the shape or the length of the wires 102 so they would be in the form of arcs (for example, as shown in Gagnon’s FIG 1A and 4A with respect to grounding wires 130 and 131)).”
Regarding claim 9, Wang teaches “wherein the RF/DC ground circuit includes, on the dielectric substrate, a first transmission line configured to extend along the virtual first line (see position of this component in Sketch 1 above. This is the transmission line between capacitive microstrip region 211 (see paragraph 0054) and the radio frequency probe 221 (on the right side of the mixer shown in Wang’s FIG 1), which is the same as shown in Applicant’s FIG 4).”
Regarding claim 10, Wang teaches “wherein the ground conductor is disposed to make contact with the first transmission line (may easily be seen from FIG 1 that the grounding gold wires 102 are connected to the radio frequency grounding structure 21 and through it electrically connected to this transmission line, which is the same as shown in Applicant’s FIG 4).”
Regarding claim 11, Wang teaches “wherein the RF/DC ground circuit further includes, on the dielectric substrate, a second transmission line connected with the first transmission line and configured to extend in a direction perpendicular to an extension direction of the first transmission line (capacitive microstrip region 211 (see paragraph 0054) is shown connected with the first transmission line and it may clearly be seen that it extends in a perpendicular direction, which is the same as shown in Applicant’s FIG 4).”
Regarding claim 12, Wang teaches “wherein the ground conductor is disposed to make contact with the second transmission line (paragraph 0054: the radio frequency grounding structure 21 is grounded via gold wire 102 (“the ground conductor”). FIG 1 clearly shows that the gold wires 102 are in contact with the capacitive microstrip region 211).”
Regarding claim 14, Wang teaches or fairly suggests “wherein the dielectric circuit unit further includes:
a first filter circuit configured to filter the first electrical signal (paragraph 0035: filter structure 23. Also see position of this component in Sketch 1 above. From Wang’s FIG 1, the location of filter 23 is exactly same as the location of the first filter circuit 153 in FIG 1 of the Applicant’s disclosure, therefore, it is functionally the same, i.e. “to filter the first electrical signal”); and
a second filter circuit configured to filter the first electrical signal and the second electrical signal (paragraph 0035: filter structure 25. Also see position of this component in Sketch 1 above. From Wang’s FIG 1, the location of filter 25 is exactly same as the location of the second filter circuit 151 in FIG 1 of the Applicant’s disclosure, therefore, it is functionally the same, i.e. “to filter the first electrical signal and the second electrical signal”).”
Regarding claim 15, Wang teaches or fairly suggests “further comprising:
a first port configured to receive the RF electromagnetic wave (see position of this component in Sketch 2 below);
a second port configured to receive the LO electromagnetic wave (see position of this component in Sketch 2 below);
a third port configured to output the third electrical signal (paragraph 0037: the intermediate frequency output structure in this application is a 5880 soft substrate 1. Also see position of this component in Sketch 2 below);
a first wave guide configured to transfer the RF electromagnetic wave to the first conversion probe (paragraph 0038: the radio frequency probe transition structure 22. Also see position of this component in Sketch 2 below); and
a second wave guide configured to transfer the LO electromagnetic wave to the second conversion probe (paragraph 0042: the local oscillator probe duplex structure 24. Also see position of this component in Sketch 2 below).”
Sketch 2
Claims 4, 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 114335947 (Wang) (references are given according to English translation) as applied to claims 1 and 3 above, and further view of US 20120200368 (Gagnon).
Regarding claim 4, Wang in combination with Gagnon teaches or fairly suggests “wherein the ground conductor unit further includes a fine movement adjustment part configured to adjust the position of the ground conductor (indeed, each wire 130 and 131 shown in FIG 1A and 4A of Gagnon represent “a fine movement adjustment part”. Gagnon in paragraphs 0023 – 0026 teaches usage of bond wires 130/130A and 131/131A for grounding purposes. The connection point of a set of one or more bond wires can be varied to achieve desired electrical properties. During manufacturing of the device, the locations of the connection points of the bond wires can be tuned (“fine moved”) to improve performance of the device.) along the virtual first line or the virtual second line (since the wires are flexible by definition, their position and shape may be adjusted in various dimensions including “along the virtual first line or the virtual second line”).”
Regarding claim 6, Wang in combination with Gagnon teaches or fairly suggests “further comprising: a metal housing configured to contain the dielectric circuit unit (Wang, paragraph 0006: the gallium arsenide substrate is fixed in a metal
cavity and adapted to the metal cavity. Paragraph 0025: the gallium arsenide substrate is bonded and fixed to the metal cavity using conductive adhesive) and the ground conductor unit (Wang, paragraph 0054: the radio frequency grounding structure 21 can be grounded by means of silver paste coating, substrate sidewall metallization, gold wire bonding, etc. Therefore, the claimed feature is either implicitly present in the mixer of Wang, or it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to include the grounding wires within the metal cavity).”
Regarding claim 13, Wang in combination with Gagnon teaches or fairly suggests “wherein the ground conductor has a three-dimensional structure shape with a first width, a first length, and a first height (indeed, the wires 130 and 131 shown in FIG 1A and 4A of Gagnon have three-dimensional structures).”
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 7 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/GENNADIY TSVEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648