DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I – claims 1-26 in the reply filed on March 24, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 27-52 is/are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention(s), there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
It is desirable to avoid the submission of long lists of documents if it can be avoided. Clearly irrelevant and marginally pertinent cumulative information should be eliminated. If a long list is submitted, those documents which have been specifically brought to applicant's attention and/or are known to be of most significance should be highlighted. See Penn Yan Boats, Inc. v. Sea Lark Boats, Inc., 359 F. Supp. 948, 175 USPQ 260 (S.D. Fla. 1972), affd, 479 F.2d 1338, 178 USPQ 577 (5th Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 414 U.S. 874 (1974). But cf. Molins PLC v. Textron Inc., 48 F.3d 1172, 33 USPQ2d 1823 (Fed. Cir. 1995). See MPEP §2004
Applicant's duty of disclosure of material and information is not satisfied by presenting a patent examiner with "a mountain of largely irrelevant [material] from which he is presumed to have been able, with his expertise and with adequate time, to have found the critical [material]. It ignores real world conditions under which, applicant has a duty not just to disclose pertinent prior art references but to make a disclosure in such way as not to "bury" it within other disclosures of less relevant prior art; See Golden Valley Microwave Foods Inc. v. Weaver Popcorn Co. Inc., 24 USPQ2d 1801 (N.D. Ind. 1992); Molins PLC v. Textron Inc., 26 USPQ2d 1889, at 1899 (D.Del 1992); Penn Yan Boats, Inc. v. Sea Lark Boats, Inc. et al., 175 USPQ 260, at 272 (S.D. F1. 1972).
The examiner is not afforded the time to thoroughly review each reference, given the number of references cited. By initialing each of the cited references on the accompanying 1449 form(s), the examiner is merely acknowledging the submission of the cited references and indicating that only a cursory review was made of the cited references.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because
reference characters 125, 141, 157 and 169 have been used to designate “container retention tab(s)” (see [0031-0077])
reference characters 189, 197 and 201 have been used to designate “deflection tab(s)” (see [0049-0077])
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: as noted in the drawing objections above. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-12 and 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
In claims 11 and 24, ln. 2, the phrase in each claim, “…the first cut…” lacks antecedent basis and render the claims to be vague and indefinite because the applicant HAS NOT established “a first cut” per se in claim 10 NOR claim 23 (which claims 11 and 24 respectively depend from). Therefore, it is unclear as to which aforementioned structure(s) is being encompassed with such language. Further clarification is required.
As for claims 12 and 25, due to their dependencies from claims 11 and 24 (respectively), they too have these deficiencies.
Examiner's note: The forgoing analysis may not be exhaustive. Applicant should carefully proofread all claims and make all necessary corrections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 13-17 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zacherle et al. (US 20200010255 A1 – art of record; hereinafter Zacherle).
Regarding claims 1 and 14, Zacherle discloses a carrier (90) or blank (10) embodiment (as shown in Figs. 1-3b) for holding a plurality of containers (B), the carrier or blank comprising:
a central panel (12) comprising a plurality of container retention openings (A1-A4; for at least partially receiving a respective container of the plurality of containers);
a plurality of container retention tabs (16, 18 and 20) positioned extending into respective container retention openings of the plurality of container retention openings, the plurality of container retention tabs positioned for engaging a respective container of the plurality of containers, at least one container retention tab of the plurality of container retention tabs foldably connected to the central panel at a fold line (31); and
at least one deflection tab (28) positioned extending away from the at least one container retention tab of the plurality of container retention tabs, the fold line intersecting a respective at least one deflection tab (Zacherle [0065-0107]).
Regarding claims 2 and 15, Zacherle further discloses wherein the at least one deflection tab is at least partially separable from the central panel at a curved cut (22, 25, 26 or 28) such that the at least one deflection tab is at least partially separable from the central panel for being positioned in nonplanar relation with the central panel (see Zacherle Figs. 1-1a).
Regarding claims 3 and 16, Zacherle further discloses wherein the curved cut has a convex arrangement relative to the fold line (see Zacherle Figs. 1-1a).
Regarding claims 4 and 17, Zacherle further discloses wherein the at least one deflection tab interrupts the fold line (see Zacherle Fig. 2).
Regarding claims 13 and 26, Zacherle further discloses handle features (A5; for facilitating grasping of the carrier), the handle features comprising at least one handle opening at least partially defined in the central panel and at least one handle flap (14) foldably connected to the central panel and positioned extending into the at least one handle opening (see Zacherle Fig. 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-12 and 18-25 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim (in particular claims 1-4 and 14-17), but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 11-12 and 24-25 is/are would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited documents are listed on the attached PTO-892 form.
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the applicant, in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or prior art(s) disclosed by the Examiner (in the attached PTO-892 form).
/B. V. P./
Examiner, Art Unit 3736
/CHUN HOI CHEUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736