The specification, abstract, drawings and claims of January 8, 2025 are under examination.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120 as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 17/944,505, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application.
The claims of the instant application contain language such as “A pneumatic system for organic samples”, “at least one carrier configured…and arranged to contain organic samples”, “a station…for loading and/or unloading the organic samples”, “A process for transporting and handling organic samples”. MPEP 2163(II)(A)(3)(a)(ii) states “(t)he written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species”. The claim language “organic samples” is a broader recitation than “histological samples” disclosed in the ‘505 application. Further, the ‘505 application discloses “the term “histological samples” is used to indicate any type of organic tissue”, which is also the only instance of the term “organic” in the ‘505 application. The language “organic samples” encompasses a broader category than “organic tissue”. In this case, “organic samples” is considered a genus of which “organic tissue” is a species. The ‘505 application does not disclose a representative number of species of the genus of “organic samples” to satisfy the written description requirement.
Accordingly, claims 1-20 are not entitled to the benefit of the prior application.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) or (f), 365(a) or (b), or 386(a) based upon an application filed in Italy on September 15, 2021. The claim for priority cannot be based on said application because the subsequent nonprovisional or international application designating the United States was filed more than twelve months thereafter and no petition under 37 CFR 1.55 or request under PCT Rule 26bis.3 to restore the right of priority has been granted.
Applicant may wish to file a petition under 37 CFR 1.55(c) to restore the right of priority if the subsequent application was filed within two months from the expiration of the twelve-month period and the delay was unintentional. A petition to restore the right of priority must include: (1) the priority claim under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) or (f), 365(a) or (b), or 386(a) in an application data sheet, identifying the foreign application to which priority is claimed, by specifying the application number, country (or intellectual property authority), day, month, and year of its filing (unless previously submitted); (2) the petition fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(m)(3); and (3) a statement that the delay in filing the subsequent application within the twelve-month period was unintentional. The petition to restore the right of priority must be filed in the subsequent application, or in the earliest nonprovisional application claiming benefit under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) to the subsequent application, if such subsequent application is not a nonprovisional application. The Director may require additional information where there is a question whether the delay was unintentional. The petition should be addressed to: Mail Stop Petition, Commissioner for Patents, P.O. Box 1450, Alexandria, Virginia 22313-1450.
Since the instant application is not entitled to the filing date of the ‘505 application, the filing date of the instant application is January 8, 2025, which is more than one year from the filing date of the Italian application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) was/were submitted on January 8, 2025. The submission(s) is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
See “locking device, to lock the carrier” in claims 3 and 16, where “device” is considered to be the generic placeholder and “to lock the carrier” to be the modifying functional language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pedrazzini (US Pub 20230083333A1). As the instant application is not entitled to the benefit of the prior application, the effective filing date of the instant application is considered to be January 8, 2025. The date of publication of Pedrazzini is March 16, 2023, which is prior to the effective filing date of the instant application.
Regarding Claim(s) 1, Pedrazzini (US Pub 20230083333A1) teaches [Para. 15-27; also claim 1] a pneumatic transport system for organic samples, comprising: a pneumatic transport tube (1), at least one carrier (2) configured to be pneumatically transported in the pneumatic transport tube and arranged to contain organic samples [Para. 4, “the term “histological samples” is used to indicate any type of organic tissue”]: and a station (3) connected to said pneumatic transport tube, for loading and/or unloading the organic samples, wherein: said carrier is in the form of a substantially cylindrical capsule [Para. 63, “carrier…is in the form of a cylindrical capsule”], having a side carrier door (2A) with a hinge axis (2B) parallel to an axis (2C) of the carrier, said carrier door is configured to be moved between a closed position, for the transport of the organic samples through the pneumatic transport tube, and an open position, for the loading and/or unloading of the organic samples in/from the station [Para 19], said station comprises a station tubular structure (4) coaxially connected to said pneumatic transport tube and arranged to receive the carrier at an end of a stroke of the carrier within the pneumatic transport tube, said station tubular structure having a station door (5) in a side wall thereof, with a hinge axis (4A) parallel to an axis (12) of the pneumatic transport tube, said station door is configured to be moved between a closed position and an open position [Para 20], said station further comprises a stop member (11), to stop said carrier when the carrier reaches a final position within the station, and a servo-controlled electric motor (14), to impart a rotation to said carrier around the axis of the carrier, by means of said stop member, until a mating condition is reached in which the carrier door is at an angular position substantially corresponding to an angular position of the station door [Para. 21], said station further comprises an actuator (17) to control a rotation of the station door between the station door closed position and the station door open position [Para. 22], said station door and said carrier door are configured so as to engage each other when the carrier door is in said mating condition and said actuator controls an opening of the station door, so that an opening of the station door also causes an opening of the carrier door [Para. 23], said system comprising an electronic controller (E) configured to [Para. 24]: activate said servo-controlled electric motor which controls the rotation of the carrier about the axis of the carrier after the electronic controller has received a signal from a sensor which detects an arrival of the carrier at the final position in the station [Para. 25], stop said servo-controlled electric motor, so as to stop said rotation of the carrier about the axis of the carrier and activate said actuator which controls the opening of the carrier door and of the station door, when the electronic controller receives a second signal from a second sensor which detects that said mating condition of the carrier door and the station door has been reached [Para. 26], so that when said carrier reaches said station, accessibility to the organic samples contained in the carrier is obtained in an automated manner [Para. 27].
Regarding Claim(s) 2, Pedrazzini teaches [Para. 28; also claim 2] a manipulator robot (R) for the automatic loading and/or unloading of organic samples into/from the carrier, said electronic controller being configured to enable a cycle of operations of said manipulator robot after the electronic controller has received the second signal from said second sensor which detects said mating condition of the carrier door and of the station door, and/or a third signal from a third sensor which detects the open condition of the station door and/or the open condition of the carrier door.
Regarding Claim(s) 3, Pedrazzini teaches [Para. 29; also claim 3] said station tubular structure is provided with an electrically operated locking device (16), to lock the carrier in said mating condition of said carrier door and said station door and wherein said electronic controller is configured to activate said locking device after the electronic controller has stopped said rotation of the carrier and before the electronic controller controls the opening of the station door and the carrier door.
Regarding Claim(s) 4, Pedrazzini teaches [Para. 30, also Para. 80, “optical sensor”; also claim 4] a fourth sensor, located in a position spaced from said station, and configured to detect the passage of the carrier arriving at the station, is associated with said pneumatic transport tube and wherein the electronic controller is configured to deactivate a blower of the pneumatic transport system when the electronic controller receives from said fourth sensor a fourth signal indicating the passage of the carrier arriving at the station.
Regarding Claim(s) 5, Pedrazzini teaches [Para. 30; also claim 5] said pneumatic transport tube is provided, adjacent to said station tubular structure, with a braking device (7) to brake movement of the carrier and comprising one or more elastically biased flaps (8), protruding inside the pneumatic transport tube and configured so that the flaps engage the carrier when the carrier is close to reaching the station, so as to slow the carrier down, while the flaps do not substantially oppose the movement of the carrier when the carrier leaves again from the station and moves in an opposite direction in the pneumatic transport tube.
Regarding Claim(s) 6, Pedrazzini teaches [Para. 31; also claim 6] said stop member able to impart the rotation to the carrier about the axis of the carrier is rotatably mounted at one end of said station tubular structure and is provided with shock-absorbing pads (10) configured to be engaged by a front wall of the carrier when it reaches the final position within the station at the end of the stroke in the pneumatic transport tube.
Regarding Claim(s) 7, Pedrazzini teaches [Para. 32; also claim 7] said station is provided with sensors (26) to detect a closed condition of the station door and/or of the carrier door and to detect an open condition of the station door and/or of the carrier door.
Regarding Claim(s) 8, Pedrazzini teaches [Para. 33; also claim 8] the carrier door is biased towards the open position by one or more springs (23).
Regarding Claim(s) 9, Pedrazzini teaches [Para. 33; also claim 9] a wall of the carrier and the carrier door are provided with respective magnetic engagement members (21,22) tending to hold the carrier door in the closed condition.
Regarding Claim(s) 10, Pedrazzini teaches [Para. 33; also claim 10] the station door is provided with an electrically operated lock (18) for locking the station door in the station door closed position, said electronic controller being configured to deactivate said electric lock before controlling an opening of the station door.
Regarding Claim(s) 11, Pedrazzini teaches [Para. 34; also claim 11] the pneumatic transport tube comprises an end portion inserted within said station tubular structure through an entire axial extension of said station tubular structure, said end portion of the pneumatic transport tube having a window (1B) at the station door.
Regarding Claim(s) 12, Pedrazzini teaches [Para. 35; also claim 13] the carrier is internally configured to hold one or more supports of organic samples in a stable position.
Regarding Claim(s) 13, Pedrazzini teaches [Para. 39; also claim 14] the pneumatic transport tube and the station tubular structure are oriented with their axis directed vertically, and with the station tubular structure associated with a lower end of the pneumatic transport tube.
Regarding Claim(s) 14, Pedrazzini teaches [see claim 15] a process for transporting and handling organic samples, wherein a pneumatic transport system for organic samples is provided, said system comprising: a pneumatic transport tube, at least one carrier configured to be pneumatically transported in the pneumatic transport tube and arranged to contain organic samples, and a station connected to said pneumatic transport tube, for loading and/or unloading the organic samples, wherein: said carrier is in the form of a substantially cylindrical capsule, having a side carrier door with a hinge axis parallel to an axis of the carrier, said carrier door is configured to be moved between a closed position, for the transport of the organic samples through the pneumatic transport tube, and an open position, for the loading and/or unloading of the organic samples in/from the station, said station comprises a station tubular structure coaxially connected to said pneumatic transport tube and arranged to receive the carrier at an end of a stroke of the carrier within the pneumatic transport tube, said station tubular structure having a station door in a side wall thereof, with a hinge axis parallel to the axis of the pneumatic transport tube, said station door is configured be moved between a closed position and an open position, said station door and said carrier door are configured so as to engage each other when the carrier door is at an angular position substantially corresponding to an angular position of the station door, so that in this condition, an opening of the station door also causes an opening of the carrier, said process comprising the following operations: detecting, by means of a sensor, when the carrier reaches a final position against a stop member within said station tubular structure at the end of the stroke of the carrier within the pneumatic transport tube, activating, by means of an electronic controller, a servo-controlled electric motor which imparts a rotation to said carrier about the axis of the carrier, by means of said stop member, after the electronic controller has received the signal from said sensor which detects an arrival of the carrier at the final position in the station, stopping, by means of the electronic controller, said servo-controlled electric motor and consequently stopping the rotation of the carrier, when the electronic controller receives a second signal from a second sensor which detects a reaching of a mating condition in which the carrier door is at an angular position substantially corresponding to the angular position of the station door, activating, by means of said electronic controller, an actuator which controls an opening of the station door and consequently an opening of the carrier door after that the carrier has been stopped in said mating condition of the station door and the carrier door, so that when the carrier is in said station, accessibility to the organic samples contained in the carrier is obtained in an automated manner. Claim 15 discloses the language of the instant claim almost verbatim, except for the inclusion of “organic samples”. However, the “histological samples” of Pedrazzini is disclosed as being “organic tissue samples” at Paragraph 4, which would anticipate the “organic samples” limitation.
Regarding Claim(s) 15, please see claim 16 of Pedrazzini.
Regarding Claim(s) 16, please see claim 17 of Pedrazzini.
Regarding Claim(s) 17, please see claim 18 of Pedrazzini.
Regarding Claim(s) 18, please see claim 19 of Pedrazzini.
Regarding Claim(s) 19, please see claim 20 of Pedrazzini.
Regarding Claim(s) 20, please see claim 21 of Pedrazzini.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,221,298. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because while the language of the instant claims and the patented claims is slightly different, the instant claims would be considered anticipated by the patented claims. The instant claims recite “organic samples” while the ‘298 art recites “histological samples”. While not identical, “histological” is a species of the broad genus “organic”; and “histological samples” would anticipate “organic samples”. Therefore, the subject matter of the instant claims is fully encompassed by the patented claims.
Instant Claim 1
USPN 12,221,298
A pneumatic transport system for organic samples, comprising
(Claim 1), “A pneumatic transport system for histological samples, comprising:”
a pneumatic transport tube
(Claim 1), “a pneumatic transport tube”
at least one carrier configured to be pneumatically transported in the pneumatic transport tube and arranged to contain organic samples
(Claim 1), “at least one carrier configured to be pneumatically transported in the pneumatic transport tube and arranged to contain histological samples”
and a station connected to said pneumatic transport tube, for loading and/or unloading the organic samples, wherein
(Claim 1), “and a station connected to said pneumatic transport tube, for loading and/or unloading the histological samples, wherein”
said carrier is in the form of a substantially cylindrical capsule, having a side carrier door with a hinge axis parallel to an axis of the carrier
(Claim 1), “said carrier is in the form of a substantially cylindrical capsule, having a side carrier door with a hinge axis parallel to an axis of the carrier,”
said carrier door is configured to be moved between a closed position, for the transport of the organic samples through the pneumatic transport tube, and an open position, for the loading and/or unloading of the organic samples in/from the station,
(Claim 1), “said carrier door is configured to be moved between a closed position, for the transport of the histological samples through the pneumatic transport tube, and an open position, for the loading and/or unloading of the histological samples in/from the station”
said station comprises a station tubular structure coaxially connected to said pneumatic transport tube and arranged to receive the carrier at an end of a stroke of the carrier within the pneumatic transport tube
(Claim 1), “said station comprises a station tubular structure coaxially connected to said pneumatic transport tube and arranged to receive the carrier at an end of a stroke of the carrier within the pneumatic transport tube”
said station tubular structure having a station door in a side wall thereof, with a hinge axis parallel to an axis of the pneumatic transport tube
(Claim 1), “said station tubular structure having a station door in a side wall thereof, with a hinge axis parallel to an axis of the pneumatic transport tube”
said station door is configured to be moved between a closed position and an open position
(Claim 1), “said station door is configured to be moved between a closed position and an open position”
said station further comprises a stop member, to stop said carrier when the carrier reaches a final position within the station
(Claim 1), “said station further comprises a stop member, to stop said carrier when the carrier reaches a final position within the station”
and a servo-controlled electric motor, to impart a rotation to said carrier around the axis of the carrier, by means of said stop member, until a mating condition is reached in which the carrier door is at an angular position substantially corresponding to an angular position of the station door
(Claim 1), “and a servo-controlled electric motor, to impart a rotation to said carrier around the axis of the carrier, by means of said stop member, until a mating condition is reached in which the carrier door is at an angular position substantially corresponding to an angular position of the station door”
said station further comprises an actuator to control a rotation of the station door between the station door closed position and the station door open position
(Claim 1), “said station further comprises an actuator to control a rotation of the station door between the station door closed position and the station door open position”
aid station door and said carrier door are configured so as to engage each other when the carrier door is in said mating condition and said actuator controls an opening of the station door, so that an opening of the station door also causes an opening of the carrier door
(Claim 1), “said station door and said carrier door are configured so as to engage each other when the carrier door is in said mating condition and said actuator controls an opening of the station door, so that an opening of the station door also causes an opening of the carrier door”
said system comprising an electronic controller configured to:
(Claim 1), “said system comprising an electronic controller configured to”
activate said servo-controlled electric motor which controls the rotation of the carrier about the axis of the carrier after the electronic controller has received a signal from a sensor which detects an arrival of the carrier at the final position in the station
(Claim 1), “activate said servo-controlled electric motor which controls the rotation of the carrier about the axis of the carrier after the electronic controller has received a signal from a sensor which detects an arrival of the carrier at the final position in the station”
stop said servo-controlled electric motor, so as to stop said rotation of the carrier about the axis of the carrier and activate said actuator which controls the opening of the carrier door and of the station door
(Claim 1), “stop said servo-controlled electric motor, so as to stop said rotation of the carrier about the axis of the carrier and activate said actuator which controls the opening of the carrier door and of the station door”
when the electronic controller receives a second signal from a second sensor which detects that said mating condition of the carrier door and the station door has been reached
(Claim 1), “when the electronic controller receives a second signal from a second sensor which detects that said mating condition of the carrier door and the station door has been reached”
so that when said carrier reaches said station, accessibility to the organic samples contained in the carrier is obtained in an automated manner.
(Claim 1), “so that when said carrier reaches said station, accessibility to the histological samples contained in the carrier is obtained in an automated manner.”
Regarding Claim(s) 2, please see claim 2 of the ‘298 patent.
Regarding Claim(s) 3, please see claim 4 of the ‘298 patent.
Regarding Claim(s) 4, please see claim 3 of the ‘298 patent.
Regarding Claim(s) 5, please see claim 5 of the ‘298 patent.
Regarding Claim(s) 6, please see claim 6 of the ‘298 patent.
Regarding Claim(s) 7, please see claim 7 of the ‘298 patent.
Regarding Claim(s) 8, please see claim 8 of the ‘298 patent.
Regarding Claim(s) 9, please see claim 9 of the ‘298 patent.
Regarding Claim(s) 10, please see claim 10 of the ‘298 patent.
Regarding Claim(s) 11, please see claim 11 of the ‘298 patent.
Regarding Claim(s) 12, please see claim 12 of the ‘298 patent.
Regarding Claim(s) 13, please see claim 13 of the ‘298 patent.
Instant Claim 14
USPN 12,221,298
A process for transporting and handling organic samples, wherein
(Claim 14), “A process for transporting and handling histological samples, wherein”
a pneumatic transport system for organic samples is provided, said system comprising:
(Claim 14), “a pneumatic transport system for histological samples is provided, said system comprising:”
a pneumatic transport tube
(Claim 14), “a pneumatic transport tube”
at least one carrier configured to be pneumatically transported in the pneumatic transport tube and arranged to contain organic samples
(Claim 14), “at least one carrier configured to be pneumatically transported in the pneumatic transport tube and arranged to contain histological samples”
and a station connected to said pneumatic transport tube, for loading and/or unloading the organic samples, wherein:
(Claim 14), “and a station connected to said pneumatic transport tube, for loading and/or unloading the histological samples, wherein:”
said carrier is in the form of a substantially cylindrical capsule, having a side carrier door with a hinge axis parallel to an axis of the carrier
(Claim 14), “said carrier is in the form of a substantially cylindrical capsule, having a side carrier door with a hinge axis parallel to an axis of the carrier”
said carrier door is configured to be moved between a closed position, for the transport of the organic samples through the pneumatic transport tube, and an open position, for the loading and/or unloading of the organic samples in/from the station
(Claim 14), “said carrier door is configured to be moved between a closed position, for the transport of the histological samples through the pneumatic transport tube, and an open position, for the loading and/or unloading of the histological samples in/from the station”
said station comprises a station tubular structure coaxially connected to said pneumatic transport tube and arranged to receive the carrier at an end of a stroke of the carrier within the pneumatic transport tube
(Claim 14), “said station comprises a station tubular structure coaxially connected to said pneumatic transport tube and arranged to receive the carrier at an end of a stroke of the carrier within the pneumatic transport tube”
said station tubular structure having a station door in a side wall thereof, with a hinge axis parallel to the axis of the pneumatic transport tube
(Claim 14), “said station tubular structure having a station door in a side wall thereof, with a hinge axis parallel to the axis of the pneumatic transport tube”
said station door is configured be moved between a closed position and an open position
(Claim 14), “said station door is configured be moved between a closed position and an open position”
said station door and said carrier door are configured so as to engage each other when the carrier door is at an angular position substantially corresponding to an angular position of the station door, so that in this condition, an opening of the station door also causes an opening of the carrier
(Claim 14), “said station door and said carrier door are configured so as to engage each other when the carrier door is at an angular position substantially corresponding to an angular position of the station door, so that in this condition, an opening of the station door also causes an opening of the carrier
said process comprising the following operations:
said process comprising the following operations:”
detecting, by means of a sensor, when the carrier reaches a final position against a stop member within said station tubular structure at the end of the stroke of the carrier within the pneumatic transport tube
(Claim 14), “detecting, by means of a sensor, when the carrier reaches a final position against a stop member within said station tubular structure at the end of the stroke of the carrier within the pneumatic transport tube”
activating, by means of an electronic controller, a servo-controlled electric motor which imparts a rotation to said carrier about the axis of the carrier, by means of said stop member
(Claim 14), “activating, by means of an electronic controller, a servo-controlled electric motor which imparts a rotation to said carrier about the axis of the carrier, by means of said stop member”
after the electronic controller has received the signal from said sensor which detects an arrival of the carrier at the final position in the station
(Claim 14), “after the electronic controller has received the signal from said sensor which detects an arrival of the carrier at the final position in the station”
stopping, by means of the electronic controller, said servo-controlled electric motor and consequently stopping the rotation of the carrier
(Claim 14), “stopping, by means of the electronic controller, said servo-controlled electric motor and consequently stopping the rotation of the carrier,”
when the electronic controller receives a second signal from a second sensor which detects a reaching of a mating condition in which the carrier door is at an angular position substantially corresponding to the angular position of the station door,
(Claim 14), “when the electronic controller receives a second signal from a second sensor which detects a reaching of a mating condition in which the carrier door is at an angular position substantially corresponding to the angular position of the station door”
activating, by means of said electronic controller, an actuator which controls an opening of the station door and consequently an opening of the carrier door after that the carrier has been stopped in said mating condition of the station door and the carrier door
(Claim 14), “activating, by means of said electronic controller, an actuator which controls an opening of the station door and consequently an opening of the carrier door after that the carrier has been stopped in said mating condition of the station door and the carrier door”
so that when the carrier is in said station, accessibility to the organic samples contained in the carrier is obtained in an automated manner.
(Claim 14), “so that when the carrier is in said station, accessibility to the histological samples contained in the carrier is obtained in an automated manner.”
Regarding Claim(s) 15, please see claim 15 of the ‘298 patent.
Regarding Claim(s) 16, please see claim 17 of the ‘298 patent.
Regarding Claim(s) 17, please see claim 16 of the ‘298 patent.
Regarding Claim(s) 18, please see claim 19 of the ‘298 patent.
Regarding Claim(s) 19, please see claim 20 of the ‘298 patent.
Regarding Claim(s) 20, please see claim 18 of the ‘298 patent.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM R HARP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653