DETAILED ACTION
This is a final office action on the merits. The U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (the Office) has received claims 1 – 21 in application 19/013,504.
Claim 1 is canceled.
Claims 2, 13, and 20 are amended.
Claims 2-21 are pending and have been examined on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the 101 Rejection
Applicant’s arguments filed 5/05/2026 with respect to the 101 Rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 101 Rejection of Claims 2-12 has been withdrawn.
Regarding the 112 Rejection
Applicant’s arguments filed 5/05/2026 with respect to the 112 Rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112 Rejection of Claims 2-12 has been withdrawn.
Regarding the 103 Rejection
Applicant's arguments filed 5/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are partially persuasive. Applicant’s argument is based upon the newly amended claim limitation. New art is applied to the newly amended claim limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hockey (US20190182233A1) in view of Wu (US20200143466A1) and in further view of Dresner (US20200097928A1) and in further view of Cavoto (US20190353685A1) and in further view of Bathen (US20190036932A1) and in further view of Pourfallah (US20120239417A1).
Regarding Claim 2. Hockey teaches (in BOLD):
A method, comprising: receiving accounts of a user from a provider that services installment payments from the user to a creditor;
Note – Hockey teaches a provider/API that works with user accounts and supports transactions which included scheduling payments.
Hockey - banks, credit card providers, investment services, loan providers, and/or other suitable financial institutions or user account holding institutions (¶ 0194). initiate transactions (such as a transfer of funds between accounts, schedule payments, etc.) (¶ 0231).
designating a first account of the accounts as a default account preferred by the user;
Hockey - one institution is set as a primary account (¶ 0249).
designating remaining accounts of the accounts as secondary accounts preferred by the user;
Hockey - another account managed by the same entity is set as a secondary account (¶ 0249).
providing a first access token that identifies the default account;
Hockey - access account (¶ 0250).
providing a second access token that identifies the secondary accounts;
Hockey - access account (¶ 0250).
Hockey does not teach, however Wu discloses:
A method, comprising: receiving accounts of a user from a provider that services installment payments from the user to a creditor;
Note – Wu teaches the installment loan context.
Wu - loan parameter values (¶ 0006). a number of installments (¶ 0007).
configuring instructions for the smart contract with conditions that include the first access token linked to the default account and the second access token linked to the secondary accounts,
Wu - The method 200 may include generating the smart contract 220. The smart contract may be generated by a DTVM of the on-chain computing system using loan parameter values (¶ 0102).
to satisfy installment payments from the user to the creditor;
Wu - transaction of crypto assets from the borrower to the smart contract to collateralize the loan (¶ 0132).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the permissions and management system of Hockey with the installments of Wu because doing so connects different accounts to pay back loans.
The combination of Hockey and Wu does not disclose, however Dresner discloses:
providing a secure token based on the receiving;
Dresner - generating a token for the user account and associating the token with the user account (¶ 0004).
providing a first access token that identifies the default account;
Dresner - generating a token for the user account and associating the token with the user account (¶ 0004).
providing a second access token that identifies the secondary accounts;
Dresner - generating a token for the user account and associating the token with the user account (¶ 0004).
instantiating the smart contract on a blockchain using the secure token for access by the provider.
Dresner - generating a token for the user account and associating the token with the user account (¶ 0004).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the permissions and management system of Hockey and the installments of Wu with the token-based service authentication of Dresner because doing so controls access to network services to improve and harden authorization boundaries for different resources.
The combination of Hockey, Wu, and Dresner does not disclose, however Cavoto discloses:
generating instructions for a smart contract with conditions that include the first access token and the second access token, wherein the smart contract when processed transfers funds from the accounts to satisfy installment payments from the user to the creditor; and
Note – Cavoto teaches smart contract code is executed when conditions are satisfied and it transfers a “funds amount” between wallets (accounts).
Cavoto - A transaction is an execution of the smart contract code which can be performed in response to conditions associated with the smart contract being satisfied (¶ 0044). funds amount to be transferred from the device wallet to the…provider wallet (¶ 0046).
instantiating the smart contract on a blockchain using the secure token for access by the provider.
Cavoto - chaincode sends an authorization key to the requested service (¶ 0046). prepares a smart contract based on that value and deposits the contract on the blockchain (¶ 0065). smart contract execution may be written to a blockchain as a blockchain transaction (¶ 0077).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the permissions and management system of Hockey and the installments of Wu and the token-based service authentication of Dresner with the preparing the smart contract of Cavoto because doing so automates satisfaction of an amount due using the blockchain.
The combination of Hockey, Wu, Dresner, and Cavoto does not disclose, however Bathen discloses:
configuring instructions for the smart contract with conditions that include the first access token linked to the default account and the second access token linked to the secondary accounts,
Bathen - Each token is in the form of an access control rule needed by services to authenticate the user (¶ 0022). Access controls could be static, or dynamic, enforced through the use of smart contracts/chaincode (¶ 0023).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the permissions and management system of Hockey and the installments of Wu and the token-based service authentication of Dresner and the preparing the smart contract of Cavoto with the blockchain access control technique of Bathen because doing so provides authenticated and controlled access to the smart contract using a known blockchain authentication technique.
The combination of Hockey, Wu, Dresner, Cavoto and Bathen does not disclose, however Pourfellah discloses:
wherein the smart contract when processed transfers funds from the default account when a current balance of the default account is sufficient to cover an installment payment, and apportions funds from across the accounts when the current balance of the default account is insufficient to cover the installment payment,
Pourfallah - If yes, the H-Wallet (Healthcare Wallet) may deduct the requested payment amount from the user account 1720 and transfer the requested payment amount to the healthcare provider 1727…when there are insufficient funds in the user healthcare account, the user may elect to split the payment and pay with other accounts (¶ 0311). The user may split the amount by selecting FSA to pay $75.00 491 and LOC to pay the remaining $100−$75=$25 (¶ 0130).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the permissions and management system of Hockey and the installments of Wu and the token-based service authentication of Dresner and the preparing the smart contract of Cavoto and the blockchain access control technique of Bathen with the balance dependent multiple account payment technique of Pourfallah because doing so avoids failure of an installment payment merely because the preferred account individually lacked funds.
Regarding Claim 3. The combination of Hockey, Wu, Dresner, Cavoto, Bathen, and Pourfallah further discloses:
The method of claim 2, wherein receiving further includes receiving the accounts from the provider, wherein the user registers the accounts with the provider for use on the blockchain.
Hockey - The user may provide some account credentials that can be used in an initial registration of the proxy instance with the non-public or public API of the institution. The proxy instance may be characterized as a set of properties that can be stored and maintained. Some of those properties may be automatically generated, may be provided from the institution during negotiating registration, may be properties of the application that is being simulated, and/or may include any suitable identifying and authenticating information (¶ 0209).
Regarding Claim 4. The combination of Hockey, Wu, Dresner, Cavoto, Bathen, and Pourfallah further discloses:
The method of claim 2, wherein providing the secure token further includes providing the secure token to the provider for subsequent delivery to the user.
Hockey - At block 350, which includes returning results, the system 100 functions to deliver the results as a response to the request. Returning the results includes transforming the data obtained from the external institution into a normalized form. The information is formatted into a standardized format that is substantially similar in representation between different institutions served by the system 100 (¶ 0221).
Regarding Claim 5. The combination of Hockey, Wu, Dresner, Cavoto, Bathen, and Pourfallah further discloses:
The method of claim 2, wherein designating the first account further includes: receiving the secure token from the user;
Dresner - generating a token for the user account and associating the token with the user account (¶ 0004).
authenticating the secure token;
Dresner - The token vault may then verify that the third-party ID matches the token, and the token may then be de-tokenized to reveal the true account number. The debit or credit may then be posted to the correct customer account, and the transaction proceeds as normal (¶ 0027).
linking the secure token to the accounts; and
account (¶ 0004).
presenting the accounts within a user interface for selection of the first account as the default account by the user.
Dresner - In step 210, the third party may engage the trusted party to interface with the user's financial institution to obtain token and account details and may provide the trusted party with the third-party identifier (e.g., the third party's ACH Company ID) (¶ 0032).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the permissions and management system of Hockey and the installments of Wu and the token-based service authentication of Dresner with the preparing the smart contract of Cavoto because doing so automates satisfaction of an amount due using the blockchain.
Regarding Claim 6. The combination of Hockey, Wu, Dresner, Cavoto, Bathen, and Pourfallah further discloses:
The method of claim 2, wherein providing the first access token further includes providing the first access token to the user for delivery to the provider.
Dresner - generating a token for the user account and associating the token with the user account (¶ 0004).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the permissions and management system of Hockey and the installments of Wu and the token-based service authentication of Dresner with the preparing the smart contract of Cavoto because doing so automates satisfaction of an amount due using the blockchain.
Regarding Claim 7. The combination of Hockey, Wu, Dresner, Cavoto, Bathen, and Pourfallah further discloses:
The method of claim 2, wherein providing the second access token further includes providing the second access token to the user for delivery to the provider.
Dresner - generating a token for the user account and associating the token with the user account (¶ 0004).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the permissions and management system of Hockey and the installments of Wu and the token-based service authentication of Dresner with the preparing the smart contract of Cavoto because doing so automates satisfaction of an amount due using the blockchain.
Regarding Claim 8. The combination of Hockey, Wu, Dresner, Cavoto, Bathen, and Pourfallah further discloses:
The method of claim 2, wherein generating further includes configuring the instructions with an algorithm for determining how to apportion available funds from each of the accounts to satisfy an amount due by a particular installment payment when the amount due exceeds a current account balance of the default account.
Wu - The offers displayed may be based on offer data from the off-chain computing system 152. Each offer in the offer data may include information, or parameters, such as: a principal amount, a principal unit type (e.g., a type of crypto asset), a collateral amount, a collateral unit type (e.g., a type of crypto asset, which may be different than the principal unit type), an interest rate, a loan term, a loan total cost, and a number of installments. The offer data received using the user interface system 150. The processing circuitry may display an offer interface 400 (see FIG. 9) for the user to input offer data (¶ 0073).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the permissions and management system of Hockey and the installments of Wu and the token-based service authentication of Dresner with the preparing the smart contract of Cavoto because doing so automates satisfaction of an amount due using the blockchain.
Regarding Claim 9. The combination of Hockey, Wu, Dresner, Cavoto, Bathen, and Pourfallah further discloses:
The method of claim 8, wherein configuring further includes configuring the instructions to obtain account histories and current balances of the accounts as input to the algorithm.
Hockey - In another optional stage, the account may be processed for fraud patterns. For example, the age of the account may be accessed. Newly created accounts may be less trustworthy than established accounts with significant history. Similarly transaction history may be assessed for fraudulent behavior. If the account is used for a diverse range of transactions indicative of normal behavior then the account may be identified as normal. If the account only participates in repeated high value transactions or other fraud patterns, then the account may be flagged as fraudulent. Additionally, the entities involved in the transaction may be indicative of fraud (¶ 0243).
Regarding Claim 10. The combination of Hockey, Wu, Dresner, Cavoto, Bathen, and Pourfallah further discloses:
The method of claim 8, wherein configuring further includes configuring the instructions to use a machine-learning model as the algorithm.
Hockey - It will also be noted that each block of the block diagrams and/or flowchart illustration, and combinations of blocks in the block diagrams and/or flowchart illustration, can be implemented by special purpose hardware-based systems that perform the specified functions or acts or carry out combinations of special purpose hardware and computer instructions. For example, any of the processes, methods, algorithms, elements, blocks, applications, or other functionality (or portions of functionality) described in the preceding sections may be embodied in, and/or fully or partially automated via, electronic hardware (¶ 0412)
Regarding Claim 11. The combination of Hockey, Wu, Dresner, Cavoto, Bathen, and Pourfallah further discloses:
The method of claim 8, wherein configuring further includes configuring the instructions to provide user designated priorities or rules for apportioning between the accounts as input to the algorithm.
Hockey - According to another aspect, the electronic token further includes a history of transactions associated with the external application, and wherein the comparing further comprises comparing the one or more transaction details with the history of transactions (¶ 0083).
Regarding Claim 12. The combination of Hockey, Wu, Dresner, Cavoto, Bathen, and Pourfallah further discloses:
The method of claim 2, wherein instantiating further includes using the secure token as a key for obtaining an address of the smart contract on the blockchain.
Dresner - Systems and methods for conducting account tokenized transactions are disclosed. In one embodiment, a method may include: receiving a third-party identifier, login credentials for a user, and an identification of a user account to tokenize from a trusted party; generating a token for the user account and associating the token with the user account and the third-party identifier; providing the token, a token-specific routing number, and the third-party identifier to the trusted party; receiving, from the third party's financial institution, a transaction comprising the token, the token-specific routing number, and the third-party identifier; identifying the transaction as involving a tokenized account based on the token-specific routing number; verifying that the third-party identifier received from the third party's financial institution matches the third-party identifier associated with the token; identifying the account associated with the token; posting the transaction to the account; and settling the transaction with the third party (Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the permissions and management system of Hockey and the installments of Wu and the token-based service authentication of Dresner with the preparing the smart contract of Cavoto because doing so automates satisfaction of an amount due using the blockchain.
Regarding Claim 13. Hockey teaches (in BOLD)
A method, comprising: receiving registered accounts of a user from a provider that services installment payments due from the user to a creditor;
Note – Hockey teaches a provider/API that works with user accounts and supports transactions which included scheduling payments.
Hockey - banks, credit card providers, investment services, loan providers, and/or other suitable financial institutions or user account holding institutions (¶ 0194). initiate transactions (such as a transfer of funds between accounts, schedule payments, etc.) (¶ 0231).
generating a first access token associated with the default account and a second access token associated with the secondary accounts;
Hockey - access account (¶ 0250).
Hockey does not teach, however Wu discloses:
A method, comprising: receiving registered accounts of a user from a provider that services installment payments due from the user to a creditor;
Note – Wu teaches the installment loan context.
Wu - loan parameter values (¶ 0006). a number of installments (¶ 0007).
configuring instructions for the smart contract with conditions that include the first access token linked to the default account and the second access token linked to the secondary accounts,
Wu - The method 200 may include generating the smart contract 220. The smart contract may be generated by a DTVM of the on-chain computing system using loan parameter values (¶ 0102).
to satisfy installment payments from the user to the creditor;
Wu - transaction of crypto assets from the borrower to the smart contract to collateralize the loan (¶ 0132).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the permissions and management system of Hockey with the installments of Wu because doing so connects different accounts to pay back loans.
The combination of Hockey and Wu does not discloses, however Dresner discloses:
providing the provider a secure token for delivery to the user and creation of a smart contract that manages the installment payments on a blockchain;
Dresner - generating a token for the user account and associating the token with the user account (¶ 0004).
receiving the secure token from the user and linking the secure token to the registered accounts;
Dresner - generating a token for the user account and associating the token with the user account (¶ 0004).
receiving selections from the user that designate a default account and secondary accounts from the registered accounts;
Dresner - generating a token for the user account and associating the token with the user account (¶ 0004).
generating a first access token associated with the default account and a second access token associated with the secondary accounts;
Dresner - generating a token for the user account and associating the token with the user account (¶ 0004).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the permissions and management system of Hockey and the installments of Wu with the token-based service authentication of Dresner because doing so controls access to network services to improve and harden authorization boundaries for different resources.
The combination of Hockey, Wu, and Dresner does not disclose, however Cavoto discloses:
configuring instructions with conditions associated with the installment payments, the default account, the secondary accounts, the first access token, and the second access token; and
Cavoto - A transaction is an execution of the smart contract code which can be performed in response to conditions associated with the smart contract being satisfied (¶ 0044). funds amount to be transferred from the device wallet to the…provider wallet (¶ 0046).
instantiating the instructions on the blockchain as the smart contract that is reachable by the provider on the blockchain via the secure token.
Cavoto - chaincode sends an authorization key to the requested service (¶ 0046). prepares a smart contract based on that value and deposits the contract on the blockchain (¶ 0065). smart contract execution may be written to a blockchain as a blockchain transaction (¶ 0077).
providing the provider a secure token for delivery to the user and creation of a smart contract that manages the installment payments on a blockchain;
Cavoto - A transaction is an execution of the smart contract code which can be performed in response to conditions associated with the smart contract being satisfied (¶ 0044). funds amount to be transferred from the device wallet to the…provider wallet (¶ 0046).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the permissions and management system of Hockey and the installments of Wu and the token-based service authentication of Dresner with the preparing the smart contract of Cavoto because doing so automates satisfaction of an amount due using the blockchain.
The combination of Hockey, Wu, Dresner, and Cavoto does not disclose, however Bathen discloses:
configuring instructions for the smart contract with conditions that include the first access token linked to the default account and the second access token linked to the secondary accounts,
Bathen - Each token is in the form of an access control rule needed by services to authenticate the user (¶ 0022). Access controls could be static, or dynamic, enforced through the use of smart contracts/chaincode (¶ 0023).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the permissions and management system of Hockey and the installments of Wu and the token-based service authentication of Dresner and the preparing the smart contract of Cavoto with the blockchain access control technique of Bathen because doing so provides authenticated and controlled access to the smart contract using a known blockchain authentication technique.
The combination of Hockey, Wu, Dresner, Cavoto and Bathen does not disclose, however Pourfellah discloses:
wherein the smart contract when processed transfers funds from the default account when a current balance of the default account is sufficient to cover an installment payment, and apportions funds from across the accounts when the current balance of the default account is insufficient to cover the installment payment,
Pourfallah - If yes, the H-Wallet (Healthcare Wallet) may deduct the requested payment amount from the user account 1720 and transfer the requested payment amount to the healthcare provider 1727…when there are insufficient funds in the user healthcare account, the user may elect to split the payment and pay with other accounts (¶ 0311). The user may split the amount by selecting FSA to pay $75.00 491 and LOC to pay the remaining $100−$75=$25 (¶ 0130).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the permissions and management system of Hockey and the installments of Wu and the token-based service authentication of Dresner and the preparing the smart contract of Cavoto and the blockchain access control technique of Bathen with the balance dependent multiple account payment technique of Pourfallah because doing so avoids failure of an installment payment merely because the preferred account individually lacked funds.
Regarding Claim 14. The combination of Hockey, Wu, Dresner, Cavoto, Bathen, and Pourfallah further discloses:
The method of claim 13, wherein configuring further includes configuring the instructions to apportion funds transferred from the registered accounts to satisfy a particular installment payment when a current balance of the default account is insufficient to make the particular installment payment.
Wu - Systems may include an off-chain computing system and an on-chain computing system. Methods may include receiving a principal amount to lend or borrow based on input from a first user, storing offer data in an off-chain data structure, requesting recordation of a smart contract on a blockchain based on the offer data, confirming a first transaction of the principal amount or the collateral amount from the second user to the smart contract has been recorded on the blockchain, confirming a second transaction of the principal amount or the collateral amount complementary to the first transaction from the first user to the smart contract has been recorded on the blockchain, and confirming the smart contract has recorded a third transaction releasing the principal amount on the blockchain in response to confirming both the first transaction and the second transaction (Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the permissions and management system of Hockey and the installments of Wu and the token-based service authentication of Dresner with the preparing the smart contract of Cavoto because doing so automates satisfaction of an amount due using the blockchain.
Regarding Claim 15. The combination of Hockey, Wu, Dresner, Cavoto, Bathen, and Pourfallah further discloses:
The method of claim 13, wherein configuring further includes configuring the instructions to maintain up-to-date balance totals for each of the registered accounts.
Hockey - the trusted third-party processor system 1212 may optionally communicate with the permissions management system 1204 to determine that the external user-facing system/application 1208 is authorized to cause the transaction to be executed (e.g., permissions may be checked, an account balance may be checked, etc.); and the trusted third-party processor system 1212 may initiate execution of the transaction (e.g., by sending a request to the external user account system 1206) (¶ 0359).
Regarding Claim 16. The combination of Hockey, Wu, Dresner, Cavoto, Bathen, and Pourfallah further discloses:
The method of claim 13, wherein configuring further includes configuring the instructions to transfer funds from the default account to an account associated with the provider or the creditor when a current balance of the default account is sufficient to pay a particular installment payment.
Hockey - A transaction endpoint can be abstracted to a user entity, which may be associated with multiple optional transactional endpoints (e.g., different bank accounts). Accordingly, the method may include selecting an institution, which functions to dynamically select a connected account to participate in a transaction. Various conditions may be set to respond to events when receiving a transaction request, collecting information for the transaction, and/or executing a transaction. In one variation, one institution is set as a primary account and another account managed by the same entity is set as a secondary account. If the primary account is not able to complete a transaction, the method may detect an error condition and automatically fails over to the secondary account. In another variation, a set of accounts may be preconfigured to be used depending on properties of the request. In combination with the proxy transfer endpoint, the identifying information for the proxy endpoint can be used, but the underlying service automatically will use an automatically selected account to use for the funds. For example, a set of entities and/or category of entities/transactions may be set to use particular accounts. Similarly, transactions to one proxy account may be automatically split into transactions with multiple associated accounts. For example, an account holder may set a proxy account to automatically split deposits between two accounts in a 30/70 balance (¶ 0249).
Regarding Claim 17. The combination of Hockey, Wu, Dresner, Cavoto, Bathen, and Pourfallah further discloses:
The method of claim 13, wherein configuring further includes configuring the instructions to validate and authenticate the first access token and the second access token provided by the provider to the smart contract for a given installment payment.
Cavoto - A transaction is an execution of the smart contract code which can be performed in response to conditions associated with the smart contract being satisfied (¶ 0044). funds amount to be transferred from the device wallet to the…provider wallet (¶ 0046).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the permissions and management system of Hockey and the installments of Wu and the token-based service authentication of Dresner with the preparing the smart contract of Cavoto because doing so automates satisfaction of an amount due using the blockchain.
Regarding Claim 18. The combination of Hockey, Wu, Dresner, Cavoto, Bathen, and Pourfallah further discloses:
The method of claim 13, wherein configuring further includes obtaining user- defined priorities from a profile linked to the user for determining how to apportion funds between accounts.
Cavoto - A transaction is an execution of the smart contract code which can be performed in response to conditions associated with the smart contract being satisfied (¶ 0044). funds amount to be transferred from the device wallet to the…provider wallet (¶ 0046).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the permissions and management system of Hockey and the installments of Wu and the token-based service authentication of Dresner with the preparing the smart contract of Cavoto because doing so automates satisfaction of an amount due using the blockchain.
Regarding Claim 19. The combination of Hockey, Wu, Dresner, Cavoto, Bathen, and Pourfallah further discloses:
The method of claim 13, wherein instantiating further includes preventing modification of the conditions associated with the installment payments after initial creation of the smart contract.
Cavoto - A transaction is an execution of the smart contract code which can be performed in response to conditions associated with the smart contract being satisfied (¶ 0044). funds amount to be transferred from the device wallet to the…provider wallet (¶ 0046).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the permissions and management system of Hockey and the installments of Wu and the token-based service authentication of Dresner with the preparing the smart contract of Cavoto because doing so automates satisfaction of an amount due using the blockchain.
Regarding Claim 20. Hockey teaches (in BOLD):
A system, comprising: a server comprising at least one processor and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium;
Hockey - the main memory (e.g., a random access memory (RAM)) 1122, a read only memory (ROM) 1104, a computer readable storage medium 1105 (e.g., a non-transitory computer readable storage medium), a display device 1107, a user input device 1108, and a network device 1111 (¶ 0278).
the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprises executable instructions;
Hockey - the main memory (e.g., a random access memory (RAM)) 1122, a read only memory (ROM) 1104, a computer readable storage medium 1105 (e.g., a non-transitory computer readable storage medium), a display device 1107, a user input device 1108, and a network device 1111 (¶ 0278).
the executable instructions when executed by the at least one processor cause the at least one processor to perform operations comprising:
Hockey - the main memory (e.g., a random access memory (RAM)) 1122, a read only memory (ROM) 1104, a computer readable storage medium 1105 (e.g., a non-transitory computer readable storage medium), a display device 1107, a user input device 1108, and a network device 1111 (¶ 0278).
identifying a default account from the registered accounts;
Hockey - one institution is set as a primary account (¶ 0249).
identifying remaining accounts that are not the default account as secondary accounts;
Hockey - another account managed by the same entity is set as a secondary account (¶ 0249).
generating a first access token associated with the default account;
Hockey - access account (¶ 0250).
generating a second access token associated with the secondary accounts;
Hockey - access account (¶ 0250).
Hockey does not teach, however Wu discloses:
configuring instructions for a smart contract to manage installment payments made by the user through the registered accounts to a provider who collects the installment payments on behalf of a creditor; and
Wu - loan parameter values (¶ 0006). a number of installments (¶ 0007).
configuring instructions for the smart contract with conditions that include the first access token linked to the default account and the second access token linked to the secondary accounts,
Wu - The method 200 may include generating the smart contract 220. The smart contract may be generated by a DTVM of the on-chain computing system using loan parameter values (¶ 0102).
to satisfy installment payments from the user to the creditor;
Wu - transaction of crypto assets from the borrower to the smart contract to collateralize the loan (¶ 0132).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the permissions and management system of Hockey with the installments of Wu because doing so connects different accounts to pay back loans.
The combination of Hockey and Wu does not discloses, however Dresner discloses:
linking registered accounts of a user to a secure token;
Dresner - generating a token for the user account and associating the token with the user account (¶ 0004).
generating a first access token associated with the default account;
Dresner - generating a token for the user account and associating the token with the user account (¶ 0004).
generating a second access token associated with the secondary accounts;
Dresner - generating a token for the user account and associating the token with the user account (¶ 0004).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the permissions and management system of Hockey and the installments of Wu with the token-based service authentication of Dresner because doing so controls access to network services to improve and harden authorization boundaries for different resources.
The combination of Hockey, Wu, and Dresner does not disclose however Cavoto discloses:
configuring instructions for a smart contract to manage installment payments made by the user through the registered accounts to a provider who collects the installment payments on behalf of a creditor; and
Cavoto - A transaction is an execution of the smart contract code which can be performed in response to conditions associated with the smart contract being satisfied (¶ 0044). funds amount to be transferred from the device wallet to the…provider wallet (¶ 0046).
installing and initiating the instructions as a smart contract on a blockchain accessible via the secure token.
Cavoto - chaincode sends an authorization key to the requested service (¶ 0046). prepares a smart contract based on that value and deposits the contract on the blockchain (¶ 0065). smart contract execution may be written to a blockchain as a blockchain transaction (¶ 0077).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the permissions and management system of Hockey and the installments of Wu and the token-based service authentication of Dresner with the preparing the smart contract of Cavoto because doing so automates satisfaction of an amount due using the blockchain.
The combination of Hockey, Wu, Dresner, and Cavoto does not disclose, however Bathen discloses:
configuring instructions for the smart contract with conditions that include the first access token linked to the default account and the second access token linked to the secondary accounts,
Bathen - Each token is in the form of an access control rule needed by services to authenticate the user (¶ 0022). Access controls could be static, or dynamic, enforced through the use of smart contracts/chaincode (¶ 0023).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the permissions and management system of Hockey and the installments of Wu and the token-based service authentication of Dresner and the preparing the smart contract of Cavoto with the blockchain access control technique of Bathen because doing so provides authenticated and controlled access to the smart contract using a known blockchain authentication technique.
The combination of Hockey, Wu, Dresner, Cavoto and Bathen does not disclose, however Pourfellah discloses:
wherein the smart contract when processed transfers funds from the default account when a current balance of the default account is sufficient to cover an installment payment, and apportions funds from across the accounts when the current balance of the default account is insufficient to cover the installment payment,
Pourfallah - If yes, the H-Wallet (Healthcare Wallet) may deduct the requested payment amount from the user account 1720 and transfer the requested payment amount to the healthcare provider 1727…when there are insufficient funds in the user healthcare account, the user may elect to split the payment and pay with other accounts (¶ 0311). The user may split the amount by selecting FSA to pay $75.00 491 and LOC to pay the remaining $100−$75=$25 (¶ 0130).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the permissions and management system of Hockey and the installments of Wu and the token-based service authentication of Dresner and the preparing the smart contract of Cavoto and the blockchain access control technique of Bathen with the balance dependent multiple account payment technique of Pourfallah because doing so avoids failure of an installment payment merely because the preferred account individually lacked funds.
Regarding Claim 21. The combination of Hockey, Wu, Dresner, Cavoto, Bathen, and Pourfallah further discloses:
The system of claim 20, wherein the operations further include configuring the instructions to obtain account histories and current balances for each of the registered accounts each time a given installment payment is requested by the provider.
Cavoto - A transaction is an execution of the smart contract code which can be performed in response to conditions associated with the smart contract being satisfied (¶ 0044). funds amount to be transferred from the device wallet to the…provider wallet (¶ 0046).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the permissions and management system of Hockey and the installments of Wu and the token-based service authentication of Dresner with the preparing the smart contract of Cavoto because doing so automates satisfaction of an amount due using the blockchain.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ginter – (US20060218651A1) - The present inventions provide an integrated, modular array of administrative and support services for electronic commerce and electronic rights and transaction management. These administrative and support services supply a secure foundation for conducting financial management, rights management, certificate authority, rules clearing, usage clearing, secure directory services, and other transaction related capabilities functioning over a vast electronic network such as the Internet and/or over organization internal Intranets.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.C.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3698
/PATRICK MCATEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3698