DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on December 22, 2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “sliding buckle” in claim 7 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites “a sliding buckle” which is indefinite, because it is unclear from the drawings what a sliding buckle consists of.
Claim 9 recites “a clip” which is indefinite, because it is unclear if Applicant is referring to the same clip set forth in claim 5, or if the Applicant is introducing a new clip.
Claim 12 recites “a handle clip” which is indefinite, because it is unclear if the “handle clip” is different from the “clip” in claim 5, or if they are the same clip. If in fact Applicant is referring to the same clip, then Applicant should use consistent terminology throughout the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Albright (US 2008/0072846 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Albright discloses an integrated retractable leash dog harness device comprising:
a harness body (saddle 14, fig. 1) comprised of:
an adjustable length strap comprised of a fastener (Para. [0018], “the straps 12 have adjustable fasteners in order to accommodate different sized animals”; as shown in fig. 1);
a housing (housing 16, fig. 1) comprised of a spring-loaded reel (Para. [0025], “[t]he spool 32 is centered in the housing and the spring 30 is centered in the spool 32”); and
a leash (cord 34, fig. 2) attached to the reel (fig. 2), the leash comprised of a handle (handle member 36, fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Albright discloses the invention in claim 1, and further discloses wherein the fastener is comprised of a buckle, a snap button, a hook and loop fastener, a magnetic fastener, or a button and opening fastener (see buckle in fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albright in view of Wagner (US 2020/0245592 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Albright discloses the invention in claim 1, but does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the body is comprised of a reflective fabric material.
However, Wagner is in the field of an animal harness (Abstract) and teaches wherein the body is comprised of a reflective fabric material (Para. [0028], “[t]he harness 1, 2 may be made of any flexible material including nylon, polyester, leather, cotton, and wool. The material could also be water-proof or water-resistant. In addition, various other materials could be attached to or integrated with the harness to provide other advantages. For example, a reflective material could be used to provide better visibility at night time”; as shown in fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the body harness of Albright such that it comprised a fabric material as taught by Wagner, in order to provide comfort and support to the animal. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Albright such that the body harness further comprised a reflective material as taught by Wagner in order “to provide better visibility at night time” (Wagner: Para. [0028]).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albright as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Phillips (US 6,095,094).
Regarding claim 4, Albright discloses the invention in claim 1, but does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the leash is comprised of a metal or a plastic material.
However, Phillips is in the field of a collar leash (Abstract) and teaches wherein the leash is comprised of a metal or a plastic material (Col. 2, line 54, “the distal end of the metal cable leash”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the leash of Albright such that it is comprised of a metal material as taught by Phillips, since it is known in the art for its extreme durability.
Claim(s) 5-6, 8-9, and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albright (US 2008/0072846 A1), in view of Hatcher et al. (US 8,267,050 B1), hereinafter Hatcher.
Regarding claim 5, Albright discloses an integrated retractable leash dog harness device comprising:
a harness body (saddle 14, fig. 1) comprised of:
a primary strap (one of strap 12, as shown in annotated fig. 1 below) comprised of a first securing fastener (see buckle in annotated fig. 1 below) and a first adjustment fastener (as shown in annotated fig. 1 below);
a secondary strap (another one of strap 12, as shown in annotated fig. 1 below) comprised of a second securing fastener (as shown in annotated fig. 1 below) and a second adjustment fastener (as shown in annotated fig. 1 below);
a housing (housing 16, fig. 1) comprised of a spring-loaded reel (Para. [0025], “[t]he spool 32 is centered in the housing and the spring 30 is centered in the spool 32”); and
a leash (cord 34, fig. 2) attached to the reel (fig. 2), the leash comprised of a handle (handle member 36, fig. 2).
However, Albright does not appear to specifically disclose a leash comprised of a clip.
Hatcher is in the field of an adjustable leash (Abstract) and teaches a leash comprised of a clip (carabiner clip 24, as shown in fig. 1 the carabiner clip 24 is affixed proximate the base 14 of the lead 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the leash of Albright such that there was a clip as taught by Hatcher, in order to be “used to attach objects to be transported” (Hatcher: Col. 3, lines 42-43).
Annotated fig. 1: annotated image of Albright’s fig. 1
Regarding claim 6, Albright in view of Hatcher discloses the invention in claim 5, and further discloses wherein the first securing fastener and the second securing fastener are comprised of a buckle, a snap button, a hook and loop fastener, a magnetic fastener, or a button and opening fastener (see buckle in fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Albright in view of Hatcher discloses the invention in claim 5, but does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the leash is comprised of a metal or a plastic material.
However, Phillips is in the field of a collar leash (Abstract) and teaches wherein the leash is comprised of a metal or a plastic material (Col. 2, line 54, “the distal end of the metal cable leash”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the leash of Albright such that it is comprised of a metal material as taught by Phillips, since it is known in the art for its extreme durability.
Regarding claim 9, as best understood in light of the 112b rejection above, Albright in view of Hatcher discloses the invention in claim 5, and further discloses wherein the handle is comprised of an attachment point comprised of a clip (as modified above in claim 5, Hatcher discloses a carabiner clip 24).
Regarding claim 12, as best understood in light of the 112b rejection above, Albright in view of Hatcher discloses the invention in claim 5, and further discloses a handle clip (as modified above in claim 5).
Regarding claim 13, Albright in view of Hatcher discloses the invention in claim 12, and Hatcher further discloses wherein the handle clip is fixedly attached to the leash (Col. 3, lines 40-41, “the device 2 may further comprise a carabiner clip 24 affixed proximate the base 14 of the lead 8”; as shown in fig. 4).
Regarding claim 14, Albright in view of Hatcher discloses the invention in claim 13, and Hatcher further discloses wherein the handle clip is comprised of a receiving point (carabiner clip 24 comprises a clasp closure 58, as shown in fig. 4).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albright in view of Hatcher as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Wagner (US 2020/0245592 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Albright in view of Hatcher discloses the invention in claim 5, but does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the body is comprised of a nylon, a polyester, a mesh, a leather, a neoprene, a cotton, or a reflective material.
However, Wagner is in the field of an animal harness (Abstract) and teaches wherein the body is comprised of a reflective material (Para. [0028], “[t]he harness 1, 2 may be made of any flexible material including nylon, polyester, leather, cotton, and wool. The material could also be water-proof or water-resistant. In addition, various other materials could be attached to or integrated with the harness to provide other advantages. For example, a reflective material could be used to provide better visibility at night time”; as shown in fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the body harness of Albright such that the body harness further comprised a reflective material as taught by Wagner in order “to provide better visibility at night time” (Wagner: Para. [0028]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albright in view of Hatcher as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Rovang (US 2021/0235669 A1).
Regarding claim 7, as best understood in light of the 112b rejection above, Albright in view of Hatcher discloses the invention in claim 5, but does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the first adjustment fastener and the second adjustment fastener are comprised of a sliding buckle.
However, Rovang is in the filed of a harness (Abstract) and teaches wherein the adjustment fastener is comprised of sliding buckle (tri-glide buckle 28, fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first and second adjustment fastener of Albright such that it comprised a sliding buckle as taught by Rovang, since adjustment of the strap can be made through use of the slidable adjustment of tr-glide buckle 28 (Rovang: Para. [0029]).
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albright in view of Hatcher as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Deluya (US 2019/0364851 A).
Regarding claim 10, Albright in view of Hatcher discloses the invention in claim 5, but does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the body is comprised of a pocket.
However, Deluya is in the field of a dog harness (Abstract) and teaches wherein the body is comprised of a pocket (pocket detail, fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the body harness of Albright such that it comprised a pocket, in order to carry dog waste bags (Deluya: Para. [0003]).
Regarding claim 11, Albright in view of Hatcher and Deluya discloses the invention in claim 10, and further discloses wherein the pocket receives a waste bag (as modified above in claim 10).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s invention: See PTO 892.
/N.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3647
/Christopher D Hutchens/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3647