DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 9, 10, 18, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (pub # 20170048991) in view of Kim et al (pub # 20210135492), hereinafter referred to as D1.
Consider claim 1. Kim et al teaches A wearable device (Fig. 2 and paragraph 0060, an electronic device 201 of a watch type wearable electronic device). comprising:
a frame forming at least a portion of an exterior of the wearable device; (Fig. 4A and paragraph 0087, outer housing 410).
a printed circuit board (PCB), (Fig. 4A and paragraph 0087, PCB 430).
disposed in the frame, (Fig. 4A, PCB 430 is disposed in an inner space of the outer housing 410).
the PCB including a conductive pattern electrically connected to the frame; (Fig. 4A and paragraph 0100, ground part 453a).
a flexible PCB (FPCB), (Fig. 4A and paragraph 0097, the second conductive structure 421 (for example, an FPCB, a shielding layer, or a heat dissipating layer)).
connected to a key button for a user input, disposed in the frame, (paragraph 0175, FPCB for driving a side key).
the FPCB including a conductive portion electrically connected to the conductive pattern of the PCB, (Fig. 4A and paragraph 0111, the third conductive member 453 may be withdrawn from an FPCB, on which components of the display 420 are mounted, in a tail form).
Kim et al does not specifically disclose wherein the frame, the conductive pattern of the PCB, and the conductive portion of the FPCB form an integrated conductive path configured to function as an antenna radiator. However D1 in at least Figs. 5A-5C and paragraphs 0072-0074 discloses an electronic device 500 that includes one or more flexible conductive paths connecting wireless charging antenna 530 with the wireless communication antenna 5102 disposed in the second structure 510 (frame). The electronic device 500 may include a flexible circuit unit 532 connecting the wireless charging antenna 530 mounted in the first structure 520 and the wireless communication antenna 5102 disposed in the second structure 510. Paragraph 0074 discloses that flexible conductive paths according to various embodiments may be disposed between the printed circuit board 524 and the wireless charging antenna 530 (conductive pattern) and may electrically connecting them, thus the frame, PCB, and FPCB forming an integrated path configured to function as an antenna. Paragraph 0033 discloses that the electronic device could be and a wearable device (e.g., smart glasses, head-mounted device (HMD)). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of D1 with the invention of Kim et al so that the spatial efficiency of an antenna device performing wireless charging and wireless communication functions can be improved (D1 paragraph 0008).
Consider claim 18. Kim et al teaches An electronic device (Fig. 2 and paragraph 0060, an electronic device 201 of a watch type wearable electronic device). comprising:
a housing (Fig. 3, 301). including:
a first plate, (Fig. 3 and paragraph 0072, bezel wheel 310).
a second plate facing the first plate, (Fig. 3 and paragraph 0085, rear cover 370 facing bezel wheel 310).
and a lateral frame, disposed between the first plate and the second plate, (Fig. 3 and paragraph 0072, outer housing 320 between wheel 310 and rear cover 370).
including a conductive portion; (paragraph 0073, at least a portion of the outer housing 320 may include a first conductive structure implemented by a conductive material (for example, a metal).).
a printed circuit board (PCB), (Fig. 4A and paragraph 0087, PCB 430).
disposed in the housing, (Fig. 4A, PCB 430 is disposed in an inner space of the outer housing 410).
including a conductive pattern; (Fig. 4A and paragraph 0100, ground part 453a).
a key button for a user input; (paragraph 0175, FPCB for driving a side key).
a flexible PCB (FPCB) electrically connected to the key button, (Fig. 4A and paragraph 0097, the second conductive structure 421 (for example, an FPCB, a shielding layer, or a heat dissipating layer)).
the FPCB includeing a second conductive portion electrically connected to the conductive pattern of the PCB, (Fig. 4A and paragraph 0111, the third conductive member 453 may be withdrawn from an FPCB, on which components of the display 420 are mounted, in a tail form).
including signal line configured to obtain an input signal through movement of the key button; (Fig. 8 and paragraph 0184, the signal line 840 may be a signal line that is connected to an FPCB for driving a side key).
a bracket configured to function as a ground of the electronic device, the bracket being electrically connected to a ground portion of the PCB, wherein the bracket is disposed between the PCB and the first plate; (paragraph 0080, The bracket 340 according to various embodiments may mount and fix the display 330, the battery 350, the PCB 360, and the like. The bracket 340 may mount and fix signal lines connecting the configurations. Paragraph 0178, the bracket 925 may fix signal lines 820 to 850 connected to the display, and may allow the signal lines 820 to 850 to be stably connected to the PCB 930. Paragraph 0174, The signal line 820 may be connected to a ground part of the PCB or connected to the outer housing through a separate conductive member. Fig. 3, bracket 340 is between the PCB 360 and first plate 310).
an antenna using the first conductive portion of the lateral frame, the conductive pattern, and the second conductive portion as an antenna radiator; (Paragraph 0090, When the outer housing 410 according to various embodiments is utilized as an antenna radiator, the outer housing 410 may be connected to a communication circuit mounted on the PCB 430 seated inside the outer housing 410 to transmit and receive signals. Paragraph 0096, the second conductive structure 421 of the display 420 may define an electrical path (hereinafter, a first electrical path) together with the first conductive structure of the outer housing 410 through the second conductive member 452. Through this, the second conductive structure 421 of the display 420 may be operated as a part of a multiband antenna. Paragraph 0165, the touch panel (GND 0) 761, the first ground layer (GND 1) 762, and the FPCB 767 may be connected to at least one ground connector by which the first conductive structure included in the outer housing 710 acts as a multiband antenna. Further, the touch panel (GND 0) 761 the first ground layer (GND 1) 762, the FPCB 767 may be connected to a ground part of the PCB 730 to improve communication performance.).
and wireless communication circuitry electrically connected to the antenna, (paragraph 0090, When the outer housing 410 according to various embodiments is utilized as an antenna radiator, the outer housing 410 may be connected to a communication circuit mounted on the PCB 430 seated inside the outer housing 410 to transmit and receive signals.).
Kim et al does not specifically disclose wherein the lateral frame, the conductive pattern of the PCB, and the second conductive portion of the FPCB form an integrated conductive path configured to function as the antenna radiator. However D1 in at least Figs. 5A-5C and paragraphs 0072-0074 discloses an electronic device 500 that includes one or more flexible conductive paths connecting wireless charging antenna 530 with the wireless communication antenna 5102 disposed in the second structure 510 (frame). The electronic device 500 may include a flexible circuit unit 532 connecting the wireless charging antenna 530 mounted in the first structure 520 and the wireless communication antenna 5102 disposed in the second structure 510. Paragraph 0074 discloses that flexible conductive paths according to various embodiments may be disposed between the printed circuit board 524 and the wireless charging antenna 530 (conductive pattern) and may electrically connecting them, thus the frame, PCB, and FPCB forming an integrated path configured to function as an antenna. Paragraph 0033 discloses that the electronic device could be and a wearable device (e.g., smart glasses, head-mounted device (HMD)). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of D1 with the invention of Kim et al so that the spatial efficiency of an antenna device performing wireless charging and wireless communication functions can be improved (D1 paragraph 0008).
Consider claim 2. Kim et al further teaches The wearable device of claim 1, further comprising: a bracket configured to function as a ground of the wearable device, wherein the bracket is electrically connected to a ground portion of the PCB, and wherein the bracket is disposed on the PCB. (paragraph 0080, The bracket 340 according to various embodiments may mount and fix the display 330, the battery 350, the PCB 360, and the like. The bracket 340 may mount and fix signal lines connecting the configurations. Paragraph 0178, the bracket 925 may fix signal lines 820 to 850 connected to the display, and may allow the signal lines 820 to 850 to be stably connected to the PCB 930. Paragraph 0174, The signal line 820 may be connected to a ground part of the PCB or connected to the outer housing through a separate conductive member.).
Consider claim 3. Kim et al further teaches The wearable device of claim 2, wherein a first end of the conductive portion is electrically connected to the conductive pattern of the PCB, and wherein a second end of the conductive portion, opposite to the first end, is electrically connected to the ground portion of the PCB. (paragraph 0100, the ground part 453a of the PCB 430 may be connected to the second conductive structure 421 (FPCB) of the display 420 through the third conductive member 453).
Consider claim 7. Kim et al further teaches The wearable device of claim 1, wherein the conductive portion of the FPCB is electrically coupled with the frame. (paragraph 0091, The outer housing 410 (frame) according to various embodiments may be connected to a ground part 453a (or a ground area) formed in the display 420 or the PCB 430 through at least one conductive member (for example, the second conductive member 452). According to various embodiments, although FIG. 4A illustrates that the second conductive member 452 is connected to the ground area of the display 420, the present disclosure is not limited thereto. For example, the second conductive member 452 may be connected to the ground part of the second conductive structure 421 (FPCB) and the outer housing 410 therebetween.).
Consider claim 9. Kim et al further teaches The wearable device of claim 1, wherein the FPCB includes a connector that connects the conductive portion of the FPCB and a ground portion of the PCB. (Fig. 4A and paragraph 0100, the PCB 430 may include a ground part 453a. In various embodiments, the ground part 453a of the PCB 430 may be connected to the second conductive structure 421 (FPCB) of the display 420 through the third conductive member 453, thus a connector.).
Consider claim 10. Kim et al further teaches The wearable device of claim 1, wherein the conductive pattern of the PCB extends along a portion of a periphery of the PCB facing an inner surface of the frame. (Fig. 6B and paragraph 0136 discloses an embodiment where the ground part 653a (conductive pattern) extends along a periphery of the PCB 630 and faces and inner surface of the outer housing 610 (frame)).
Consider claim 21. Kim et al further teaches The wearable device of claim 1, further comprising: wireless communication circuitry configured to transmit a signal on a low band or a signal on a mid band, using the antenna radiator. (paragraph 0108, a frequency signal of a relatively low frequency band may be transmitted and received).
Claim(s) 4-6 and 16, 17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (pub # 20170048991) in view of Kim et al (pub # 20210135492), hereinafter referred to as D1, and further in view of Kim et al (pub # 20210015388), hereinafter referred to as D2.
Consider claim 4. Kim et al further teaches The wearable device of claim 1, wherein the FPCB is disposed between an inner surface of the frame and a lateral surface of the PCB, (Fig. 4A, second conductive structure 421 (FPCB) disposed between the inner surfaces of the outer housing 410 (frame) and is lateral to the PCB 430).
Kim et al in view of D1 does not specifically disclose wherein the frame defines an opening, and wherein the key button, inserted into the opening of the frame, is configured to translate.
In an analogous art D2 teaches wherein the frame defines an opening, (Fig. 11B and paragraph 0127, side bezel structure 513 (the frame) may include an opening 1120, and at least one button 1110 may be coupled to the side bezel structure 513 to correspond to the opening 1120.).
and wherein the key button, inserted into the opening of the frame, is configured to translate. (Fig. 11B and paragraph 0127, side bezel structure 513 (the frame) may include an opening 1120, and at least one button 1110 may be coupled to the side bezel structure 513 to correspond to the opening 1120.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of D2 with the invention of Kim et al in view of D1 in order to provide more user control options and provide a better overall user experience.
Consider claim 5. Kim et al in view of D1 does not specifically disclose The wearable device of claim 4, wherein the FPCB includes a dome key, configured to identify the pressing of the key button contacted with the key button.
In an analogous art D2 teaches wherein the FPCB includes a dome key, configured to identify the pressing of the key button, (paragraph 0129 and Fig. 11C, dome key FPCB 1129).
contacted with the key button. (Fig. 11C, dome key FPCB 119 in contact with key button 1110).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of D2 with the invention of Kim et al in view of D1 in order to provide more user control options and provide a better overall user experience.
Consider claim 6. Kim et al in view of D1 does not specifically disclose The wearable device of claim 4, wherein the key button comprises a conductive material, and wherein the key button is electrically connected to a conductive line different from the conductive portion of the FPCB, to obtain a biometric signal obtained through microcurrent obtained through the conductive material.
In an analogous art D2 teaches wherein the key button comprises a conductive material, (Fig. 11C and paragraph 0129, at least one button 1110, a conductive material 1104 (e.g., a first conductive portion 1104) or a conductive pattern may be formed to correspond to an area exposed to the outside.
and wherein the key button is electrically connected a conductive line different from the conductive portion of the FPCB, (paragraph 0129, For example, the conductive material 1104 may be used as one electrode. According to one embodiment, a conductive path may be included at least partially in the outer surface of the key 1121, and the conductive material 1104 may be electrically connected to the dome key FPCB 1129 through the conductive path. Fig. 11C, conductive path on outer surface of the key 1121 is distinct from the conductive portion of the FPCB 1129).
to obtain a biometric signal obtained through microcurrent obtained through the conductive material. (paragraph 0129, at least one button 1110 may obtain a biometric signal based on the conductive material 1104 and transfer the biometric signal to the dome key FPCB 1129 through the conductive path).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of D2 with the invention of Kim et al in view of D1 in order to provide more user control options and provide a better overall user experience.
Consider claim 16. Kim et al in view of D1 does not specifically disclose The wearable device of claim 1, wherein the key button includes an electrocardiogram (ECG) electrode or a bioelectrical impedance analysis (BIA) electrode, and wherein the FPCB is electrically connected to the ECG electrode or a BIA electrode.
In an analogous art D2 teaches wherein the key button includes an electrocardiogram (ECG) electrode or a bioelectrical impedance analysis (BIA) electrode, (paragraph 0077, the sensor module 211 may include a biometric sensor (e.g., electrocardiogram (ECG) sensor or heart rate monitor (HRM) sensor).
and wherein the FPCB is electrically connected to the ECG electrode or a BIA electrode. (paragraph 0129, at least one button 1110 may obtain a biometric signal based on the conductive material 1104 and transfer the biometric signal to the dome key FPCB 1129 through the conductive path).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the ECG of D2 with the wearable device of Kim et al in view of D1 in order to provide a reliable and accurate method of measuring a user’s biometric information.
Consider claim 17. Kim et al in view of D1 does not specifically disclose The wearable device of claim 1, wherein the frame includes a microphone hole, and wherein the FPCB is electrically connected to a microphone to transmit an audio signal transmitted from the microphone hole through the microphone disposed in the wearable device.
In an analogous art D2 teaches wherein the frame includes a microphone hole, (Fig. 2 and paragraph 0056, microphone hole 205).
and wherein the FPCB is electrically connected to a microphone to transmit an audio signal transmitted from the microphone hole through the microphone disposed in the wearable device. (paragraph 0056, In the microphone hole 205, a microphone for obtaining an external sound may be disposed and in some embodiments, a plurality of microphones may be disposed to detect a direction of a sound. The speaker hole 208 may be used as an external speaker and a call receiver. In some embodiments, the speaker hole 208 and the microphone hole 205 may be implemented as one hole or a speaker (e.g., piezo speaker) may be included without the speaker hole 208.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the microphone of D2 with the wearable device of Kim et al in view of D1 in order to provide more user control options and provide a better overall user experience.
Consider claim 19. Kim et al further teaches The electronic device of claim 18, wherein the FPCB is disposed between an inner surface of the lateral frame and a lateral surface of the PCB, (Fig. 4A, second conductive structure 421 (FPCB) disposed between the inner surfaces of the outer housing 410 (frame) and is lateral to the PCB 430).
Kim et al in view of D1 does not specifically disclose and wherein the key button is inserted into an opening formed in the lateral frame and wherein the opening overlaps the FPCB when viewed from above.
In an analogous art D2 teaches the key button is inserted into an opening formed in the lateral frame (Fig. 11B and paragraph 0127, side bezel structure 513 (the frame) may include an opening 1120, and at least one button 1110 may be coupled to the side bezel structure 513 to correspond to the opening 1120.).
and wherein the opening overlaps the FPCB when viewed from above. (Fig. 11B and paragraph 0127, side bezel structure 513 (the frame) may include an opening 1120, and at least one button 1110 may be coupled to the side bezel structure 513 to correspond to the opening 1120.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of D2 with the invention of Kim et al in view of D1 in order to provide more user control options and provide a better overall user experience.
Claim(s) 8 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (pub # 20170048991) in view of Kim et al (pub # 20210135492), hereinafter referred to as D1, and further in view of Kim et al (pub # 20210208624), hereinafter referred to as D3.
Consider claim 8. Kim et al further teaches The wearable device of claim 1, wherein the conductive portion of the FPCB is electrically connected to the conductive pattern of the PCB, (Fig. 4A, conductive member 453 connected to ground part 453a).
Kim et al in view of D1 does not specifically disclose through a conductive structure that is disposed on the PCB and has an elasticity.
In an analogous art D3 teaches through a conductive structure that is disposed on the PCB and has an elasticity. (paragraph 0059, The conductive structure 260 may include a curved area that is bendable to apply an elastic force.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the conducive structure of D3 with the PCB of Kim et al in view of D1 in order to provide a reliable connection between the FPCB and the PCB.
Consider claim 11. Kim et al in view of D1 does not specifically disclose The wearable device of claim 1, wherein the FPCB is substantially perpendicular to a surface of the PCB, and is disposed between the conductive pattern of the PCB and the frame.
In an analogous art D3 teaches wherein the FPCB is substantially perpendicular to a surface of the PCB, and is disposed between the conductive pattern of the PCB and the frame. (paragraphs 0050 and 0051 as well as Fig. 8, connecting member 240 that may include a flexible printed circuit board is perpendicular to the surface of the PCB 232 and is between the PCB 232 and an outside frame 270).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the FPCB of Kim et al to be perpendicular to the PCB and disposed between the PCB and the frame as disclosed by D3 so as to provide an electronic device that includes a connecting structure considering a limited interior space of the electronic device and an electrode member considering interference with an antenna (D3 paragraph 0009).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (pub # 20170048991) in view of Kim et al (pub # 20210135492), hereinafter referred to as D1, and further in view of Kim et al (pub # 20200321686), hereinafter referred to as D4.
Consider claim 14. Kim et al in view of D1 does not specifically disclose The wearable device of claim 1, wherein a sum of a length of the conductive pattern of the PCB and a length of the conductive portion of the FPCB corresponds to ¼ of a wavelength of an electromagnetic wave including a signal communicating with an external electronic device.
In an analogous art D4 teaches wherein a sum of a length of the conductive pattern of the PCB and a length of the conductive portion of the FPCB corresponds to ¼ of a wavelength of an electromagnetic wave including a signal communicating with an external electronic device. (paragraph 0131, he PCB may include a first electrical path extending between the first port and the first node and having a first length that is an odd multiple of ¼ of a first wavelength of the first signal, a second electrical path extending between the second port and the first node and having the first length, a third electrical path extending between the third port and the second node and having a second length that is an odd multiple of ¼ of a second wavelength of the second signal, a fourth electrical path extending between the fourth port and the second node and having the second length, a fifth electrical path extending between the first node and the third node and having a third length, wherein a sum of the first length and the third length is an odd multiple of ¼ of the second wavelength, a sixth electrical path extending between the second node and the third node and having a fourth length, wherein a sum of the second length and the fourth length is an odd multiple of ¼ of the first wavelength, and a seventh electrical path electrically connected between the third node and the conductive pattern.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of D4 with the invention of Kim et al in view of D1 so that an antenna module having the improved linearity may be provided (D4 paragraph 0138).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (pub # 20170048991) in view of Kim et al (pub # 20210135492), hereinafter referred to as D1, and further in view of Kim et al (pub # 20170134022), hereinafter referred to as D5.
Consider claim 15. Kim et al in view of D1 does no specifically disclose The wearable device of claim 1, wherein the conductive pattern of the PCB is electrically connected to impedance matching circuitry spaced apart from a region of the conductive pattern connected to the FPCB.
In an analogous art D5 teaches wherein the conductive pattern of the PCB is electrically connected to impedance matching circuitry spaced apart from a region of the conductive pattern connected to the FPCB. (paragraph 0160, the FPCB may be electrically connected to a PCB circuit through a connector, and the impedance matching circuit 1350 may be connected to an RF communication circuit 1320, which is disposed on the PCB, through an RF coaxial cable.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of D5 with the invention of Kim et al in view of D1 in order to provide impedance matching for an RF transmission line in cases where the main sensing pad is used as an antenna (D5 paragraph 0098).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Consider claim 12. The prior art of record does not teach or render obvious The wearable device of claim 11, wherein a width of a region of the conductive pattern connected to the FPCB is narrower than a width of a region of the conductive pattern extending along a surface of the FPCB.
Claim 13 is objected to due to its dependency from claim 12.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHAYCE R BIBBEE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2624
/MATTHEW A EASON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2624