DETAILED ACTION
This Final Office Action is responsive to Applicant's amendment filed on 20 July 2026. Applicant’s amendment on 20 July 2026 amended Claims 1, and 15-20. Currently Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined. The Examiner notes that the 101 rejection has been maintained.
Claim Objection
The Examiner notes that the prior art rejections for claims 5, 7-13, and 17-20 have been withdrawn and the claims would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection set forth in this Office Action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 20 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that on pages 11-13 the claims do not recite an abstract idea. Specifically the claims do not recite a certain method of organizing human activity because using social media profiles to predict company performance is not one of the MPEP's enumerated examples of (a) fundamental economic principles or practices (hedging, insurance, mitigating risk, wagering rules, price optimization, payment processing, order placement) or (b) commercial or legal interactions (contracts, legal obligations, advertising, marketing or sales activities, business relations) and not a Mathematical Concept.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The Examiner notes that the Applicant's argument has been fully considered but is not persuasive. Applicant contends that the claims do not recite a certain method of organizing human activity because they do not relate to the specific examples listed in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II), such as hedging, insurance, wagering games, price optimization, payment processing, or contracts. The Examiner respectfully disagrees, because the listed examples are illustrative and not exhaustive. MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II)(A) explains that the courts use the phrase "fundamental economic principles or practices" to describe "concepts relating to the economy and commerce," and states that such concepts "include" hedging, insurance, and mitigating risks. The MPEP further explains that the term "fundamental" is not used in the sense of necessarily being old or well-known. See OIP Techs., Inc. v. Amazon.com, Inc., (a new method of price optimization was a fundamental economic concept); In re Smith. The determination is therefore based on whether the claimed activity itself falls within the sub-grouping, not on whether it matches a previously listed example.
Here, the independent claims set forth generating a company index score from a percentile rank of a metric value relative to a set of benchmark companies, calculating individual index scores from the company index scores of current and preceding employers, calculating a collective index score for the reference company, and reporting the corporate performance of the reference company. This is the activity of benchmarking a company against its peers to assess and predict its performance, which is a concept relating to the economy and commerce. Applicant's own specification confirms this characterization. It explains that companies compete for customers, market share, and investors, that companies compare themselves to one another to decide in which direction to move, and that investors compare companies to decide in which company to invest (Spec. [0003]). It also explains that analytics are used to assess company performance, risk, and market strategies (Spec. [0004]).
Applicant's characterization of the claims as "the use of social media profiles to predict a company's performance" does not change this result. The source of the data that is analyzed does not alter the character of the activity recited, which remains the comparative assessment and prediction of corporate performance. For the same reasons, the claimed assessment of a business relative to its competitors and by reference to its workforce describes commercial activity within the commercial or legal interactions sub-grouping. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II)(B).
Finally, even if Applicant's argument were found persuasive as to this grouping, it would not overcome the rejection. The claims were also found to recite mathematical concepts (percentile rank, z-score, mean, and geometric mean calculations), and a claim that recites an abstract idea within any one enumerated grouping satisfies Step 2A, Prong One. Accordingly, the rejection is maintained.
The Applicant argues on pages 13-16 that the claims Integrate the alleged abstract ideas into a practical application. Specifically, even if the claims recite an abstract idea, the databases, the processors, the report, and the steps of sorting employment history, generating metric values, and identifying a reference company, metric-of-interest and period-of-interest are additional elements. Individually and in combination they integrate the exception into a practical application, because they apply it in a meaningful way and the abstract idea could be performed in other ways without them.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant's argument has been fully considered but is not persuasive. Applicant first contends that the steps of chronologically sorting employment histories, generating metric values, identifying a reference company, and identifying a metric-of-interest and a period-of-interest are additional elements beyond the abstract idea, and requests a reasoned explanation. The Examiner respectfully disagrees and explains as follows. The step of generating, for periods-of-time, metric values for metrics of the users recites a mathematical calculation. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification, the metric values are numerical results obtained by counting, summing, averaging, and dividing (see; Spec. [0088]-[0091], [0093], and [0095], which set forth the formulas used). A step of "determining" a number using mathematical methods is a mathematical calculation even if the word "calculating" is not used. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)(C). The steps of identifying a reference company, a metric-of-interest, and a period-of-interest set forth the choice of which company to assess, by which measure, and over what timeframe. These choices define the benchmarking exercise itself and are therefore part of the recited practice of assessing corporate performance against peers. The specification confirms that these selections may simply be made by the reference company or an operator (Spec. [0126], [0132]). The step of chronologically sorting each employment history arranges information about where each individual worked in date order, so that the preceding companies-of-employment and their scores can be identified. It is likewise a step of the recited assessment and of the calculation of the individual index score, not something applied to or beyond that assessment.
In the alternative, even if these four limitations were treated as additional elements, the result would not change. Sorting records and generating input values are data gathering and data preparation steps necessary to perform the calculations. Identifying the company, metric, and period merely selects the particular data to be manipulated. Both are insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g). Each is performed by the "one or more processors" recited at a high level of generality, which amounts to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Limiting the stored data to social media profile data, and the output to a report on corporate performance, generally links the abstract idea to a particular data source and field of use. See MPEP 2106.05(h).
Considering the claim as a whole, the combination is a generic computer that stores data, arranges it, performs calculations on it, and outputs the result. Applicant has not identified, and the Examiner does not find, any improvement to the functioning of the computer, the databases, or any other technology or technical field. Any improvement lies in the quality of the performance assessment, which is the abstract idea itself, and the judicial exception alone cannot provide the improvement. See MPEP 2106.05(a). The computer is used as a tool to perform the abstract idea rather than being improved by it.
Finally, Applicant's contention that "there are other ways to perform" the abstract idea without the recited steps is a preemption argument. While preemption is the concern underlying the judicial exceptions, it is not a standalone test for eligibility, and the absence of complete preemption does not demonstrate that a claim is eligible. See MPEP 2106.04(I); Synopsys, Inc. v. Mentor Graphics Corp.; Ariosa Diagnostics, Inc. v. Sequenom, Inc. A claim narrowed to a specific way of performing an abstract idea still recites that abstract idea. In accordance with MPEP 2106.07(b), the Examiner has reconsidered Step 2A in view of this argument and, for the reasons above, maintains that the claims do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The rejection is maintained.
The Applicant argues on pages 13-16 that the claims are directed to an improvement to a technological field. Under McRO, the claims are not directed to an abstract idea because they recite a limited, unconventional set of rules (Spec. [0031]) that generate new data company, individual, and collective index scores and thereby achieve an improved technological result in the analytics field.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
With regard to the argument the Examiner notes that the Applicant's argument has been fully considered but is not persuasive. Applicant contends that, as in McRO, the claims recite a limited set of unconventional rules that generate new data and achieve an improved technological result in the analytics field. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In evaluating an asserted improvement, the specification must provide a technical explanation of the improvement, and the claim must reflect it; a bare, conclusory assertion of an improvement is not sufficient. See MPEP 2106.05(a). Importantly, "an improvement in the abstract idea itself (e.g. a recited fundamental economic concept) is not an improvement in technology," and the judicial exception alone cannot provide the improvement. See MPEP 2106.05(a), citing Trading Technologies Int'l v. IBG.
Here, the "rules" Applicant identifies are the steps of calculating the company index score, the individual index score, and the collective index score. These are the mathematical calculations and the performance assessment identified as the abstract idea. The "new data" Applicant identifies, namely the three index scores, is simply the numerical output of those calculations. An improved or more predictive score is an improvement to the analysis itself, not to the computer, the databases, or any other technology. The only support cited, paragraph [0031] of the specification, states in conclusory terms that the rules are "unconventional and specific." It does not explain how the processors or databases operate differently or better as a result. To the contrary, the specification describes the processors as "any suitable processing device" (Spec. [0059]) and states that the invention's benefit is to "assess and predict the performance of companies in a meaningful manner" (Spec. [0030]), which is a business and analytical benefit.
McRO does not compel a different result. In McRO, the claims recited specific rules that allowed a computer to produce accurate and realistic lip synchronization and facial expressions in animated characters, which improved the technology of computer animation. The present claims produce no comparable technological result. They produce scores and a report, i.e., information. See SAP America, Inc. v. InvestPic, LLC, (distinguishing McRO where the claimed advance was an improved mathematical analysis of information, and noting that even a groundbreaking or innovative technique in an abstract realm is not enough for eligibility). Further, unlike the specific rules in McRO, the independent claims recite the calculations at a high level of generality: the scores are calculated "based on" a percentile rank and "based on" other index scores, without reciting any particular rule for doing so.
Applicant's reliance on MPEP 2106.05(a)(II) is also misplaced. The example in full reads "components or methods, such as measurement devices or techniques, that generate new data," citing Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom, S.A. The example concerns technological means of generating data, such as measurement devices. The present claims recite no measurement device or technique; they derive scores by performing calculations on stored profile information, which is the analysis of information by mathematical steps.
Finally, labeling the field "analytics" does not make the improvement technological. Using a generic computer to automate an analysis, even with the speed and accuracy that automation brings, uses the computer as a tool and does not improve technology. See MPEP 2106.05(a) and (f); Recentive Analytics, Inc. v. Fox Corp. Accordingly, the rejection is maintained.
The Applicant argues on pages 17-19 that the claims amount to significantly more than the alleged abstract idea. Under BASCOM and Amdocs, generic components can supply an inventive concept through a non-conventional and non-generic arrangement, and the ten recited steps, taken as an ordered combination, are such an arrangement and therefore amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
With respect to the argument the Examiner notes that the Applicant's argument has been fully considered but is not persuasive. Applicant contends that the ten recited steps, as an ordered combination, form a non-conventional and non-generic arrangement that amounts to significantly more under BASCOM. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Step 2B asks whether the additional elements, individually and in combination, amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(I). The inventive concept cannot be furnished by the abstract idea itself. See Genetic Techs. Ltd. v. Merial LLC; Mayo. Most of the steps Applicant lists, including generating the company index score, identifying the associated individuals, and calculating the individual and collective index scores, are the abstract idea. Their asserted novelty or unconventionality as a method of scoring corporate performance therefore cannot supply the inventive concept, because a new abstract idea is still an abstract idea. See Synopsys, Inc. v. Mentor Graphics Corp.
The elements that remain are the databases that store social media data, the processors that perform the steps, and the generation and transmission of a report. As an ordered combination, these elements store data, process it, and output the result. That is the ordinary arrangement of a generic computer used to carry out an analysis, and the combination adds nothing that is not already present when the elements are considered individually. The order of the recited steps follows from the calculations themselves, since the company scores must exist before the individual scores, and the individual scores before the collective score. The order does not come from any particular arrangement of computer components.
BASCOM and Amdocs do not support a different result. The Examiner agrees that a claim reciting generic components is not necessarily ineligible. However, in BASCOM the inventive concept was found in a non-conventional and non-generic arrangement of components "that provided a technical improvement in the art," namely the installation of a filtering tool at a specific location, remote from end users, with customizable filtering features specific to each user. See MPEP 2106.05(d); BASCOM. Amdocs likewise involved a distributed arrangement of network components that solved a technological problem. The present claims do not recite where or how any component is arranged. They recite "one or more databases" and "one or more processors," which the specification describes as any suitable processing device and as databases that may be combined or separated in any manner (Spec. [0059], [0064]). Applicant does not identify any technical improvement that results from the claimed combination. Applicant's statement that the steps are arranged in a non-conventional manner is a conclusion that is not accompanied by explanation or evidence, and Applicant has not challenged the court decisions and specification passages relied upon in the rejection to show that the additional elements are well-understood, routine, and conventional. See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) (receiving or transmitting data over a network; performing repetitive calculations; storing and retrieving information in memory). Accordingly, the additional elements, considered individually and as an ordered combination, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea, and the rejection is therefore maintained.
Applicant's arguments filed 20 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of new grounds of rejection as necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Claims 1, 15, and 16 are indefinite the wherein clause is unclear: “wherein the collective index score is indicative of how well the reference company and the preceding companies-of-employment of the individuals, who are associated with the reference company, performed while being associated with the reference company and the preceding companies-of-employment performed.” This recites how well the reference company and preceding companies of the employee performed while being associated with the reference company and preceding companies (so it recites that these companies are associated with themselves). It is unclear what is occurring. Clarification is required.
Claims 2-14 and 17-20 do not cure this deficiency and are therefore rejected based on the same art and rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1–20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite abstract ideas falling within the groupings of (1) mathematical concepts specifically, mathematical calculations and mathematical relationships and (2) certain methods of organizing human activity specifically, fundamental economic principles or practices (assessing and predicting corporate performance) and commercial or legal interactions (business analytics and benchmarking). These judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements in the claims, namely generic databases, generic processors, and a generic report-generation and transmission step, merely implement the abstract idea using generic computer components performing generic computer functions without improving the computer or any other technology. The claims do not include additional elements sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because each additional element, considered individually and in combination, constitutes well-understood, routine, and conventional computer activity and/or insignificant extra-solution activity.
Step 1
Regarding Step 1 of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test for Products and Processes, claims 1–14 are directed to a system/machine, claim 15 is directed to a method/process, and claims 16–20 are directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium/manufacture. Therefore, all claims fall within the statutory categories of invention.
Step 2A Prong 1
The independent claims 1, 15, and 16 each recite an abstract idea. Specifically, the independent claims recite the following limitations that constitute judicial exceptions:
Chronologically sorting a respective employment history for each of the individuals based on social media data;
Generating, for periods-of-time, metric values for metrics of the users based on the social media data;
Identifying a reference company, a metric-of-interest, and a period-of-interest for assessment of the reference company;
For each of the periods-of-time within the period-of-interest, generating a respective company index score for each of the companies based on a percentile rank of the respective metric value for the metric-of-interest relative to a respective set of benchmark companies;
Identifying which of the individuals are associated with the reference company based on the respective employment histories;
For each of the individuals associated with the reference company, calculating a respective individual index score based on the respective company index scores of the reference company and preceding company index scores of preceding companies-of-employment; and
For the reference company, calculating a collective index score based on the individual index scores of the individuals associated with the reference company.
Abstract Idea Grouping Analysis
Option A – Mathematical Concepts (MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), Subsection I):
The foregoing limitations recite mathematical calculations and mathematical relationships as enumerated in MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection I. Specifically, the step of generating a “company index score based on a percentile rank of the respective metric value for the metric-of-interest relative to a respective set of benchmark companies” (claims 1, 15, 16) explicitly recites a mathematical calculation — computing a percentile rank to produce a numerical score. Dependent claims 8–9 and 17 further confirm this characterization by reciting that the processors determine a mean and a standard deviation of benchmark company metric values, calculate a z-score by dividing the difference between the reference company’s metric value and the benchmark mean by the standard deviation, and convert the z-score to a percentile rank all classical mathematical operations. See SAP America, Inc. v. InvestPic, LLC, (claims to “a series of mathematical calculations based on selected information” are directed to abstract ideas). Dependent claims 10 and 18 alternatively recite assigning companies to numerical “buckets” and determining a percentile rank from the bucket distribution also a mathematical calculation. The step of calculating an individual index score based on the company index scores of the reference company and preceding company index scores of preceding companies-of-employment recites a mathematical relationship, specifically a running geometric mean as described in the specification at [0145]–[0146] and recited explicitly in dependent claims 11–12 and 19. The step of calculating a collective index score based on individual index scores recites computing a statistical mean as confirmed by the specification at [0149] and dependent claims 13 and 20. Together, these limitations recite multiple mathematical calculations and mathematical relationships, each of which squarely falls within the mathematical concepts grouping of abstract ideas.
Option B – Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity (MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), Subsection II):
The claims, viewed as a whole, additionally recite a fundamental economic principle or practice and a commercial interaction. The stated purpose of claims 1, 15, and 16 is “assessing and predicting corporate performance.” Generating index scores to assess a company’s performance relative to peer/benchmark companies and predicting its future performance is a quintessential fundamental economic and commercial activity one that investors, analysts, and business decision-makers routinely perform for investment decisions, competitive analysis, and business strategy. See Spec. at [0003]–[0005] (describing the background as companies and investors comparing performance metrics to decide where to invest and how to position themselves). The claimed operations of collecting employment histories, identifying company-associated individuals, and computing weighted benchmark scores to assess corporate performance constitute commercial business intelligence activities that fall within the “fundamental economic principles or practices” and “commercial or legal interactions” sub-groupings of certain methods of organizing human activity. See Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int’l; OIP Techs., Inc. v. Amazon.com, Inc., (price optimization based on collected data is a fundamental economic concept). See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection II.
Step 2A Prong One Conclusion
The independent claims 1, 15, and 16, and all claims dependent thereon, recite an abstract idea within the mathematical concepts grouping and the certain methods of organizing human activity grouping. The analysis proceeds to Step 2A Prong Two.
Step 2A Prong Two
Identification of Additional Elements
The claims recite the following additional elements beyond the identified abstract idea:
“One or more databases configured to store social media data of user profiles of users on a social media platform” (claims 1, 15, 16);
“One or more processors” configured to execute the claimed operations (claims 1, 15, 16);
A “social media platform” as the source from which social media data is collected (claims 1, 15, 16); and
“Generate and transmit a report indicative of corporate performance of the reference company” (claims 1, 15, 16).
Analysis of Additional Elements
Improvement to Technology or Technical Field (MPEP § 2106.05(a)):
The claims do not recite an improvement to the functioning of a computer or to any other technology or technical field. The specification consistently describes the one or more processors 110, the memory 120, and the databases 150–190 as generic computing components. See Spec. at [0058]–[0065] (the benchmarking system 100 includes “one or more processors,” “memory,” “one or more input devices,” “one or more output devices,” and separate databases, each described in terms of generic, standard computing functionality). The specification at [0059] expressly describes the processors as “any suitable processing device or set of processing devices such as, but not limited to, a microprocessor, a microcontroller-based platform, an integrated circuit, etc.” confirming their generic nature. The claimed operations of collecting social media data, sorting employment records, computing percentile-rank index scores, and generating a report are performed using computers as tools to carry out the abstract idea, rather than improving computer functionality itself. The specification at [0026] frames the invention as systems that “automatically generate index scores of companies and/or individuals, based on social media content” to assess performance confirming the computer serves as an instrument to perform an analytical and economic task. No new or improved computer architecture, data structure, or technical mechanism is described or claimed. See Alice Corp., (rejecting eligibility where claims “simply instruct the practitioner to implement the abstract idea… on a generic computer”); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Automotive LLC, (“mere recitation of concrete, tangible components is insufficient to confer patent eligibility to an otherwise abstract idea”). See MPEP § 2106.05(a).
Particular Machine (MPEP § 2106.05(b)):
The claims do not recite use of a particular machine that imposes meaningful limits on the claim. The recited “one or more databases,” “one or more processors,” and “social media platform” are generic computing components that do not constrain the claim in any meaningful way. Any general-purpose computing system with standard storage and processing capabilities could implement the claimed functions. The claims are not limited to any particular architecture, arrangement, or configuration of these components. The social media platform merely specifies the source of the input data, which is a field-of-use limitation that does not render the claims eligible. See MPEP § 2106.05(b); Alice Corp.
Mere Instructions to Apply the Exception (MPEP § 2106.05(f)):
The additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer. The claims recite generic databases performing generic data-storage functions, generic processors performing mathematical computations and analytical evaluations, and a generic report-generation and transmission step. This is tantamount to adding the instruction “apply it” to the abstract idea i.e., compute and evaluate corporate performance indexes using a computer. See Alice Corp., (“Simply implementing a mathematical principle on a physical machine, namely a computer, is not a patentable application of that principle”); Bancorp Servs., LLC v. Sun Life Assurance Co. of Canada (U.S.), (ineligible where computer was used to “facilitate” implementation of a mathematical/economic concept). See MPEP § 2106.05(f).
Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity (MPEP § 2106.05(g)):
The additional element of “storing social media data in one or more databases” constitutes insignificant pre-solution data-gathering activity. Collecting raw input data from a social media platform is incidental and ancillary to the core abstract process of computing index scores and is not integrated into the abstract idea in any meaningful way. Similarly, the element of “generating and transmitting a report indicative of corporate performance” constitutes insignificant post-solution activity transmitting the output results of the abstract idea is a standard data-output step that does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. These data-gathering and data-output steps are mere bookends to the abstract idea and do not confer eligibility. See MPEP § 2106.05(g); Ultramercial, Inc. v. Hulu, LLC.
Considering the additional elements individually and in combination, the claim as a whole does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The recited generic databases and generic processors perform only generic computing functions. The social media platform merely identifies the source of input data. The report generation and transmission step is mere post-solution output. None of these elements, individually or in combination, impose any meaningful limits on the practice of the abstract idea, improve the functioning of a computer or other technology, or otherwise integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Accordingly, the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
STEP 2B
As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements in the claims amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the abstract idea using generic computer components performing generic computing functions. The same analysis applies in Step 2B mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept. See MPEP § 2106.05(f); Alice Corp.
Well-Understood, Routine, Conventional Activity Analysis
The additional elements, when considered individually and in combination, are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities in the field. Specifically:
“One or more databases configured to store social media data” — The courts have recognized storing and retrieving data in databases as well-understood, routine, and conventional computer activity. See MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II), citing Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc.; OIP Techs., Inc. v. Amazon.com, Inc. The specification at [0058]-[0065] confirms that the recited databases (social media databases 150, date database 160, metric database 170, benchmark database 180, and index score database 190) are standard database structures with no structural novelty beyond their function of storing particular categories of data.
“One or more processors” configured to execute the claimed computational operations — The courts have recognized the use of generic processors to perform computational operations as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity. See MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II), citing Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 225–26; TLI Communications. The specification at [0059] expressly confirms the processors are generic and interchangeable with any suitable processing device.
“Generating and transmitting a report” — The courts have recognized generating and transmitting data outputs over a network as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity. See MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II), citing TLI Communications; OIP Techs. The specification at [0150] confirms the report is generated and transmitted using generic communication means such as email, text message, link, or notification.
Taken individually, none of these additional elements amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception. Taken in combination, the elements recite a generic computing system (databases + processors + output) performing the standard functions of storing input data, executing mathematical calculations, and transmitting results a combination that is entirely routine and conventional in the data analytics field. The fact that the inputs are drawn from social media data and the outputs are corporate performance index scores does not transform the generic computing infrastructure into something more. Applicant may argue that the claimed methodology is unconventional, citing the specification’s characterization at [0031] of the invention as including “an unconventional and specific set of rules to generate new data based on social media content.” However, characterizations in the specification of the abstract idea itself as novel or unconventional cannot supply the “significantly more” required under Alice/Mayo Step 2B. The inventive concept must reside in the additional elements beyond the abstract idea, not in the abstract idea itself. See Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs., Inc., (“The ‘novelty’ of any particular [abstract idea] does not determine whether the patent claim is novel and nonobvious”); Genetic Techs. Ltd. v. Merial LLC) (“An inventive concept cannot be furnished by the unpatentable…abstract idea itself”).
Considering the additional elements individually and in combination, the claims do not include additional elements sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The claims are not patent eligible.
Dependent Claims Analysis
The dependent claims do not add limitations that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or provide an inventive concept:
Claims 2–3: These claims further define the periods-of-time and period-of-interest as predefined equal-duration time windows, and add the step of converting employment start and end dates into a longitudinal date profile. These limitations further specify the parameters and data-formatting operations for the abstract mathematical calculations but do not transform those computations into a practical application. Converting date ranges into a longitudinal date profile is a mathematical data-reformatting operation that itself constitutes a mathematical concept, or is at most insignificant extra-solution data organization ancillary to the abstract idea. These limitations do not impose any meaningful limits that would integrate the exception into a practical application.
Claims 4–5: These claims specify categories of individual metrics (career-tenure, company-tenure, role-tenure, experience-tenure, and industry-tenure) and company metrics (headcount, time-interval, diversity, gender-equity, and company-tenure). These limitations merely narrow the type of input data subject to the abstract mathematical calculations. Specifying the domain or category of data used as inputs constitutes a field-of-use limitation and does not supply an inventive concept. See MPEP § 2106.05(h).
Claims 6–7: These claims add the process of identifying benchmark companies for the reference company by identifying the reference company’s industry classification, identifying headcount for each period-of-time, selecting peer companies based on headcount and industry classification, and selecting benchmark companies from the peer companies. These limitations describe additional steps of the abstract process of identifying comparable companies a mental or analytical evaluation and do not add any non-abstract element that integrates the exception into a practical application or provides significantly more.
Claims 8–9 and 17: These claims specify one method of computing the company index score: determining the mean and standard deviation of the benchmark companies’ metric values, computing a z-score by dividing the difference between the reference company’s metric value and the benchmark mean by the benchmark standard deviation, and converting the z-score to a percentile rank. These are explicit mathematical operations that reside within the abstract idea itself. They add no additional elements beyond the abstract idea.
Claims 10 and 18: These claims specify an alternative method of computing the company index score via bucket assignment and percentile-rank determination based on bucket distribution. This is likewise an explicit mathematical calculation within the abstract idea and does not integrate the exception into a practical application.
Claims 11–12 and 19: These claims specify that the individual index score is calculated as a running geometric mean (with optional time decay) of the relevant company index scores throughout the individual’s employment history. This is an additional mathematical calculation that itself falls within the mathematical concepts grouping of abstract ideas and adds nothing beyond the abstract idea.
Claims 13 and 20: These claims specify that the collective index score is calculated as a mean of the individual index scores for the individuals associated with the reference company. This is an additional mathematical calculation within the abstract idea.
Claim 14: This claim specifies that the processors are configured to identify the preceding companies-of-employment from the chronologically sorted employment history. This limitation describes a data-lookup step that is incidental to the abstract analytical process and constitutes insignificant extra-solution activity that does not integrate the exception into a practical application.
For the foregoing reasons, claims 1–20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claims are directed to the abstract ideas of: (1) performing mathematical calculations to generate numerical index scores (percentile ranks, z-scores, running geometric means, and statistical means) representing a company’s performance relative to benchmark companies; and (2) assessing and predicting corporate performance, which is a fundamental economic practice and commercial interaction. The additional elements in the claims generic databases, generic processors, a generic social media data source, and a generic report-generation and transmission step amount to no more than implementing the abstract idea on a generic computer using well-understood, routine, and conventional components and operations. This is insufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or to provide an inventive concept. See Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int’l.
Applicant is invited to respond to this rejection by amending the claims or presenting arguments for reconsideration. Applicant is cautioned that arguments asserting the novelty or unconventionality of the claimed index score calculation methodology or corporate performance assessment process will not overcome this rejection, as the novelty of the abstract idea itself does not confer patent eligibility under § 101. See Mayo; Synopsys, Inc. v. Mentor Graphics Corp., (“a new abstract idea is still an abstract idea”). To overcome this rejection, Applicant should identify specific additional elements in the claims beyond the recited abstract idea — that either: (a) improve the functioning of a computer or other technology or technical field; (b) apply the abstract idea using a particular machine that imposes meaningful limits on the claim scope; or (c) otherwise integrate the abstract idea into a practical application in a manner not addressed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A patent may not be obtained through the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-4, 6, and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raikula et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 2015/0254291 A1) (hereafter Raikula) in view of Hardtke et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 2014/0122355 A1) (hereafter Hardtke) in further view of Lytkin et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 2016/0321362 A1) (hereafter Lytkin).in further view of Malloy et al. (U.S. Patent 12,061,628 B1) (hereafter Malloy) in further view of Goodson et a. (U.S. Patent Publication 2010/0030722 A1) (hereafter Goodson).
Referring to Claim 1, Raikula teaches a system for assessing and predicting corporate performance based on social media content, the system comprising:
one or more databases configured to (see; par. [0025] of Raikula teaches a database used to store information regarding social media health of a company).
store social media data of user profiles of users on a social media platform, wherein the users include individuals and companies (see; par. [0039] of Raikula teaches profile data of users including job related data, and par. [0025] database stores data associated with the generation of the index, par. [0028]: data received from Facebook, LinkedIn, and Twitter... associated with companies. par. [0049]: social network details database that receives and stores data associated with the identity of... individual social media user, including… job title, career path. par. [0051] individual characteristics database stores data associated with the individual social media user. Together these confirm storage of social media profile data for both individuals and companies).
one or more processors configured to (see; par. [0012] of Raikula teaches a processor, and memory used to aggregate index scores related to social media).
generate, for periods-of-time, metric values for metrics of the users based on the social media data (see; par. [0007] of Raikulu teaches six specific metrics (dimensions): volume, sentiment, velocity, audience size, audience influence, and audience affluence which are derived from social media data these are metric values for metrics of users. par. [0032] states the score can be calculated for a particular time period (e.g., one week, one month, six months, one year)" which teaches the generation of metric values for periods-of-time, par. [0040] further indicates scores stored for specific periods (e.g., weekly, monthly, yearly) confirming temporal, per-period metric generation).
identify a reference company (see; par. [0033] of Raikulu teaches a module that receives the annotated data associated with Fidelity Investments a named, identified reference company is the subject of analysis. Par. [0043] further discloses the module that can compare Fidelity's social media index score, the reference company is specifically identified. Par. [0045] where a research analyst can subscribe to the social media index data feed for a particular company confirming the system identifies and focuses on a specific selected company).
identify a metric-of-interest and a period-of-interest for assessment of the reference company, wherein the period-of-interest includes one or more of the periods-of-time, for each of the periods-of-time within the period-of-interest (see; par. [0007] of Raikulu teaches the names that provide identifiable dimensions/metrics: volume, sentiment, velocity, etc. these are the selectable metrics-of-interest. Par. [0032] provides user-selectable time periods (one week, one month, six months, one year) where these are periods-of-interest. Par. [0045] further the user can supply the system with a customized weighting algorithm, what component signals should be emphasized, what time period(s) should be evaluated, indicating an explicit user identification of metric-of-interest and period-of-interest).
identify which of the individuals are associated with the reference company based on the respective employment histories (see; Abstract of Raikula teaches identifying social media data from a plurality of social media data associated with companies where the data is aggregated (i.e. historical), par. [0046] that takes into account affluence of the individual (i.e. how they are associated with a reference company), par. [0026] using historical data).
generate and transmit a report indicative of corporate performance of the reference company (see; pr. [0012] of Raikula teaches the server computing device publishes the generated index score on a data feed for consumption by other computing devices, and transmit step. par. [0041]. The trend data and signal threshold processing module also transmits the index score and trend data to a data publication module where report generated and transmitted. Par. [0045] a research analyst at a mutual fund broker can subscribe to the social media index data feed for a particular company... to use the data in evaluating company performance, confirms the transmitted output is a report indicative of corporate performance used for performance evaluation.
Raikula does not explicitly disclose the following limitations, however,
Hardtke for each of the individuals, chronologically sort a respective employment history (see; Table 1A, pg. 9, 1C pg. 10, Table 1E page 11-1, Table 1F pg. 12 and par. [0009] of Hardtke teaches an example of how a candidates employment history is analyzed based on the history of different activities (i.e. employment history chronologically)).
The Examiner notes that Raikula teaches similar to the instant application teaches generating an index social health. Specifically, Raikula discloses the receiving social media data from a plurality of social media sources and determine dimensions of the social media data it is therefore viewed as analogous art in the same field of endeavor. Additionally, Hardtke teaches identifying candidates for job openings using scoring function based on features in resumes and job descriptions and as it is comparable in certain respects to Raikula which generating an index social health as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. This provides support that it would be obvious to combine the references to provide an obviousness rejection.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the task management
(system/method/apparatus) of Raikula the for each of the individuals, chronologically sort a respective employment history as taught by Hardtke since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additionally, Raikula, and Hardtke teach the collecting and analysis of data in order to maximize the utilization of resource using associated tasks and they do not contradict or diminish the other alone or when combined.
Raikula in view of Hardtke teaches the collecting and analysis of data in order to maximize the utilization of resource using associated tasks, however Raikula in view of Hardtke does not explicitly disclose the following limitation, however,
Lytkin teaches for each of the individuals associated with the reference company, calculate a respective individual index score based on the respective company index scores of the reference company and preceding company index scores of preceding companies-of-employment, wherein the individual index score is indicative of how well the reference company and the preceding companies-of-employment performed while the individual was associated with the reference company and the preceding companies-of-employment performed (see; par. [0012] of Lytkin teaches member profiles containing current and past employment, including company identifications and the member's dates of employment at those companies; par. [0014] determining from the employment section that a member left company A and joined company B, establishing the current employer and the preceding employers; par. [0016]–[0017] generating a node score for each company that serves as its desirability score relative to the other companies in the talent flow graph; and par. [0022] storing those company scores and using them to determine "a degree of success to be attributed to a member based on respective rankings of companies at which the member has been employed"). All together, these teach calculating a score for each individual from the scores of the current employer (the reference company) and each prior employer, as identified from dated employment records, which is indicative of how those companies performed while the individual was employed there).
Discussion of Raikula similarity to the instant application with Hardtke being comparable to Raikula is found above. Additionally, Lytkin teaches determining a company rank utilizing on-line social network data and as it is comparable in certain respects to Raikula and Hardtke which generating an index social health as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. This provides support that it would be obvious to combine the references to provide an obviousness rejection.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the task management
(system/method/apparatus) of Raikula and Hardtke for each of the individuals associated with the reference company, calculate a respective individual index score based on the respective company index scores of the reference company and preceding company index scores of preceding companies-of-employment, wherein the individual index score is indicative of how well the reference company and the preceding companies-of-employment performed while the individual was associated with the reference company and the preceding companies-of-employment performed as taught by Lytkin since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additionally, Raikula, Hardtke, and Lytkin teach the collecting and analysis of data in order to maximize the utilization of resource using associated tasks and measuring with index scores and they do not contradict or diminish the other alone or when combined.
Raikula in view of Hardtke in futher view of Lytkin teaches the collecting and analysis of data in order to maximize the utilization of resource using associated tasks and measuring with index scores, however Raikula in view of Hardtke in further view of Lytkin does not explicitly disclose the following limitation, however,
Malloy teaches for each of the companies, generate a respective company index score based on a percentile rank of the respective metric value for the metric-of-interest, wherein the company index score is indicative of how well the company has performed relative to a respective set of benchmark companies, for the metric of interest during the period of time (see; col. 5, line (56) – col. 6, line (8) of Malloy teaches gathering the value of each measurement for a large number of organizations labelled by industry, stored segmented by industry, to form an industry benchmark, col. 7, line (55) – col. 8, line (8) and computing the percentile for the organization's value (relative to the benchmark distribution) as an indication of relative performance, and computing the full score hierarchy for each organization in the benchmark using common goals and weights so that every organization is scored the same way, col. 11, lines (55-67) normalizing measurements for organization size to support the benchmarking, and col. 11, lines (18-51) summarizing data by period (e.g., weekly) and updating each organization's measurements to reflect the current performance based on recent time periods). All together, these are viewed to teach generating, for each organization, a score expressed as the percentile rank of its metric value relative to a benchmark set of peer organizations in its industry, for a given time period, which is indicative of how well the organization performed relative to those benchmark companies for that metric during that period).
Discussion of Raikula, Hardtke similarity to the instant application with Lytkin being comparable to Raikula and Hardtke is found above. Additionally, Malloy teaches computing a digital experience index and as it is comparable in certain respects to Raikula, Hardtke, and Lytkin which teaches the analysis of data in order to maximize the utilization of resource using associated tasks and measuring with index scores as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. This provides support that it would be obvious to combine the references to provide an obviousness rejection.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the task management
(system/method/apparatus) of Raikula, Hardtke, and Lytkin for each of the companies, generate a respective company index score based on a percentile rank of the respective metric value for the metric-of-interest, wherein the company index score is indicative of how well the company has performed relative to a respective set of benchmark companies, for the metric of interest during the period of time as taught by Malloy since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additionally, Raikula, Hardtke, Lytkin and Malloy teach the analysis of data in order to maximize the utilization of resource using associated tasks and measuring with multiple scores processes and they do not contradict or diminish the other alone or when combined.
Raikula in view of Hardtke in further view of Lytkin in further view of Malloy teaches the analysis of data in order to maximize the utilization of resource using associated tasks and measuring with multiple scores processes, however Raikula in view of Hardtke in further view of Lytkin in further view of Malloy does not explicitly disclose the following limitation, however,
Goodson teaches for the reference company, calculate a collective index score based on the individual index scores of the individuals associated with the reference company (see; (see; par. [0046] of Goodson teaches collecting the full work history of each team member and the valuations of the previous companies each member founded, par. [0051] that individual-level data, including past performance in startups, is aggregated into incumbent scores, which feed impact scores, which feed team scores as well as a par. [0067] an "Incumbent Score" for each team member based on factors including valuations of previously founded companies, where par. [0068] a team score calculated by a formula which combines the Impact Scores of all team members, and par. [0069] using the team score to output the company's predicted future valuation). All together, these teach a company-level score calculated from the individual scores of the company's current members, where each individual score reflects how the companies that member was previously associated with performed, which is indicative of how those companies performed while the members were associated with them.
Discussion of Raikula, Hardtke, Lytkin, and Malloy similarity to the instant application with Goodson being comparable to Raikula, Hardtke, Lytkin, and Malloy is found above. Additionally, Goodson teaches computing a digital experience index and as it is comparable in certain respects to Raikula, Hardtke, Lytkin and Malloy which teaches the analysis of data in order to maximize the utilization of resource using associated tasks and measuring with index scores utilized with a collective index score as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. This provides support that it would be obvious to combine the references to provide an obviousness rejection.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the task management
(system/method/apparatus) of Raikula, Hardtke, Lytkin and Malloy for each of the companies, generate a respective company index score based on a percentile rank of the respective metric value for the metric-of-interest, wherein the company index score is indicative of how well the company has performed relative to a respective set of benchmark companies, for the metric of interest during the period of time as taught by Goodson since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additionally, Raikula, Hardtke, Lytkin Malloy, and Goodson teach the analysis of data in order to maximize the utilization of resource using associated tasks and measuring with index scores utilized with a collective index score and they do not contradict or diminish the other alone or when combined.
Referring to Claim 2, see discussion of claim 1 above, while Raikula in view of Hardtke in further view Lytkin in further view of Malloy in further view of Goodson of teaches the system above, Raikula further discloses a system having the limitations of:
each of the periods-of-time is a predefined measurement-of-time by which the metrics of the users are assessed, wherein each of the periods-of-time has a same time duration, and wherein the period-of-interest is a time period during which the reference company is compared to the respective set of benchmark companies (see; par. [0032] of Raikula teaches a score calculated for a particular time period (e.g., one week, one month, six months, one year), each period has a single fixed uniform duration. Par. [0040] where a social media index scores for Fidelity Investments, as calculated by the module for specific periods (e.g., weekly, monthly, yearly) and confirms uniform predefined duration periods, furthermore par. [0043] company scores "compared over the same time period the period-of-interest encompasses the comparison window against benchmark companies).
Referring to Claim 3, see discussion of claim 1 above, while Raikula in view of Hardtke in further view Lytkin in further view of Malloy in further view of Goodson teaches the system above, Raikula in view of Hardtke does not explicitly disclose a system having the limitations of, however,
Lytkin teaches identify a start date and an end date for each employment position in the social media data for the user (see; par. [0012] of Lytkin teaches social medial providing current and past employment data (i.e. position start and end date) which specifically provides member dates of employment), and
convert the start date and the end date into a longitudinal date profile (see; par. [0015] of Lytkin teaches generating a graph that depicts the transition of talent at multiple different companies providing transitional relationships (i.e. dates of employment))
Discussion of Raikula similarity to the instant application with Hardtke being comparable to Raikula is found above. Additionally, Lytkin teaches determining a company rank utilizing on-line social network data and as it is comparable in certain respects to Raikula and Hardtke which generating an index social health as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. This provides support that it would be obvious to combine the references to provide an obviousness rejection.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the task management
(system/method/apparatus) of Raikula and Hardtke identify a start date and an end date for each employment position in the social media data for the user, and convert the start date and the end date into a longitudinal date profile as taught by Lytkin since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additionally, Raikula, Hardtke, and Lytkin teach the collecting and analysis of data in order to maximize the utilization of resource using associated tasks and measuring with index scores and they do not contradict or diminish the other alone or when combined.
Referring to Claim 4, see discussion of claim 1 above, while Raikula in view of Hardtke in further view Lytkin in further view of Malloy in further view of Goodson teaches the system above, Raikula in view of Hardtke does not explicitly disclose a system having the limitations of, however,
Lytkin teaches the metrics for the individuals include at least one of a career-tenure metric, a company-tenure metric, a role-tenure metric, an experience-tenure metric, or an industry-tenure metric (see; par. [0012] of Lytkin teaches social medial providing current and past employment data (i.e. position start and end date, which is an indicator of tenure, role, and experience) which specifically provides member dates of employment).
Discussion of Raikula similarity to the instant application with Hardtke being comparable to Raikula is found above. Additionally, Lytkin teaches determining a company rank utilizing on-line social network data and as it is comparable in certain respects to Raikula and Hardtke which generating an index social health as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. This provides support that it would be obvious to combine the references to provide an obviousness rejection.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the task management
(system/method/apparatus) of Raikula and Hardtke the metrics for the individuals include at least one of a career-tenure metric, a company-tenure metric, a role-tenure metric, an experience-tenure metric, or an industry-tenure metric as taught by Lytkin since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additionally, Raikula, Hardtke, and Lytkin teach the collecting and analysis of data in order to maximize the utilization of resource using associated tasks and measuring with index scores and they do not contradict or diminish the other alone or when combined.
Referring to Claim 6, see discussion of claim 1 above, while Raikula in view of Hardtke in further view Lytkin in further view of Malloy in further view of Goodson teaches the system above, Raikula further discloses a system having the limitations of,
the one or more processors are configured to identify the respective set of benchmark companies for the reference company (see; par. [0011] of Raikula teaches revised index score is compared with an industry benchmark where a benchmark set is identified and used).
Referring to Claim 14, see discussion of claim 1 above, while Raikula in view of Hardtke in further view Lytkin in further view of Malloy in further view of Goodson teaches the system above, Raikula does not explicitly disclose a system having the limitations of, however,
Hardtke teaches for each of the individuals associated with the reference company, the one or more processors are configured to identify the preceding companies-of-employment in the employment history that was chronologically sorted (see; par. [0049] of Hardtke teaches candidates that are looking for a position while most data will be provided by the candidate the company can find additional details on social media including the current and past employers (i.e. employment history) in a list (i.e. order)).
The Examiner notes that Raikula teaches similar to the instant application teaches generating an index social health. Specifically, Raikula discloses the receiving social media data from a plurality of social media sources and determine dimensions of the social media data it is therefore viewed as analogous art in the same field of endeavor. Additionally, Hardtke teaches identifying candidates for job openings using scoring function based on features in resumes and job descriptions and as it is comparable in certain respects to Raikula which generating an index social health as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. This provides support that it would be obvious to combine the references to provide an obviousness rejection.
Raikula discloses the receiving social media data from a plurality of social media sources and determine dimensions of the social media data. However, Raikula fails to disclose for each of the individuals associated with the reference company, the one or more processors are configured to identify the preceding companies-of-employment in the employment history that was chronologically sorted.
Hardtke discloses for each of the individuals associated with the reference company, the one or more processors are configured to identify the preceding companies-of-employment in the employment history that was chronologically sorted.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the task management
(system/method/apparatus) of Raikula for each of the individuals associated with the reference company, the one or more processors are configured to identify the preceding companies-of-employment in the employment history that was chronologically sorted as taught by Hardtke since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additionally, Raikula, and Hardtke teach the collecting and analysis of data in order to maximize the utilization of resource using associated tasks and they do not contradict or diminish the other alone or when combined.
Referring to Claim 15, Raikula in view of Hardtke in further view Lytkin in further view of Malloy in further view of Goodson teaches a method for assessing and predicting corporate performance. Claim 15 recites the same or similar limitations as those addressed above in claim 1, Claim 15 is therefore rejected for the same reasons as set forth above in claim 1.
Referring to Claim 16, Raikula in view of Hardtke in further view Lytkin in further view of Malloy in further view of Goodson teaches a computer readable medium. Claim 16 recites the same or similar limitations as those addressed above in claim 1, Claim 16 is therefore rejected for the same reasons as set forth above in claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Chatterjee et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 2015/0025939 A1) discloses a company centric social media platform content sharing and tracking.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.S.S/Examiner, Art Unit 3625
/BETH V BOSWELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3625