DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/4/2025 was considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 3/4/2025 are acceptable for examination by the examiner.
Title
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-10, 12-15, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by YANG XIA et al. (CN114077182A).
Regarding claim 1, YANG XIA teaches a processing cartridge (processing box), comprising: a photosensitive unit 1, including a photosensitive drum 6 and a photosensitive frame; a developing unit 2, including a developing roller 7 and a developing frame, wherein the developing unit 2 is capable of moving, relative to the photosensitive unit, between a position where the developing roller contacts the photosensitive drum and a position where the developing roller is separated from the photosensitive drum; a developing coupling, for receiving a rotational driving force and being disposed at one end of a length direction of the processing cartridge; and an elastic member (not shown; paragraph 1 under the 1st embodiment), disposed between the developing unit 2 and the photosensitive unit 1, wherein, when the developing coupling does not receive the rotational driving force to rotate, under an action of an elastic force, the developing unit is maintained at a separated position (paragraph 1), and the developing roller is kept separated from the photosensitive drum; and when the developing coupling receives the rotational driving force to rotate, a rotational torque exerts a force on the developing unit to move the developing unit from the separated position to a contact position (paragraph 2 states that the developing unit may perform this rotation), so that the developing roller contacts the photosensitive drum (figures 2-8; 1st embodiment: paragraphs 2-3 describes the separating and the contacting process for the drum and the developing unit;).
Regarding claim 2, when the developing coupling does not receive the rotational driving force to rotate, the elastic force of the elastic member acts on the developing unit to make a lower end of the developing unit away from the photosensitive unit, so that the developing roller is kept separated from the photosensitive drum (paragraph 3, one unit moves through the turning point to make contact when the driving member is driven).
Regarding claim 3, when the developing coupling receives the rotational driving force to rotate, the force exerted by the rotational torque on the developing unit is greater than the force of the elastic member 8 on the developing unit, and the lower end of the developing unit 2 moves toward a direction close to the photosensitive unit 1, so that the developing unit 2 moves from the separated position to the contact position (paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 4, the elastic member is a tension spring 9; and when the developing coupling 8 does not receive the rotational driving force to rotate, a force of the tension spring 9 acts on the developing unit 2 so that the lower end of the developing unit 2 has a tendency to rotate around a rotation center away from the photosensitive unit (paragraph 2 discusses that the developing unit 2 may rotate instead of the drum unit 1 as described and describes the process of the drum unit 1 rotating as claimed).
Regarding claim 5, the processing cartridge (processing box) further comprising a driving side end cover and a developing box cover, wherein: the driving side end cover is located at one end of the photosensitive frame, the developing box cover is located at one end of the developing frame, and the driving side end cover covers an outside of the developing box cover; and the elastic member is located at one end of the length direction of the processing cartridge, one end of the elastic member is sleeved on the driving side end cover, and another end of the elastic member is sleeved on the developing box cover (shown in figures 4-5).
Regarding claim 7, XIA teaches a processing cartridge, detachably mounted in an image forming device, and comprising: a photosensitive unit, including a photosensitive drum and a photosensitive frame; a developing unit, including a developing roller and a developing frame, wherein the developing unit is capable of moving, relative to the photosensitive unit, between a position where the developing roller contacts the photosensitive drum and a position where the developing roller is separated from the photosensitive drum; a developing coupling, for receiving a rotational driving force and being disposed at one end of a length direction of the processing cartridge; and an elastic member, disposed between the developing unit and the photosensitive unit, wherein, when the processing cartridge stops developing in the image forming device, an elastic force of the elastic member keeps the developing unit in a separated position; and when the developing coupling receives the rotational driving force from the image forming device and starts to rotate, a rotational torque exerts a force on the developing unit to move the developing unit from the separated position to a contact position, so that the developing roller contacts the photosensitive drum (paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 8, when the developing unit 2 stops developing, the elastic force of the elastic member acts on the developing unit to move a lower end of the developing unit away from the photosensitive unit 1, so that the developing roller 7 and the photosensitive drum 6 remain separated; and when the developing coupling receives the rotational driving force from the image forming device and starts to rotate, the force exerted by the rotational torque on the developing unit is greater than the elastic force exerted by the elastic member on the developing unit, and the lower end of the developing unit moves toward the photosensitive unit, so that the developing unit moves from the separated position to the contact position (paragraph 5).
Regarding claim 9, XIA teaches a processing cartridge, comprising: a photosensitive unit having a photosensitive drum; a developing unit having a developing roller, wherein the developing unit is capable of moving, relative to the photosensitive unit, between a contact position where the developing roller contacts the photosensitive drum (paragraph 3) and a separated position where the developing roller separates from the photosensitive drum (paragraph 5); a developing coupling (8, shown on drum unit, but may be on developing unit as described), for receiving a rotational driving force and being disposed at a driving end of the processing cartridge; and an elastic member 9 connected to the photosensitive unit 1 and the developing unit 2, wherein, when the developing coupling stops rotating, under an action of the elastic member, the developing unit is in the separated position, and the developing roller remains separated from the photosensitive drum; and when the developing coupling receives power to rotate, a rotational force generated by a rotation of the developing coupling is greater than an elastic force of the elastic member, so that the developing unit moves from the separated position to the contact position, and the developing roller moves toward the photosensitive drum (paragraph 5, drum unit is an example), and wherein, a delay mechanism 13 is also included, and the delay mechanism delays the time for the developing unit to move from the separated position to the contact position, so that the developing roller delays a contact with the photosensitive drum (paragraph 5, flexible member 13 increase time for the developing roller to contact the drum unit after the elastic force of elastic member 9 is overcome).
Regarding claim 10, when the developing coupling stops rotating, the developing unit moves from the contact position to the separated position without delay, and the developing roller is quickly separated from the photosensitive drum (paragraph 3).
XIA teaches regarding claim 12, a processing cartridge, comprising: a photosensitive unit 1, including a photosensitive drum and a photosensitive frame; a developing unit 2, including a developing roller and a developing frame, wherein the developing unit is capable of moving, relative to the photosensitive unit, between a position where the developing roller contacts the photosensitive drum and a position where the developing roller separates from the photosensitive drum; a developing coupling, for receiving a rotational driving force and being disposed at one end of a length direction of the processing cartridge; an elastic member, connected to the developing unit and the photosensitive unit; a transmission member (10, shown in figure 5) rotatably arranged at one end of the developing unit, the transmission member 10 capable of being driven to rotate by the developing coupling; and a rotating member (gear train on lower right of box), rotatably arranged at one end of the photosensitive unit, the rotating member capable of being driven to rotate by the transmission member, wherein, in a process of a lower end of the developing unit moving toward a lower end of the photosensitive unit 1, when the transmission member 10 driven to rotate by the developing coupling drives the rotating member to rotate, the developing roller 7 and the photosensitive drum 6 are not yet in contact; and when the rotating member is unable to be driven to rotate by the transmission member, the developing unit moves to a position where the developing roller contacts the photosensitive drum, so that the developing roller contacts the photosensitive drum (figure 5, paragraph 5, outer gear of 10 contacts gear train).
Regarding claim 13, the transmission member 10 drives the rotating member (gear train) to rotate by meshing with a gear of the rotating member.
Regarding claim 14, a circumferential surface of the rotating member is provided with a gear portion, and the gear portion is provided with a section of teeth (figure 5 show gear train and teeth).
Regarding claim 15, the transmission member and/or a surface of the transmission member has friction, and the transmission member drives the rotating member to rotate by the friction (normal operation).
Regarding claim 16, the processing cartridge further comprising a driving side bearing, wherein the driving side bearing is disposed at one end of a length direction of the developing unit, the transmission member is rotatably supported on the driving side bearing, and in a height direction of the processing cartridge, the transmission member is arranged close to the lower end of the developing unit (figure 5 suggest height).
XIA teaches regarding claim 17, a processing cartridge, comprising: a photosensitive unit 1, including a photosensitive drum 6 and a photosensitive frame; a developing unit 2, including a developing roller 7 and a developing frame, wherein the developing unit is capable of moving, relative to the photosensitive unit, between a position where the developing roller contacts the photosensitive drum and a position where the developing roller separates from the photosensitive drum; a developing coupling, for receiving a rotational driving force and being disposed at one end of a length direction of the processing cartridge; an elastic member 9, connected to the developing unit and the photosensitive unit; a transmission member 10, rotatably arranged at one end of the developing unit 2, the transmission member 10 capable of being driven to rotate by the developing coupling; and a rotating member (drive train), rotatably arranged at one end of the photosensitive unit, the rotating member capable of being driven to rotate by the transmitting member, wherein, before the developing coupling ( the coupling member 8 would be associated with the developing roller; the description is discussing the drum unit moving into contact not the developing unit moving) receives the rotational driving force, under an action of an elastic force, the developing unit is maintained at a position where the developing roller is separated from the photosensitive drum, and the developing roller is kept separated from the photosensitive drum, and wherein, when the developing coupling receives the rotational driving force to rotate, under an action of a driving force torque, a lower end of the developing unit moves toward a lower end of the photosensitive unit; when the developing coupling drives the transmission member to rotate, and the transmission member drives the rotating member to rotate, the developing roller and the photosensitive drum are not yet in contact; and when the rotating member is unable to be driven to rotate by the transmission member, the developing unit moves to a position where the developing roller contacts the photosensitive drum, so that the developing roller contacts the photosensitive drum (figure 1-5, 1st embodiment; paragraphs 3-5).
Regarding claim 18, wherein the transmission member drives the rotating member (gear train on box) to rotate by meshing with a gear of the rotating member, and a circumferential surface of the rotating member is provided with a gear portion, and the gear portion is provided with a section of teeth (gear 10 and the gear train).
Regarding claim 19, wherein the transmission member and/or a surface of the transmission member has friction, and the transmission member drives the rotating member to rotate by the friction (normal operation).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 11, 16 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Contact Information
/QUANA GRAINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852
QG