Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 10/14/2025 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US Patent 12,215,854 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 10/14/2025 has been entered. Claim(s) 21-40 is/are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-22, 24, 30-36 and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kjeldsen et al. (US 2016/0215961) (hereinafter Kjeldsen).
Claim 21: Kjeldsen teaches a luminaire comprising: a housing (210, fig. 7b); a first group of solid-state lamps (203, fig. 7a) disposed in the housing (210), each of the first group of solid-state lamps (203) being configured to emit light having a first color (203 can emit one color of a multiple of colors, see para [0035]); one or more first beam forming optics (402, fig. 7b) configured to be always positioned over the first group of solid-state lamps (see fig. 7b-d)a second group of solid-state lamps (205, fig. 7a) disposed in the housing (210), each of the second group of solid-state lamps (205) being configured to emit light having a second color (205 can emit one color of a multiple of colors, see para [0035]), the second color being different from the first color (multiple colors, see para [0035]); and one or more second beam forming optics (404, fig. 7b) configured to be always positioned over the second group of solid-state lamps (see fig. 6);at least one first beamwidth lens (734, fig. 7d) configured to be always positioned (734 and the flat side portions are positioned to always be over the first beam forming optics 402, see fig. 7b and 7d) over the one or more first beam forming optics (402), the at least one first beamwidth lens (734) being configured to receive light from the one or more first beam forming optics (402) to provide a composite light output (413, fig. 7d) having a first beamwidth (width of 413, fig. 7d); andat least one second beamwidth lens (735, fig. 7d) configured to be always positioned (735 and the flat side portions are positioned to always be over the first beam forming optics 404, see fig. 7b and 7d) over the one or more second beam forming optics (404), the at least one second beamwidth lens (735) being configured to receive light from the one or more second beam forming optics (404) to provide a composite light output (415, fig. 7d) having a second beamwidth (width of 415, fig. 7d), the second beamwidth being nominally wider than the first beamwidth (width of 415 is larger than that of 413, see fig. 7d).
Claim 22: Kjeldsen teaches the one or more first beam forming optics (402) includes a plurality of first beam forming optics (see fig. 7b).
Claim 24: Kjeldsen teaches the one or more second beam forming optics (404) includes a plurality of second beam forming optics (see fig. 7b).
Claim 30: Kjeldsen teaches the one or more first beam forming optics (402) is a single first beam forming optic (402) configured to emit light having a first beamwidth (width of 413, fig. 7b) and the one or more second beam forming optics (404) is a single second beam forming optic (404) configured to emit light having a second beamwidth (width of 415, fig. 7b), the first beamwidth being nominally the same as the second beamwidth (beam width of 413 and 415 can be adjusted by the position of 734 and 735 to be nominally the same as seen in fig. 7b).
Claim 31: Kjeldsen teaches the one or more first beam forming optics (402) is a single first beam forming optic (402) configured to emit light having a first beamwidth (width of 413, fig. 7b) and
the one or more second beam forming optics (404) is a single second beam forming optic (404) configured to emit light having a second beamwidth (width of 415, fig. 7b), the first beamwidth being nominally different from the second beamwidth (beam width of 413 and 415 can be adjusted by the position of 734 and 735 to be different as seen in fig. 7d).
Claim 32: Kjeldsen teaches the at least one first beamwidth lens (734) comprises a single first beamwidth lens (734) positioned over each of the one or more first beam forming optics (402), and wherein the at least one second beamwidth lens (735) comprises a single second beamwidth lens (735) positioned over each of the one or more second beam forming optics (404).
Claim 33: Kjeldsen teaches the one or more first beam forming optics (402) includes a plurality of first beam forming optics (see fig. 7a), the one or more second beam forming optics (404) includes a plurality of second beam forming optics (see fig. 7a), each of the plurality of first beam forming optics (402) configured to emit light having a first beamwidth (beamwidth of 413) and each of the plurality of second beam forming optics (404) configured to emit light having a second beamwidth (beamwidth of 415), the first beamwidth being nominally the same as the second beamwidth (beam width of 413 and 415 can be adjusted by the position of 734 and 735 to be nominally the same as seen in fig. 7b).
Claim 34: Kjeldsen teaches the one or more first beam forming optics (402) includes a plurality of first beam forming optics (see fig. 7a), the one or more second beam forming optics (404) includes a plurality of second beam forming optics (see fig. 7a), each of the plurality of first beam forming optics (402) configured to emit light having a first beamwidth (beamwidth of 413) and each of the plurality of second beam forming optics (404) configured to emit light having a second beamwidth (beamwidth of 415), the first beamwidth being nominally different from the second beamwidth (beam width of 413 and 415 can be adjusted by the position of 734 and 735 to be different as seen in fig. 7d).
Claim 35: Kjeldsen teaches a luminaire configured to generate an illumination pattern on a target surface, the illumination pattern defined, at least in part, by a first output beam and a second output beam emitted from the luminaire, the luminaire comprising: a housing (210, fig. 7b); a first group of solid-state lamps (203, fig. 7a) disposed in the housing (210), each of the first group of solid-state lamps (203) being configured to emit light having a first color (203 can emit one color of a multiple of colors, see para [0035]); one or more first beam forming optics (402, fig. 7b) including at least one first bottom surface (left surface of 402, fig. 7b) and at least one first top surface (right surface of 402, fig. 7b), wherein the at least one first bottom surface (left surface of 402) and the at least one first top surface (right surface of 402) are configured to be always positioned over the first group of solid-state lamps (203) such that the at least one first bottom surface (left surface of 402) is configured to receive light emitted directly from the first group of solid-state lamps (203) and the at least one first top surface (right surface of 402) is configured to emit the first output beam (beam emitted from 402 entering 734, fig. 7b and 7d) from the luminaire having a first beamwidth (width of 413, fig. 7d); a second group of solid-state lamps (205, fig. 7a) disposed in the housing (210), each of the second group of solid-state lamps (205) being configured to emit light having a second color (205 can emit one color of a multiple of colors, see para [0035]), the second color being different from the first color (multiple colors, see para [0035]); and
one or more second beam forming optics (404, fig. 7b) including at least one second bottom surface (left surface of 404, fig. 7b) and at least one second top surface (right surface of 404, fig. 7b),
wherein the at least one second bottom surface (left surface of 404) and the at least one second top surface (right surface of 404) are configured to be always positioned over the second group of solid-state lamps (205, fig. 7a) such that the at least one second bottom surface (left surface of 404) is configured to receive light emitted directly from the second group of solid-state lamps (205) and the at least one second top surface (right surface of 404) is configured to emit the second output beam (beam emitted from 404 entering 735, fig. 7b and 7d) from the luminaire having a second beamwidth (width of 415, fig. 7d), wherein the first beamwidth is nominally different from the second beamwidth (beam width of 413 and 415 can be adjusted by the position of 734 and 735 to be different as seen in fig. 7d).
Claim 36: Kjeldsen teaches the one or more first beam forming optics (402) includes a plurality of first beam forming optics (see fig. 7b).
Claim 38: Kjeldsen teaches the one or more second beam forming optics (404) includes a plurality of second beam forming optics (see fig. 7b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23, 25, 37, and 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kjeldsen et al. (US 2016/0215961) in view of Vinther et al. (US 2013/0093360) (hereinafter Vinther).
Claim 23: Kjeldsen fails to teach the one or more first beam forming optics includes only a single first beam forming optic.
Vinther teaches one or more first beam forming optics (209, fig. 2a) includes only a single first beam forming optic (209 formed as a single piece, see fig. 2a).
Therefore, in view of Vinther, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to integrate the one or more first beam forming optics into only a single first beam forming optic, in order to reduce the number of working components in the luminaire.
Claim 25: Kjeldsen fails to teach the one or more second beam forming optics includes only a single second beam forming optic.
Vinther teaches one or more second beam forming optics (219, fig. 2b) includes only a single second beam forming optic (219 formed as a single piece with 209, see fig. 2a).
Therefore, in view of Vinther, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to integrate the one or more second beam forming optics includes only a single second beam forming optic, in order to reduce the number of working components in the luminaire.
Claim 37: Kjeldsen fails to teach the one or more first beam forming optics includes only a single first beam forming optic.
Vinther teaches one or more first beam forming optics (209, fig. 2a) includes only a single first beam forming optic (209 formed as a single piece, see fig. 2a).
Therefore, in view of Vinther, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to integrate the one or more first beam forming optics into only a single first beam forming optic, in order to reduce the number of working components in the luminaire.
Claim 39: Kjeldsen fails to teach the one or more second beam forming optics includes only a single second beam forming optic.
Vinther teaches one or more second beam forming optics (219, fig. 2b) includes only a single second beam forming optic (219 formed as a single piece with 209, see fig. 2a).
Therefore, in view of Vinther, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to integrate the one or more second beam forming optics includes only a single second beam forming optic, in order to reduce the number of working components in the luminaire.
Claim(s) 26-28 and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kjeldsen et al. (US 2016/0215961) in view of Jurik et al. (US 2018/0073692) (hereinafter Jurik).
Claim 26: Kjeldsen teaches the one or more first beam forming optics (402) and the one or more second beam forming optics (404) are arranged in a pattern having a center (see fig. 7).
However, Kjeldsen fails to teach the one or more first beam forming optics extending from a perimeter of the pattern and including one or more center beam forming optics arranged at the center whereby each of the one or more second beam forming optics is further from the center than the one or more center beam forming optics.
Jurik teaches a housing (housing of 12, fig. 1); a first group of solid-state lamps (22, fig. 2) (lamps 22 of G1, see annotated fig. 5) disposed in the housing, one or more first beam forming optics (34, fig. 4) (lenses 34 of G1, see annotated fig. 5),a second group of solid-state lamps (22, fig. 2) (lamps 22 of G2, see annotated fig. 5) disposed in the housing, one or more second beam forming optics (34, fig. 4) (lenses 34 of G2, see annotated fig. 5), the one or more first beam forming optics (lenses of 34 of G1) extending from a perimeter of the pattern (see annotated fig. 5) and including one or more center beam forming optics (G1C, see annotated fig. 5) arranged at the center whereby each of the one or more second beam forming optics (lenses 34 of G2) is further from the center than the one or more center beam forming optics (see annotated fig. 5).
Therefore, in view of Jurik, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the arrangement of the beam forming optics where the one or more first beam forming optics and the one or more second beam forming optics are arranged in a pattern having a center, the one or more first beam forming optics extending from a perimeter of the pattern and including one or more center beam forming optics arranged at the center whereby each of the one or more second beam forming optics is further from the center than the one or more center beam forming optics, in order to change the light distribution of the luminaire to produce a desired pattern.
Claim 27: Kjeldsen fails to teach the one or more center beam forming optics comprises a single one of the one or more first beam forming optics.
Jurik teaches the one or more center beam forming optics (center lenses 34 of G1C, see annotated fig. 5) comprises a single one of the one or more first beam forming optics (see annotated fig. 5).
Therefore, in view of Jurik, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the arrangement of the beam forming optics where the one or more center beam forming optics comprises a single one of the one or more first beam forming optics, in order to change the light distribution of the luminaire to produce a desired pattern.
Claim 28: Kjeldsen teaches the one or more first beam forming optics (402) includes a plurality of first beam forming optics (402, fig. 7).
Kjeldsen fails to teach the one or more center beam forming optics comprises a plurality of the plurality of first beam forming optics arranged around a central area, the central area being positioned at the center.
Jurik teaches the one or more center beam forming optics (center optics of middle G1, G1C, G2 in annotated fig. 5) comprises a plurality of the plurality of first beam forming optics arranged around a central area, the central area being positioned at the center.
Therefore, in view of Jurik, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the arrangement of the beam forming optics where the one or more center beam forming optics comprises a plurality of the plurality of first beam forming optics arranged around a central area, the central area being positioned at the center, in order to change the light distribution of the luminaire to produce a desired pattern.
Claim 40: Kjeldsen fails to teach the one or more first beam forming optics and the one or more second beam forming optics are arranged in a pattern having a center, the one or more first beam forming optics extending from a perimeter of the pattern and including one or more center beam forming optics arranged at the center whereby each of the one or more second beam forming optics is further from the center than the one or more center beam forming optics.
Jurik teaches a housing (housing of 12, fig. 1); a first group of solid-state lamps (22, fig. 2) (lamps 22 of G1, see annotated fig. 5) disposed in the housing, one or more first beam forming optics (34, fig. 4) (lenses 34 of G1, see annotated fig. 5),a second group of solid-state lamps (22, fig. 2) (lamps 22 of G2, see annotated fig. 5) disposed in the housing, one or more second beam forming optics (34, fig. 4) (lenses 34 of G2, see annotated fig. 5), the one or more first beam forming optics (lenses of 34 of G1) extending from a perimeter of the pattern (see annotated fig. 5) and including one or more center beam forming optics (G1C, see annotated fig. 5) arranged at the center whereby each of the one or more second beam forming optics (lenses 34 of G2) is further from the center than the one or more center beam forming optics (see annotated fig. 5).
Therefore, in view of Jurik, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the arrangement of the beam forming optics where the one or more first beam forming optics and the one or more second beam forming optics are arranged in a pattern having a center, the one or more first beam forming optics extending from a perimeter of the pattern and including one or more center beam forming optics arranged at the center whereby each of the one or more second beam forming optics is further from the center than the one or more center beam forming optics, in order to change the light distribution of the luminaire to produce a desired pattern.
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kjeldsen et al. (US 2016/0215961).
Claim 29: Kjeldsen fails to teach a ratio of a maximum width of the one or more first beam forming optics to a maximum width of the one or more second beam forming optics is less than 0.75.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to change the shape first and second group of beam forming optics such that to a ratio of a maximum width of the first group of beam forming optics to a maximum width of the second group of beam forming optics is less than 0.75 to produce a desired light output with different lighting effects, since it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/14/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s argument that “the first zoom optics 734 and second zoom optics 735 of Kjeldsen (i.e., the elements asserted to anticipate Applicant's claimed first and second beamwidth lenses) are not configured "to be always positioned over" the first and second light collecting means 402, 404 of Kjeldsen”, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner notes that figures 7b and 7d show that the lenses 734 and 735 and the flat side portions are always positioned to be over the beam forming optics 402 and 404 since the lenses rotate clockwise in figures 7a and 7d over the optics 402 and 404 in figures 7b and 7d.
Regarding applicant’s argument that “Applicant further submits that a person of ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) would not modify Kjeldsen to read on Applicant's claimed invention since this modification would render the first rotation actuator 739 and/or rotation actuator 736 unsuitable for their intended purpose”, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner notes that the proposed modifications of claims 23 and 25 only involve integrating the beam forming optics to be a single beam optic which would not effect the rotation of the device since the beam forming optics are stationary. Furthermore, the proposed modification in view of Jurik would be to change the arrangement of the beam forming optics, which are stationary and would not affect the rotation of the device.
Regarding applicant’s argument that “With this in mind, Applicant notes that the first and second light source beams 413, 415 of Kjeldsen are emitted from; the first and second zoom optics 434, 435. Notably, however, [0053] of Kjeldsen states that "First rotating means are adapted to rotate the first zoom optics 734 around the optical axis 212 and in relation to the first group of light sources." Similarly, [0054]of Kjeldsen states that "Second rotating means are adapted to rotate the second zoom optics 735 around the optical axis 212 and in relation to the second group of light sources… “, the examiner notes that while the zoom optics 734 and 735 rotate the beam forming optics remain stationary. It can be seen that the first and second top surface area always positioned over the first and second group of solid-state lamps in figures 7b and 7d.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Bremerich (US 11,199,306) and Jorgensen (US 9,651,222) disclose a similar luminaire.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZHENG SONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875