DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 18, line 1, “claim 8” should be --claim 15--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “control mechanism” in claims 1, 2, 8, 9, 15, and 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-9, and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mazzella et al. (20040262015) in view of Taskinen et al. (20120279726). Mazzella et al. discloses (claims 1, 8, and 15) an apparatus and a method for controlling an operation of the apparatus comprising a travel plate 45, a jack leg mechanism 11 connected to the travel plate 45 including a plurality of jack legs 13a,13b, a control valve 55 for controlling operation of the plurality of jack legs 13a,13b within the jack leg mechanism, and three modes of operation based on the position of the control valve 55 selected by the user (paragraphs [0037]-[0038]. Mazzella et al. does not disclose a plurality of control valves, a central control panel for generating a mode control signal, and a control mechanism for selectively activating and deactivating selected ones of the plurality of control valves responsive to the mode control signal from the central control panel and a position of the travel plate.
Taskinen et al. teaches for an apparatus comprising a travel plate 24, a jack leg mechanism including a plurality of jack legs 2, and that there are a plurality of control valves controlling operation of the plurality of jack legs (paragraph [0047], “hydraulic valves”), a central control panel (paragraph [0050], “…display means … to inform an operator…”) for generating a mode control signal, and a control mechanism (Fig. 1, paragraph [0036], “control system (100)”) for selectively activating and deactivating selected ones of the plurality of control valves responsive to the mode control signal from the central control panel and a position of the travel plate (paragraph [0044], sensed by a position sensor) for the purposes of automating the control of the jack legs in a safer manner (paragraph [0004]).
Since Mazzella et al. and Taskinen et al. are both in the same field of endeavor the purpose disclosed by Taskinen et al. would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Mazzella et al. It would have been obvious at a time before the invention was effectively filed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus of Mazzella et al. to include a plurality of control valves, a central control panel for generating a mode control signal, and a control mechanism for selectively activating and deactivating selected ones of the plurality of control valves responsive to the mode control signal from the central control panel and a position of the travel plate for the purposes of automating the control of the jack legs in a safer manner.
Regarding claims 2, 9, and 16, Taskinen et al. teaches that the control mechanism further selectively activates and deactivates the select ones of the plurality of control valves (hydraulic valves) responsive to the mode control signal from the central control panel 100 and the travel plate being located in a lowered position (Figs. 1B, 2, and 3, paragraphs [0036]-[0040])
Regarding claims 4, 11, and 17, Mazzella et al. discloses a selection of one of a four-leg mode of operation, a first two-leg mode of operation for activating a first pair of the plurality of jack legs and a second two-leg mode of operation for activating a second pair of the plurality of jack legs (paragraph [0037] “…The arrangement of FIG. 4 allows two cylinders to be employed, or all four cylinders to be employed…”).
Regarding claims 5, 12, and 18, Taskinen et al. further teaches that the control mechanism comprises a logic manifold (interface 110) for receiving the mode control signals and generating hydraulic control signals responsive thereto, and a valve manifold (paragraph [0040] “…the actuation of the slips may be initiated by an operator…”) for generating control signal to the plurality of control valves (hydraulic valves) responsive to the hydraulic control signals.
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Taskinen et al. teaches that the logic manifold further comprises hydraulic circuitry to generate the hydraulic control signals to provide a selected jack leg mode by the jack leg mechanism (paragraphs Figs. 2 and 3).
Regarding claims 7, 14, and 19, Taskinen et al. teaches that the logic manifold uses weight generated by a weight of the traveling plate to control the hydraulic circuitry (paragraph [0059], “…The load sensors associated with the traveling heavy slips will sense and detect the load, generate a signal representative of the load, and transmit the signal to the control system for processing and analysis..”).
Claims 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mazzella et al. and Taskinen et al., as applied to claim 1 and 8 above. Mazzella et al. discloses all of the claimed subject matter except that the plurality of control valves comprise poppet valves.
Since the applicant has not disclosed that the plurality of control valves comprise poppet valves solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose above the fact that poppet valves open or close to allow or stop flow and it appears that the control valves of Mazzella et al. would perform equally well as poppet valves as claimed by applicant, it would have been an obvious matter of engineering expedience to further modify the control valves of Mazzella et al. to be poppet valves as claimed for the purposes of controlling flow to the jack legs.
Prior Art
Prior art made of record but not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure for showing other apparatus with travel plates, jack legs, control valves, and control panels (Beaufort (4,494,376), console 43).
Contact Information
/THOMAS E LAZO/Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 3745
January 24, 2026