DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendments filed on 8 January 2025 have been accepted and entered.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN 108955774 A, translation enclosed), in view of Ohashi et al. (US 2019/0068864 A1)
With respect to claim 1, Zhang discloses: a fiber-optic seawater salinity sensor system (par. [0002]), wherein the sensor system comprises a halogen lamp source (1), a Y type optical fiber (2, par. [0008]), a fiber-optic seawater salinity sensor (sensing unit, 3), an optical spectrometer (spectrometer, 4), and a computer (host computer, 5) which are connected in series via a multimode optical fiber (Fig. 1, 21), wherein light from the halogen light source (1) is transmitted to the fiber-optic seawater salinity sensor (3) via the Y type optical fiber (2), a sensor probe of the fiber-optic seawater salinity sensor (3) is immersed in seawater, reflected light (light returning from 3, par. [0024]) is reflected to the optical spectrometer (4) via the Y type optical fiber (2), and the computer (5) receives and processes a spectrum from the optical spectrometer (4) to obtain spectral intensity of the reflected light from the optical spectrometer (spectrum shift is monitored, shown in Fig. 2).
Zhang discloses the use of a halogen lamp source rather than a semiconductor laser (par. [0024]). Ohashi discloses an endoscope system (abstract) including a semiconductor light source (par. [0097]). Further, Ohashi discloses that semiconductor lasers may be preferable to halogen lamps that provide light having a particular color (par. [0004]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to substitute the halogen lamp source of Zhang for a semiconductor laser, given the guidance of Ohashi, due to the higher efficiency, smaller size, and monochromatic light produced by semiconductor lasers, as opposed to halogen lamps.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 2, the cited prior art does not appear to disclose the claimed expression of spectral intensity related reflection and expressions of reflection coefficients of s-polarization and p-polarization.
With respect to claim 3, the cited prior art of record does not appear to disclose or reasonably suggest the claimed configuration wherein evanescent wave intensity increases with rise of an index of refraction of seawater, resulting in an increase in optical loss, and the reflected light received by the optical spectrometer is reduced.
With respect to claims 4 and 5, the cited prior art does not appear to disclose or reasonably suggest the claimed expressions.
With respect to claims 6-10, the cited prior art does not specify the claimed configurations wherein the propagation pathway comprises incident light, reflected light, evanescent wave, and transmitted light.
Conclusion
/MARK R GAWORECKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884 16 June 2026