DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to communication filed on July 28, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 28, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, with respect to claims 1, 10 and 18, that Last does not disclose or suggest that the materials of the printed circuit board, image sensor, sealing configuration and base all have substantially similar coefficients of thermal expansion. Instead, Last discusses only a comparison between the overall planar CTE of PCBA 110 and the overall planar CTE of image sensor package 130 (Last, paragraph 0038).
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Last et al. teaches that the image sensor package (130) comprises the image sensor (134), sealing configuration (138, 136) and the base (132), see figure 2B, paragraphs 0034, 0039 and 0042. As such, in order for the planar CTE of the image sensor package (130) to be “substantially similar” to the planar CTE of the PCBA (110, paragraph 0038, figure 2B), the planar CTE of the components (132, 134, 136, 138) of the image sensor package (130) must be substantially similar to the planar CTE of the PCBA (110). Additionally, paragraph 0060 of Last et al. states “mis-matched CTEs at material interfaces could result in image plane displacement, warpage, and/or tilt of various components of the system 100 as a function of stress”. Based upon this, Last et al. proposes “the respective CTEs of material at such interfaces could be adjusted or selected so as to be as close to one another as possible to reduce failure in reliability and undesirable optical defocusing due to temperature-dependent stresses”. Therefore, it is clear that the interfacing materials (110, 132, 134, 136, 138) of Last et al. have “substantially similar” coefficients of thermal expansion, as is required by claims 1, 10 and 18.
Therefore, the rejection is maintained by the Examiner.
Applicant argues, with respect to the Examiner’s comments on the benefit claim, that paragraph 0029 of US 2024/0056666 teaches that “adjacent components in the image sensor package may be made from materials with substantially similar coefficients of thermal expansion”, and therefore the parent application provides support for the printed circuit board, image sensor, base, cover, and frame may be formed from materials having substantially similar coefficients of thermal expansion.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Just because the parent application broadly states that “adjacent components in the image sensor package may be made from materials with substantially similar coefficients of thermal expansion”, this does not mean that all components of the printed circuit board, image sensor, base, cover, and frame are formed from materials having substantially similar coefficients of thermal expansion. As discussed on page 4 of the Office Action, the parent application provides support for the third materials of the sealing configuration (i.e. the cover and the frame) being materials having a similar coefficient of thermal expansion to each other, and the second material of the image sensor and the fourth material of the base being materials having a similar coefficient of thermal expansion to each other. The cover and the frame are adjacent components of the image sensor package having a substantially similar coefficient of thermal expansion to each other, and separately the image sensor and the base are adjacent components of the image sensor package having a substantially similar coefficient of thermal expansion to each other. As discussed on pages 2-6 of the Office Action, there is nothing in the original disclosure that supports all of the cover, frame, image sensor and based having substantially similar coefficients of thermal expansion to one another, and the original disclosure even teaches away from this. As such, Applicant’s arguments with respect to the Examiner’s requirement that Applicant delete the benefit claim or change the relationship to continuation-in-part, are not persuasive.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120 as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994)
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 19/013,711, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. Claim 1 recites a printed circuit board “including a first material having a first coefficient of thermal expansion”, an image sensor “including a second material having a second coefficient of thermal expansion that is substantially similar to the first coefficient of thermal expansion of the printed circuit board”, a sealing configuration including a plurality of third materials wherein “each material from the plurality of third materials having a third coefficient of thermal expansion that is substantially similar to the first coefficient of thermal expansion of the printed circuit board”, and a base “including a fourth material having a fourth coefficient of thermal expansion that is substantially similar to the first coefficient of thermal expansion of the printed circuit board and the second coefficient of thermal expansion of the image sensor”. However, the Examiner has been unable to find any support for the printed circuit board, image sensor, sealing configuration, and base all having substantially similar coefficients of thermal expansion in the parent application 17/887,309. Accordingly, this is new matter, and claim 1 (and its dependent claims 2-9) are not entitled to the benefit of the prior application.
The Examiner has been unable to find any disclosure in the parent application as to what material the printed circuit board includes, or any disclosure as to what the coefficient of thermal expansion of said material of the circuit board is. According to paragraph 0054 of the specification, “the components of sealing configuration 320 may be made from materials that have substantially similar coefficients of thermal expansion. For example, cover 330 may be made from glass while frame 335 may be made from aluminum.” According to paragraph 0058 of the specification “In order to accommodate for thermal expansion of base 405 and image sensor 505, base 405 may be made from a material with a substantially similar coefficient of thermal expansion as the material of image sensor 505”. Based upon these recitations, it appears that the third materials of the sealing configuration (i.e. the cover and the frame) may be materials having a similar coefficient of thermal expansion to each other, and the second material of the image sensor and the fourth material of the base may have a similar coefficient of thermal expansion to each other. However, the Examiner has found no evidence in the parent application that the second materials, third materials, and fourth materials may all be materials having similar coefficients of thermal expansion. There is no disclosure as to how the coefficient of thermal expansion of the materials of the sealing configuration compares to the coefficients of thermal expansion of the materials of the image sensor and the base.
Additionally, paragraph 0061 of the specification recites, “First roller 910 abuts front face 310 of printed circuit board 305 and allows sealing configuration 320 to slide across front face 310 of printed circuit board 305when at least one of cover 330 and/or frame 335 of sealing configuration 320 experiences thermal expansion/contraction during operation of image sensor package 300.” Paragraph 0062 of the specification recites, “Second roller 920 abuts back face 315 of printed circuit board 305 and allows base 405 and image sensor 505 to slide across back face 315 of printed circuit board 305 when at least one of base 405 and/or image sensor 505 experiences thermal expansion/contraction during operation of image sensor package 300.” If the coefficient of thermal expansion of the printed circuit board is substantially similar to the coefficients of thermal expansion of the sealing configuration, base and image sensor, then this sliding motion between the printed circuit board and these other components due to thermal expansion/contraction would not occur. Therefore, the original disclosure of parent application 17/887,309 actually teaches away from the printed circuit board, image sensor, sealing configuration, and base all being made of materials having similar coefficients of thermal expansion.
Claim 10 also recites a printed circuit board “including a first material having a first coefficient of thermal expansion”, an image sensor “including a second material having a second coefficient of thermal expansion that is substantially similar to the first coefficient of thermal expansion of the printed circuit board”, a sealing configuration including a plurality of third materials wherein “each material from the plurality of third materials having a third coefficient of thermal expansion that is substantially similar to the first coefficient of thermal expansion of the printed circuit board”, and a base “including a fourth material having a fourth coefficient of thermal expansion that is substantially similar to the first coefficient of thermal expansion of the printed circuit board and the second coefficient of thermal expansion of the image sensor”. However, the Examiner has been unable to find any support for the printed circuit board, image sensor, sealing configuration, and base all having substantially similar coefficients of thermal expansion in the parent application 17/887,309 for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1. Accordingly, this is new matter, and claim 10 (and its dependent claims 11-17) are not entitled to the benefit of the prior application.
Claim 18 also recites a printed circuit board “including a first material having a first coefficient of thermal expansion”, an image sensor “including a second material having a second coefficient of thermal expansion that is substantially similar to the first coefficient of thermal expansion of the printed circuit board”, and a base “including a fourth material having a fourth coefficient of thermal expansion that is substantially similar to the first coefficient of thermal expansion of the printed circuit board and the second coefficient of thermal expansion of the image sensor”. However, the Examiner has been unable to find any support for the printed circuit board, image sensor, and base all having substantially similar coefficients of thermal expansion in the parent application 17/887,309 for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1. Accordingly, this is new matter, and claim 18 (and its dependent claims 19 and 20) are not entitled to the benefit of the prior application.
Applicant states that this application is a continuation or divisional application of the prior-filed application. A continuation or divisional application cannot include new matter. Applicant is required to delete the benefit claim or change the relationship (continuation or divisional application) to continuation-in-part because this application contains new matter not disclosed in the prior-filed application, as discussed above.
Claim Objections
The objection to claim 7 is hereby removed in view of Applicant’s response.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-8, 10, 11, 13-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2022/0353396) in view of Last et al. (US 2021/0007216).
The Examiner’s response to Applicant’s arguments, as outlined above, is hereby incorporated into the rejection of claims 1, 2, 4-8, 10, 11, 13-16 and 18-20 by reference.
Consider claim 1, Kim et al. teaches:
An image sensor package (see figures 2 and 3), comprising:
a printed circuit board (printed circuit board, 800, paragraph 0042) having a first face (i.e. top face in figures 2 and 3) and a second face (i.e. bottom face in figures 2 and 3) and including a first material having a first coefficient of thermal expansion (The material of the printed circuit board (800) inherently has a first coefficient of thermal expansion.);
an image sensor (image sensor, 810, paragraph 0042) electrically coupled a plurality of mating pads (terminals, 1830, figures 3 and 8) positioned on the first face (top face) of the printed circuit board (800) to surround a perimeter of the image sensor (810, see figures 3 and 8, paragraphs 0182, 0090 and 0107), the image sensor (810) including a second material having a second coefficient of thermal expansion (The material of the image sensor (810) inherently has a second coefficient of thermal expansion.);
a sealing configuration (holder, 600, filter, 610, paragraph 0042) coupled to the first face (top face) of the printed circuit board (800, see figure 2, paragraph 0078), the sealing configuration (600, 610) including a plurality of third materials (i.e. of 600 and 610), each material from among the plurality of third materials having a third coefficient of thermal expansion (The materials of the sealing configuration (600, 610) inherently have a third coefficient of thermal expansion.); and
a base (stiffener, 900, paragraph 0042) coupled to the second face (bottom face) of the printed circuit board (800, see figures 2 and 3, paragraph 0116), the base (900) coupling the image sensor (810) to the printed circuit board (see figures 2 and 3, paragraphs 0088 and 0116), the base (900) including a fourth material having a fourth coefficient of thermal expansion (The material of the base (900) inherently has a fourth coefficient of thermal expansion.).
Kim et al. does not explicitly teach that the first, second, third and fourth coefficients of thermal expansion are substantially similar.
Last et al. similarly teaches an image sensor package (figure 2B) having a printed circuit board (printed circuit board assembly, PCBA, 110, paragraph 0033), an image sensor (image sensor die, 134, paragraph 0034), a sealing configuration (spacer, 138, cover glass, 136, paragraph 0042), and a base (image sensor substrate, 132, paragraphs 0034 and 0039) coupling the image sensor (134) to the circuit board (110, see figure 2B, paragraphs 0034 and 0036).
However, Last et al. additionally teaches that image sensor (134), sealing configuration (138, 136) and base (132) all comprise materials of an image sensor package (130, see figure 2B, paragraphs 0034, 0039 and 0042), and that the coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) of the image sensor package (130) is substantially similar to the coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) of the printed circuit board (“In example embodiments, the PCBA 110 has a PCBA planar coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE). Additionally, the image sensor package 130 has an image sensor planar CTE. In such scenarios, the PCBA planar CTE could be substantially similar to the image sensor planar CTE. That is, the PCBA planar CTE could be selected to be similar (e.g., within 10%, 5%, 1%, or 0.1%) to the image sensor planar CTE.” paragraph 0038. See also, paragraph 0060.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first, second, third and fourth coefficients of thermal expansion of the printed circuit board, image sensor, sealing configuration, and base, respectively, taught by Kim et al. be substantially similar as taught by Last et al. for the benefit of reducing or eliminating instances of cracking or other structural failures due to CTE mismatch (Last et al., paragraph 0032).
Consider claim 2, and as applied to claim 1 above, Kim et al. further teaches that the image sensor (810) is electrically coupled to the printed circuit board (800) via a plurality of wire bonds (wires, 21) that electrically connect the image sensor (810) to the plurality of mating pads (1830) positioned on the first face of the printed circuit board (see figures 3 and 8, paragraph 0106 and 0107).
Consider claim 4, and as applied to claim 1 above, Kim et al. further teaches that the sealing configuration (600, 610) comprises a cover (filter, 610, blocking member, 1500, paragraph 0043) attached to a frame (holder, 600) that surrounds a perimeter of the image sensor (810, see figures 2 and 8), the cover (610, 1500) being made of a fifth material among the plurality of third materials and the frame (600) being made of a sixth material among the plurality of third materials (i.e. the material of the light blocking member (1500), the material of the filter (610), and the material of the frame (600)).
Consider claim 5, and as applied to claim 4 above, the combination of Kim et al. and Last et al. does not explicitly teach that the fifth material and the sixth material comprise glass and aluminum, respectively.
However, Official Notice (MPEP § 2144.03) is taken that both the concepts and advantages of using aluminum as a light blocking member and glass as a filter are well known and expected in the art. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the light blocking member and filter taught by the combination of Kim et al. and Last et al. comprise aluminum and glass, respectively, for the benefit that these are low-cost materials. Additionally, this only involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results such as enabling optical light blocking and filtering.
Consider claim 6, and as applied to claim 1 above, the combination of Kim et al. and Last et al. teaches that the printed circuit board and the sealing configuration expand or contract at substantially similar rates during operation of the image sensor package based on the first coefficient of thermal expansion of the printed circuit board being substantially similar to the third coefficient of thermal expansion of the sealing configuration, and wherein the printed circuit board, the image sensor, and the base expand or contract at substantially similar rates during the operation of the image sensor package based on the first coefficient of thermal expansion of the printed circuit board and the second coefficient of thermal expansion of the image sensor being substantially similar to the fourth coefficient of thermal expansion of the base (i.e. due to the first, second, third and fourth coefficients of thermal expansion being substantially similar, as detailed in the rejection of claim 1).
Consider claim 7, and as applied to claim 1 above, Kim et al. further teaches that the printed circuit board (800) is arranged to surround the image sensor (810, see figures 2, 3 and 8), the printed circuit board (800) including a gap (opening, 801, paragraph 0086) separating the image sensor (810) from abutting the printed circuit board (800, see figure 3), the gap (801) being configured to provide a buffering space for the image sensor (810) to expand or contract during operation of the image sensor package (see figure 3).
Consider claim 8, and as applied to claim 1 above, Kim et al. further teaches a plurality of electronic components (motion sensor, 820, controller, 830) positioned on a second face of the printed circuit board (see figure 1, paragraphs 0109 and 0111), the plurality of electronic components (820, 830) being electrically coupled to a plurality of mating pads positioned on a first face of the printed circuit board (As detailed in paragraph 0109, “The motion sensor 820 may be mounted or disposed on the printed circuit board 800, and may be electrically connected to the controller 830 via a circuit pattern provided on the printed circuit board 800.”).
Consider claim 10, Kim et al. teaches:
A method for assembling an image sensor package (see figures 2 and 3), the method comprising:
electrically coupling an image sensor (image sensor, 810, paragraph 0042) and a plurality of mating pads (terminals, 1830, figures 3 and 8) that are positioned on a first face (i.e. top face) of a printed circuit board (printed circuit board, 800, paragraph 0042) to surround a perimeter of the image sensor (see figures 3 and 8), the printed circuit (800) board having a first material having a first coefficient of thermal expansion and the image sensor including a second material having a second coefficient of thermal expansion (The material of the printed circuit board (800) inherently has a first coefficient of thermal expansion. The material of the image sensor (810) inherently has a second coefficient of thermal expansion.);
mechanically coupling a sealing configuration (holder, 600, filter, 610, paragraph 0042) to the first face (top face) of the printed circuit board (800, see figure 2, paragraph 0078), the sealing configuration (600, 610) including a plurality of third materials (i.e. of 600 and 610), each material from among the plurality of third materials having a third coefficient of thermal expansion (The materials of the sealing configuration (600, 610) inherently have a third coefficient of thermal expansion.); and
mechanically coupling a base (stiffener, 900, paragraph 0042) to the second face (bottom face) of the printed circuit board (800, see figures 2 and 3, paragraph 0116), the base (900) coupling the image sensor (810) to the printed circuit board (see figures 2 and 3, paragraphs 0088 and 0116), the base (900) including a fourth material having a fourth coefficient of thermal expansion (The material of the base (900) inherently has a fourth coefficient of thermal expansion.).
Kim et al. does not explicitly teach that the first, second, third and fourth coefficients of thermal expansion are substantially similar.
Last et al. similarly teaches an image sensor package (figure 2B) having a printed circuit board (printed circuit board assembly, PCBA, 110, paragraph 0033), an image sensor (image sensor die, 134, paragraph 0034), a sealing configuration (spacer, 138, cover glass, 136, paragraph 0042), and a base (image sensor substrate, 132, paragraphs 0034 and 0039) coupling the image sensor (134) to the circuit board (110, see figure 2B, paragraphs 0034 and 0036).
However, Last et al. additionally teaches that image sensor (134), sealing configuration (138, 136) and base (132) all comprise materials of an image sensor package (130, see figure 2B, paragraphs 0034, 0039 and 0042), and that the coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) of the image sensor package (130) is substantially similar to the coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) of the printed circuit board (“In example embodiments, the PCBA 110 has a PCBA planar coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE). Additionally, the image sensor package 130 has an image sensor planar CTE. In such scenarios, the PCBA planar CTE could be substantially similar to the image sensor planar CTE. That is, the PCBA planar CTE could be selected to be similar (e.g., within 10%, 5%, 1%, or 0.1%) to the image sensor planar CTE.” paragraph 0038. See also, paragraph 0060.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first, second, third and fourth coefficients of thermal expansion of the printed circuit board, image sensor, sealing configuration, and base, respectively, taught by Kim et al. be substantially similar as taught by Last et al. for the benefit of reducing or eliminating instances of cracking or other structural failures due to CTE mismatch (Last et al., paragraph 0032).
Consider claim 11, and as applied to claim 10 above, Kim et al. further teaches that the image sensor (810) is electrically coupled to the printed circuit board (800) via a plurality of wire bonds (wires, 21) that electrically connect the image sensor (810) to the plurality of mating pads (1830) positioned on the first face of the printed circuit board (see figures 3 and 8, paragraph 0106 and 0107).
Consider claim 13, and as applied to claim 10 above, Kim et al. further teaches that the sealing configuration (600, 610) comprises a cover (filter, 610, blocking member, 1500, paragraph 0043) attached to a frame (holder, 600) that surrounds a perimeter of the image sensor (810, see figures 2 and 8), the cover (610, 1500) being made of a first material among the plurality of third materials and a second material among the plurality of third materials (i.e. the material of the filter (610) and the material of the light blocking member (1500)).
Consider claim 14, and as applied to claim 10 above, the combination of Kim et al. and Last et al. teaches that the printed circuit board and the sealing configuration expand or contract at substantially similar rates during operation of the image sensor package based on the first coefficient of thermal expansion of the printed circuit board being substantially similar to the third coefficient of thermal expansion of the sealing configuration, and wherein the printed circuit board, the image sensor, and the base expand or contract at substantially similar rates during the operation of the image sensor package based on the first coefficient of thermal expansion of the printed circuit board and the second coefficient of thermal expansion of the image sensor being substantially similar to the fourth coefficient of thermal expansion of the base (i.e. due to the first, second, third and fourth coefficients of thermal expansion being substantially similar, as detailed in the rejection of claim 1).
Consider claim 15, and as applied to claim 10 above, Kim et al. further teaches that the printed circuit board (800) is arranged to surround the image sensor (810, see figures 2, 3 and 8), the printed circuit board (800) including a gap (opening, 801, paragraph 0086) separating the image sensor (810) from abutting the printed circuit board (800, see figure 3), the gap (801) being configured to provide a buffering space for the image sensor (810) to expand or contract during operation of the image sensor package (see figure 3).
Consider claim 16, and as applied to claim 10 above, Kim et al. further teaches a plurality of electronic components (motion sensor, 820, controller, 830) positioned on a second face of the printed circuit board (see figure 1, paragraphs 0109 and 0111), the plurality of electronic components (820, 830) being electrically coupled to a plurality of mating pads positioned on a first face of the printed circuit board (As detailed in paragraph 0109, “The motion sensor 820 may be mounted or disposed on the printed circuit board 800, and may be electrically connected to the controller 830 via a circuit pattern provided on the printed circuit board 800.”).
Consider claim 18, Kim et al. teaches:
An image sensor package (see figures 2 and 3), comprising:
a printed circuit board (printed circuit board, 800, paragraph 0042) including a first material having a first coefficient of thermal expansion (The material of the printed circuit board (800) inherently has a first coefficient of thermal expansion.), the printed circuit board (800) including an image sensor (image sensor, 810, paragraph 0042) electrically coupled to the printed circuit board (i.e. via mating pads 1830, see figures 3 and 8, paragraphs 0182, 0090 and 0107), the image sensor (810) including a second material having a second coefficient of thermal expansion (The material of the image sensor (810) inherently has a second coefficient of thermal expansion.); and
a base (stiffener, 900, paragraph 0042) coupled to the printed circuit board (800, see figures 2 and 3, paragraph 0116), the base (900) coupling the image sensor (810) to the printed circuit board (see figures 2 and 3, paragraphs 0088 and 0116), the base (900) including a fourth material having a fourth coefficient of thermal expansion (The material of the base (900) inherently has a fourth coefficient of thermal expansion.).
Kim et al. does not explicitly teach that the first, second, and fourth coefficients of thermal expansion are substantially similar.
Last et al. similarly teaches an image sensor package (figure 2B) having a printed circuit board (printed circuit board assembly, PCBA, 110, paragraph 0033), an image sensor (image sensor die, 134, paragraph 0034), and a base (image sensor substrate, 132, paragraphs 0034 and 0039) coupling the image sensor (134) to the circuit board (110, see figure 2B, paragraphs 0034 and 0036).
However, Last et al. additionally teaches that image sensor (134) and base (132) both comprise materials of an image sensor package (130, see figure 2B, paragraphs 0034, 0039 and 0042), and that the coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) of the image sensor package (130) is substantially similar to the coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) of the printed circuit board (“In example embodiments, the PCBA 110 has a PCBA planar coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE). Additionally, the image sensor package 130 has an image sensor planar CTE. In such scenarios, the PCBA planar CTE could be substantially similar to the image sensor planar CTE. That is, the PCBA planar CTE could be selected to be similar (e.g., within 10%, 5%, 1%, or 0.1%) to the image sensor planar CTE.” paragraph 0038. See also, paragraph 0060.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first, second, and fourth coefficients of thermal expansion of the printed circuit board, image sensor, and base, respectively, taught by Kim et al. be substantially similar as taught by Last et al. for the benefit of reducing or eliminating instances of cracking or other structural failures due to CTE mismatch (Last et al., paragraph 0032).
Consider claim 19, and as applied to claim 18 above, the combination of Kim et al. and Last et al. teaches that the printed circuit board, the image sensor, and the base expand or contract at substantially similar rates during the operation of the image sensor package based on the first coefficient of thermal expansion of the printed circuit board and the second coefficient of thermal expansion of the image sensor being substantially similar to the fourth coefficient of thermal expansion of the base (i.e. due to the first, second and fourth coefficients of thermal expansion being substantially similar, as detailed in the rejection of claim 18).
Consider claim 20, and as applied to claim 19 above, Kim et al. further teaches a plurality of electronic components (motion sensor, 820, controller, 830) positioned on a second face of the printed circuit board (see figure 1, paragraphs 0109 and 0111), the plurality of electronic components (820, 830) being electrically coupled to a plurality of mating pads positioned on a first face of the printed circuit board (As detailed in paragraph 0109, “The motion sensor 820 may be mounted or disposed on the printed circuit board 800, and may be electrically connected to the controller 830 via a circuit pattern provided on the printed circuit board 800.”).
Claims 9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2022/0353396) in view of Last et al. (US 2021/0007216), as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Okamura et al. (US 2017/0104022).
Consider claims 9 and 17, and as applied to claims 8 and 16 above, the combination of Kim et al. and Last et al. does not explicitly teach that the base comprises a channel surrounding the image sensor, the plurality of electronic components being positioned in the channel.
Okamura et al. similarly teaches an image sensor package (figure 3) having a base (flat plate, 4) on which an image sensor (image pickup element, 10) is mounted (see paragraphs 0017 and 0030).
However, Okamura et al. additionally teaches that the base comprises a channel (opening, 6a, paragraph 0078) surrounding the image sensor (10, see figure 3), a plurality of electronic components (electronic components, 22) being positioned in the channel (see figure 3, paragraph 0078).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the plurality of electronic components taught by the combination of Kim et al. and Last et al. be positioned in a channel of the base surrounding the image sensor as taught by Okamura et al. for the benefit of reducing an inclination of an image pickup device caused by placement of the electronic components (Okamura et al., paragraph 0005).
Claims 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2022/0353396) in view of Last et al. (US 2021/0007216), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bozkaya et al. (US 2019/0293896).
Consider claims 3 and 12, and as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, Kim et al. further teaches that the sealing configuration (600, 610) is coupled to the first face of the printed circuit board (800) with a first adhesive (“The holder 600 may be attached or fixed to the upper surface of the printed circuit board 800 using an adhesive member such as an epoxy, a thermosetting adhesive, or an ultraviolet curable adhesive.” paragraph 0085), and wherein the base (900) is coupled to the second face of the printed circuit board (800) with a second adhesive (“In addition, an adhesive member 1700 may be disposed between the lower surface of the printed circuit board 800 and the upper surface 900a of the second region S2 of the stiffener 900, and the printed circuit board 800 may be attached or fixed to the stiffener 900 using the adhesive member 1700. For example, the adhesive member 1700 may be an epoxy, a thermosetting adhesive, an ultraviolet curable adhesive, or an adhesive film, without being limited thereto.” paragraph 0116).
However, the combination of Kim et al. and Last et al. does not explicitly teach using a plurality of fasteners instead of the adhesives.
Bozkaya et al. similarly teaches an image sensor package (figure 8) with a component thereof (lens holder, 250) attached to a circuit board (20, see figure 8, paragraphs 0034 and 0023).
However, Bozkaya et al. additionally teaches that the component (250) is attached to the circuit board using fasteners (i.e. screws, 24, see figure 8, paragraphs 0023, 0034 and 0039).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have use a plurality of fasteners as taught by Bozkaya et al. instead of the adhesives taught by the combination of Kim et al. and Last et al. for the benefit of improving device placement (Bozkaya et al., paragraph 0021).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALBERT H CUTLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637