DETAILED ACTION
2. This communication is a first office action, non-final rejection on the merits. Claims 1-20, as originally filed, are currently pending and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-3, 5-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prahlad et al. (WO-2015/142911 A1) in view of Bollore et al. (FR-2623632 B1).
As Per Claim 1, Prahlad et al. (Prahlad) discloses, an electroadhesive gripping system with smart brake and metering, wherein, a boundary flap (a curtain 110 or sectioned curtain comprising one or more electroadhesive surfaces 115 including one or more electrodes; [00121]; Fig. 6) for defining boundaries(an object 50 in a conveyance system of any type i.e.: chute, roller system, roller conveyor, braking system, etc., is easily metered by applying a voltage to the electrodes in the curtain to induce an attraction to the passing object; [00121])
of entryways or other locations (location of curtain 110; Fig. 6) on, within or associated with a machine or equipment (conveyance system; [00121]; figure 6), comprising: a flap (sectioned curtain 110, in any one of the system embodiments, the electroadhesive surface comprises: a pad, a curtain, a flap, a strip, chute, a slide, a roller, a carousel, a door, an arm, a partition, a step, a platform, a table, an undulating surface, a decline surface, and an incline surface; [0014], [00121];Fig. 6) and a sensor (the sensor is positioned in the electroadhesive braking region; paragraph [00128]) disposed in or on the flap. (flexible electroadhesive surface comprises a curtain, a flexible or swinging door, a flap, a partition, a pad, or a strap; paragraph [0095]).
However, Prahlad does not explicitly teach, a piezoelectric sensor.
In an analogous art, Bollore discloses, textile structure for collect9ing and technique for converting a pressure variation into an electric signal ,wherein, a piezoelectric sensor (a sensor of the piezoelectric type, allowing the detection of a variation of pressure on a relatively important surface, by obtaining an electrical signal relatively independent of the heterogeneity of the medium in which the surface of detection is; figure 2; EMT page 10, paragraphs 3-4) disposed in or on a flexible textile structure (the sensor consists of a technical textile structure including, on the one hand a tablecloth of son of mechanical stand, and on the other hand at least a plurality of piezoelectric cables of the coaxial type definite previously, in parallel laid out and remote from/to each other; figure 2; EMT page 10, paragraphs 3-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Prahlad and Bollore before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Prahlad to include the teachings ( the piezoelectric sensor) of Bollore and configure with the system of Prahlad dispose in or on the flap in order to provide a piezo electric textile structure which does not require any intermediate support for its implementation which can be directly installed on a textile face. Motivation to combine the two teachings is, to instantly convert physical changes—like movement, pressure, force, vibration, and acceleration into readable electrical signals (i.e., an added feature to enhance measuring of the surface state of the textile).
As per Claim 2, Prahlad as modified by Bollore teaches the limitation of Claim 1. However, Prahlad in view of Bollore does not explicitly teach, wherein, the piezoelectric sensor comprises a piezoelectric coaxial cable sensor or a piezoelectric film sensor.
However, Bollore teaches, wherein, the piezoelectric sensor comprises a piezoelectric coaxial cable sensor (at least a plurality of piezoelectric cables of the coaxial type; figure l; EMT page 10, paragraph 4) or a piezoelectric film sensor. (See claim 1 above for rationale supporting obviousness, motivation, and reason to combine.).
As per Claim 3, Prahlad as modified by Bollore teaches the limitation of Claim 1. However, Prahlad in view of Bollore teaches, wherein, the flap comprises a first flap member (a first flap member of sectioned curtain 110; paragraphs [0014], [00121]; figure 6) and a second flap member; (another flap member of sectioned curtain 110; figure 6; paragraphs [0014], [00121]: figure 6), wherein an electroadhesive conductor (conductor 2601; paragraph [00152]; figures 26a-26C) disposed between the first and second flap members; (first and second layers of TPU 2600; paragraph [00152]; figure 26C) and wherein the first and second flap members are attached together (See FIG 26, the electroadhesive surface is a conductor, 2601, coated on both sides with polyurethane, 2600; paragraph [00152]; figures 24A-C).
However, Prahlad does not explicitly teach, wherein the piezoelectric sensor comprises a piezoelectric coaxial cable sensor
However, Bollore teaches, wherein the piezoelectric sensor (a sensor of the piezoelectric type, allowing the detection of a variation of pressure on a relatively important surface, by obtaining an electrical signal relatively independent of the heterogeneity of the medium in which the surface of detection is; figure 2; EMT page 10, paragraphs 3-4) comprises a piezoelectric coaxial cable sensor (at least a plurality of piezoelectric cables of the coaxial type; figure 1; EMT page 10, paragraph 4). (See claim 1 above for rationale supporting obviousness, motivation, and reason to combine.).
As per Claim 5, Prahlad as modified by Bollore teaches the limitation of Claim 1. However, Prahlad in view of Bollore teaches, wherein, the flap is made from polyurethane ( Prahlad : via the electroadhesive surface is a conductor, 2601, coated on both sides with polyurethane, 2600. In some embodiments, the polyurethane is thermoplastic polyurethane TPU; [00152]).
As per Claim 6, Prahlad as modified by Bollore teaches the limitation of Claim 3. However, Prahlad in view of Bollore teaches, wherein the first and second flap members are made from polyurethane, (Prahlad : via the electroadhesive surface is a conductor, 2601, coated on both sides with polyurethane, 2600. In some embodiments, the polyurethane is thermoplastic polyurethane TPU, [00152]).
As Per Claim 7, Prahlad et al. ( Prahlad) discloses, an electroadhesive gripping system with smart brake and metering, wherein, a material processing or handling machine (conveyance system; [00121]; Fig.6) having an entryway or other location (location of curtain 110; Fig. 6) on, within or associated with the machine, (conveyance system; [00121]; Fig. 6) comprising: one or more boundary flaps (a curtain 110 or sectioned curtain comprising one or more electroadhesive surfaces 115 including one or more electrodes; [00121]; figure 6) for designating one or more boundaries (an object 50 in a conveyance system of any type i.e.: chute, roller system, roller conveyor, braking system, etc., is easily metered by applying a voltage to the electrodes in the curtain to induce an attraction to the passing object; [00121]) associated with the entryway or other location (location of curtain 110; Fig. 6) on, within or associated with the machine; (conveyance system; [00121]; Fig. 6); and one or more sensors (the sensor is positioned in the electroadhesive braking region; [00128]) disposed in or on the one or more boundary flaps (via flexible electroadhesive surface comprises a curtain, a flexible or swinging door, a flap, a partition, a pad, or a strap; [0095]).
However, Prahlad does not explicitly teach, one or more piezoelectric sensors disposed in or on the one or more boundary flaps.
In an analogous art, Bollore discloses, textile structure for collecting and technique for converting a pressure variation into an electric signal ,wherein, one or more piezoelectric sensors (a sensor of the piezoelectric type, allowing the detection of a variation of pressure on a relatively important surface, by obtaining an electrical signal relatively independent of the heterogeneity of the medium in which the surface of detection is; figure 2; EMT page 10, paragraph 3-4],
disposed in or on one or more technical textiles (the sensor consists of a technical textile structure including, on the one hand, a tablecloth of son of mechanical stand, and on the other hand at least a plurality of piezoelectric cables of the coaxial type definite previously, in parallel laid out and remote from/to each other; Fig.2; EMT page 10, paragraph 3-4]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Prahlad and Bollore before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Prahlad to include the teachings ( the piezoelectric sensor) of Bollore and configure with the system of Prahlad dispose in or on the flap in order to provide a piezo electric textile structure which does not require any intermediate support for its implementation which can be directly installed on a textile face. Motivation to combine the two teachings is, to instantly convert physical changes—like pressure, force, vibration, and acceleration into readable electrical signals (i.e., an added feature to enhance measuring of the surface state of the textile).
As per Claim 8, Prahlad as modified by Bollore teaches the limitation of Claim 7. However, Prahlad in view of Bollore teaches, wherein, each of the one or more piezoelectric sensors comprises a piezoelectric coaxial cable sensor (Bollore: at least a plurality of piezoelectric cables of the coaxial type; figure 1; EMT page 10, paragraph 4) or a piezoelectric film sensor. (See claim 7 above for rationale supporting obviousness, motivation, and reason to combine.).
As per Claim 9, Prahlad as modified by Bollore teaches the limitation of Claim 7. However, Prahlad teaches, wherein, each of the one or more boundary flaps comprises a first flap member (Prahlad: a first flap member of sectioned curtain 110; [0014], [00121]; Fig. 6) and a second flap member (another flap member of sectioned curtain 110; Fig. 6; [0014], [00121]: Fig. 6); wherein an electroadhesive conductor (conductor 2601; paragraph [00152]; Figs. 26a-26C) disposed between the first and second flap members; (first and second layers of TPU 2600; [00152]; Fig.26C); and wherein the first and second flap members are attached together (as illustrated in FIG .26, the electroadhesive surface is a conductor, 2601, coated on both sides with polyurethane, 2600; [00152]; Figs. 24A-C).
However, Prahlad does not explicitly teach, wherein the piezoelectric sensor comprises a piezoelectric coaxial cable sensor.
However, Bollore teaches, wherein the one or more piezoelectric sensors (a sensor of the piezoelectric type, allowing the detection of a variation of pressure on a relatively important surface, by obtaining an electrical signal relatively independent of the heterogeneity of the medium in which the surface of detection is; figure 2; EMT page 10, 3-4) comprises a piezoelectric coaxial cable sensor (at least a plurality of piezoelectric cables of the coaxial type; figure 1; EMT page 10, paragraph 4). (See claim 1 above for rationale supporting obviousness, motivation, and reason to combine.).
As per Claim 10, Prahlad as modified by Bollore teaches the limitation of Claim 7. However, Prahlad teaches, wherein, the one or more boundary flaps are made from polyurethane (Prahlad : the electroadhesive surface is a conductor, 2601, coated on both sides with polyurethane, 2600. In some embodiments, the polyurethane is thermoplastic polyurethane TPU; paragraph [00152]).
As Per Claim 11, Prahlad et al. ( Prahlad) discloses, a material processing or handling machine(conveyance system; paragraph [00121]; figure 6) having an entryway or other location (location of curtain 110; figure 6) on, within or associated with the machine, (conveyance system;[00121]; Fig. 6) comprising: one or more boundary flaps (a curtain 110 or sectioned curtain comprising one or more electroadhesive surfaces 115 including one or more electrodes; [00121]; Fig. 6) for designating one or more boundaries (an object 50 in a conveyance system of any type i.e.: chute, roller system, roller conveyor, braking system, etc., is easily metered by applying a voltage to the electrodes in the curtain to induce an attraction to the passing object; [00121]) associated with the entryway or other location (location of curtain 110; Fig. 6) on, within or associated with the machine; (conveyance system; [00121]; Fig. 6) one or more sensors (the sensor is positioned in the electroadhesive braking region; [00128]) disposed in or on the one or more boundary flaps; (flexible electroadhesive surface comprises a curtain, a flexible or swinging door, a flap, a partition, a pad, or a strap; [0095]), and a computer or other processor (the system comprises an electroadhesive film surface with one or more electrodes at or near the electroadhesive gripping surface, a power supply, a controller, a sensor and a processor, wherein the system interprets material handling information based on various parameters detected in a material handling process and apply the use of electroadhesive surfaces to appropriately meter the flow of objects; [0050]) in wired or wireless communication (receive object data; [0083], applying a voltage, [0085]) with the one or more sensors (the system interprets material handling information based on various parameters detected in a material handling process; paragraph [0050]) disposed in or on the one or more boundary flaps. (flexible electroadhesive surface comprises a curtain, a flexible or swinging door, a flap, a partition, a pad, or a strap; [0095])
However, Prahlad does not explicitly disclose, one or more piezoelectric sensors with the one or more piezoelectric sensors disposed in or on the one or more boundary flaps.
However, Bollore discloses, with the one or more piezoelectric sensors (a sensor of the piezoelectric type, allowing the detection of a variation of pressure on a relatively important surface, by obtaining an electrical signal relatively independent of the heterogeneity of the medium in which the surface of detection is; Fig. 2; EMT page 10, paragraphs 3-4) disposed in or on the one or more boundary flaps. (the sensor consists of a technical textile structure including, on the one hand a tablecloth of son of mechanical stand, and on the other hand at least a plurality of piezoelectric cables of the coaxial type definite previously, in parallel laid out and remote from/to each other; figure 2; EMT page 10, paragraphs 3-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Prahlad and Bollore before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Prahlad to include the teachings ( the piezoelectric sensor) of Bollore and configure with the system of Prahlad dispose in or on the flap in order to provide a piezo electric textile structure which does not require any intermediate support for its implementation which can be directly installed on a textile face. Motivation to combine the two teachings is, to instantly convert physical changes—like movement, pressure, force, vibration, and acceleration into readable electrical signals (i.e., an added feature to enhance measuring of the surface state of the textile).
As per Claim 12, Prahlad as modified by Bollore teaches the limitation of Claim 11. However, Prahlad does not explicitly teach, wherein, each of the one or more piezoelectric sensors comprises a piezoelectric coaxial cable sensor or a piezoelectric film sensor.
However, Bollore teaches, wherein, each of the one or more piezoelectric sensors comprises a piezoelectric coaxial cable sensor (Bollore : at least a plurality of piezoelectric cables of the coaxial type; Fig.1; EMT page 10, paragraph 4) or a piezoelectric film sensor. (See claim 11 above for rationale supporting obviousness, motivation, and reason to combine.).
As per Claim 13, Prahlad as modified by Bollore teaches the limitation of Claim 11. However, Prahlad in view of Bollore teaches, wherein, each of the one or more boundary flaps comprises a first flap member(a first flap member of sectioned curtain 110; [0014], [00121]; Fig.6) and a second flap member; (another flap member of sectioned curtain 110; figure 6; [0014], [00121]: figure 6),wherein an electroadhesive conductor (conductor 2601; paragraph [00152]; figures 26a-26C) is disposed between the first and second flap members; (first and second layers of TPU 2600; paragraph [00152]; figure 26C) and wherein the first and second flap members are attached together (as illustrated in FIG 26, the electroadhesive surface is a conductor, 2601, coated on both sides with polyurethane, 2600; paragraph [00152]; figures 24A-C).
However, Prahlad does not explicitly teach, wherein the piezoelectric sensor comprises a piezoelectric coaxial cable sensor.
However, Bollore teaches, wherein the piezoelectric sensors (a sensor of the piezoelectric type, allowing the detection of a variation of pressure on a relatively important surface, by obtaining an electrical signal relatively independent of the heterogeneity of the medium in which the surface of detection is; figure 2; EMT page 10, paragraphs 3-4) comprises a piezoelectric coaxial cable sensor (at least a plurality of piezoelectric cables of the coaxial type; figure 1; EMT page 10, paragraph 4]). (See claim 11 above for rationale supporting obviousness, motivation, and reason to combine.).
Claim 14 is being rejected using the same rationale as claim 3.
As per Claim 15, Prahlad as modified by Bollore teaches the limitation of Claim 11. However, Prahlad in view of Bollore teaches, wherein, the one or more boundary flaps are made from polyurethane. (Prahlad : the electroadhesive surface is a conductor, 2601, coated on both sides with polyurethane, 2600. In some embodiments, the polyurethane is thermoplastic polyurethane TPU, paragraph [00152]).
As per Claim 16, Prahlad as modified by Bollore teaches the limitation of Claim 13. However, Prahlad in view of Bollore teaches, wherein, the one or more boundary flaps are made from polyurethane. ( Prahlad : via the electroadhesive surface is a conductor, 2601, coated on both sides with polyurethane, 2600. In some embodiments, the polyurethane is thermoplastic polyurethane TPU, paragraph [00152]).
As per Claim 17, Prahlad as modified by Bollore teaches the limitation of Claim 14. However, Prahlad in view of Bollore teaches, wherein, the one or more boundary flaps are made from polyurethane. ( Prahlad : via the electroadhesive surface is a conductor, 2601, coated on both sides with polyurethane, 2600. In some embodiments, the polyurethane is thermoplastic polyurethane TPU, paragraph [00152]).
As per Claim 20, Prahlad as modified by Bollore teaches the limitation of Claim 11. However, Prahlad in view of Bollore does not explicitly teach, wherein, the one or more piezoelectric sensors disposed in or on the one or more boundary flaps are calibrated to minimize false-positives and false- negatives with respect to movements of the one or more boundary flaps from causes other than material existing or moving at the one or more boundaries associated with the entryway or other location on, within or associated with the machine.
However, Bollore teaches, wherein, the one or more piezoelectric sensors (a sensor of the piezoelectric type, allowing the detection of a variation of pressure on a relatively important surface, by obtaining an electrical signal relatively independent of the heterogeneity of the medium in which the surface of detection is; figure 2; EMT page 10, paragraphs 3-4) disposed in or on the one or more boundary flaps (the sensor consists of a technical textile structure including, on the one hand a tablecloth of son of mechanical stand, and on the other hand at least a plurality of piezoelectric cables of the coaxial type definite previously, in parallel laid out and remote from/to each other; figure 2; EMT page 10, paragraphs 3-4) are calibrated to minimize false-positives and false- negatives (a sensor of the piezoelectric type, allowing the detection of a variation of pressure on a relatively important surface, by obtaining
an electrical signal relatively independent of the heterogeneity of the medium in which the surface of detection is; EMT page 10; paragraph 3) with respect to movements of the one or more boundary flaps (relatively insensitive with the local or specific differences of the medium or environment in which is the surface sensor according to the invention; EMT page 1O; paragraph 7) from causes other than material existing or moving at the one or more boundaries associated with the entryway or other location on, within or associated with the machine. ( the piezoelectric cables are subjected to no constraint, such as torsion or lengthening, likely to modify or deteriorate their electric answer; EMT page 11; paragraph 3). (See claim 1 above for rationale supporting obviousness, motivation, and reason to combine.).
5. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prahlad et al. (WO-2015/142911 A1) in view of Bollore et al. (FR-2623632 B1) in view of Kawamura (WO-2016/027615A1).
As per Claim 4, Prahlad as modified by Bollore teaches the limitation of Claim 1. However, Prahlad in view of Bollore teaches, wherein, the flap comprises a first flap member (a first flap member of sectioned curtain 110; paragraphs [0014], [00121]; figure 6)and a second flap member; (another flap member of sectioned curtain 110; figure 6; paragraphs [0014], [00121]: figure 6), wherein an electroadhesive conductor (conductor 2601; paragraph [00152]; Figs.26a-26C) disposed between the first and second flap members; (first and second layers of TPU 2600; paragraph [00152]; Fig. 26C) and wherein the first and second flap members are attached together. (See Fig.26, the electroadhesive surface is a conductor, 2601, coated on both sides with polyurethane, 2600; paragraph [00152]; figures 24A-C).
However, Prahlad does not explicitly teach, wherein the piezoelectric sensor comprises a piezoelectric film sensor.
In an analogous art, Kawamura teaches, wherein the piezoelectric sensor comprises a piezoelectric film sensor, ( via “FIG. 1 is a schematic diagram showing an overview of a piezoelectric film sensor. The piezoelectric film sensor 1 according to this example includes a sensor unit 11 and a circuit unit 12, and holds the sensor unit 11 and the circuit unit 12 by two holding members 13a and 13b. The piezoelectric film sensor 1 is a sensor that is attached to a predetermined location and detects minute movements and deformations of the location. For example, the sensor unit 11 is attached to the skin, and the movement of the skin or the movement of the skin is detected”., Page 36 last 2 paragraphs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Prahlad, Bollore and Kawamura before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Prahlad to include the teachings ( the piezoelectric film sensor 1) of Kawamura and configure with the system of Prahlad in order to attach piezoelectric film sensor to a predetermined location and detects minute movements and deformations of the location.
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MUHAMMAD SHAFI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3666C