CTNF 19/013,751 CTNF 101002 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement 06-52 The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/08/2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Unosawa (US 20040061738 A1) . Regarding claim 1, Unosawa teaches an ink jet print head (Figure 1 displays a “head cartridge 1” described in paragraph [0023].) having a nozzle face arranged form a gap (Figure 2 displays how the “recording section 10” is a “region between the recording head 1a and the platen 18” as described in paragraph [0026].) with surface of a media conveyor (Figure 2 displays how the “carrier roller 11”, “platen 18”, and “sheet discharge roller 15” make up the ), an air duct (Figure 2 displays the “suction box 21” described in paragraph [0028].) and a suction blower (Figure 2 displays the “fan 19” within the “suction box 21” described in paragraph [0028]) arranged to withdraw air from said gap (Figure 2 displays how the “fan 19” suctions air from the “recording section 10” as shown with the arrow and described in paragraph [0028]), and an array of electrodes (Figure 3 displays the “first electrode 22” and “second electrode 23” as described in paragraphs [0041]-[0042].) arranged to create an inhomogeneous electric field for attracting droplets of an ink mist (Paragraphs [0041]-[0042] describe how the two electrodes can be used together to effectively collect the ink mist by having the electrodes charged with different polarities.), wherein said array of electrodes is arranged within the air duct (Figure 3 displays the “electrodes 22 and 23” within the “suction box 21” as described in paragraph [0041].) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 2-3 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Unosawa (US 20040061738 A1) in view of Hirato (US 20080225080 A1) . Unosawa discloses the following claimed limitations: Regarding claim 3, wherein the electrodes extend in parallel to one another (Figure 3 displays how the “first electrode 22” and the “second electrode 23” are arranged in the “suction box 21” parallel to each other.). Unosawa does not teach the following claimed limitations: Regarding claim 2, wherein said array of electrodes comprises at least one electrode plate constituted by an electrically insulating plate with the electrodes embedded therein. Regarding claim 8, wherein a filter is provided in the air duct downstream of the array of electrodes. Hirato teaches the following claimed limitations: Regarding claim 2 , wherein said array of electrodes comprises at least one electrode plate constituted by an electrically insulating plate with the electrodes embedded therein (Figure 3 displays how the “electrodes 60” are configured to have both the “positive and negative electrodes 64 and 66” that are formed directly on the “insulating substrate 68” described in paragraph [0050].). Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the print head taught by Unosawa to also apply wherein said array of electrodes comprises at least one electrode plate constituted by an electrically insulating plate with the electrodes embedded therein taught by Hirato, for the purpose of controlling the temperature (Hirato, paragraph [0079]). Regarding claim 8, wherein a filter is provided in the air duct downstream of the array of electrodes (Figure 8 displays the “filter (mist absorbing member 88)” provided in the “duct 84” downstream of the “electrodes 60”.). Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the print head taught by Unosawa to also apply wherein a filter is provided in the air duct downstream of the array of electrodes taught by Hirato, for the purpose of absorbing any mist that is suctioned and is contained (Hirato, paragraph [0069]) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Unosawa (US 20040061738 A1) as modified by Hirato (US 20080225080 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Berolini et al. (US 11664169 B2) Unosawa as modifiy by Hirato does not teach the following claimed limitations: Regarding claim 4, wherein at least two electrode plates constitute a labyrinth causing the air flow in the air duct to meander. Regarding claim 5, wherein the electrode plates are formed on parallel plates that constitute side walls of the air duct. Regarding claim 6, wherein the electrode plates form two interleaved comb-like structures. Berolini teaches the following claimed limitation: Regarding claim 4 , wherein at least two electrode plates constitute a labyrinth causing the air flow in the air duct to meander (Figures 1B and 1E display how the “electrode layers 102 and 104” are arranged so that the “electrodes 106 and 108” are alternating in an overlapping path as described in Column 18, lines 26-35.). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to apply wherein at least two electrode plates constitute a labyrinth causing the air flow in the air duct to meander taught by Berolini into Unosawa as modifiy by Hirato for the purpose of for the purpose of allowing overlap of the layer (Berolini, column 15, lines 25-32). Regarding claim 5, wherein the electrode plates are formed on parallel plates that constitute side walls of the air duct (Figure 1E displays how the “electrode layers 102 and 104” are formed on the “first external terminal 118” and the “second external terminal 120” which are shown to be parallel.). It would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the print head taught by Unosawa to also apply wherein the electrode plates are formed on parallel plates that constitute side walls of the air duct taught by Berolini. This would have been done for the purpose of manufacturing preferences. Regarding claim 6, wherein the electrode plates form two interleaved comb-like structures (Figure 1E displays how the “electrode layers 102 and 104” have the “electrodes 106 and 108” arranged to form a comb-like structure at least three times.). It would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the print head taught by Unosawa to also apply wherein the electrode plates form two interleaved comb-like structures taught by Berolini. This would have been done for the purpose of allowing overlap of the layer (Berolini, column 15, lines 25-32) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Unosawa in view of Arimizu et al. (US 20150273835 A1) . Unosawa teaches all the claimed limitations except for the following: Regarding claim 7, wherein the air duct is narrowed to form a throttle at a position upstream of the array of electrodes, and an intake duct for ambient air enters into the air duct at a position downstream of the throttle and upstream of the array of electrodes. Arimizu teaches the following claimed limitations: Regarding claim 7, wherein the air duct is narrowed to form a throttle at a position upstream of the array of electrodes (Figure 9A-9C displays how the paths of the “blowing-out/suction mechanism 14” come together so that the “blowing-out opening 7” and “suction openings 8” are close together. Figure 6C further displays how the openings “7 and 8” can be arranged at an angle further narrowing the distance), and an intake duct for ambient air enters into the air duct at a position downstream of the throttle and upstream of the array of electrodes (Figures 9A-9C display how the “suction opening 8” is positioned downstream of where the paths are narrowed together and is upstream of the ”electrodes 18” shown in Figures 7A-7B). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to apply wherein the air duct is narrowed to form a throttle at a position upstream of the array of electrodes, and an intake duct for ambient air enters into the air duct at a position downstream of the throttle and upstream of the array of electrodes taught by Arimizu into Unosawa, for the purpose of efficiently collecting the mist (Arimizu, paragraph [0037]). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NATASHA DEPHENIA QUINN whose telephone number is (571)272-6375. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 6:30 - 4:00 CT. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ricardo Magallanes can be reached at (571) 272-5960. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /N.D.Q./Examiner, Art Unit 2853 /KRISTAL FEGGINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853 Application/Control Number: 19/013,751 Page 2 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 19/013,751 Page 3 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 19/013,751 Page 4 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 19/013,751 Page 5 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 19/013,751 Page 6 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 19/013,751 Page 7 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 19/013,751 Page 9 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 19/013,751 Page 10 Art Unit: 2853