DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment Acknowledgement
The Preliminary Amendment filed on 05/07/2025 has been acknowledged and considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hammerschmidt et al. (Pub. No. US 2022/0137177).
Regarding claim 1. Hammerschmidt teaches a ranging method, applied to a first communication apparatus comprising a first ultra-wideband system and a first narrowband system (Hammerschmidt, the Abstract), the method comprising:
receiving, by the first ultra-wideband system, ranging configuration information from the first narrowband system, wherein the ranging configuration information is determined by the first narrowband system and a second narrowband system of a second communication apparatus through negotiation (Hammerschmidt, Fig. 14, pp [102]; Fig. 31, pp [169]-[175]: transmitting/receiving packets conveying synchronization information or ranging information via a narrowband between a first and a second devices); and
generating, by the first ultra-wideband system, a first ranging frame based on the ranging configuration information, wherein the first ranging frame is used to measure a distance between the first communication apparatus and the second communication apparatus (Hammerschmidt, Fig. 14, pp [102]; Fig. 31, pp [169]-[175]: transmitting/receiving fragments/packets via an ultra-wideband for determining range or distance between the two devices).
Regarding claim 11. Hammerschmidt teaches a communication apparatus, comprising a first ultra-wideband system and a first narrowband system, and wherein the first ultra-wideband system comprises a first transceiver and a first processor (Hammerschmidt, the Abstract), wherein
the first transceiver is configured to receive ranging configuration information from the first narrowband system, wherein the ranging configuration information is determined by the first narrowband system and a second narrowband system of a second communication apparatus through negotiation (Hammerschmidt, Fig. 14, pp [102]; Fig. 31, pp [169]-[175]: transmitting/receiving packets conveying synchronization information or ranging information via a narrowband between a first and a second devices); and
the first processor is configured to generate a first ranging frame based on the ranging configuration information, wherein the first ranging frame is used to measure a distance between the communication apparatus and the second communication apparatus (Hammerschmidt, Fig. 14, pp [102]; Fig. 31, pp [169]-[175]: transmitting/receiving fragments/packets via an ultra-wideband for determining range or distance between the two devices).
Regarding claim 2. Hammerschmidt teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the ranging configuration information comprises a ranging key and a ranging parameter (Hammerschmidt, Figs. 43 and 44, pp [210]-[211]: ranging information, session parameters).
Regarding claim 3. Hammerschmidt teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein the ranging key comprises a session key (Hammerschmidt, Figs. 43 and 44, pp [210]-[211]: ranging information, session parameters).
Regarding claim 4. Hammerschmidt teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the generating, by the first ultra-wideband system, the first ranging frame based on the ranging configuration information comprises:
generating, by the first ultra-wideband system, a ranging sequence based on the ranging key and the ranging parameter (Hammerschmidt, Figs. 20 and 21, pp [133]-[134]); and
generating, by the first ultra-wideband system, the first ranging frame based on the ranging sequence and a preamble code (Hammerschmidt, Figs. 20 and 21, pp [133]-[134]).
Regarding claim 5. Hammerschmidt teaches the method according to claim 4, wherein the generating, by the first ultra- wideband system, the ranging sequence based on the ranging key and the ranging parameter comprises:
generating, by the first ultra-wideband system, a ranging sequence value and a ranging sequence key based on the ranging key and the ranging parameter (Hammerschmidt, Figs. 20 and 21, pp [133]-[134]); and
generating, by the first ultra-wideband system, the ranging sequence based on the ranging sequence value and the ranging sequence key (Hammerschmidt, Figs. 20 and 21, pp [133]-[134]).
Regarding claim 6. Hammerschmidt teaches the method according to claim 5, wherein the generating, by the first ultra-wideband system, the ranging sequence value and the ranging sequence key based on the ranging key and the ranging parameter comprises:
generating, by the first ultra-wideband system, the ranging sequence key based on the ranging key and first information, wherein the first information comprises a ranging sequence text, the ranging sequence text is determined based on the ranging key and second information, and the second information is determined based on the ranging parameter (Hammerschmidt, pp [207], [210]-[212]);
generating, by the first ultra-wideband system, the ranging sequence value based on the ranging key and third information, wherein the third information comprises the ranging sequence text (Hammerschmidt, pp [207], [210]-[212]); and
generating, by the first ultra-wideband system, the ranging sequence based on the ranging sequence key and the ranging sequence value (Hammerschmidt, pp [207], [210]-[212]).
Regarding claim 7. Hammerschmidt teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
sending, by the first ultra-wideband system, the first ranging frame to a second ultra-wideband system of the second communication apparatus (Hammerschmidt, Fig. 14, pp [102]; Fig. 31, pp [169]-[175]); and
receiving, by the first ultra-wideband system, a second ranging frame from the second ultra-wideband system (Hammerschmidt, Fig. 14, pp [102]; Fig. 31, pp [169]-[175]).
Regarding claim 8. Hammerschmidt teaches the method according to claim 7, further comprising:
determining, by the first ultra-wideband system, a measurement result of the second ranging frame (Hammerschmidt, Fig. 14, pp [102]; Fig. 31, pp [169]-[175]); and
sending, by the first ultra-wideband system, the measurement result of the second ranging frame to the first narrowband system (Hammerschmidt, Fig. 14, pp [102]; Fig. 31, pp [169]-[175]).
Regarding claim 9. Hammerschmidt teaches the method according to claim 8, further comprising:
sending, by the first narrowband system, the measurement result of the second ranging frame to the second narrowband system (Hammerschmidt, Fig. 14, pp [102]; Fig. 31, pp [169]-[175]).
Regarding claim 10. Hammerschmidt teaches the method according to claim 9, wherein before the receiving, by the first ultra-wideband system, the ranging configuration information from the first narrowband system, the method further comprises:
sending, by the first narrowband system, fourth information to the second narrowband system, wherein the fourth information comprises the ranging key and the ranging parameter (Hammerschmidt, Figs. 20 and 21, pp [133]-[134]); or
the fourth information comprises information used to generate the ranging key and the ranging parameter (Hammerschmidt, Figs. 20 and 21, pp [133]-[134]).
Regarding claim 12. Hammerschmidt teaches the apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the ranging configuration information comprises a ranging key and a ranging parameter (Hammerschmidt, Figs. 20 and 21, pp [133]-[134]).
Regarding claim 13. Hammerschmidt teaches the apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the ranging key comprises a session key (Hammerschmidt, Figs. 43 and 44, pp [210]-[211]: ranging information, session parameters).
Regarding claim 14. Hammerschmidt teaches the apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the first processor is configured to generate a ranging sequence based on the ranging key and the ranging parameter (Hammerschmidt, Figs. 20 and 21, pp [133]-[134]); and
generate the first ranging frame based on the ranging sequence and a preamble code (Hammerschmidt, Figs. 20 and 21, pp [133]-[134]).
Regarding claim 15. Hammerschmidt teaches the apparatus according to claim 14, wherein the first processor is configured to generate a ranging sequence value and a ranging sequence key based on the ranging key and the ranging parameter (Hammerschmidt, Figs. 20 and 21, pp [133]-[134]); and
generate the ranging sequence based on the ranging sequence value and the ranging sequence key (Hammerschmidt, Figs. 20 and 21, pp [133]-[134]).
Regarding claim 16. Hammerschmidt teaches the apparatus according to claim 15, wherein
the first processor is configured to generate the ranging sequence key based on the ranging key and first information, wherein the first information comprises a ranging sequence text, the ranging sequence text is determined based on the ranging key and the first information, and the second information is determined based on the ranging parameter (Hammerschmidt, pp [207], [210]-[212]);
the first processor is further configured to generate the ranging sequence value based on the ranging key and third information, wherein the third information comprises the ranging sequence text (Hammerschmidt, pp [207], [210]-[212]); and
the first processor is further configured to generate the ranging sequence based on the ranging sequence key and the ranging sequence value (Hammerschmidt, pp [207], [210]-[212]).
Regarding claim 17. Hammerschmidt teaches the apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the first transceiver is further configured to send the first ranging frame to a second ultra-wideband system of the second communication apparatus (Hammerschmidt, Fig. 14, pp [102]; Fig. 31, pp [169]-[175]); and
receive a second ranging frame from the second ultra-wideband system (Hammerschmidt, Fig. 14, pp [102]; Fig. 31, pp [169]-[175]).
Regarding claim 18. Hammerschmidt teaches the apparatus according to claim 17, wherein
the first processing is further configured to determine a measurement result of the second ranging frame (Hammerschmidt, Fig. 14, pp [102]; Fig. 31, pp [169]-[175]); and
send the measurement result of the second ranging frame to the first narrowband system (Hammerschmidt, Fig. 14, pp [102]; Fig. 31, pp [169]-[175]).
Regarding claim 19. Hammerschmidt teaches the apparatus according to claim 18, wherein the first narrowband system comprises a second transceiver, wherein the second transceiver is configured to send the measurement result of the second ranging frame to the second narrowband system (Hammerschmidt, Fig. 14, pp [102]; Fig. 31, pp [169]-[175]).
Regarding claim 20. Hammerschmidt teaches the apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the second transceiver is further configured to send fourth information to the second narrowband system, wherein the fourth information comprises the ranging key and the ranging parameter (Hammerschmidt, Figs. 20 and 21, pp [133]-[134]); or the fourth information comprises information used to generate the ranging key and the ranging parameter (Hammerschmidt, Figs. 20 and 21, pp [133]-[134]).
Relevant references to the claims but not used in the rejection above
Lee et al. (Pub. No. US 2021/0136556), teaches an electronic device for performing ranging using a ultra-wide band (UWB) communication method and an operation method of the electronic device. An operation method of a first electronic device includes transmitting a connection start message related to a second communication method to a second electronic device by using a first communication method, transmitting an initial connection message by using the second communication method, receiving a ranging start message from the second electronic device, and performing ranging with respect to the second electronic device by using the second communication method.
Sierra et al. (Pub. No. US 2020/0336303), teaches method and system for enabling the generation of cryptographic material for ranging operations in a manner that reduces and obfuscates potential correlations between leaked and secret information. The system includes a ranging module having one or more ranging sensors. The ranging module is coupled to a secure processing system through a hardware interface to receive at least one encrypted ranging session key, the ranging module to decrypt the at least one encrypted ranging session key to generate a ranging session key, generate a sparse ranging input, derive a message session key based on the ranging session key, and derive a derived ranging key via a key derivation cascade applied to the message session key and the sparse ranging input, the derived ranging key to encrypt data transmitted during a ranging session.
Conclusion
/HUY C HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644