DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/08/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 10,001,623. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the removal of the limitations “first lens comprising a positive refractive power”, “a third lens comprising a negative refractive power, an object-side surface of the third lens being convex” and “a seventh lens comprising a negative refractive power and comprising an inflection point formed on an image-side surface thereof” renders claims 1-14 of the instant application as broadened and obvious variants of claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 10,001,623.
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 10,444,469. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the removal of the limitations “ a seventh lens comprising a negative refractive power and comprising an inflection point formed on an image-side surface thereof” renders claims 1-14 of the instant application as broadened and obvious variants of claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 10,444,469.
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 10,761,299. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the removal of the limitations “a seventh lens comprising a negative refractive power and comprising an inflection point formed on an image-side surface thereof” renders claims 1-14 as broadened and obvious variants of claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 10,761,299.
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,428,899. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the removal of the limitations “a seventh lens comprising a negative refractive power and comprising an inflection point formed on an image-side surface thereof” renders claims 1-14 of the instant application as broadened and obvious variants of claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,428,899.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sekine (US 2015/0316751).
Regarding claim 1, Sekine discloses, an optical imaging system (Fig. 7), comprising:
a first lens (L1) comprising a concave image-side surface (Para. 0112, lines 7-8);
a second lens (L2) comprising a refractive power (Para. 0113);
a third lens (L3) comprising a refractive power (Para. 0114);
a fourth lens (L4) comprising a refractive power (Para. 0115);
a fifth lens (L5) comprising a refractive power (Para. 0116);
a sixth lens (L6) comprising a convex object-side surface (Para. 0117; note, discloses a meniscus with concave image side) and a concave image-side surface (Para. 0117; note, discloses a meniscus with concave image side); and
a seventh lens (L7) comprising a negative refractive power (Para. 0118),
wherein the first to seventh lenses are sequentially disposed from an object side toward an imaging plane (Para. 0112-0118 and Fig. 7),
wherein a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the third lens is greater than a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the third lens (see “Table 4”).
Regarding claim 2, Sekine discloses, the first lens has a convex object-side surface (Para. 0112).
Regarding claim 3, Sekine discloses, the second lens has a convex object-side surface (see L2 of Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 4, Sekine discloses, the third lens has a convex object-side surface (Para. 0027).
Regarding claim 5, Sekine discloses, the third lens has a concave image-side surface (see L3).
Regarding claim 6, Sekine discloses, the fourth lens has a convex object-side surface (see L4 of Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 7, Sekine discloses, the fourth lens has a convex image-side surface (see L4 of Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 8, Sekine discloses, the fifth lens has a concave object-side surface (Para. 0116 and see L5 of Fig. 7; note, the Examiner interprets the object-side surface is concave outside of the paraxial portion).
Claims 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (US 9,766,433).
Regarding claim 9, Chen discloses, an optical imaging system (Fig. 1), comprising:
a first lens (110) comprising a concave image-side surface (112);
a second lens (120) comprising positive refractive power (Col. 8, lines 4-5);
a third lens (130) comprising a refractive power;
a fourth lens (140) comprising a refractive power;
a fifth lens (150) comprising a refractive power;
a sixth lens (160) comprising a convex object-side surface (see 161 periphery); and
a seventh lens (170) comprising a negative refractive power (Col. 8, lines 40-41),
wherein the first to seventh lenses are sequentially disposed from an object side toward an imaging plane (Col. 7, lines 48-64),
wherein a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the third lens is greater than a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the third lens (see “Table 1”).
Regarding claim 10, Chen discloses, the second lens has a convex object-side surface (121).
Regarding claim 11, Chen discloses, the third lens has a convex object-side surface (131).
Regarding claim 12, Chen discloses, the fourth lens has a convex object-side surface (see periphery of 141).
Regarding claim 13, Chen discloses, the fourth lens has a convex image-side surface (142).
Regarding claim 14, Chen discloses, the fifth lens has a concave object-side surface (see periphery of 151).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tsai (US 2014/0009843) discloses an optical imaging system comprising first to seventh lenses that are sequentially disposed from an object side toward an imaging plane.
/DAWAYNE PINKNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 10/08/2026