DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 80-90 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 4/3/2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 70, 72, 75-77 and 79 are objected to because of the following informalities:
As per claim 70, the claim language such as “RFID” is an acronym and full word is required as claim language.
As per claim 72, the claim language such as “RFID” is an acronym and full word is required as claim language.
As per claim 75, the claim language such as “RFID” is an acronym and full word is required as claim language.
As per claim 76, the claim language such as “RFID” is an acronym and full word is required as claim language.
As per claim 77, the claim language such as “RFID” is an acronym and full word is required as claim language.
As per claim 79, the claim language such as “RFID” is an acronym and full word is required as claim language.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) the invention was known or used by others in this country, or patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country, before the invention thereof by the applicant for a patent.
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
(e) the invention was described in (1) an application for patent, published under section 122(b), by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent or (2) a patent granted on an application for patent by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent, except that an international application filed under the treaty defined in section 351(a) shall have the effects for purposes of this subsection of an application filed in the United States only if the international application designated the United States and was published under Article 21(2) of such treaty in the English language.
Basso
Claims 70-79 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)/(b)/(e) as being anticipated by Basso et al.(USPubN 2010/0042235; hereinafter Basso).
As per claim 70, Basso teaches a method for presentation of photographic images based on hardware-based device detection using a system, the system comprising: at least one server configured to access photographic image data from a storage device(Para.[0018], [0023]);
at least one RFID detection device communicatively connected to the at least one server, wherein the at least one RFID detection device is configured to detect a presence of RFID devices in a device detection region(Para.[0043]);
a media device for generating display images based on the stored photographic image data(Para.[0023]);
a first RFID device that is detectable by the at least one RFID detection device; and a second RFID device that is detectable by the at least one RFID detection device; the method comprising: establishing, by any of the at least one server, an association between a first user profile of a first user and the first RFID device; establishing, by any of the at least one server, an association between a second user profile of a second user and the second RFID device; detecting, using the at least one RFID detection device, presence of the first RFID device in the device detection region(Para.[0043]);
based at least in part on the detecting the presence of the first RFID device in the device detection region, making available for viewing on the media device, a first user interface screen comprising a first photographic representation of the first user; detecting, using the at least one RFID detection device, presence of the second RFID device in the device detection region; based at least in part on the detecting the presence of the second RFID device in the device detection region, making available for viewing on the media device, a second user interface screen comprising the first photographic representation of the first user and a second photographic representation of the second user(Para.[0043], [0044]);
transmitting via a network, by any of the at least one server, a reminder for display on the media device, wherein the reminder comprises information that the second user interface screen is available for viewing; and based at least in part on a user interface interaction with the reminder, transmitting by any of the at least one server to the media device at least part of data used to facilitate display of the second user interface screen comprising the first photographic representation of the first user and the second photographic representation of the second user(Para.[0029], [0040], [0043]).
As per claim 71, Basso teaches wherein the second user interface screen comprises: (a) the first photographic representation of the first user; (b) an identification of the first user; (c) the second photographic representation of the second user; and (d) an identification of the second user(Para.[0026], [0033], [0043]).
As per claim 72, Basso teaches further comprising: based at least in part on the detecting the presence of the second RFID device in the device detection region, making available for viewing on the media device a list of detected users, the list of detected users comprising an identification of the first user and an identification of the second user(Para.[0043]).
As per claim 73, Basso teaches wherein the media device is configured to run a media application configured to present the first user interface screen and the second user interface screen(Para.[0043], [0044], [0045]).
As per claim 74, Basso teaches further comprising personalizing the media application based on user preferences of the first user(Para.[0043]).
As per claim 75, Basso teaches further comprising:detecting, using the at least one RFID detection device, presence of the first RFID device in the device detection region automatically without any affirmative action from the first user;and detecting, using the at least one RFID detection device, presence of the second RFID device in the device detection region automatically without any affirmative action from the second user(Para.[0043], [0044], [0045]).
As per claim 76, Basso teaches wherein the at least one RFID detection device is communicatively coupled to a camera(Para.[0020], [0027]).
As per claim 77, Basso teaches further comprising:detecting a location of the first RFID device in relation to the at least one RFID detection device using received signal strength indication (RSSI); anddetecting a location of the second RFID device in relation to the at least one RFID detection device using received signal strength indication (RSSI)(Para.[0043]).
As per claim 78, Basso teaches wherein the media device comprises a mobile phone, and wherein the user interface interaction with the reminder comprises a selection of the reminder displayed on a screen of the mobile phone(Para.[0004], [0053]).
As per claim 79, Basso teaches further comprising detecting, using the at least one RFID detection device, presence of the first RFID device in the device detection region and presence of the second RFID device in the device detection region at substantially the same time(Para.[0043]).
Conclusion
/SUNGHYOUN PARK/Examiner, Art Unit 2484