Claims 1-20 are pending.
This is in response to communications filed on 1/8/25.
Claim Interpretation
The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent
limitations require only those steps that must be performed and do not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent is not met. If the condition for performing a contingent step is not satisfied, the performance recited by
the step need not be carried out for the claimed method to be performed. See Ex Parte Schulhauser. For example, assume a method claim requires step A if a first condition happens and step B if a second condition happens. If the claimed invention may
be practiced without either the first or second condition happening, then neither step A or
B is required by the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim. If the claimed invention requires the first condition to occur, then the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim requires step A. If the claimed invention requires both the first and second conditions to occur, then the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim requires both
steps A and B (MPEP 2111.04).
Claims 10-16 are method claims reciting various conditional limitations throughout the claims – setting, in response to the power being switched …; switching, in response to detecting a remaining battery level of a battery being increased…; maintaining, in response to detecting the remaining battery level being increased …; setting the automatic startup flag … in a case …; switching the power … and setting the automatic startup flag … in response to the remaining battery level decreasing …; the predetermined first value is set … when the battery is fully charged; the power is maintained at off…, if a surrounding brightness …; and other places. The BRI does not include associated functions based on the conditions when method can be practiced without conditions being met. For compact prosecution, Examiner addressed the conditional limitations and the corresponding steps as described below.
The broadest reasonable interpretation of a system (or apparatus or product) claim having structure that performs a function, which only needs to occur if a condition precedent is met, requires structure for performing the function should the condition occur. The system claim interpretation differs from a method claim interpretation because the claimed structure must be present in the system regardless of whether the condition is met and the function is actually performed. Thus, claims 1-9 and 17-20, the product and system claims, require the conditions and the corresponding functions as part of BRI.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 and claim 16 recite the limitations “maintains the power at OFF … where the power is OFF and the automatic startup flag is ON, if a surrounding … time.” However, parent claim 1 (and parent claim 10 for claim 16) recite switches … where the power is OFF and the automatic startup flag is ON, the power from OFF to ON unconditionally. It is not clear whether the recitation of claim 1 and claim 10 excludes the conditions set forth in claim 7 and claim 16 respectively. If the above-mentioned step recited in claim 1 is performed unconditionally, then the power OFF condition cannot be maintained in claim 7. If the above-mentioned step recited in claim 10 is performed unconditionally, then the power OFF condition cannot be maintained in claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasegawa et al (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0297307) in view of Lee et al (US Patent Application Publication 20080180264).
For claim 1, Hasegawa teaches the following limitations: An apparatus, comprising: an operation switch to switch power from ON to OFF (241 shown in Fig 9; [0245] – 241 turn on and off the power of robot); and at least one processor ([240] and [247] – 251 includes the processor), wherein the at least one processor sets, in response to the power being switched from ON to OFF by an operation on the operation switch (state S611 shown in Fig 22; the power supply is turned off by power switch as shown in S608; thus the power is switched from ON to OFF by the operation of the operation switch) in a state where an inspection mode flag is ON (“movement restriction is ON“ as shown in S607), an automatic startup flag to ON (set manual off flag to 0 shown in S618, which is in response to S611 through S604 to S617; as the process of Fig 22 is a loop, the S618 is considered to be performed in response to S611), sets, in response to the power being switched from ON to OFF by the operation on the operation switch (state S611 shown in Fig 22; the power supply is turned off by power switch as shown in S608; thus the power is switched from ON to OFF by the operation of the operation switch) in a state where the inspection mode flag is OFF (“movement restriction is OFF“ as shown in S606), the automatic startup flag to OFF (set manual off flag to 1 shown in S609), switches, in response to detecting a remaining battery level of a battery being increased to a predetermined first value by charging to the battery in a state where the power is OFF ( Fig 22 S615 – battery voltage is higher and more than activation voltage and power supply is off as shown in S604; battery is charged in S613; [0245] – power of the robot 200 is turned off 250 is supplied with power in order to charge the battery 253; thus, battery is charged when power of the robot is turned off) and the automatic startup flag is ON (Manual OFF flag is “0” in S614 “NO” branch), the power from OFF to ON to start the apparatus (S616 in Fig 22; power is turned on), and maintains, in response to ( Fig 22 power supply is off as shown in S604; battery is charged in S613) and the automatic startup flag is OFF (Manual OFF flag is “1” in S614 “YES” branch), the power at OFF not to start the apparatus (the loop goes through S604 to S614 in Fig 22 not to start the apparatus when manual off flag is set at 1).
Hasegawa does not mention maintain the power at OFF not to start the apparatus in response to detecting the remaining battery level being increased to the predetermined first value. Instead, the battery level is not checked to maintain the power off condition (S615 is not checked before S614 in Fig 22). In Hasegawa, the manual flag consideration determines whether power will be maintained at OFF (S614 “YES” branch will cause power to be maintained at OFF without detecting remaining battery voltage). Lee et al teaches detecting the battery voltage being greater than a threshold voltage and then check whether a flag is set (Fig 4, step 230 and S240).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to change the order of S614 and S615 of Fig 22 of Hasegawa (from the teachings of Lee et al) so that battery voltage is confirmed before checking the flag. There is no need to check the flag when battery voltage is insufficient. That way, system can accurately track the battery condition. Hasegawa mentions that various modifications can be possible ([0282]). Therefore, Hasegawa’s steps S614 and S615 can be interchanged in Fig 22. When that interchange is performed, the limitations the power at OFF not to start the apparatus to be maintained in response to detecting the remaining battery level being increased to the predetermined first value will be met by the modified system. With the modified teaching of Hasegawa, Fig 22 teaches detecting battery voltage first and then checks the manual flag, and based on the flag value, the power is applied at S616.
That modification can be performed with knowledge from current state of the art as disclosed in Lee et al. Therefore, with the knowledge from Lee et al, Hasegawa Fig 22 can be modified to change the order of S615 and S614, which will teach the limitations maintain in response to detecting the remaining battery level being increased to the predetermined first value by charging to the battery in a state where power is OFF and the automatic start up flag is OFF, the power at OFF not to start the apparatus.
For claim 2, Hasegawa teaches wherein the at least one processor sets, in response to the power being switched from ON to OFF by an operation on the operation switch in a state where the inspection mode flag is ON, the automatic startup flag to ON and sets the inspection mode flag to OFF (Fig 22 is a loop, thus, after the next cycle while power is ON from OFF state (S611 and S604), step S606 will be performed to set the movement restriction flag off “Turn OFF movement restriction” while keeping the automatic start up flag ON (manual OFF flag is 0); any combination may be realized in Fig 22 as it is a loop).
For claim 3, Hasegawa teaches wherein the at least one processor switches, in response to the remaining battery level decreasing to a predetermined second value in a state where the power is ON, the power from ON to OFF (S610 where voltage is below movement reference voltage and power is OFF at S611; movement reference voltage is 75% of full voltage [0252] that is less than activation voltage 95% of full voltage [0258]) and sets the automatic startup flag to ON (S603 and S618 – automatic flag is ON; [0263]).
For claim 4, Hasegawa teaches wherein the operation switch is an operation switch to switch the power between ON and OFF, and the at least one processor starts the apparatus in response to the power being switched from OFF to ON by an operation on the operation switch ([0245]; Fig 9 switch 241 is power switch to power ON/OFF of the apparatus).
For claim 5, Hasegawa teaches wherein the inspection mode flag is set to ON at an initial stage at which the inspection mode flag is set up (movement restriction is ON during charging [0250]; since battery charging occurs initially, the flag is set at an initial stage).
For claim 6, Hasegawa teaches the predetermined first value is set to a value less than a remaining battery level when the battery is fully charged (activation voltage is 95% [0257], which is less than 100% when battery is fully charged).
For claim 7, Hasegawa teaches wherein the at least one processor upon detecting the remaining battery level is increased to the predetermined first value by charging to the battery in a state where the power is OFF and the automatic startup flag is ON (Fig 22, S615; power OFF at S604 and automatic startup flag is ON by Manual OFF flag = 1). Hasegawa further teaches if a surrounding brightness is detected to be less than a predetermined brightness, or if a current time is a predetermined time maintains the power not to start the apparatus (Fig 20, hard sleep process at S508 when it is dark and battery is being charged and co-sleeping time irrespective of battery voltage at S505; thus the sleep control process is executed based on time or brightness level; the battery voltage detection is an ongoing check as mentioned in Fig 22; the hard sleep is explained in [0229]; the hard sleep has low power consumption; Fig 22 S615 step can consider the sleeping time/brightness and determines that the time is the sleeping time and not to wake up the robot). Hasegawa’s cited embodiment mentioned above, as modified by Lee, does not explicitly mention turning off the power during the co-sleeping time of robot. However, Hasegawa mentions that robot can perform the co-sleeping function, which is the function of performing co-sleeping without disturbing the user’s sleep by executing the suppression mode according to the time when the user sleeps ([0235]). Hasegawa further mentions that robot can perform the automatic power OFF/ON function whenever necessary ([0236]-[0237]). Therefore, during the co-sleeping time, Hasegawa can power OFF the robot. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of two embodiments of Hasegawa to maintain power off during co-sleeping time of the robot so that power consumption is minimized.
For claim 8, Hasegawa teaches further comprising: a power receiving circuit to charge the battery wirelessly (255 and 256 in Fig 5 is to charge the battery wirelessly).
For claim 10, Hasegawa teaches the following limitations: A control method to be executed by an apparatus comprising an operation switch to switch power from ON to OFF (241 shown in Fig 9; [0245] – 241 turn on and off the power of robot), the control method comprising: setting, in response to the power being switched from ON to OFF by an operation on the operation switch (state S611 shown in Fig 22; the power supply is turned off by power switch as shown in S608; thus the power is switched from ON to OFF by the operation of the operation switch) in a state where an inspection mode flag is ON (“movement restriction is ON“ as shown in S607), an automatic startup flag to ON (set manual off flag to 0 shown in S618, which is in response to S611 through S604 to S617; as the process of Fig 22 is a loop, the S618 is considered to be performed in response to S611), setting, in response to the power being switched from ON to OFF by the operation on the operation switch (state S611 shown in Fig 22; the power supply is turned off by power switch as shown in S608; thus the power is switched from ON to OFF by the operation of the operation switch) in a state where the inspection mode flag is OFF (“movement restriction is OFF“ as shown in S606), the automatic startup flag to OFF (set manual off flag to 1 shown in S609), switching, in response to detecting a remaining battery level of a battery being increased to a predetermined first value by charging to the battery in a state where the power is OFF ( Fig 22 S615 – battery voltage is higher and more than activation voltage and power supply is off as shown in S604; battery is charged in S613; [0245] – power of the robot 200 is turned off 250 is supplied with power in order to charge the battery 253; thus, battery is charged when power of the robot is turned off) and the automatic startup flag is ON (Manual OFF flag is “0” in S614 “NO” branch), the power from OFF to ON to start the apparatus (S616 in Fig 22; power is turned on), and maintaining, in response to ( Fig 22 power supply is off as shown in S604; battery is charged in S613) and the automatic startup flag is OFF (Manual OFF flag is “1” in S614 “YES” branch), the power at OFF not to start the apparatus (the loop goes through S604 to S614 in Fig 22 not to start the apparatus when manual off flag is set at 1).
Hasegawa does not mention maintain the power at OFF not to start the apparatus in response to detecting the remaining battery level being increased to the predetermined first value. Instead, the battery level is not checked to maintain the power off condition (S615 is not checked before S614 in Fig 22). In Hasegawa, the manual flag consideration determines whether power will be maintained at OFF (S614 “YES” branch will cause power to be maintained at OFF without detecting remaining battery voltage). The BRI of the claim does not include this step because method can be practiced without the condition being met. However, for compact prosecution, Examiner is addressing Lee et al that teaches detecting the battery voltage being greater than a threshold voltage and then check whether a flag is set (Fig 4, step 230 and S240).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to change the order of S614 and S615 of Fig 22 of Hasegawa (from the teachings of Lee et al) so that battery voltage is confirmed before checking the flag. There is no need to check the flag when battery voltage is insufficient. That way, system can accurately track the battery condition. Hasegawa mentions that various modifications can be possible ([0282]). Therefore, Hasegawa’s steps S614 and S615 can be interchanged in Fig 22. When that interchange is performed, the limitations the power at OFF not to start the apparatus to be maintained in response to detecting the remaining battery level being increased to the predetermined first value will be met by the modified system. With the modified teaching of Hasegawa, Fig 22 teaches detecting battery voltage first and then checks the manual flag, and based on the flag value, the power is applied at S616.
That modification can be performed with knowledge from current state of the art as disclosed in Lee et al. Therefore, with the knowledge from Lee et al, Hasegawa Fig 22 can be modified to change the order of S615 and S614, which will teach the limitations maintain in response to detecting the remaining battery level being increased to the predetermined first value by charging to the battery in a state where power is OFF and the automatic start up flag is OFF, the power at OFF not to start the apparatus.
For claim 11, Hasegawa teaches that the method further comprising setting the automatic startup flag to ON and setting the inspection mode flag to OFF in a case where the power is switched from ON to OFF by the operation on the operation switch with the inspection mode flag in the on-state (Fig 22 is a loop, thus, after the next cycle while power is ON from OFF state (S611 and S604), step S606 will be performed to set the movement restriction flag off “Turn OFF movement restriction” while keeping the automatic start up flag ON (manual OFF flag is 0); any combination may be realized in Fig 22 as it is a loop).
For claim 12, Hasegawa teaches the following limitations, the method further comprising switching the power from ON to OFF and setting the automatic startup flag to ON in response to the remaining battery level decreasing to a predetermined second value in a state where the power is ON (S610 where voltage is below movement reference voltage and power is OFF at S611; movement reference voltage is 75% of full voltage [0252] that is less than activation voltage 95% of full voltage [0258]) and sets the automatic startup flag to ON (S603 and S618 – automatic flag is ON; [0263]).
For claim 13, Hasegawa teaches the following limitations: wherein the operation switch is an operation switch to switch the power between ON and OFF, and the control method further comprising starting the apparatus in response to the power being switched from OFF to ON by an operation on the operation switch ([0245]; Fig 9 switch 241 is power switch to power ON/OFF of the apparatus).
.
For claim 14, Hasegawa further teaches wherein the inspection mode flag is set to ON at an initial stage at which the inspection mode flag is set up (movement restriction is ON during charging [0250]; since battery charging occurs initially, the flag is set at an initial stage).
For claim 15, Hasegawa further teaches wherein the predetermined first value is set to a value less than a remaining battery level when the battery is fully charged (activation voltage is 95% [0257], which is less than 100% when battery is fully charged).
For claim 16, Hasegawa teaches wherein the at least one processor upon detecting the remaining battery level is increased to the predetermined first value by charging to the battery in a state where the power is OFF and the automatic startup flag is ON (Fig 22, S615; power OFF at S604 and automatic startup flag is ON by Manual OFF flag = 1). Hasegawa further teaches if a surrounding brightness is detected to be less than a predetermined brightness, or if a current time is a predetermined time maintains the power not to start the apparatus (Fig 20, hard sleep process at S508 when it is dark and battery is being charged and co-sleeping time irrespective of battery voltage at S505; thus the sleep control process is executed based on time or brightness level; the battery voltage detection is an ongoing check as mentioned in Fig 22; the hard sleep is explained in [0229]; the hard sleep has low power consumption; Fig 22 S615 step can consider the sleeping time/brightness and determines that the time is the sleeping time and not to wake up the robot). Hasegawa’s above cited embodiment, as modified by Lee, does not explicitly mention turning off the power during the co-sleeping time of robot. However, Hasegawa mentions that robot can perform the co-sleeping function, which is the function of performing co-sleeping without disturbing the user’s sleep by executing the suppression mode according to the time when the user sleeps ([0235]). Hasegawa further mentions that robot can perform the automatic power OFF/ON function whenever necessary ([0236]-[0237]). Therefore, during the co-sleeping time, Hasegawa can power OFF the robot (second embodiment of Hasegawa). It would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of second embodiment of Hasegawa to the Hasegawa in view of Lee to maintain power off during co-sleeping time of the robot so that power consumption is minimized.
For claim 17, Hasegawa teaches the following limitations: A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a program ([0293]-[0294), the program causing a computer of an apparatus (Fig 8 and Fig 24) comprising an operation switch to switch power from ON to OFF (241 shown in Fig 9; [0245] – 241 turn on and off the power of robot), to execute a control function comprising: setting, in response to the power being switched from ON to OFF by an operation on the operation switch (state S611 shown in Fig 22; the power supply is turned off by power switch as shown in S608; thus the power is switched from ON to OFF by the operation of the operation switch) in a state where an inspection mode flag is ON (“movement restriction is ON“ as shown in S607), an automatic startup flag to ON (set manual off flag to 0 shown in S618, which is in response to S611 through S604 to S617; as the process of Fig 22 is a loop, the S618 is considered to be performed in response to S611), setting, in response to the power being switched from ON to OFF by the operation on the operation switch (state S611 shown in Fig 22; the power supply is turned off by power switch as shown in S608; thus the power is switched from ON to OFF by the operation of the operation switch) in a state where the inspection mode flag is OFF (“movement restriction is OFF“ as shown in S606), the automatic startup flag to OFF (set manual off flag to 1 shown in S609), switching, in response to detecting a remaining battery level of a battery being increased to a predetermined first value by charging to the battery in a state where the power is OFF ( Fig 22 S615 – battery voltage is higher and more than activation voltage and power supply is off as shown in S604; battery is charged in S613; [0245] – power of the robot 200 is turned off 250 is supplied with power in order to charge the battery 253; thus, battery is charged when power of the robot is turned off) and the automatic startup flag is ON (Manual OFF flag is “0” in S614 “NO” branch), the power from OFF to ON to start the apparatus (S616 in Fig 22; power is turned on), and maintaining, in response to ( Fig 22 power supply is off as shown in S604; battery is charged in S613) and the automatic startup flag is OFF (Manual OFF flag is “1” in S614 “YES” branch), the power at OFF not to start the apparatus (the loop goes through S604 to S614 in Fig 22 not to start the apparatus when manual off flag is set at 1).
Hasegawa does not mention maintain the power at OFF not to start the apparatus in response to detecting the remaining battery level being increased to the predetermined first value. Instead, the battery level is not checked to maintain the power off condition (S615 is not checked before S614 in Fig 22). In Hasegawa, the manual flag consideration determines whether power will be maintained at OFF (S614 “YES” branch will cause power to be maintained at OFF without detecting remaining battery voltage). Lee et al teaches detecting the battery voltage being greater than a threshold voltage and then check whether a flag is set (Fig 4, step 230 and S240).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to change the order of S614 and S615 of Fig 22 of Hasegawa (from the teachings of Lee et al) so that battery voltage is confirmed before checking the flag. There is no need to check the flag when battery voltage is insufficient. That way, system can accurately track the battery condition. Hasegawa mentions that various modifications can be possible ([0282]). Therefore, Hasegawa’s steps S614 and S615 can be interchanged in Fig 22. When that interchange is performed, the limitations the power at OFF not to start the apparatus to be maintained in response to detecting the remaining battery level being increased to the predetermined first value will be met by the modified system. With the modified teaching of Hasegawa, Fig 22 teaches detecting battery voltage first and then checks the manual flag, and based on the flag value, the power is applied at S616.
That modification can be performed with knowledge from current state of the art as disclosed in Lee et al. Therefore, with the knowledge from Lee et al, Hasegawa Fig 22 can be modified to change the order of S615 and S614, which will teach the limitations maintain in response to detecting the remaining battery level being increased to the predetermined first value by charging to the battery in a state where power is OFF and the automatic start up flag is OFF, the power at OFF not to start the apparatus.
For claim 18, Hasegawa teaches the following limitations: wherein the control function further comprising setting the automatic startup flag to ON and setting the inspection mode flag to OFF in response to the power being switched from ON to OFF by an operation on the operation switch in a state where the inspection mode flag is ON (Fig 22 is a loop, thus, after the next cycle while power is ON from OFF state (S611 and S604), step S606 will be performed to set the movement restriction flag off “Turn OFF movement restriction” while keeping the automatic start up flag ON (manual OFF flag is 0); any combination may be realized in Fig 22 as it is a loop).
For claim 19, Hasegawa teaches the following limitations: wherein the control function further comprising switching the power from ON to OFF (S611 in Fig 22) and setting the automatic startup flag to ON (S603 and S618 – automatic flag is ON; [0263]) in response to the remaining battery level decreasing to a predetermined second value in a state where the power is ON (S610 where voltage is below movement reference voltage and power is OFF at S611; movement reference voltage is 75% of full voltage [0252] that is less than activation voltage 95% of full voltage [0258]).
For claim 20, Hasegawa teaches the following limitations: wherein the operation switch is an operation switch to switch the power between ON and OFF, and the control function further comprising starting the apparatus in response to the power being switched from OFF to ON by an operation on the operation switch ([0245]; Fig 9 switch 241 is power switch to power ON/OFF of the apparatus).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasegawa et al (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0297307) in view of Lee et al (US Patent Application Publication 20080180264), further in view of Hasegawa II (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0305569).
For claim 9, Hasegawa teaches wherein the apparatus is a pet-type robot (Fig 1 and Fig 2; [0236]) comprising a head part and torso part ([0039] – head and body (i.e., torso)), Hasegawa does not explicitly mention that the power receiving circuit is provided at the torso part. Hasegawa II teaches the power receiving circuit is provided at the torso part ([0028]-[0030]). It would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to place power receiving part in the torso, since that way the head can be flexibly designed.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FAHMIDA RAHMAN whose telephone number is (571)272-8159. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 10 AM - 7 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Andrew Jung can be reached at 571-270-3779. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/FAHMIDA RAHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175