DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 10, 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Story [US 5, 900,815] and Linz [US 2021/0172202]
Claim 1. A security system (the gate alarm system 10, see Figs. 1, 2A, 2B, 4A, 4B,
abstract, col. 2, lines 35-67, col. 3, lines 1-6), comprising: a breakaway coupling device
(the coupled gate alarm housing 20, see Fig. 4A, 4B), comprising:
a coupler component including a key (read upon the eye looped end 99 to operate the
on/off push button switch 114, see Figs. 2A, 2B, col. 5, line 13-20), wherein the coupler
component forms a first opening that facilitates a first attachment region, and wherein
the key extends out of a first side of the coupler component (the coupled alarm housing 20 with a coupler connects to safety cable 204 at one end and the other coupler
connects to safety cable 204 at the other end of the gate 24, wherein the eye looped
end 99 extended out at one end, see Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, col. 2, lines 35-53, col. 4, lines
42-47]), and
a base (the coupled gate alarm housing 20 includes a bottom 48, see Fig. 2A, col. 4,
lines 10-14) component with a first end and a second end opposite the first end (the
coupled gate alarm housing 20 includes a first end 42 and second end 46, see Figs. 2A,
4A, col. 4, line 9), wherein
the first end is formed with a cavity opening into a cavity of the base component (the coupled gate alarm housing 20 comprise the first end 42 with a cavity, see Fig. 2A, 2B),
and
wherein the second end forms a second opening that facilitates a second attachment
region (the coupled gate alarm housing 20 or 140 includes second end 46 is attached to
a cable 204 or a support structure 22 or upright support column 154, col. 4, lines 40-42,
see Figs. 1, 2A, 2B, 3A, 3B, 4A, col. 4, lines 1-3, col. 5, lines 45-49); and
at least one notification device in communication with the breakaway coupling device
(the alarm includes strobe light 70 and siren/strobe light 80, see Fig. 2A, col. 1, lines 61-
65, col. 3, lines 1-5, col. 4, lines 31-36). But,
Story fails to disclose the cavity receives and releasably retains the key therein. However,
Story teaches that the switch activating plate 90 was provided having a width of about 21/2 inches, a height of about 31/2 inches and a thickness of about 3/8 inch with a threaded bore in its center. End 94 of shaft 96 was threaded into bore 92. Preferably, end 94 was welded to the plate 90. Shaft 96, having a diameter of about 5/8 inch, extended about 41/4 inches through the right approximate one third of the about 10 inch longitudinal length of interior of housing 40 to eye looped end 99 connected to looped end 32 of gate 24. The total length of shaft 96 from end 94 to looped end 99 was about 7 inches. Coiled spring 100 having a diameter of about 3/16 inch and a relaxed span of 41/8 inches encircled shaft 96 within housing 40 and was biased between switch activating plate 90 and first end 44. A pair of stops 104A and 104B were welded to bottom 48 and a pair of stops 106A and 106B were welded on top 42 on either side of plate 90 to allow lateral travel of about 3/4 inch for plate 90 within housing 40. (See Figs. 2A, 2B, col. 4, lines 48-64).
Linz suggests that the locking base 306 is disposed with a first end 309 of the cable 104 to connect and releasably engages to/from the receiver 204 positioned in the housing 200, wherein the locking mechanism 300 selectively engages and releases the locking base from the receiver (see Figs. 1, 3, 6, para [0031, 0042]). A perspective view of the electronic locking apparatus 100 having the locking base 306 disengaged from the receiver 204. The locking base 306 includes an elongated member 600 configured to extend at least partially through an aperture 601 in the center of the receiver 204 (see Fig. 6, para [0036]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify and/or substitute the elongate member 600 (as key) being connected and released to/from the cavity receiver 204 of Linz to the externally connecting and disconnecting eye looped end 99 to the interior of the housing 40 of Story for minimizing or reducing of locking mechanisms, springs while providing an advantage of easily connecting and disconnected or released of the locking mechanism, since that locking mechanism is very well known and available in the security locking industries.
Claim 2. The security system of Claim 1, wherein the at least one notification device
includes an audible notification device (the siren 80, see Fig. 2A, col. 3, lines 1-5, col. 4,
line 31-36).
Claim 4. The security system of Claim 3, wherein the at least one notification device is
responsive when the coupler component is disengaged with the base component (the
open gate 24 causes the alarm includes strobe light 70 and siren/strobe light 80, see
Fig. 2A, col. 1, lines 61-65, col. 3, lines 1-5, col. 4, lines 31-36).
Claim 5. The security system of Claim 4, wherein the at least one notification device is
included in the breakaway coupling device (as cited in respect to claim 1 above, such as
the strobe light 70 and siren/strobe 80, see Fig. 2A).
Claim 10. The security system of Claim 1, wherein the key comprises a first side and a
second side, the first side and second side each defining a notch (read upon the gate
entry means for opening the gate can be a hook and eye or clasp and loop latching
device operably attached to the gate between the two supports. Generally, the hook or
clasp is mounted on an end of the wire or cable. Correspondingly, the eye or loop is
mounted on either end of the wire or cable or on one of the supports so that the eye or
loop is connectable to the hook or clasp. Because the latching devices for the two
application categories of the present invention do not have a standard latch that slides
into a catch or groove of a jamb, see Figs. 2A, 2B, 4A, col. 2, lines 23-34).
Claim 12. A breakaway coupling device, comprising: a coupler component including a
key, wherein the coupler component forms a first opening that facilitates a first
attachment region, and wherein the key extends out of a first side of the coupler
component; and a base component with a first end and a second end opposite the first
end, wherein the first end is formed with a cavity opening into a cavity of the base
component, wherein the key is released engageable within the cavity, and wherein the second end forms a second opening that facilitates a second attachment region, the base component housing: a local alarm, comprising an alert component engageable with the key so that: responsive to the key being disengaged from the alert component, the local alarm is activated, and responsive to the key being engaged with the alert component, the local alarm is deactivated (as the combination between Store and Linz in respect to claim 1 above).
Claim 13. The breakaway coupling device of Claim 12, wherein the alert component is
a movable switch arm that has a first position and a second position (the alarm switch
112, see Fig. 2A, col. 5, lines 13-20.
Claim 14. The breakaway coupling device of Claim 12, wherein the key comprises a
first side and a second side, the first side and second side having notches (as cited in
respect to claim 10 above, see Figs. 2A, 2B, 4A).
Claims 3, 6, 7, 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Story [US 5, 900,815] in view of Fawcett et al [US 7,497,101]
Claim 3. Story fails to disclose wherein the at least one notification device is
responsive when the coupler component is engaged with the base component.
However,
Story teaches that the open gate 24 causes the alarm includes strobe light 70 and
siren/strobe light 80, see Fig. 2A, col. 1, lines 61-65, col. 3, lines 1-5, col. 4, lines
31-36).
Fawcett et al suggests that the alarm system further includes a LED 59 which aligns
with a hole 60 formed in top wall portion 57. LED 59 is connected in the alarm circuitry
and preferably provides a blinking action which indicates that the alarm system is
operating "engaging" to serve as a deterrent to a possible shoplifter (see Fig. 9, col. 6,
lines 43-48).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the invention to add or substitute the blinking light action when the security
system is activating, connecting, operating or engaging of Fawcett et al to the
flashing/strobe lighting alarm of the gate alarm system of Story and Linz for deterrent and prevent an intruder and/or shoplifter from attempting to access the gate or to steal the merchant.
Claims 6 and 7. Story fails to disclose wherein the at least one notification device includes a remote device, wherein the at least one notification device communicates with the remote device via radio frequency.
Fawcett et al suggests that the security device 200 is part of a security system 450.
Security system 450 includes a sensing loop 282 or 283 and a gate alarm 452 located
in close proximity to a security gate 454. Security gate 454 includes a transmitter 456
and a receiver 458 for remotely detecting an active EAS tag 280 upon it passing
through security gate 454 by use of radio frequency (RF) or magnetic sensitivity (AM),
all of which are well known in the security field, and thus are not described in further
detail (see Figs. 20, 26, 46, col. 9, lines 19-57, col. 11, lines 12-28, col. 15, lines 54-57,
col. 16, lines 1-46).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the invention to add or implement the gate security system to provide remote
alarm via RF of Fawcett et al to the local alarm 70, 80 of the gate coupled alarm
housing 20 of Story and Linz for extending alarm notification to security center, remote person and/or remote police to prevent of any intruders and unauthorized person entering the gate, premises, shopping and/or retail store with a higher responsively and effectively.
Claim 16. A retail environment, comprising: a first shelf and a second shelf spaced from
and parallel to the first shelf; an aisle extending between and along the first shelf and
the second shelf; a breakaway coupling device, comprising: a coupler component
including a key, wherein the coupler component forms a first opening that facilitates a
first attachment region, and wherein the key extends out of a first side of the coupler
component, and a base component with a first end and a second end opposite the first
end, wherein the first end is formed with a cavity opening into a cavity of the base
component, wherein the cavity is configured to receive and releasably retain the key of the coupler component, and wherein the second end forms a second opening that facilitates a second attachment region; a first tether coupled to the first shelf and the first attachment region; a second tether coupled to the second shelf and the second attachment region; and at least one notification device in communication with the breakaway coupling device (as the combination between Story and Linz in respect to claim 1 above and wherein it is obvious to apply or use the gate coupled alarm system of Story to the retail store of Fawcett et al for expanding applications and uses of the coupled alarm system to preventing of intruder or theft accessing and breaking into the premises and retail store.
Claim 17. The retail environment of Claim 16, wherein the at least one notification
device comprises a first notification device included in the breakaway coupling device
(as the combination between Story and Linz and Fawcett et al in respect to claim 3 above) and a second notification device that is remote device (as cited in respect to claim 4 above).
Claim 18. The retail environment of Claim 17, wherein the second notification device is
configured to communicate with the breakaway coupling device via radio frequency (as
the combination between Story and Linz and Fawcett et al in respect to claim 7 above).
Claim 19. The retail environment of Claim 18, further comprising a post coupled to and
extending from the aisle and supporting the second notification device (as cited in
respect to claim 1 above, and including the extending connection from the support
structure 22 to the upright support 22 or support column 154, see Figs. 1, 4A).
Claims 8, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Story
[US 5, 900,815] and Linz [US 2021/0172202] and further in view of Baker et al [US 2021/0264754]
Claims 8 and 9. Story fails to disclose a first tether attaching the coupler component to a first shelf and a second tether attaching the base component to a second shelf, and
wherein the first tether, the breakaway coupling device, and the second tether form a
barrier to entry between the first shelf and the second shelf. However,
Story teaching of the cable/wire coupled to the first end and second end of the gate coupled alarm system, see Figs. 4A, 4B, col.
Baker et al suggests that the merchandise security devices 14 suitable for use with the
electronic keys include, but are not limited to, a security display (e.g. alarming stand or
device), security fixture (e.g. locking hook, shelf, cabinet, etc.), cabinet locks, door
locks, cable wraps, cable locks, or security packaging (e.g. merchandise keeper) for an
item of merchandise (see Figs. 1-42, para [0079]). Various types of security
devices 14 may be employed in the system, such as those disclosed herein. For
example, security devices 14 that include a sensor that is configured to be attached to
an item (e.g., via adhesive and/or brackets). In some implementations, the sensor may
be connected to a base or stand 35 with a tether 45 (see, e.g., FIGS. 30-32), or
no tether may be used in some cases (see Figs. 26-42, para [0095]). The tether could
be a mechanical cable or could include one or more conductors for conducting various
types of signals between the sensor and the monitoring component (e.g., security, data,
and/or power signals). In some cases, the tether may be coupled to a spring-loaded
recoiler which could be housed in the monitoring component or other location that
facilitates extension and retraction of the tether as the sensor is moved relative to the
monitoring component. Moreover, in some cases, the tether may be detachable from
the sensor 12 such as via a releasable connector (see para [0149]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the invention to add or substitute the tether connected to the shelf or hook of
Baker et al to the cable/wire 204 connected to the hook at the first end and second end
of the gate coupled alarm housing 20 of Story and Linz as a flexible choice to select either cable, tether or wire to provide gate security with higher secure without changing of the output results.
Claims 11, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Story [US 5, 900,815] and Linz [US 2021/0172201] and further in view of Chang et al [US 2020/0310041]
Claims 11. Story fails to disclose wherein the base component has a first retainer on
one side of the cavity and a second retainer spaced laterally from the first retainer on
another side of the cavity, the first and second retainers each having a tooth protruding
inwardly toward one another and engaging with the notches of the key. However,
Story teaches that the coupled alarm device 20 comprises a spring 100 to possess
sufficient compressive strength so that one individual would not be able to unhook clasp
30. Another spring (not shown) with less than 50 pounds of compressive force can
be connected to gate 24 along its length between upright support 26 and looped end 32.
In a preferred embodiment, the gate entry means has the dual function of relaxing
spring 100 during the open gate mode and compressing spring 100 during the gate
closed mode (see Figs. 2A, 2B, 4A, col. 5, lines 21-41).
Chang et al suggests that the advantage to having a behind-the-wall connector is that
smaller and smaller adapter cassettes and/or transceiver devices, the space between
cassettes is more and more limited and between connectors 10 the space is reduced.
These components use non-reinforced fiber cables such as 900 micron or bare fiber
cable 09. No protection strain relief such as boots are used to help reduce overall
length but at the expense of increase damage to the optical fiber. The typical spring
loaded "push in" to connect and "pull out" is used to connector and disconnect optical
connectors from an adapter port. A connector has some type of spring retainer (or
back-post) that is pushed into an inner cavity of the connector body/housing. The
spring retainer, when it has been inserted to a desired depth, becomes latched within
the connector body when a protrusion on the outer surface of the spring retainer enters
a corresponding hole, opening or recess in the side(s) of the connector body/housing
(see Figs. 1A-1C, 2, para [0013, 0050, 0052]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the invention to use or substitute the connector deploy push-in or pull-out
structure to connect and disconnect connectors having a spring retainer that is secured
within an inner cavity of the connector housing of Chang et al to coupled alarm housing
20 having a cavity with compression spring inside of Story and Linz for providing easily and quickly attaching and detaching of the cable/wire from the coupled alarm housing as an alternating choice of cable/wire connection.
Claim 15. The breakaway coupling device of Claim 14, wherein the base component
has a first cantilevered arm on one side of the cavity and a second cantilevered arm
spaced laterally from the first cantilevered arm on another side of the cavity, the first
and second cantilevered arms each having a tooth protruding inwardly toward one
another and corresponding with the notches of the key (as the discussion between
Story and Linz and Chang et al in respect to claim 11 above, wherein the claim cantilever is functionally equivalent to the retainers inside the cavity to perform as cantilever arms for latching/engaging and disengaging or releasing arms (40j.1, 40j.2) to push/pull the cable to/from the connector housing, see Chang, Figs. 10-12, para [0061-0066, 0072).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Story [US
5, 900,815] and Linz [US 2021/0172201] in view of Fawcett et al [US 7,497,101] and Baker et al [US 2021//0264754]
Claim 20. The retail environment of Claim 18, wherein the second notification device is
coupled to the first shelf or the second shelf (as the combination between Story, Linz,
Fawcett et al and Baker et al in respect to claim 16, 18 and 8 above).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see the amendment and argument, filed 07/06/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-20 under have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Linz [US 2008/0066502], to make the rejection smoother based on the amendment.
Applicant’s arguments:
(A) Story's housing does not receive and releasably retain the eye looped end 99 within a cavity. Story fails to disclose or suggest a base component with a first end and a second end opposite the first end, wherein the first end is formed with a cavity opening into a cavity of the base component, wherein the cavity receives and releasably retains a key therein. Similarly, Story fails to disclose or suggest wherein the key is releasably engageable within the cavity or wherein the cavity is configured to receive and releasably retain the key of the coupler component.
Response to the arguments:
(A) It is obvious to one skill in the art to modify and/or substitute the elongate member 600 (as key) being connected and released to/from the cavity receiver 204 of Linz to the externally connecting and disconnecting eye looped end 99 to the interior of the housing 40 of Story for minimizing or reducing of locking mechanisms, springs while providing an advantage of easily connecting and disconnected or released of the locking mechanism, since that locking mechanism is very well known and available in the security locking industries.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sheehan discloses the locking device comprising the flexible cable 20 of the locking device 10 has a proximate end 22 and a distal end 21. The proximate end 22 of the cable 20 connects to the electrically conductive second end 55 of the latching mechanism 40 and the cable 20 exits the housing 30 through cavity opening 61. The distal end 21 of the cable 20 connects to the base 51 of the latch 50. The cable 20 is made from a sturdy, non-rigid material such as an intertwined steel cable with plastic sheeting. An insulated electrically conductive wire 23 within the cable 20 runs the length of cable 20 from the proximate end 22 to the distal end 21. At the proximate end 22, the wire 23 is electrically connected to second end 55 of the latching mechanism 40. At the distal end 21 of the cable 20, the wire 23 is electrically connected to the bolt 54 of the latch 50. [US 2008/0066502]
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair- direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786- 9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/VAN T TRIEU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685
07/24/2026