DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: “max.” in line 8. It appears that it should be “maximum”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 objected to because of the following informalities: “the region” in line 4. It appears that “the” should be “a”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "fillers" in line 3. It is indefinite because it is not clear whether the "fillers" in line 3 relates to the "fillers" in mentioned in claim 1 line 11. Because the claim is indefinite and cannot be properly construed, for purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as "the fillers". Appropriate clarification is required.
Claims 9-10 are also rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 8 because each of dependent claims 9-10 is unclear, at least, in that it depends on unclear claim 8.
Claims 9-10 recites the limitations: 1) "fillers" in line 3. It is indefinite because it is not clear whether the "fillers" in line 3 relates to the "fillers" in mentioned in claim 1 line 11 and/or relates to the "fillers" in mentioned in claim 8 line 3. Because the claim is indefinite and cannot be properly construed, for purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as "the fillers". 2) “the material” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because it is not clear whether “the material” in line 3 relates to the “a plastic material” mentioned in claim 1 lines 3-4. Because the claim is indefinite and cannot be properly construed, for purposes of examination, this limitation is being interpreted as “the plastic material”. Appropriate clarifications are required.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “a plastic material” in line 3. It is indefinite because it is not clear whether the “a plastic material” in line 3 relates to the “a plastic material” mentioned in claim 1 lines 3-4. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim 12 recites the limitations: 1) “a plastic material” in line 8. It is indefinite because it is not clear whether the “a plastic material” in line 8 relates to the “a plastic material” mentioned in claim 1 lines 3-4. Because the claim is indefinite and cannot be properly construed, for purposes of examination, this limitation is being interpreted as “[[a]] the plastic material”. 2) “a plastic material” in line 10. It is indefinite because it is not clear whether the “a plastic material” in line 8 relates to the “a plastic material” mentioned in claim 1 lines 3-4 or relates to the “a plastic material” mentioned in line 8. Because the claim is indefinite and cannot be properly construed, for purposes of examination, this limitation is being interpreted as “[[a]] the plastic material”. Appropriate clarifications are required.
Claims 13-14 are also rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 12 because each of dependent claims 13-14 is unclear, at least, in that it depends on unclear claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-7, 11, 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koch (DE102018206290, hereafter Koch) in view of Sakai et al . (US 11,353,546, hereafter Sakai).
Regarding claim 1, Koch (‘290) discloses that A housing structure (1) for a radar apparatus of a vehicle {Fig.1 items 3 (housing), 4 (radome); page 1 abstract line 1 (A radar sensor device (1) for a motor vehicle (16) comprising a radar sensor (2) and a radome (4)), 4 (least laterally surrounding housing (3))}, the housing structure (1) comprising:
a radiation window (2) formed at least partially or regionally from a plastic material { Fig.1 item 4 (radome); page 1 lines 5-6 (the radome (4) and the housing (3) each consist of a thermally conductive plastic compound with at least one matrix material and at least one heat conductivity producing filler)},
wherein a material permittivity and a dielectric constant of the plastic material of the radiation window (2) are selected such that electromagnetic waves transmitted from and/or received by the radar apparatus can pass through the radiation window (2) {page 1 abstract lines 4-6 (the radome (4) and the housing (3) each consist of a thermally conductive plastic compound with at least one matrix material and at least one heat conductivity producing filler), below “Description” line 2 (radome radiated through at least one transmission section of radar signals of the radar sensor); page 2 line 31 (radar transmitting and receiving unit); page 4 line 34 (The necessary radar transparency and low attenuation, especially for one long-range radar, is thus given); page 6 line 13 (plastic materials with respect to the radar transparency); Examiner’s note: page 6 line 13 for “a material permittivity and a dielectric constant of the plastic material” because transparency is measured by “a material permittivity and a dielectric constant”. “a material permittivity and a dielectric constant” represent same concept, which can be converted each other.},
wherein the housing structure (1) comprises a frame region (3) surrounding the radiation window (2), in which a heating apparatus (4) is integrated {Fig.1 items 10 (side section), 13 (edge area), 14 (heating device); page 6 lines 6 (side sections 10), 29-30 (edge area 13, heating device 14)}, and
wherein fillers are embedded in the plastic material of the radiation window (2) { Fig.1 item 4 (radome); page 1 lines 5-6 (the radome (4) and the housing (3) each consist of a thermally conductive plastic compound with at least one matrix material and at least one heat conductivity producing filler)}, which increases a thermal conductivity of the plastic material of the radiation window (2) {page 6 lines 7-9 (Also formed electrically conductive, wherein the electrical conductivity is also given by the filler of the compound. As a filler for the housing 3 For example, graphite and / or graphene); Examiner’s note: “graphite and / or graphene” for “increases a thermal conductivity of the plastic material” because graphite and graphene can significantly increase the thermal conductivity of plastics.}.
However, Koch (‘290) does not explicitly disclose that (see words with underline) “wherein a material permittivity and a dielectric constant of the plastic material of the radiation window (2) are selected such that electromagnetic waves transmitted from and/or received by the radar apparatus can pass through the radiation window (2) with a damping of max. 6 dB in a single pass”. In the same field of endeavor, Sakai (‘546) discloses that
wherein a material permittivity and a dielectric constant of the with a damping of max. 6 dB in a single pass {Fig.7 (embodiment); abstract lines 5-7 (dielectric layer, having a dielectric constant) , 1-2 from bottom (the electromagnetic wave is transmitted through the cover unit); Examiner’s note: “permittivity and a dielectric constant” represent same concept, which can be converted each other. Therefor “dielectric constant” is also for “permittivity” };
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that applying a known technique (e.g. select dielectric constant for maximum external transmittance (e.g. with maximum loss 6dB)) to a known device (e.g. radar radome) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (e.g. obtain desired maximum external transmittance) and result in an improved system (e.g. The external transmittance indicates a transmittance of an electromagnetic wave when the electromagnetic wave is transmitted through radome. The radome is subjected to various contrivances to suppress influence to a minimum , as recognized by Sakai (‘546) { abstract lines 5-15 (dielectric layer formed of a dielectric and a second dielectric layer formed of a dielectric having a dielectric constant different from that of the first dielectric layer. The first dielectric layer is configured to have a thickness not more than that for a maximum external transmittance. The external transmittance indicates a transmittance of an electromagnetic wave, which is emitted in a direction of an incidence angle with respect to the first dielectric layer, which is equal to a maximum sensing angle, when the electromagnetic wave is transmitted through the cover unit); col.3 lines 52-55 (The radome 16 is formed in a box shape with one open surface covering the antenna unit 13. The radome 16 is subjected to various contrivances to suppress influence to a minimum)}).
Sakai (‘546) discloses the claimed invention except for exactly same amount of 6dB at very large sensing angle (e.g. 80 degree). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to choose materials with proper dielectric constant since the claimed ranges 6dB and the prior art range in Fig.7 are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties and further being motivated to properly select material so as to offers a maximum external transmittance, as recognized by Sakai (‘546) {abstract line 9 (maximum external transmittance)}.
Regarding claim 2, which depends on claim 1, the combination of Koch (‘290) and Sakai (‘546) discloses that in the housing structure,
a dielectric constant of the fillers embedded in the plastic material of the radiation window (2) is selected such that the fillers are at least substantially transparent to electromagnetic waves transmitted from and/or received by the radar apparatus {see Koch (‘290) page 2 line 31 (radar transmitting and receiving unit); page 4 line 34 (The necessary radar transparency and low attenuation, especially for one long-range radar, is thus given); page 6 lines 11 (a ceramic filler is used as the filler), 13 (such plastic materials with respect to the radar transparency); Examiner’s note: “transparency” for “a dielectric constant” because “a dielectric constant” determine “transparency” }.
Regarding claim 6, which depends on claim 1, the combination of Koch (‘290) and Sakai (‘546) discloses that in the housing structure (1),
the heating apparatus (4) integrated in the frame region (3) surrounding the radiation window (2) is formed by electrically conductive filler embedded at least regionally in the plastic material of the frame region (3) { see Koch (‘290) page 6 lines 11-12 from bottom (The heater 14 for example, as outside the transmission range 12 running electrical conductors in the radome 4 be formed)}, and
wherein the electrically conductive filler comprises at least one of copper, aluminum, iron, silver, graphite, carbon black, and/or carbon nanotubes (CNT) { see Koch (‘290) page 6 lines 7-9 (Also formed electrically conductive, wherein the electrical conductivity is also given by the filler of the compound. As a filler for the housing 3 For example, graphite and / or graphene)}.
Regarding claim 7, which depends on claim 1, the combination of Koch (‘290) and Sakai (‘546) discloses that in the housing structure (1),
the electrically conductive fillers are at least regionally embedded into the plastic material of the frame region (3) in such a way that, when an electrical voltage is applied and/or when an electrical current is supplied to the region in which the electrically conductive fillers are embedded, at least the frame region (3) of the housing structure (1) is heated at least regionally due to a power dissipation as a function of an ohmic resistance of the region { see Koch (‘290) page 6 lines 5-9 (Because both the case 3 as well as the radome 4 are made of a thermally conductive plastic material, in this case in each case a plastic compound of a matrix material and a filler, Also formed electrically conductive, wherein the electrical conductivity is also given by the filler of the compound. As a filler for the housing 3 For example, graphite and / or graphene), 11-12 from bottom (The heater 14 for example, as outside the transmission range 12 running electrical conductors in the radome 4 be formed); Examiner’s note: “running electrical conductors” for “a function of an ohmic resistance”}.
Regarding claim 11, which depends on claim 1, the combination of Koch (‘290) and Sakai (‘546) discloses that in the housing structure (1),
a region of the frame region (3) of the housing structure (1) in which the heating apparatus (4) is integrated is entirely over molded with a plastic material as part of an injection-molding process {see Koch (‘290) page 3 lines 15-18 (thermally conductive thermoplastic compounds is that there is more freedom in molding through processability, for example in injection molding. Thermally conductive plastic compounds allow a targeted adjustment of the material properties by the variation of the fillers and the filler content)}.
Regarding claim 15, as modified above, Koch (‘290) discloses that An assembly for temperature control of a radar sensor in a vehicle { Fig.1 items 2 (radar), 3 (housing), 4 (radome), 14 (heating device); page 1 abstract line 1 (A radar sensor device (1) for a motor vehicle (16) comprising a radar sensor (2) and a radome (4)), 4 (at least laterally surrounding housing (3)); page 6 line 30 (heating device 14) }, the assembly comprising:
at least one radar sensor { Fig.1 item 2 (radar); page 1 abstract line 1 (A radar sensor device (1) for a motor vehicle (16) comprising a radar sensor (2)) }; and
a housing associated with the at least one radar sensor, in which housing the at least one radar sensor is at least partially or regionally accommodated { Fig.1 items 2 (radar), 3 (housing), 4 (radome); page 1 abstract line 1 (A radar sensor device (1) for a motor vehicle (16) comprising a radar sensor (2) and a radome (4)), 4 (least laterally surrounding housing (3))},
wherein the housing associated with the at least one radar sensor is at least partially or regionally formed by a housing structure (1) according to claim 1 {see the rejection of claim 1}.
Regarding claim 16, which depends on claim 15, the combination of Koch (‘290) and Sakai (‘546) discloses that in the assembly,
the at least one radar sensor is accommodated in the housing in a fully encapsulated manner {see Koch (‘290) Fig.1}.
Regarding claim 17, as modified above, Koch (‘290) discloses that A radar apparatus for a vehicle {Fig.1; page 1 abstract line 1 (A radar sensor device (1) for a motor vehicle (16) comprising a radar sensor (2))},
wherein the radar apparatus comprises at least one antenna element and a housing structure (1) {Fig.1 items 3 (housing), 4 (radome), 8 (antenna); page 1 abstract line 1 (A radar sensor device (1) for a motor vehicle (16) comprising a radar sensor (2) and a radome (4)); page 6 line 1 (antenna arrangement 8), 3 (the housing 3)} according to claim 1 {see the rejection of claim 1},
wherein the radiation window (2) of the housing structure (1) is configured to allow passage of electromagnetic waves transmitted from and/or received by the at least one antenna element through the radiation window (2) {Fig.1 item 4 (radome); abstract lines 1-2 ( A radar sensor device (1) for a motor vehicle (16) comprising a radar sensor (2) and a radome (4) irradiated in at least one transmission section of radar signals of the radar sensor (2),); page 2 line 31 (radar transmitting and receiving unit); page 6 lines 14-15 (so that no disturbing damping properties and / or other parasitic effects by the radome 4 occur, at least what the antenna of the antenna array 8th used transmission area 12 As)},
wherein the at least one antenna element is arranged to be adjacent to the radiation window (2) { Fig.1 item 4 (radome), 8 (antenna); abstract line 1 (radome (4)); page 6 line 1 (antenna arrangement 8th), 15 (the antenna of the antenna array 8th)}.
Claim 3, 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koch (‘290) and Sakai (‘546) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Xu (US20220324760, hereafter Xu).
Regarding claim 3, which depends on claim 1, Koch (‘290) discloses that in the housing structure (1), the fillers embedded in the plastic material of the radiation window (2) comprises at least one of
{ page 4 lines 29-30 (fillers, the frequently used boron nitride)}.
However, Koch (‘290) and Sakai (‘546) do not explicitly disclose (see word with underline) “hexagonal boron nitride”. In the same field of endeavor, Xu (‘760) discloses that
hexagonal boron nitride { [0123] lines 1-2 (radome structures), 5-6 (protective structures for radar dishes) ; [0259] (hexagonal-BN)}.
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that applying a known technique (e.g. use boron nitride (e.g. hexagonal boron nitride) as filler ) to a known device (e.g. radar radome) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (e.g. provide thermal stability) and result in an improved system (e.g. provide radome with excellent resistance to thermal shock, as recognized by Xu (‘760) {[0008] lines 1-3 (Radome materials used in harsh working environments require low relative permittivity and excellent resistance to thermal shock); [0255] line 1 (Thermal stability )} and Koch (‘290) {page 4 lines 8-9 (good thermal conduction properties)}.
Regarding claim 8, which depends on claim 1, Koch (‘290) discloses that in the housing structure (1),
at least in a region of the frame region (3) of the housing structure (1), fillers are embedded into the plastic material of the frame region (3), which increases a thermal conductivity of the plastic material of the frame region (3) { page 6 lines 5-9 (Because both the case 3 as well as the radome 4 are made of a thermally conductive plastic material, in this casein each case a plastic compound of a matrix material and a filler, Also formed electrically conductive, wherein the electrical conductivity is also given by the filler of the compound. As a filler for the housing 3 For example, graphite and / or graphene), 11-12 from bottom (The heater 14 for example, as outside the transmission range 12 running electrical conductors in the radome 4 be formed); Examiner’s note: “graphite and / or graphene” for “increases a thermal conductivity of the plastic material” because graphite and graphene can significantly increase the thermal conductivity of plastics. },
wherein the fillers embedded into the plastic material of the frame region (3) comprises at least one of boron nitride, { page 4 (the frequently used boron nitride); }.
However, Koch (‘290) and Sakai (‘546) do not explicitly disclose (see word with underline) “hexagonal boron nitride”. In the same field of endeavor, Xu (‘760) discloses that
hexagonal boron nitride { [0123] lines 1-2 (radome structures), 5-6 (protective structures for radar dishes) ; [0259] (hexagonal-BN)}.
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that applying a known technique (e.g. use boron nitride (e.g. hexagonal boron nitride) as filler ) to a known device (e.g. radar radome) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (e.g. provide thermal stability) and result in an improved system (e.g. provide radome with excellent resistance to thermal shock, as recognized by Xu (‘760) {[0008] lines 1-3 (Radome materials used in harsh working environments require low relative permittivity and excellent resistance to thermal shock); [0255] line 1 (Thermal stability )} and Koch (‘290) {page 4 lines 8-9 (good thermal conduction properties)}.
Regarding claim 9, which depends on claims 1 and 8, the combination of Koch (‘290) and Sakai (‘546) discloses that in the housing structure (1),
the region of the frame region (3) of the housing structure (1) in which fillers increasing the thermal conductivity of the material are embedded in the material of the frame region (3) is thermally conductively connected to the radiation window (2) {see Koch (‘290) page 6 lines 5-9 (Because both the case 3 as well as the radome 4 are made of a thermally conductive plastic material, in this casein each case a plastic compound of a matrix material and a filler, Also formed electrically conductive, wherein the electrical conductivity is also given by the filler of the compound. As a filler for the housing 3 For example, graphite and / or graphene), 11-12 from bottom (The heater 14 for example, as outside the transmission range 12 running electrical conductors in the radome 4 be formed); Examiner’s note: “graphite and / or graphene” for “increasing the thermal conductivity of the material are embedded in the material of the frame region (3) is thermally conductively connected to the radiation window (2)” because both graphite and graphene can significantly increase the thermal conductivity of plastics.}.
Regarding claim 10, which depends on claims 1 and 8, the combination of Koch (‘290) and Sakai (‘546) discloses thatin the housing structure (1),
the region of the frame region (3) of the housing structure (1) in which fillers increasing the thermal conductivity of the material are embedded in the material of the frame region (3) is integrally formed with the radiation window (2) { see Koch (‘290) Fig.1 items 13, 14; page 6 lines 5-9 (Because both the case 3 as well as the radome 4 are made of a thermally conductive plastic material, in this casein each case a plastic compound of a matrix material and a filler, Also formed electrically conductive, wherein the electrical conductivity is also given by the filler of the compound. As a filler for the housing 3 For example, graphite and / or graphene), 29-30 (edge area 13, heating device 14), 11-12 from bottom (The heater 14 for example, as outside the transmission range 12 running electrical conductors in the radome 4 be formed); Examiner’s note: “graphite and / or graphene” for “increasing the thermal conductivity of the material are embedded in the material of the frame region (3) is thermally conductively connected to the radiation window (2)” because both graphite and graphene can significantly increase the thermal conductivity of plastics.}.
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koch (‘290) and Sakai (‘546) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Okumura et al. (US 2019 / 0232886, hereafter Okumura).
Regarding claim 4, which depends on claim 1, Koch (‘290) and Sakai (‘546) do not explicitly disclose that (see word with underline) “the heating apparatus (4) integrated in the frame region (3) surrounding the radiation window (2) comprises a strip conductor assembly fully integrated in the material of the frame region (3) which is configured such that, when an electrical voltage is applied and/or an electrical current is supplied, at least the frame region (3) of the housing structure (1) is heated at least regionally due to a power dissipation as a function of an ohmic resistance of the strip conductor assembly”. In the same field of endeavor, Okumura (‘886) discloses that in the housing structure (1),
the heating apparatus (4) integrated in the frame region (3) surrounding the radiation window (2) comprises a strip conductor assembly fully integrated in the material of the frame region (3) { Fig.2 items 61, 62},
which is configured such that, when an electrical voltage is applied and/or an electrical current is supplied, at least the frame region (3) of the housing structure (1) is heated at least regionally due to a power dissipation as a function of an ohmic resistance of the strip conductor assembly { Fig.2 items 55 (heater), 57 (wire heating element), 61 (electrodes), 62 (thermistor), 65 (connector); [0092] line 3 (a wire heating element 57, electrodes 61); [0093] lines 2-4 (The wire heating element 57 may be a nichrome wire , an etched stainless steel heater , a carbon heating element , a silver paste , or a transparent conductive film); [0096] lines 2-3 (The thermistor 62 is a resistor whose resistance value varies with the temperature ,); [0110] lines 2-4 (the connector 65), This electrically connects the heater 55); [0154] line 6 (power applied to the heating element 57)}.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of Koch (‘290) and Sakai (‘546) with the teachings of Okumura (‘886) { apply electronic power to heater on radome} to apply electronic power to heater on radome. Doing so would provide heat to radome via electrodes and heating element to melt snow adhered vehicle decorative part so as to guarantee radar performing measurement during snowfall, as recognized by Okumura (‘886) {[0003] lines 7-9 (millimeter wave radars that perform measurement during snowfall are sought); [0009] lines 1-4 (the heating element 106 of the heater 105 emits heat . When snow adheres to the vehicle decorative part 100 , the heating element 106 is energized and emits heat , which melts the snow .); [0012] line 6 (melting the snow adhering to the vehicle decorative part); [0092] lines 1-5 (As shown in FIGS . 2 and 5 , the heater 55 includes a planar heating element or a film heater , for example . The heater 55 includes a wire heating element 57 , electrodes 61 , a thermistor 62 , a plastic sheet 63 , and a connector 65 as components)}.
Regarding claim 5, which depends on claims 1 and 5, Koch (‘290) and Sakai (‘546) do not explicitly disclose that “the strip conductor assembly comprises at least one strip conductor formed in a silver printing process”. In the same field of endeavor, Okumura (‘886) discloses that in the housing structure (1),
the strip conductor assembly comprises at least one strip conductor formed in a silver printing process { [0093] lines 2-4 (The wire heating element 57 may be a nichrome wire , an etched stainless steel heater , a carbon heating element , a silver paste , or a transparent conductive film); Examiner’s note: “silver paste” for “a silver printing process” because “silver paste” is specifically designed to be printed.}.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of Koch (‘290) and Sakai (‘546) with the teachings of Okumura (‘886) { apply electronic power to heater on radome (e.g. via silver paste)} to apply electronic power to heater on radome (e.g. via silver paste). Doing so would provide heat to radome via electrodes and heating element to melt snow adhered vehicle decorative part so as to guarantee radar performing measurement during snaowfall, as recognized by Okumura (‘886) {[0003] lines 7-9 (millimeter wave radars that perform measurement during snowfall are sought); [0009] lines 1-4 (the heating element 106 of the heater 105 emits heat . When snow adheres to the vehicle decorative part 100 , the heating element 106 is energized and emits heat , which melts the snow .); [0012] line 6 (melting the snow adhering to the vehicle decorative part); [0092] lines 1-5 (As shown in FIGS . 2 and 5 , the heater 55 includes a planar heating element or a film heater , for example . The heater 55 includes a wire heating element 57 , electrodes 61 , a thermistor 62 , a plastic sheet 63 , and a connector 65 as components)}.
Claims 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koch (‘290) and Sakai (‘546) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Egger et al. (DE 102014002438, Egger).
Regarding claim 12, which depends on claim 1, Koch (‘290) and Sakai (‘546) do not explicitly disclose that “the housing structure (1) is configured as a triple-layer body produced in a plastic injection-molding process, wherein the triple-layer body comprising: an outer layer (5) made of an at least substantially radar-transparent plastic material, in which the fillers increasing the thermal conductivity are at least regionally embedded; a middle layer (6) made of a plastic material, wherein the heating apparatus (4) is configured at least regionally in the middle layer; and an inner layer (7) made of a plastic material, which covers the middle layer (6) and the heating apparatus (4)”. In the same field of endeavor, Egger (‘438) discloses that in the housing structure (1),
the housing structure (1) is configured as a triple-layer body produced in a plastic injection-molding process { Fig.3; page 5 lines 11-13 (a contact plate made of electrically conductive material (eg, copper) positioned during the injection molding process, so that the contact element 4 firmly connected to the injected plastic. Each contact element 4 is in direct contact with the heating wires after injection molding 2 in the recesses 1a ,); Examiner’s note: Fig.3 items 1, 3, 5 for “ triple-layer” }, wherein the triple-layer body comprising:
an outer layer (5) made of an at least substantially radar-transparent plastic material, in which the fillers increasing the thermal conductivity are at least regionally embedded { Fig.3 items 1-2; page 1 abstract line 3 (electrically transparent conductive wire (1)); page 4 lines 13-14 (film 1 with recesses 1a that the contacting of the heating wires 2 serve ); page 5 line 9 (plastic of the film piece 1) ; Examiner’s note: “heating wires 2” for “fillers” };
a middle layer (6) made of a plastic material, wherein the heating apparatus (4) is configured at least regionally in the middle layer { Fig.3 items 3-4; page 1 abstract line 1 ( a heatable plastic radome for a of a motor vehicle.); page 3 lines 6-7 from bottom (contact elements can be used which are formed with a geometry for direct contacting with a cable harness or plug of the motor vehicle); page 5 lines 11-13 (a contact plate made of electrically conductive material (eg, copper) positioned during the injection molding process, so that the contact element 4 firmly connected to the injected plastic . Each contact element 4 is in direct contact with the heating wires after injection molding 2 in the recesses 1a ,), 17-18 (Finally, the heating wires 2 and the contact elements 4 connected in a suitable method and so made the electrical contact.), 28-29 (contact element 4 points, via which the electrical connection to the vehicle power supply takes place) Examiner’s note: “contact element” for “heating apparatus” because it provides power }; and
an inner layer (7) made of a plastic material, which covers the middle layer (6) and the heating apparatus (4) { Fig.3 item 5; page 1 abstract line 1 ( a heatable plastic radome for a of a motor vehicle.); page 6 lines 9-10 from bottom (the at least one contact element (4) is connected to the back-injected plastic) }.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of Koch (‘290) and Sakai (‘546) with the teachings of Egger (‘438) {use an injection-molded plastic cover with layers in which heating wires are embedded in radome design} to use an injection-molded plastic cover with layers in which heating wires are embedded in radome design. Doing so would provide radome with heating device firmly connected to the heating wires and the layer so as to produce a heatable plastic radome, which is quickly and inexpensively contactable and electrically connectable with peripheral electrical components, with optimized Heizleistungs-Radar permeability ratio and with a heater visually hardly noticeable, as recognized by Egger (‘438) {page 2 lines 14-17 from bottom (producing a heatable plastic radome with optimized Heizleistungs-Radar permeability ratio, the heater should be visually hardly noticeable and the plastic radome quickly and inexpensively with peripheral electrical components should be contactable and electrically connectable.); page 5 lines 11-13 (a contact plate made of electrically conductive material (eg, copper) positioned during the injection molding process, so that the contact element 4 firmly connected to the injected plastic. Each contact element 4 is in direct contact with the heating wires after injection molding 2 in the recesses 1a ,)}.
Regarding claim 14, which depends on claims 1 and 12, Koch (‘290) and Sakai (‘546) do not explicitly disclose that “the housing structure (1) comprises an electrical port (8), which is guided through the inner layer (7) and configured to supply electrical energy to the heating apparatus (4)”. In the same field of endeavor, Egger (‘438) discloses that in the housing structure (1),
the housing structure (1) comprises an electrical port (8), which is guided through the inner layer (7) and configured to supply electrical energy to the heating apparatus (4) {Fig.3 items 2, 4’, 5’; page 5 lines 26-29 (In the schematic side view in 3 is one in the foil piece 1 embedded heating wire 2 represented by the recess 1a extends. The contact element 4 has a lowered portion 4 '' up in the recess 1a is arranged and the heating wire 2 contacted. A connection section 4 ' of the contact element 4 points in the direction of the base plate 5 and is there by a plug element 5 ' recorded, via which the electrical connection to the vehicle power supply takes place)}.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of Koch (‘290) and Sakai (‘546) with the teachings of Egger (‘438) {use an injection-molded plastic cover with layers in which heating wires are embedded in radome design and are powered via power port from inner layer} to use an injection-molded plastic cover with layers in which heating wires are embedded in radome design and are powered via power port from inner layer. Doing so would provide radome with heating device firmly connected to the heating wires and the layer so as to produce a heatable plastic radome, which is quickly and inexpensively contactable and electrically connectable with peripheral electrical components, with optimized Heizleistungs-Radar permeability ratio and with a heater visually hardly noticeable, as recognized by Egger (‘438) {page 2 lines 14-17 frombottom (producing a heatable plastic radome with optimized Heizleistungs-Radar permeability ratio, the heater should be visually hardly noticeable and the plastic radome quickly and inexpensively with peripheral electrical components should be contactable and electrically connectable.); page 5 lines 11-13 (a contact plate made of electrically conductive material (eg, copper) positioned during the injection molding process, so that the contact element 4 firmly connected to the injected plastic. Each contact element 4 is in direct contact with the heating wires after injection molding 2 in the recesses 1a ,)}.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koch (‘290), Sakai (‘546), and Egger (‘438) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Gauerhof et al. (DE 102018212615, Gauerhof).
Regarding claim 13, which depends on claims 1 and 12, Koch (‘290), Sakai (‘546), and Egger (‘438) do not explicitly disclose that “the plastic material of the outer layer (5) is substantially identical to the plastic material of the middle and/or inner layer (6, 7)”. In the same field of endeavor, Egger (‘438) discloses that in the housing structure (1),
the plastic material of the outer layer (5) is substantially identical to the plastic material of the middle and/or inner layer (6, 7) {Fig.2; page 6 line 6 from bottom (the shell is 34 only from a single material, for example the first, second or third plastic 38 . 40 . 42)}.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of Koch (‘290), Sakai (‘546), and Egger (‘438) with the teachings of Gauerhof (‘615) {use a single material for a three layer plastic radome} to use a single material for a three layer plastic radome. Doing so would simplify manufacturing radar radome so as to precisely manufacture radar-wave permeable plastic in radar radiation area and reduce production cost to meet respective requirements, as recognized by Gauerhof (‘615) {page 7 lines 29 (a single housing 32 provided, which is used as a radome), 34-36 (Manufacturing is simplified, in the radiation area 20 the radar-wave permeable plastic is manufactured precisely, in particular according to the respective requirements.), 39 (to reduced production costs)}.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 6,674,392 discloses that “the heating apparatus (4) integrated in the frame region (3) surrounding the radiation window (2) comprises a strip conductor assembly fully integrated in the material of the frame region (3), which is configured such that, when an electrical voltage is applied and/or an electrical current is supplied, at least the frame region (3) of the housing structure (1) is heated at least regionally due to a power dissipation as a function of an ohmic resistance of the strip conductor assembly” {Fig.2 item 22; col.5 lines 14-16 (are two connector contacts 22 which are used to produce the electrical contact to the electrically conductive tracks.)}, which further support the rejection of claim 4.
CN 116466298 discloses that “the strip conductor assembly comprises at least one strip conductor formed in a silver printing process” {page 2 lines 20-21 (the membrane with heating wire loop is formed by the ultrasonic wave/laser or printing conductive silver paste) }, which further support the rejection of claim 5.
/YONGHONG LI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648