DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Application No. 19/013,877 filed 01/08/2025. Claims 1-26 are pending and have been examined.
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 01/15/2025 and 01/07/2026 were considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Pottjegort (US 2013/0185164).
Consider claim 1, Pottjegort clearly teaches a method comprising:
receiving, by a computing device and from an advertisement source, an advertisement; (Fig. 7: Client device 710 receives an advertisement 770 from ad server 730, [0036]-[0039].)
receiving, from the advertisement source, information indicating one or more parameters, associated with output of the advertisement, to be tracked; (Figs. 7, 8: Ad server 730 sends a visibility code 820 to client 710 which allows advertisement visibility information to be tracked, [0030], [0040], [0042], [0043].)
causing the output of the advertisement; (Fig. 1: Advertisements 131-133 are displayed, [0003], [0045].) and
tracking, during the output of the advertisement and based on the information indicating the one or more parameters to be tracked, the one or more parameters. (Visibility information regarding the display of the advertisement is tracked, [0041]-[0046], [0059].)
Consider claim 2, Pottjegort clearly teaches the advertisement source comprises one or more of: an advertiser; or an advertisement server. (Fig. 7: Ad server 730, [0037])
Consider claim 3, Pottjegort clearly teaches sending, by the computing device and to a second computing device, information indicating the tracked one or more parameters. (Fig. 7: Client 710 sends visibility information to metric server 740, [0041], [0059].)
Consider claim 4, Pottjegort clearly teaches receiving the information indicating the one or more parameters to be tracked further comprises receiving a configuration file for the advertisement comprising the information indicating the one or more parameters to be tracked. (Fig. 8: Visibility code 820, [0042], [0043].)
Consider claim 5, Pottjegort clearly teaches the tracking the one or more parameters further comprises: monitoring interactions of a user with the computing device during the output of the advertisement. (Mouse movement and clicks are tracked, [0101]-[0103], [0116].)
Consider claim 6, Pottjegort clearly teaches the one or more parameters to be tracked comprise impairments to an effectiveness of the advertisement. (Visibility information includes the extent to which the advertisement was visible, [0075].)
Consider claim 7, Pottjegort clearly teaches receiving, from the advertisement source, second information indicating one or more restrictions associated with output of the advertisement. (Visibility code 820 restricts the browser 715 from reporting an advertisement as visible based on a percentage of the advertisement displayed, [0075].)
Consider claim 8, Pottjegort clearly teaches sending, to a second computing device, a report identifying the tracked one or more parameters. (Fig. 7: Client 710 sends visibility information to metric server 740, [0041], [0059].)
Consider claim 9, Pottjegort clearly teaches the information indicating the one or more parameters to be tracked comprises a configuration file, from the advertisement source, to accompany delivery of the advertisement. (Fig. 8: Visibility code 820 is received from ad server 730, [0040], [0042].)
Consider claim 10, Pottjegort clearly teaches the one or more parameters comprise one or more of: a change in audio level; an obscuration of a portion of the advertisement; (Visibility information includes the extent to which the advertisement was visible, [0075].) a change in display size associated with the advertisement; and an interaction with an application.
Consider claim 11, Pottjegort clearly teaches the information indicating the one or more parameters comprises instructions to track an event at a communications interface. (Fig. 7: Visibility code 820 tracks the visibility of advertisements drawn on client device screen 712, [0043], [0044].)
Consider claim 21, Pottjegort clearly teaches a method comprising:
receiving, by a computing device, an advertisement; (Fig. 7: Client device 710 receives an advertisement 770 from ad server 730, [0036]-[0039].)
causing output of the advertisement; (Fig. 1: Advertisements 131-133 are displayed, [0003], [0045].)
tracking an event, at a communications interface associated with the computing device, during the output of the advertisement; (Figs. 7, 8: Ad server 730 sends a visibility code 820 to client 710 which allows the visibility of advertisements drawn on client device screen 712 to be tracked, [0030], [0040], [0042], [0043], [0044].) and
sending, to a second computing device, an indication of the tracked event. (Fig. 7: Client 710 sends visibility information to metric server 740, [0041], [0059].)
Consider claim 22, Pottjegort clearly teaches the communications interface comprises a physical communications interface. (Figs. 5, 7: Screen 712, [0031], [0043])
Consider claim 23, Pottjegort clearly teaches the communications interface comprises a physical communications interface comprising an input source associated with the computing device. (Fig. 7: Screen 712 receives webpage 750 and advertisements for display, [0034]-[0038], [0043]-[0045].)
Consider claim 24, Pottjegort clearly teaches the tracking the event comprises tracking a state change, during the output of the advertisement, of the communications interface. (Changes in pixels are tracked, [0044], [0045].)
Consider claim 25, Pottjegort clearly teaches the tracking the event comprises monitoring, during the output of the advertisement, the communications interface for a state change and tracking the state change. (Changes in pixels are tracked, [0044], [0045].)
Consider claim 26, Pottjegort clearly teaches the tracking is based on a configuration file, from an advertisement source, accompanying the advertisement, wherein the configuration file indicates one or more parameters to be tracked during output of the advertisement. (Fig. 8: Visibility code 820 is received from ad server 730, [0040], [0042].)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pottjegort (US 2013/0185164) in view of Filev et al. (US 2017/0140421), herein Filev.
Consider claim 12, Pottjegort clearly teaches a method comprising:
receiving, by a computing device, from a content source, an advertisement; (Fig. 7: Client device 710 receives an advertisement 770 from ad server 730, [0036]-[0039].)
receiving, from the content source, information indicating one or more parameters to be tracked for the output of the advertisement; (Figs. 7, 8: Ad server 730 sends a visibility code 820 to client 710 which allows advertisement visibility information to be tracked, [0030], [0040], [0042], [0043].) and
sending, the advertisement and the information indicating the one or more parameters to be tracked. (Figs. 7, 8: Ad server 730 sends advertisement 770 and visibility code 820 to client 710 which allows advertisement visibility information to be tracked, [0030], [0036]-[0040], [0042], [0043].)
However, Pottjegort does not explicitly teach receiving, by a computing device, from a content source, and for output by a second computing device, an advertisement; and sending, to the second computing device, the advertisement.
In an analogous art, Filev, which discloses an advertisement system, clearly teaches receiving, by a computing device, from a content source, and for output by a second computing device, an advertisement; and sending, to the second computing device, the advertisement. (Figs. 1, 2: Advertisers 102 send advertisements to ad system 204 which stores the advertisements then provides them to user 108, [0037], [0038].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Pottjegort by receiving, by a computing device, from a content source, and for output by a second computing device, an advertisement; and sending, to the second computing device, the advertisement, as taught by Filev, for the benefit of efficiently selecting advertisements to provide to the user.
Consider claim 13, Pottjegort combined with Filev clearly teaches receiving, from the second computing device, second information associated with the one or more parameters. (Fig. 7: Client 710 sends visibility information to metric server 740, [0041], [0059] Pottjegort.)
Consider claim 14, Pottjegort combined with Filev clearly teaches the information comprising the one or more parameters to be tracked further comprises a configuration file comprising a set of instructions for performance by the second computing device during the output of the advertisement. (Fig. 8: Visibility code 820, [0042], [0043] Pottjegort.)
Consider claim 15, Pottjegort combined with Filev clearly teaches sending, to the second computing device, a content item, wherein the computing device sends the advertisement and the information indicating the one or more parameters to be tracked with the content item. (Figs. 7, 8: Ad server 730 sends advertisement 770 and visibility code 820 to client 710 which allows advertisement visibility information to be tracked, [0030], [0036]-[0040], [0042], [0043] Pottjegort.)
Consider claim 16, Pottjegort combined with Filev clearly teaches receiving, from the content source, second information indicating one or more restrictions, for an output device, during output of the advertisement. (Visibility code 820 restricts the browser 715 from reporting an advertisement as visible based on a percentage of the advertisement displayed, [0075] Pottjegort.)
Consider claim 17, Pottjegort combined with Filev clearly teaches receiving, from the second computing device, second information associated with the one or more parameters; (Fig. 7: Client 710 sends visibility information to metric server 740, [0041], [0059] Pottjegort.) and selecting, based on the second information, a second advertisement for output via the second computing device. (Advertisements are redesigned based on the visibility information, [0114] Pottjegort.)
Consider claim 18, Pottjegort combined with Filev clearly teaches receiving, from the second computing device, a report file indicating the one or more parameters that were tracked. (Fig. 7: Client 710 sends visibility information to metric server 740, [0041], [0059] Pottjegort.)
Consider claim 19, Pottjegort combined with Filev clearly teaches the information indicating the one or more parameters comprises instructions to track an event at a communications interface associated with the second computing device. (Fig. 7: Visibility code 820 tracks the visibility of advertisements drawn on client device screen 712, [0043], [0044] Pottjegort.)
Consider claim 20, Pottjegort combined with Filev clearly teaches the content source comprises one or more of: an advertiser; or an advertisement server. (Fig. 7: Ad server 730, [0037] Pottjegort)
Conclusion
In the case of amending the claimed invention, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/JOHN R SCHNURR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425