DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 11 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, there is a typographical error in the limitation “the first optical coupler or”, in line 11. The claim introduce the limitation “a first optical coupler or circulator”, in line 8. Thus, the limitation “the first optical coupler or”, in line 11 should be change to —the first optical coupler or circulator—.
In claim 11, there is a typographical error in the limitation “first and the second resonant optical signals”, in line 3. Claim 10 first introduce the limitation “a first optical coupler or circulator”, in line 8. Thus, the limitation “a first resonant optical signals” and “a second resonant optical signal”. Thus, the limitation “first and the second resonant optical signals”, in line 3 should be change to —the first and the second resonant optical signals—.
In claim 15, there is a typographical error in the limitation “the first optical coupler or”, in line 10. The claim introduce the limitation “a first optical coupler or circulator”, in line 7. Thus, the limitation “the first optical coupler or”, in line 10 should be change to —the first optical coupler or circulator—.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu, Danni, et al. ("Interferometric optical gyroscope based on an integrated silica waveguide coil with low loss." Optics Express 28.10 (2020): 15718-15730., included in IDS on 07/01/2026), hereafter Liu.
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches an apparatus (Fig. 4) configured to be used for determining a rotation rate, (as indicated in Fig. 4 “Gyro output”, [page 15722, first paragraph], [page 15728, section 5.2, first and second paragraph]), the apparatus comprising:
a photonic integrated circuit (PIC) including a substrate, (Fig. 4 is “IOG with an integrated SiO2 waveguide sensing coil”, [Caption of Fig. 4]), wherein the PIC includes:
a broadband optical signal source optical circuit (Fig. 4 element ASE) configured to generate an amplified spontaneous emission, (“the output power of ASE (amplified spontaneous emission) source”, [page 15722, section 3.2.1.] and [page 15728, section 5.2, first paragraph]);
an optical divider/combiner (Fig. 4 element “Y branch”, [page 15721, section 3.1, fourth paragraph] [page 15722, first paragraph]);
a first optical coupler or circulator (Fig. 4 element “1x2 splitter”) optically coupled between the broadband optical signal source optical circuit (ASE) and the optical divider/combiner (Y branch), (as shown in Fig. 4);
wherein the first optical coupler or (“1x2 splitter”) is configured to receive the amplified spontaneous emission, (as shown in Fig. 4 by the direction of the blue and red arrows from the ASE to the 1x2 splitter) and to emit the amplified spontaneous emission to the optical divider/combiner(Y branch), (as shown in Fig. 4 by the direction of the blue and red arrows from the ASE through 1x2 splitter to the Y branch, [page 15728, section 5.2, first paragraph]);
wherein the optical divider/combiner (Y branch) is configured to emit a first portion (Fig. 4 element CW) and a second portion (Fig. 4 element CCW) of the amplified spontaneous emission, (“the output power of ASE (amplified spontaneous emission) source is P0 = E20 and CW, CCW incident light after splitting by the Y branch have the same amplitudes of electric field “, [page 15722, first paragraph and section 3.2.1, second paragraph]);
a first optical phase modulator (annotated Fig. 4 element “first modulator”) optically coupled to the optical divider/combiner (1x2 splitter), as shown in annotated Fig. 4), and configured to phase modulate the first portion of the amplified spontaneous emission with an in-phase periodic signal, [page 15722, section 3.2.1, Equation (4)]);
a second optical phase modulator (annotated Fig. 4 element “second modulator”) optically coupled to the optical divider/combiner (1x2 splitter), (as shown in annotated Fig. 4), and configured to phase modulate the second portion of the amplified spontaneous emission with a phase inverted periodic signal, [page 15722, section 3.2.1, Equation (5)], The difference in signs for the modulation terms between ECW and ECCW indicates opposite propagation directions as a phase inverted periodic signal); and
an optical resonator (Fig. 4 element integrated coil) including a rotation axis and optically coupled to the first and the second optical phase modulators, (as shown in annotated Fig. 4);
wherein the optical resonator (integrated coil) is configured to (a) receive a first phase modulated portion (CW) of the amplified spontaneous emission from the first optical phase modulator (indicated as the first modulator in annotated Fig. 4), (b) receive a second phase modulated portion (CCW) of the amplified spontaneous emission from the second optical phase modulator (indicated as the second modulator in annotated Fig. 4),, (c) emit a first resonant optical signal, and (d) emit a second resonant optical signal, (as shown in Fig. 4 and in annotated Fig. 4: the blue and red arrows pointing in the left direction are the first and second resonant optical signals);
wherein the optical divider/combiner (Y branch) is further configured to combine the first and the second resonant optical signals, (as shown in annotated Fig. 4, the signals are combined by the Y branch generating interference light as indicted by the blue and red arrows pointing in the left direction, [page 15728, Section 5.2, first paragraph]).
Regarding claim 10, Liu teaches a method of generating at least one signal configured to be used to determine a rate of rotation, [page 15728, section 5.2, first and second paragraph]), the method comprising:
generating, in a photonic integrated circuit (PIC) ((Fig. 4 element “IOG with an integrated SiO2 waveguide sensing coil”), an amplified spontaneous emission (Fig. 4 element ASE), [page 15722, section 3.2.1.] and [page 15728, section 5.2, first paragraph]).
Regarding claim 11, Liu teaches the method of claim 10, further comprising converting combined first and second resonant optical signals into an electrical signal indicative of an optical power of interference between first and the second resonant optical signals, ( as shown in Fig. 4 the IOG comprises a PD “photodetector” the convert the interference signal in to electric signal of the first and second resonant signal CW and CCW as interference signal, [page 15727], [page 15728, first paragraph];
using the in-phase or the phase inverted periodic signal, (the claim recite “using the” is a contingent limitation and do not carry patentably weight as those steps are not required to be performed under a broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, See Ex parte Schulhauser,, MPEP 2111.04), demodulating the electrical signal, [page 15728, first paragraph]; and
using a demodulated electrical signal (the claim recite “using the” is a contingent limitation and do not carry patentably weight as those steps are not required to be performed under a broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, See Ex parte Schulhauser,, MPEP 2111.04), [page 15728, first paragraph], determining a rate of rotation of the optical resonator around a rotation axis of the optical resonator (integrated coil), [page 15722 , first and second paragraph], [page 15728, second paragraph].
dividing, in the PIC, the amplified spontaneous emission into a first portion and a second portion, (Fig. 4 element “Y branch” divide the emission in two portions, [page 15721, section 3.1, fourth paragraph] [page 15722, first paragraph]);;
phase modulating, in the PIC, the first portion with an in-phase periodic signal, [page 15722, section 3.2.1, Equation (4)]);;
phase modulating, in the PIC, the second portion with a phase inverted periodic signal [page 15722, section 3.2.1, Equation (5)], The difference in signs for the modulation terms between ECW and ECCW indicates opposite propagation directions as a phase inverted periodic signal);;
receiving, in the PIC, a first phase modulated portion (Fig. 4 element CW), of the amplified spontaneous emission, at a first port of an optical resonator (Fig. 4 element integrated coil), (as shown in Fig. 4);
receiving, in the PIC, a second phase modulated portion (Fig. 4 element CW),, of the amplified spontaneous emission, at a second port of the optical resonator (Fig. 4 element integrated coil), (as shown in Fig. 4);
emitting, in the PIC, a first resonant optical signal from the second port of the optical resonator, wherein the first resonant optical signal circulates around the optical resonator in a first direction (as shown in Fig. 4 and in annotated Fig. 4: the red arrow pointing in the left direction is the first resonant optical signal, [page 15722, first paragraph]);
emitting, in the PIC, a second resonant optical signal from the first port of the optical resonator, wherein the second resonant optical signal circulates around the optical resonator in a second direction which is opposite to the first direction (as shown in Fig. 4 and in annotated Fig. 4: the blue arrow pointing in the left direction is the second resonant optical signal, [page 15722, first paragraph]);
combining in the PIC, the first and the second resonant optical signals, (as shown in annotated Fig. 4, the signals are combined by the Y branch generating interference light as indicted by the blue and red arrows pointing in the left direction, [page 15728, Section 5.2, first paragraph]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4, 8 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, in view of Rochus et al. (US 2020/0158506 A1), hereafter Rochus.
Regarding claim 2, Liu teaches the apparatus, further comprising:
an optical detector (Fig. 4 element PD) optically coupled to the first optical coupler (Fig. 4 element “1x2 splitter”), (as shown in Fig. 4) and configured to receive a combined first and second resonant optical signals, [page 15727, third and fourth paragraphs], [page 15728, section 5.2, first paragraph];
a demodulating circuit (Fig. 4 element demodulation) electrically coupled to the optical detector (PD) and configured to (a) receive the reference periodic signal or the phase inverted periodic signal and (b) emit a demodulated electrical signal, [page 15728, section 5.2, first and second paragraph]; and
circuitry configured to, using the demodulated electrical signal, determine a rate of rotation of the optical resonator around the rotation axis, (as shown in Fig. 12, [page 15722 , first and second paragraph], [page 15728, section 5.2, first and second paragraph]).
Even though Liu discloses a periodic signal generation for the modulator since when an optical phase modulator is driven by a sinusoidal RF signal, the resulting system operates as a periodic optical signal generator, [page 15728, section 5.2, first paragraph]. Liu is silent about: a periodic signal generator configured to generate the in-phase periodic signal, the phase inverted periodic signal, and a reference periodic signal.
However, Rochus related to optical gyroscope and thus from the same field of endeavor teaches a periodic signal generator (“electrical signal generator”, [0061]) configured to generate the in-phase periodic signal (Fig. 2 element CW), the phase inverted periodic signal (Fig. 2 element CCW),, and a reference periodic signal (monitoring signals, [0063], (the combination of the electrical signal generator with elements 111 + 121 + 104 + 105 in fig. 2, generates the CW, CCW and the monitoring signal interpreted as reference period signal, [0061, 0063]).
Therefore, it would been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Liu by including a periodic signal generator configured to generate the in-phase periodic signal, the phase inverted periodic signal, and a reference periodic signal (as taught by Rochus) for several advantages such as: allowing an easy access for monitoring the optical power levels obtained after phase modulation but before injection into the passive optical cavity, a possible imbalance in optical power levels for the phase-modulated first and second optical signal prior to injection into the passive optical cavity which may require a re-balancing adjustment, a carrier wavelength suppression level thus increasing the device accuracy, ([0063], Rochus).
Regarding claim 4, Liu in the combination outlined above teaches The apparatus of claim 2.
Even though Liu teaches the PIC (Fig. 4 element IOG) further includes, the demodulating circuit (demodulation), and at least part of the circuitry configured to determine the rate of rotation (PD), (as shown in Fig. 4), is not clear if these elements are externally connected to the IOG or if these elements are in the substrate of the IOG. Therefore Liu is silent about wherein the PIC further includes at least one of the periodic signal generator, the demodulating circuit, and at least part of the circuitry configured to determine the rate of rotation.
However, Rochus further teaches wherein the PIC further includes at least one of the periodic signal generator, [0061], the demodulating circuit, and at least part of the circuitry configured to determine the rate of rotation (Fig. 2 elements 116 + 126, [0073]).
Therefore, it would been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Liu by including wherein the PIC further includes at least one of the periodic signal generator, the demodulating circuit, and at least part of the circuitry configured to determine the rate of rotation (as taught by Rochus) for several advantages such as: allowing an easy access for monitoring the optical power levels obtained after phase modulation but before injection into the passive optical cavity, a possible imbalance in optical power levels for the phase-modulated first and second optical signal prior to injection into the passive optical cavity which may require a re-balancing adjustment, a carrier wavelength suppression level thus increasing the device accuracy, ([0063], Rochus). Also, a completely or partially integrated optical gyroscope also benefits from an increased robustness with regard to vibrations, shocks and temperature changes, thus increase the device efficiency, ([0060], Rochus).
Regarding claim 8, Liu teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the optical resonator (Fig. 4 element waveguide integrated coil) includes a planar optical resonator, (the integrated waveguide coil loop form of the SiO2 is a planar optical resonator), a first planar optical waveguide, and a second planar optical waveguide;
Even though Liu teaches the planar optical resonator, the first and second optical phase modulators optically coupled, the connection between them is by fiber pigtail, ([page 15721, last paragraph and 15722, first paragraph]). Therefore, Liu fail to teach a first planar optical waveguide, and a second planar optical waveguide, wherein the first planar optical waveguide is optically coupled to the first optical phase modulator and the planar optical resonator; and the second planar optical waveguide is optically coupled to the second optical phase modulator and the planar optical resonator.
However, Rochus further teaches wherein the optical resonator (Fig. 1 element 106) a first planar optical waveguide, and a second planar optical waveguide, (the connection between element 106 and elements 111 and 121 is by a wave-guiding structure may be an integrated waveguide structure in a planar Lightwave circuit, since the optical gyroscope 100 is provided as a planar Lightwave circuit (PLC) [0011, 0060]).
wherein the first planar optical waveguide (waveguide connection between element 106 and 111) is optically coupled to the first optical phase modulator (Fig. 1 element 111) and the planar optical resonator (106), [0060, 0062, 0066]; and
the second planar optical waveguide (waveguide connection between element 106 and 121) is optically coupled to the second optical phase modulator (Fig. 1 element 121) and the planar optical resonator (106), [0060, 0062, 0066].
Therefore, it would been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Liu by including a first planar optical waveguide, and a second planar optical waveguide, wherein the first planar optical waveguide is optically coupled to the first optical phase modulator and the planar optical resonator; and the second planar optical waveguide is optically coupled to the second optical phase modulator and the planar optical resonator, (as taught by Rochus) for several advantages such as: this enables the design and fabrication of compact, cost-efficient and mass producible optical gyroscopes, which allows for their widespread and versatile use also outside laboratory environments, ([0008], Rochus). Also, a completely or partially integrated optical gyroscope also benefits from an increased robustness with regard to vibrations, shocks and temperature changes, thus increase the device efficiency, ([0060], Rochus).
Regarding claim 13, Liu teaches the method of claim 11.
Even though Liu teaches the PIC (Fig. 4 element IOG), wherein at least one of converting the combined first and second resonant optical signals (PD), demodulating the electrical signal (demodulation), and determining the rate of rotation, (as shown in Fig. 12, [page 15722 , first and second paragraph], [page 15728, section 5.2, first and second paragraph]), is not clear if these process are externally performed or if these process are performed in the substrate of the IOG. Therefore Liu is silent about wherein at least one of converting the combined first and second resonant optical signals, demodulating the electrical signal, and determining the rate of rotation are performed in the PIC.
However, Rochus further teaches wherein at least one of converting the combined first and second resonant optical signals, demodulating the electrical signal, [0083], and determining the rate of rotation are performed in the PIC, (Fig. 2 elements 116 + 126, [0073]).
Therefore, it would been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Liu by including wherein at least one of converting the combined first and second resonant optical signals, demodulating the electrical signal, and determining the rate of rotation are performed in the PIC. (as taught by Rochus) for several advantages such as: allowing an easy access for monitoring the optical power levels obtained after phase modulation but before injection into the passive optical cavity, a possible imbalance in optical power levels for the phase-modulated first and second optical signal prior to injection into the passive optical cavity which may require a re-balancing adjustment, a carrier wavelength suppression level thus increasing the device accuracy, ([0063], Rochus). Also, A completely or partially integrated optical gyroscope also benefits from an increased robustness with regard to vibrations, shocks and temperature changes, thus increase the device efficiency, ([0060], Rochus).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, in view of Rochus and further in view of Abram et al. (US 2025/0003751 A1), hereafter Abrams.
Regarding claim 3, Liu in the combination above teaches the apparatus of claim 2.
The modified device of Liu fail to teach wherein the circuitry configured to determine the rate of rotation includes a feedback circuit configured to receive the electrical signal, and to generate a first feedback signal, a second feedback signal, and a feedback output signal; wherein the first optical phase modulator is configured to receive the first feedback signal and, using the first feedback signal, to adjust a phase modulation of the first portion of the amplified spontaneous emission; wherein the second optical phase modulator is configured to receive the second feedback signal and, using the second feedback signal, to adjust a phase modulation of the second portion of the amplified spontaneous emission; and wherein the circuitry configured to determine the rate of rotation further includes processing circuitry configured to receive the feedback output signal and generate the rate of rotation of the optical resonator around the rotation axis.
Abram related to gyroscopes devices and thus from the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the circuitry (Fig. 5 elements 506 + 510, [0045]) configured to determine the rate of rotation includes a feedback circuit configured to receive the electrical signal, [0009, 0029], and to generate a first feedback signal, a second feedback signal, and a feedback output signal, [0051, 0055, 0058];
wherein the first optical phase modulator (Fig. 6 element 602B and/or Fig. 9A element 906B) is configured to receive the first feedback signal and, using the first feedback signal, to adjust a phase modulation of the first portion of the amplified spontaneous emission, [0055, 0058];;
wherein the second optical phase modulator (Fig. 6 element 602A and/or Fig. 9A element 906A) is configured to receive the second feedback signal and, using the second feedback signal, to adjust a phase modulation of the second portion of the amplified spontaneous emission, [0055, 0058]; and
wherein the circuitry configured to determine the rate of rotation further includes processing circuitry configured to receive the feedback output signal and generate the rate of rotation of the optical resonator around the rotation axis, [0009, 0029].
Therefore, it would been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified device of Liu by including wherein the circuitry configured to determine the rate of rotation includes a feedback circuit configured to receive the demodulated electrical signal, and to generate a first feedback signal, a second feedback signal, and a feedback output signal; wherein the first optical phase modulator is configured to receive the first feedback signal and, using the first feedback signal, to adjust a phase modulation of the first portion of the amplified spontaneous emission; wherein the second optical phase modulator is configured to receive the second feedback signal and, using the second feedback signal, to adjust a phase modulation of the second portion of the amplified spontaneous emission; and wherein the circuitry configured to determine the rate of rotation further includes processing circuitry configured to receive the feedback output signal and generate the rate of rotation of the optical resonator around the rotation axis, (as taught by Abram) for several advantages such as: allow to mitigate bias instabilities in optical gyroscopes without reducing sensitivity to rotation, thus increasing the device accuracy, ([0009], Abram).
Claim 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, in view of Zandi et al. (US 2025/0283720 A1), hereafter Zandi.
Regarding claim 7, Liu teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein each of the first and the second optical phase modulators (annotated Fig. 4 above, element “first and second modulator”) include:
a waveguide core, (“modulator, which was based on a proton-exchanged LiNbO3 Y-branch waveguide and lumped push-pull electrode”, [page 15728, section 5.2, first paragraph]);
a non-centrosymmetric single crystal material (proton-exchanged LiNbO3 Y-branch waveguide, [page 15728, section 5.2, first paragraph]),
first and second electrically conductive contacts (push pull electrode, [page 15728, section 5.2, first paragraph])
wherein the first and the second electrically conductive contacts (push pull electrode, [page 15728, section 5.2, first paragraph]) of the first optical phase modulator (as shown in annotated Fig. 4 above) are configured to receive the in-phase periodic signal, (the push pull electrodes received CW signal);
wherein the first and the second electrically conductive contacts of the second optical phase modulator are configured to receive the phase inverted periodic signal, (the push pull electrodes received CCW signal), [page 15722, section 3.2.1, first and second paragraph, and equation 4 and 5], [page 15728, section 5.2, first paragraph])
Liu is silent about a first portion of a cladding around the waveguide core and over the substrate; a non-centrosymmetric single crystal material over the first portion of the cladding; a second portion of the cladding over the non-centrosymmetric single crystal material; and first and second electrically conductive contacts over the second portion of the cladding; wherein an index of refraction of the waveguide core is greater than an index of refraction of the cladding.
However, Zandi related to optical gyroscope and thus from the same field of endeavor teaches wherein each of the first and the second optical phase modulators (Fig. 1 elements 190), include: a first portion of a cladding (Fig. 1 elements 111 + 112) around the waveguide core, (as shown in Fig. 1) (lithium niobate waveguide, [0017]) and over the substrate (Fig. 1 element 335, [0058, 0063]); a non-centrosymmetric single crystal material (lithium niobate waveguide) over the first portion of the cladding (111); a second portion of the cladding (Fig. 1 elements 111 + 112, the examiner is interpreted the first and second portion as the same material with multiple portions) over the non-centrosymmetric single crystal material (lithium niobate waveguide), [0056, 0058]; and first and second electrically conductive contacts (Fig. 1 elements 191 + 192 and Fig. 3 elements 391 + 392) over the second portion of the cladding, [0058, 0063]]; wherein an index of refraction of the waveguide core (lithium niobate refractive index is 2.2) is greater than an index of refraction of the cladding (silicon nitride refractive index is 2.08, [0067]).
Therefore, it would been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Liu by including a first portion of a cladding around the waveguide core and over the substrate; a non-centrosymmetric single crystal material over the first portion of the cladding; a second portion of the cladding over the non-centrosymmetric single crystal material; and first and second electrically conductive contacts over the second portion of the cladding; wherein an index of refraction of the waveguide core is greater than an index of refraction of the cladding, (as taught by Zandi) for several advantages such as: multiples elements are fabricated by depositing and layers bonding such as providing immovable attachment of the layers to the substrate, thus increase the durability and efficiency of device, ([0008], Zandi).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, in view of Bischel et al. (US 2019/0101392 A1, included in IDS on 07/01/2026), hereafter Bischel.
Regarding claim 12, Liu teaches the method of claim 11.
Liu fail to teach wherein converting the combined first and second resonant optical signals into the electrical signal includes converting the electrical signal from analog to digital.
However Bischel related to gyroscope devices and thus from the same field of endeavor teaches converting the combined first and second resonant optical signals into the electrical signal includes converting the electrical signal from analog to digital (FIG. 11A element 1112), [0047].
Therefore, it would been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Liu by including converting the combined first and second resonant optical signals into the electrical signal includes converting the electrical signal from analog to digital (as taught by Bischel) for several advantages such as: allows to analyze the signals and produce an output indicating a transmission change due to the a phase shift induced by the Sagnac effect as the waveguide optical gyroscope rotates thus increase the accuracy of the device, ([0047], Bischel).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, in view of Abram et al. (US 2025/0003751 A1), hereafter Abrams.
Regarding claim 14, Liu teaches the method of claim 11, wherein using the demodulated electrical signal [page 15728, first paragraph], determining the rate of rotation of the optical resonator around its normal rotation axis of the optical resonator, (as shown in Fig. 12, [page 15722 , first and second paragraph], [page 15728, section 5.2, first and second paragraph]).
Liu fail to teach using the demodulated electrical signal, generating a first feedback signal, a second feedback signal, and a feedback output signal; using the first feedback signal, adjusting phase modulation, in the PIC, of the first portion; using the second feedback signal, adjusting phase modulation, in the PIC, of the second portion; and using the feedback output signal, determining the rate of rotation of the optical resonator around the rotation axis of the optical resonator.
Abram related to gyroscopes devices and thus from the same field of endeavor teaches using the demodulated electrical signal (the claim recite “using the” is a contingent limitation and do not carry patentably weight as those steps are not required to be performed under a broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, See Ex parte Schulhauser,, MPEP 2111.04),, generating a first feedback signal, a second feedback signal, and a feedback output signal, [0051, 0055, 0058];
using the first feedback signal, adjusting phase modulation, in the PIC, of the first portion, [0055, 0058]
using the second feedback signal, adjusting phase modulation, in the PIC, of the second portion [0055, 0058]; and
using the feedback output signal, determining the rate of rotation of the optical resonator around the rotation axis of the optical resonator, [0009, 0029].
Therefore, it would been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Liu by including using the demodulated electrical signal, generating a first feedback signal, a second feedback signal, and a feedback output signal; using the first feedback signal, adjusting phase modulation, in the PIC, of the first portion; using the second feedback signal, adjusting phase modulation, in the PIC, of the second portion; and using the feedback output signal, determining the rate of rotation of the optical resonator around the rotation axis of the optical resonator (as taught by Abram) for several advantages such as: allow to mitigate bias instabilities in optical gyroscopes without reducing sensitivity to rotation, thus increasing the device accuracy, ([0009], Abram).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding Claim 15, the prior art of record, taken either alone or in combination, fails to disclose, teach, or suggest or render obvious “A resonant optical gyroscope, comprising: a photonic integrated circuit (PIC) including a substrate, wherein the PIC includes: a broadband optical signal source optical circuit configured to generate an amplified spontaneous emission; an optical divider/combiner; a first optical coupler or circulator optically coupled between the broadband optical signal source optical circuit and the optical divider/combiner; wherein the first optical coupler or is configured to receive the amplified spontaneous emission and to emit the amplified spontaneous emission to the optical divider/combiner; wherein the optical divider/combiner is configured to emit a first portion and a second portion of the amplified spontaneous emission; a first optical phase modulator optically coupled to the optical divider/combiner, and configured to phase modulate the first portion of the amplified spontaneous emission with an in-phase periodic signal; a second optical phase modulator optically coupled to the optical divider/combiner and configured to phase modulate the second portion of the amplified spontaneous emission with a phase inverted periodic signal; and an optical resonator including a rotation axis and optically coupled to the first and the second optical phase modulators; wherein the optical resonator is configured to (a) receive a first phase modulated portion of the amplified spontaneous emission from the first optical phase modulator, (b) receive a second phase modulated portion of the amplified spontaneous emission from the second optical phase modulator, (c) emit a first resonant optical signal, and (d) emit a second resonant optical signal; wherein the optical divider/combiner is further configured to combine the first and the second resonant optical signals; an optical detector optically coupled to the first optical coupler and configured to receive a combined first and second resonant optical signals; a periodic signal generator configured to generate the in-phase periodic signal, the phase inverted periodic signal, and a reference periodic signal;7 a demodulating circuit electrically coupled to the optical detector and configured to (a) receive the reference periodic signal or the phase inverted periodic signal and (b) emit a demodulated electrical signal; and circuitry configured to, using the demodulated electrical signal, determine a rate of rotation of the optical resonator around rotation axis; wherein the broadband optical signal source optical circuit configured to generate the amplified spontaneous emission includes: a laser configured to emit a pump optical signal; a planar optical waveguide configured to receive the pump optical signal and generate the amplified spontaneous emission; and a wavelength division multiplexor configured to optically couple the pump optical signal to the planar optical waveguide configured to generate the amplified spontaneous emission, to receive the amplified spontaneous emission from the planar optical waveguide configured to generate the amplified spontaneous emission, and to optically couple the amplified spontaneous emission to the first optical coupler or circulator; wherein the wavelength division multiplexor is further configured to suppress the amplified spontaneous emission coupled to the laser and to suppress the pump optical signal coupled to the first optical coupler or circulator; wherein the pump optical signal has a narrower line width than a bandwidth of the amplified spontaneous emission.”, in the combination required by the claim.
Regarding Claims 16-20 are directly/indirectly dependent on claim 15 and are allowable based on their dependencies.
Claims 5-6 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 5, the prior art of record, taken either alone or in combination, fails to disclose, teach, or suggest or render obvious “wherein the broadband optical signal source optical circuit configured to generate the amplified spontaneous emission includes: a laser configured to emit a pump optical signal; a planar optical waveguide configured to receive the pump optical signal and generate the amplified spontaneous emission; and a wavelength division multiplexor configured to optically couple the pump optical signal to the planar optical waveguide configured to generate the amplified spontaneous emission, to receive the amplified spontaneous emission from the planar optical waveguide configured to generate the amplified spontaneous emission, and to optically couple the amplified spontaneous emission to the first optical coupler or circulator; wherein the wavelength division multiplexor is further configured to suppress the amplified spontaneous emission coupled to the laser and to suppress the pump optical signal coupled to the first optical coupler or circulator; wherein the pump optical signal has a narrower line width than a bandwidth of the amplified spontaneous emission”, in the combination required by the claim.
Regarding Claim 6 is directly/indirectly dependent on claim 5 and are allowable based on their dependencies.
Regarding Claim 9, the prior art of record, taken either alone or in combination, fails to disclose, teach, or suggest or render obvious “further comprising a first planar optical waveguide optically coupling the broadband optical signal source optical circuit and the first optical coupler or circulator, a second planar optical waveguide optically coupling the first optical coupler or circulator and the optical divider/combiner, a third planar optical waveguide optically coupling the optical divider/combiner to the first optical phase modulator, and a fourth planar optical waveguide optically coupling the optical divider/combiner to the second optical phase modulator; wherein each of the first planar optical waveguide, the second planar optical waveguide, the third planar optical waveguide, the fourth planar optical waveguide include a core surrounded by a cladding over the substrate; wherein the broadband optical signal source optical circuit configured to generate the amplified spontaneous emission includes a fifth planar optical waveguide configured to generate the amplified spontaneous emission that includes the cladding surrounding the core, wherein at least a portion of the fifth planar optical waveguide configured to generate the amplified spontaneous emission includes a sixth planar optical waveguide in which at least part of the cladding surrounding the core includes a rare Earth element atoms or ions, and wherein the cladding is over the substrate; wherein the optical resonator includes a planar optical resonator, a seventh planar optical waveguide, and an eighth planar optical waveguide; wherein the seventh planar optical waveguide includes the core surrounded by the cladding, and is optically coupled to the first optical phase modulator and the planar optical resonator; the eighth planar optical waveguide includes the core surrounded by the cladding, and is optically coupled to the second optical phase modulator and the planar optical resonator; wherein the planar optical resonator includes the core surrounded by the cladding; wherein an index of refraction of the core is greater than an index of refraction of the cladding; and wherein a ratio of a thickness of the cladding to a thickness of the core is greater than fifty”, in the combination required by the claim.
Conclusion
/CARLOS PEREZ-GUZMAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2877