DETAILED ACTION
The office action is in response to original application filed on 1-8-25. Claims 1-19 are pending in the application and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted filed before the mailing of a first Office action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97(b) (3). Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (2) as being anticipated by US 2023/0182615 to Pizzurro et al. (“Pizzurro”).
Regarding claim 1, Pizzurro discloses a direct current (DC) power system electrically connected (fig. 1) to an alternating current (AC) grid (114), the DC power system comprising: a common DC bus; DC renewable power generation system electrically connected to the common DC bus (102); DC energy storage system (para; 0035lines 4-6, At least one energy storage system is connected to the bus and configured either to draw power from the bus or discharge power to the bus) electrically connected to the common DC power bus and configured to store energy provided by the DC renewable power generation system to the common DC bus; a converter (a three-phase, bi-directional voltage source converter (VSC)) electrically connected to the common DC bus, the converter configured to convert DC power from the common DC bus to AC power for the AC grid; and DC renewable power generation control electronics associated with the DC renewable power generation system (para; 0039, common DC bus 102 may also be connected to one or more other sources of power such as renewable power sources e.g. solar power farms, wind power farms etc.) and configured to: sense at least one deviation of at least one of power, current, or voltage of the common DC bus; and responsive to sensing the at least one deviation of the at least one of power, current, or voltage of the common DC bus, independently and without communicating with external control electronics, control in real-time power (para; 0043, real-time power management module (ARTPMM) 160) from the DC renewable power generation system in order to reduce the at least one deviation of the common DC bus (para; 0038, when insufficient DC power levels on the common DC bus 102 are detected thereby to stabilize power on the common DC bus 102. BESS 120 is also configured to draw DC power from the common DC bus 102 via the bi-directional DC to DC converter 122 when excess DC power is on the common DC bus 102 allowing the BESS 120 to charge); and DC energy storage control electronics associated with the DC energy storage system and configured to: sense the at least one deviation of at least one of power, current, or voltage of the common DC bus; and responsive to sensing the at least one deviation of the at least one of power, current, or voltage of the common DC bus, independently and without communicating with external control electronics, control in real-time the power (para; 0043, real-time power management module (ARTPMM) 160) to or from the DC energy storage system in order to reduce the at least one deviation of the common DC bus (paras; 0038-0040).
Regarding claim 2, Pizzurro discloses first DC-DC converter (132) electronics configured to electrically connect the DC renewable power generation system to the common DC bus, wherein the DC renewable power generation control electronics is associated with or within the first DC-DC converter electronics; and second DC-DC converter (122) electronics configured to electrically connect the DC energy storage system to the common DC bus, wherein the DC energy storage control electronics is associated with or within the second DC-DC converter electronics (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Pizzurro discloses the DC renewable power generation control electronics includes a first droop curve (para; 0014, the at least one control module is configured to condition operation of the at least one energy storage system either to draw power from the bus or discharge power to the bus in order to balance power on the bus) and is configured to use the first droop curve in order to control in real-time the power (para; 0043, real-time power management module (ARTPMM) 160) from the DC renewable power generation system in order to reduce the at least one deviation of the common DC bus from a designated reference voltage; and wherein the DC energy storage control electronics includes a second droop curve (para; 0014, the at least one control module is configured to condition operation of the at least one energy storage system either to draw power from the bus or discharge power to the bus in order to balance power on the bus) and is configured to use the second droop curve in order to control in real-time (para; 0043, real-time power management module (ARTPMM) 160) the power from or to the DC energy storage system in order to reduce the at least one deviation of the common DC bus from the designated reference voltage (paras; 0037-0038, 0058, stabilize power on the DC bus when insufficient DC power levels).
Regarding claim 4, Pizzurro discloses the DC renewable power generation system comprises a plurality of solar panels (fig. 1, solar power source 130 comprising one or more solar panel arrays via a DC-to-DC converters 132, 122); and wherein the DC energy storage system comprises a plurality of batteries (para; 0038, energy storage system 120 is a battery energy storage system (BESS). BESS 120 comprises a bank of rechargeable energy storage devices in the form of rechargeable batteries and is configured to deliver DC power to the common DC bus 102).
Regarding claim 5, Pizzurro discloses the plurality of solar panels are segmented into respective partitions of solar panels, with each respective partition of solar panels having associated therewith respective DC-DC converter electronics (para; 0044, ARTPMM 160 in the charging mode is configured to (v) plan and adjust power draw from the BESS 120 to the common DC bus 102 via the bi-directional DC to DC converter 122 or power supply to the BESS 120 from the common DC bus 102 via the bi-directional DC to DC converter 122) and respective solar panel control electronics, each of the respective solar panel control electronics configured to use the first droop curve to independently and without communicating with other respective solar panel control electronics, control in real-time power (para; 0043, real-time power management module (ARTPMM) 160) from the respective partition of solar panels in order to reduce the at least one deviation of the common DC bus (paras; 0037-0038, 0058, stabilize power on the DC bus when insufficient DC power levels).
Regarding claim 6, Pizzurro discloses the plurality of batteries are segmented into respective partitions of batteries, with each respective partition of batteries having associated therewith respective DC-DC converter electronics (para; 0038, energy storage system 120 is a battery energy storage system (BESS). BESS 120 comprises a bank of rechargeable energy storage devices in the form of rechargeable batteries and is configured to deliver DC power to the common DC bus 102) and respective battery control electronics, each of the respective battery control electronics configured to use the second droop curve (para; 0014, the at least one control module is configured to condition operation of the at least one energy storage system either to draw power from the bus or discharge power to the bus in order to balance power on the bus) to independently and without communicating with other respective solar panel control electronics, control in real-time power (para; 0043, real-time power management module (ARTPMM) 160) to or from the respective partition of batteries in order to reduce the at least one deviation of the common DC bus.
Regarding claim 7, Pizzurro discloses a plurality of loads (152, 154), with each of the plurality of loads having associated therewith respective DC-DC converter electronics (fig. 1) and respective battery control electronics, each of the respective battery control electronics configured to use a third droop curve (para; 0014, the at least one control module is configured to condition operation of the at least one energy storage system either to draw power from the bus or discharge power to the bus in order to balance power on the bus) to independently and without communicating with other respective battery control electronics, control in real-time power (para; 0043, real-time power management module (ARTPMM) 160) to a respective load in order to reduce the at least one deviation of the common DC bus (150 to 152, 150to 152).
Regarding claim 8, Pizzurro discloses at least one central controller (162) configured to communicate with at least one of the DC energy storage control electronics or the DC energy storage control electronics in order to command, after the at least one of the DC energy storage control electronics or the DC energy storage control electronics independently controls in real-time (para; 0043, real-time power management module (ARTPMM) 160), the at least one of the DC energy storage control electronics or the DC energy storage control electronics in order to further stabilize the common DC bus.
Regarding claim 9, Pizzurro discloses the at least one central controller is part of another of the DC energy storage control electronics or the DC energy storage control electronics (160).
Regarding claim 10, Pizzurro discloses the at least one central controller is separate from both the DC energy storage control electronics or the DC energy storage control electronics (162 separated 160).
Regarding claim 11, Pizzurro discloses the plurality of loads comprises a plurality of charging stations (fig. 1, 152, 154) configured to charge one or more electric vehicles from one or both of DC renewable power generation system or the DC energy storage system; wherein the at least one central controller is configured to select, from a plurality of modes, a current mode of operation in which to control charging of the plurality of charging station under the current mode of operation (para; 0041, Each DC to DC converter module 150 comprises a DC to AC converter, an intermediate high frequency step down transformer, and an AC to DC converter that are connected in series. Each DC-to-DC converter module 150 is connected between common DC bus 102 and its associated charging interface 152, 154).
Regarding claim 12, Pizzurro discloses the at least one central controller (162) is configured to dynamically select the current mode based on one or more of grid operator input (para; 0047, ARTPMM 160 is configured to substantially continuously monitor the state of the common DC bus 102 and the charging requirements of the electric vehicle charging stalls 144 via the DC-to-DC converter modules 150 to determine whether the common DC bus 102 in conjunction with the utility grid 114 and/or solar power source 130 are able to satisfy the charging requirements of the electric vehicle charging stalls 144), input from a consumer of one of the pluralities of charging stations (fig. 1, 152, 154), current status of electric vehicles currently charging at the plurality of charging stations (fig. 1, 152, 154), or current capacity of the electric vehicles currently charging at the plurality of charging stations (fig. 1, 152, 154).
Regarding claim 13, Pizzurro discloses the at least one central controller is configured to dynamically select a pay-to-play mode (para; 0043, the energy aggregation system 100 comprises an adaptive real-time power management module (ARTPMM) 160 configured to monitor, analyze, and control power flow to and from the common DC bus 102 and a supervisory control module (SCM) 162 configured to manage total energy usage, energy allocation, electric vehicle charging scheduling, grid services and the connectivity/interfacing with external systems) in which a respective consumer (para; 0047, ARTPMM 160 is configured to substantially continuously monitor the state of the common DC bus 102 and the charging requirements of the electric vehicle charging stalls 144 via the DC-to-DC converter modules 150 to determine whether the common DC bus 102 in conjunction with the utility grid 114 and/or solar power source 130 are able to satisfy the charging requirements of the electric vehicle charging stalls 144), responsive to input indicating payment so that a respective electric vehicle of the respective consumer receives one or both of a higher charging priority or more power in which to charge the respective electric vehicle.
Regarding claim 14, Pizzurro discloses a droop update (para; 0046, ARTPMM 160 and SCM 162 may reside on a common programmed computing device or discrete programmed computing devices) or reinterpretation module configured to update or reinterpret the one or both of the first droop curve or the second droop curve (para; 0014, the at least one control module is configured to condition operation of the at least one energy storage system either to draw power from the bus or discharge power to the bus in order to balance power on the bus).
Regarding claim 15, Pizzurro discloses the droop update or reinterpretation module is configured to dynamically update (para; 0047, ARTPMM 160 is configured to substantially continuously monitor the state of the common DC bus 102 and the charging requirements of the electric vehicle charging stalls 144 via the DC to DC converter modules 150 to determine whether the common DC bus 102 in conjunction with the utility grid 114 and/or solar power source 130 are able to satisfy the charging requirements of the electric vehicle charging stalls 144) or reinterpret the one or both of the first droop curve or the second droop curve.
Regarding claim 16, Pizzurro discloses the droop update or reinterpretation module is configured dynamically update (para; 0047, ARTPMM 160 is configured to substantially continuously monitor the state of the common DC bus 102 and the charging requirements of the electric vehicle charging stalls 144 via the DC to DC converter modules 150 to determine whether the common DC bus 102 in conjunction with the utility grid 114 and/or solar power source 130 are able to satisfy the charging requirements of the electric vehicle charging stalls 144) or reinterpret the one or both of the first droop curve or the second droop curve responsive to power generated by the DC renewable power generation system or power supplied by the DC energy storage system.
Regarding claim 17, Pizzurro discloses a plurality of charging stations (fig. 1, 152, 154) configured to charge one or more electric vehicles from one or both of DC renewable power generation system or the DC energy storage system; and wherein the droop update or reinterpretation module is configured dynamically update (para; 0047, ARTPMM 160 is configured to substantially continuously monitor the state of the common DC bus 102 and the charging requirements of the electric vehicle charging stalls 144 via the DC to DC converter modules 150 to determine whether the common DC bus 102 in conjunction with the utility grid 114 and/or solar power source 130 are able to satisfy the charging requirements of the electric vehicle charging stalls 144) or reinterpret the one or both of the first droop curve (para; 0014, the at least one control module is configured to condition operation of the at least one energy storage system either to draw power from the bus or discharge power to the bus in order to balance power on the bus) or the second droop curve by: dynamically determining an amount of power to route for charging the one or more electric vehicles (para; 0043, real-time power management module (ARTPMM) 160 configured to monitor, analyze, and control power flow to and from the common DC bus 102 and a supervisory control module (SCM) 162 configured to manage total energy usage, energy allocation, electric vehicle charging); and dynamically updating or reinterpreting, based on the amount of power to route for charging the one or more electric vehicles (para; 0043, real-time power management module (ARTPMM) 160 configured to monitor, analyze, and control power flow to and from the common DC bus 102 and a supervisory control module (SCM) 162 configured to manage total energy usage, energy allocation, electric vehicle charging), the one or both of the first droop curve or the second droop curve.
Regarding claim 18, Pizzurro discloses the droop update or reinterpretation module is configured dynamically update or reinterpret the one or both of the first droop curve (para; 0014, the at least one control module is configured to condition operation of the at least one energy storage system either to draw power from the bus or discharge power to the bus in order to balance power on the bus) or the second droop curve by dynamically updating the designated reference voltage (para; 0047, ARTPMM 160 is configured to substantially continuously monitor the state of the common DC bus 102 and the charging requirements of the electric vehicle charging stalls 144 via the DC-to-DC converter modules 150 to determine whether the common DC bus 102 in conjunction with the utility grid 114 and/or solar power source 130 are able to satisfy the charging requirements of the electric vehicle charging stalls 144).
Regarding claim 19, Pizzurro discloses at least one central controller configured to: dynamically update or reinterpret the one or both of the first droop curve (para; 0014, the at least one control module is configured to condition operation of the at least one energy storage system either to draw power from the bus or discharge power to the bus in order to balance power on the bus) or the second droop curve by dynamically updating the designated reference voltage; and transmit the dynamically updated designated reference voltage with at least one of the DC energy storage control electronics or the DC energy storage control electronics in order for the at least one of the DC energy storage control electronics or the DC energy storage control electronics to independently control in real-time (para; 0043, real-time power management module (ARTPMM) 160), the at least one of the DC energy storage control electronics or the DC energy storage control electronics to stabilize the common DC bus to the dynamically updated designated reference voltage (para; 0047, ARTPMM 160 is configured to substantially continuously monitor the state of the common DC bus 102 and the charging requirements of the electric vehicle charging stalls 144 via the DC-to-DC converter modules 150 to determine whether the common DC bus 102 in conjunction with the utility grid 114 and/or solar power source 130 are able to satisfy the charging requirements of the electric vehicle charging stalls 144).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
McAlwee et al. US 2023/0356607 Al- Electric vehicle charging station (EVCS) are described. These stations can dynamically switch between different charge modes depending upon the needs of the station operator and its customers. For example, each charger of an EVCS can be switched between an independent charging mode, a parallel charging mode, a sequential charging mode and a vehicle-to-vehicle changing mode. The architectures described herein rely on DC-coupled EV chargers to provide a more efficient and lower cost approach for delivering power to vehicles while enabling different charging modes.
/ESAYAS G YESHAW/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836