DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action corresponds to application 19/013,926 which was filed on 01/08/2025 and claims benefit of 63/619,656 filed 1/10/2024. Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-11, 13, 20-22, 24-27, and 29-31 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7, 10-11, 20, 25-27, and 29-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dupont et al. (US2014/0096249), hereinafter Dupont, in view of Malik (US2020/0242095).
Regarding Claim 1:
Dupont teaches:
A computer-implemented method of presenting information from a plurality of data records, the method comprising: receiving, by a computing system, a plurality of matrices, wherein each matrix of the plurality of matrices is associated with a time bin indicating a start time and an end time for data within the matrix (Dupont, [0369, 0373, 1049, 1324], note the resulting binned sequence can be treated as an array with each of its elements corresponding to the content of an individual bin; note sparse transition matrix; note time window with start and end times; note determining and visualizing the relevant matrices in response to the user),
wherein each matrix of the plurality of matrices includes a first dimension that represents a plurality of first dimension bins and a second dimension that represents a plurality of second dimension bins (Dupont, [0369, 1049, 1202, 1324], note performing multi-dimensional algorithm computation; note iterative step where a subset of tagged sequences sampled from the whole data set is positioned in a number of iteration loops, and an interpolation step in which all tagged sequences outside the sampled subset are positioned by comparing them only to their closest neighbors among subset sequences; note binning events; note matrices sizes), and
wherein each cell of each matrix of the plurality of matrices indicates a count of data records from the time bin of the matrix that have a value in an associated first dimension bin and an associated second dimension bin (Dupont, [0369, 0376, 1049, 1324], note integer indicating the number of times instances of events of the class denoted by the index follow each other separated by a distance of time bins; note repetition count);
creating, by the computing system, a tree of matrices, wherein the matrices of the plurality of matrices are leaf matrices of the tree and are ordered according to their associated time bins, and wherein creating the tree of matrices includes summing adjacent matrices to create parent matrices that represent multiple time bins, such that a root matrix of the tree of matrices includes information for all of the time bins (Dupont, figure 37, [0224, 0369, 0526, 1049, 1324], note the use of trees and sub-trees; note parent and child matrices); and
presenting, by the computing system, a heat map based on the root matrix of the tree of matrices (Dupont, [0369, 0526, 1049, 1241, 1324], note each matrix is visualized as a very common representation known as heat map).
While Dupont teaches a tree of matrices, to further support this interpretation, Malik is in the same field of endeavor, Data management and analysis, and Malik teaches:
creating, by the computing system, a tree of matrices, wherein the matrices of the plurality of matrices are leaf matrices of the tree and are ordered according to their associated time bins, and wherein creating the tree of matrices includes summing adjacent matrices to create parent matrices that represent multiple time bins, such that a root matrix of the tree of matrices includes information for all of the time bins (Malik, figures 5-6, [0023, 0053, 0055, 0061], note time bucket hierarchy is a hierarchical tree of data ordered according to their time bins and the parents are a summation of the children. When combined with the previously cited references this would be for the matrices as taught by Dupont);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Malik because all references are directed to data management and analysis and because Malik would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references data management and analysis and improve the systems efficiency by organization of the data (Malik, [0060]).
Regarding Claim 2:
Dupont as modified shows the method as disclosed above;
Dupont as modified further teaches:
wherein the first dimension represents a plurality of elapsed time bins and the second dimension represents a plurality of value bins, and wherein each cell of each matrix of the plurality of matrices indicates a count of time-series data records collected during the time bin of the matrix that have a value in the associated value bin at an elapsed time in the associated elapsed time bin (Dupont, [0374-0376, 0399, 1241, 1281], note heat map; note color saturation indicating the amount for the row feature value, column feature value, and all bounded features; note visualization is updated on a continuous bases indicating time elapsed; note storing intervals and positions where the events take place in the sparse transition matrix; note periodic patterns; note collecting event data over a period of time; note number of instances of an event class are recorded for each event class encountered in a time bin); or
wherein the first dimension represents a plurality of horizontal location bins and the second dimension represents a plurality of vertical location bins, and wherein each cell of each matrix of the plurality of matrices indicates a count of metrology data records captured during the time bin of the matrix that indicate an error at a horizontal location in the horizontal location bin and at a vertical location in the vertical location bin (Dupont, [0374-0376, 1202, 1241], note event classes; note matrix with event classes on its rows and integers on its columns; note recording the intervals where successions occur and number of instances of that class observed; note operating within a specific time resolution at a time; note several events can end up in the same time bin; note standard units of measurements).
Regarding Claim 4:
Dupont as modified shows the method as disclosed above;
Dupont as modified further teaches:
wherein each matrix of the plurality of matrices is a sparse matrix in a compressed sparse column format (Dupont, [0373-0375, 1214], note sparse matrix; not compressed area).
Regarding Claim 5:
Dupont as modified shows the method as disclosed above;
Dupont as modified further teaches:
wherein presenting the heat map based on the root matrix of the tree of matrices comprises: determining a maximum count of the counts in the cells of the root matrix (Dupont, figure 37, [0376, 0526, 0569, 1244], note tree and sub-trees; note number of entries) (Malik, figures 5-6, [0023, 0053, 0055, 0061], note time bucket hierarchy is a hierarchical tree of data ordered according to their time bins and the parents are a summation of the children. When combined with the previously cited references this would be for the matrices as taught by Dupont); and
for each cell in the root matrix, adjusting a brightness of a corresponding pixel in the heat map based on a comparison of the count of the cell to the maximum count (Dupont, [0376, 0526, 0569, 0800, 1212, 1214, 1241, 1335], note number of entries; note color saturation levels; note heat map; note intensity of visual cues of matrices indicate comparisons) (Malik, figures 5-6, [0023, 0053, 0055, 0061, 0064], note time bucket hierarchy is a hierarchical tree of data ordered according to their time bins and the parents are a summation of the children; note record count. When combined with the previously cited references this would be for the matrices as taught by Dupont).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Malik because all references are directed to data management and analysis and because Malik would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references data management and analysis and improve the systems efficiency by organization of the data (Malik, [0060]).
Regarding Claim 7:
Dupont as modified shows the method as disclosed above;
Dupont as modified further teaches:
receiving, by the computing system, an input that indicates a subset of the time bins to be included in the heat map (Dupont, [0166, 1214, 1241], note input data for a particular visualization; note heat maps);
determining, by the computing system, one or more matrices of the tree of matrices that cover the subset of the time bins (Dupont, [0369, 0526, 1049, 1324], note time windows and bins);
adding, by the computing system, the counts of the one or more matrices of the tree of matrices that cover the subset of the time bins to create a subset matrix (Dupont, 0369, 0526, 1049, 1324], note tree and subtrees) (Malik, figures 5-6, [0023, 0053, 0055, 0061], note time bucket hierarchy is a hierarchical tree of data ordered according to their time bins and the parents are a summation of the children. When combined with the previously cited references this would be for the matrices as taught by Dupont); and
presenting, by the computing system, an updated heat map based on the subset matrix (Dupont, [1049, 1275, 1281, 1324], note timeline-based visualization; note updated heat maps).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Malik because all references are directed to data management and analysis and because Malik would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references data management and analysis and improve the systems efficiency by organization of the data (Malik, [0060]).
Regarding Claim 10:
Dupont teaches:
A computer-implemented method of presenting information from a plurality of data records collected between a start time and an end time, the method comprising: determining, by a computing system, a plurality of time bins based on the start time and the end time (Dupont, [0369, 0373, 1049, 1324], note the resulting binned sequence can be treated as an array with each of its elements corresponding to the content of an individual bin; note sparse transition matrix; note time window with start and end times; note determining and visualizing the relevant matrices in response to the user);
for each time bin: initializing, by the computing system, a matrix to be associated with the time bin, wherein the matrix includes a first dimension that represents a plurality of first dimension bins and a second dimension that represents a plurality of second dimension bins (Dupont, [0369, 0373, 1049, 1201, 1324], note performing multi-dimensional algorithm computation; note iterative step where a subset of tagged sequences sampled from the whole data set is positioned in a number of iteration loops, and an interpolation step in which all tagged sequences outside the sampled subset are positioned by comparing them only to their closest neighbors among subset sequences; note binning events; note matrices sizes), and
wherein each cell of the matrix indicates a count of data records from the time bin of the matrix that have a value in an associated first dimension bin and an associated second dimension bin (Dupont, [0369, 0376, 1049, 1324], note integer indicating the number of times instances of events of the class denoted by the index follow each other separated by a distance of time bins; note repetition count);
determining, by the computing system, a set of data records of the plurality of data records that are associated with the time bin (Dupont, [0369, 0373, 0376, 1049, 1324], note the resulting binned sequence can be treated as an array with each of its elements corresponding to the content of an individual bin; note sparse transition matrix; note time window with start and end times; note integer indicating the number of times instances of events of the class denoted by the index follow each other separated by a distance of time bins; note repetition count);
for each data record in the set of data records: for each data point in the data record: determining, by the computing system, a first dimension bin and a second dimension bin for the data point (Dupont, [0369, 0526, 1049, 1202, 1324], note performing multi-dimensional algorithm computation; note iterative step where a subset of tagged sequences sampled from the whole data set is positioned in a number of iteration loops, and an interpolation step in which all tagged sequences outside the sampled subset are positioned by comparing them only to their closest neighbors among subset sequences; note binning events; note matrices sizes); and
incrementing, by the computing system, the count of the cell in the matrix associated with the first dimension bin and the second dimension bin (Dupont, [0224, 0369, 0526, 1049, 1324], note integer indicating the number of times instances of events of the class denoted by the index follow each other separated by a distance of time bins; note repetition count); and
transmitting, by the computing system, the matrices associated with the plurality of time bins to an interface for generating a heat map based on the matrices (Dupont, [0369, 0526, 1049, 1241, 1324], note each matrix is visualized as a very common representation known as heat map).
While Dupont teaches a tree of matrices, to further support this interpretation, Malik is in the same field of endeavor, Data management and analysis, and Malik teaches:
wherein each cell of the matrix indicates a count of data records from the time bin of the matrix that have a value in an associated first dimension bin and an associated second dimension bin (Malik, figures 5-6, [0023, 0053, 0055, 0061, 0064], note time bucket hierarchy is a hierarchical tree of data ordered according to their time bins and the parents are a summation of the children; note record count. When combined with the previously cited references this would be for the matrices as taught by Dupont)
determining, by the computing system, a set of data records of the plurality of data records that are associated with the time bin (Malik, figures 5-6, [0023, 0053, 0055, 0061, 0064], note time bucket hierarchy is a hierarchical tree of data ordered according to their time bins and the parents are a summation of the children. When combined with the previously cited references this would be for the matrices as taught by Dupont)
incrementing, by the computing system, the count of the cell in the matrix associated with the first dimension bin and the second dimension bin (Malik, figures 5-6, [0023, 0053, 0055, 0061, 0064], note time bucket hierarchy is a hierarchical tree of data ordered according to their time bins and the parents are a summation of the children; note record count. When combined with the previously cited references this would be for the matrices as taught by Dupont);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Malik because all references are directed to data management and analysis and because Malik would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references data management and analysis and improve the systems efficiency by organization of the data (Malik, [0060]).
Regarding Claim 11:
Dupont as modified shows the method as disclosed above;
Dupont as modified further teaches:
wherein the first dimension represents a plurality of elapsed time bins and the second dimension represents a plurality of value bins, and wherein each cell of each matrix of the plurality of matrices indicates a count of time-series data records captured during the time bin of the matrix that have a value in the associated value bin at an elapsed time in the associated elapsed time bin (Dupont, [0374-0376, 0399, 1241, 1281], note heat map; note color saturation indicating the amount for the row feature value, column feature value, and all bounded features; note visualization is updated on a continuous bases indicating time elapsed; note storing intervals and positions where the events take place in the sparse transition matrix; note periodic patterns; note collecting event data over a period of time; note number of instances of an event class are recorded for each event class encountered in a time bin); or
wherein the first dimension represents a plurality of horizontal location bins and a second dimension represents a plurality of vertical location bins, and wherein each cell of each matrix of the plurality of matrices indicates a count of metrology data records captured during the time bin of the matrix that indicate an error at a horizontal location in the horizontal location bin and at a vertical location in the vertical location bin (Dupont, [0374-0376, 1202, 1241], note event classes; note matrix with event classes on its rows and integers on its columns; note recording the intervals where successions occur and number of instances of that class observed; note operating within a specific time resolution at a time; note several events can end up in the same time bin; note standard units of measurements).
Regarding Claim 20:
Dupont teaches:
A system, comprising: a data store configured to store data records (Dupont, [0517], note data store);
a server computing system (Dupont, [0220, 0548], note server); and
a browser computing system (Dupont, [1228], note browser);
wherein the server computing system is configured to: receive a query from the browser computing system for information from data records between a start time and an end time (Dupont, [0167, 0122], note continuously monitor specific queries);
retrieve the data records from the data store (Dupont, [0517], note accessing data store for records);
generate a plurality of matrices representing the information from the data records, wherein each matrix of the plurality of matrices is associated with a time bin (Dupont, [0369, 0373-0374], note time binned events; note matrices); and
transmit the plurality of matrices to the browser computing system (Dupont, [0369, 0373-0374, 0526, 1228, 1241], note displaying visualizations); and
wherein the browser computing system is configured to: generate a tree of matrices wherein parent matrices of the tree combine values from the matrices of the plurality of matrices (Dupont, [0369, 0373-0374, 0526, 1228], note displaying visualizations; note trees and subtrees); and
present a heat map using the tree (Dupont, [0369, 0526, 1049, 1241, 1324], note each matrix is visualized as a very common representation known as heat map).
While Dupont teaches a tree of matrices, to further support this interpretation, Malik is in the same field of endeavor, Data management and analysis, and Malik teaches:
wherein the browser computing system is configured to: generate a tree of matrices wherein parent matrices of the tree combine values from the matrices of the plurality of matrices (Malik, figures 5-6, [0023, 0053, 0055, 0061], note time bucket hierarchy is a hierarchical tree of data ordered according to their time bins and the parents are a summation of the children. When combined with the previously cited references this would be for the matrices as taught by Dupont);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Malik because all references are directed to data management and analysis and because Malik would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references data management and analysis and improve the systems efficiency by organization of the data (Malik, [0060]).
Regarding Claim 25:
Dupont as modified shows the system as disclosed above;
Dupont as modified further teaches:
wherein each matrix in the plurality of matrices and the tree of matrices is a sparse matrix in a compressed sparse column format (Dupont, [0373-0375, 0526, 1214], note sparse matrix; not compressed area; note trees and subtrees) (Malik, figures 5-6, [0023, 0053, 0055, 0061], note time bucket hierarchy is a hierarchical tree of data ordered according to their time bins and the parents are a summation of the children. When combined with the previously cited references this would be for the matrices as taught by Dupont);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Malik because all references are directed to data management and analysis and because Malik would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references data management and analysis and improve the systems efficiency by organization of the data (Malik, [0060]).
Regarding Claim 26:
Dupont as modified shows the system as disclosed above;
Dupont as modified further teaches:
wherein the plurality of matrices are ordered according to their associated time bins, and wherein generating the tree of matrices includes summing adjacent matrices to create parent matrices that represent multiple time bins, such that a root matrix of the tree of matrices includes information for all of the time bins (Dupont, figure 37, [0224, 0369, 0526, 1049, 1324], note the use of trees and sub-trees; note parent and child matrices) (Malik, figures 5-6, [0023, 0053, 0055, 0061], note time bucket hierarchy is a hierarchical tree of data ordered according to their time bins and the parents are a summation of the children. When combined with the previously cited references this would be for the matrices as taught by Dupont);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Malik because all references are directed to data management and analysis and because Malik would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references data management and analysis and improve the systems efficiency by organization of the data (Malik, [0060]).
Regarding Claim 27:
Dupont as modified shows the system as disclosed above;
Dupont as modified further teaches:
wherein presenting the heat map using the tree includes: determining a maximum count of the counts in the cells of a root matrix of the tree (Dupont, figure 37, [0376, 0526, 0569, 1244], note tree and sub-trees; note number of entries) (Malik, figures 5-6, [0023, 0053, 0055, 0061], note time bucket hierarchy is a hierarchical tree of data ordered according to their time bins and the parents are a summation of the children. When combined with the previously cited references this would be for the matrices as taught by Dupont);
for each cell in the root matrix, adjusting a brightness of a corresponding pixel in the heat map based on a comparison of the count of the cell to the maximum count (Dupont, [0376, 0526, 0569, 0800, 1212, 1214, 1241, 1335], note number of entries; note color saturation levels; note heat map; note intensity of visual cues of matrices indicate comparisons) (Malik, figures 5-6, [0023, 0053, 0055, 0061, 0064], note time bucket hierarchy is a hierarchical tree of data ordered according to their time bins and the parents are a summation of the children; note record count. When combined with the previously cited references this would be for the matrices as taught by Dupont);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Malik because all references are directed to data management and analysis and because Malik would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references data management and analysis and improve the systems efficiency by organization of the data (Malik, [0060]).
Regarding Claim 29:
Dupont as modified shows the system as disclosed above;
Dupont as modified further teaches:
wherein the browser computing system is further configured to: receive, by the browser computing system, an input that indicates a subset of the time bins to be included in the heat map (Dupont, [0166, 1214, 1241], note input data for a particular visualization; note heat maps);
determine, by the browser computing system, one or more matrices of the tree of matrices that cover the subset of the time bins (Dupont, [0369, 0526, 1049, 1324], note time windows and bins);
add, by the browser computing system, the counts of the one or more matrices of the tree of matrices that cover the subset of the time bins to create a subset matrix (Dupont, 0369, 0526, 1049, 1324], note tree and subtrees) (Malik, figures 5-6, [0023, 0053, 0055, 0061], note time bucket hierarchy is a hierarchical tree of data ordered according to their time bins and the parents are a summation of the children. When combined with the previously cited references this would be for the matrices as taught by Dupont); and
present, by the browser computing system, an updated heat map based on the subset matrix (Dupont, [1049, 1275, 1281, 1324], note timeline-based visualization; note updated heat maps).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Malik because all references are directed to data management and analysis and because Malik would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references data management and analysis and improve the systems efficiency by organization of the data (Malik, [0060]).
Regarding Claim 30:
Dupont as modified shows the system as disclosed above;
Dupont as modified further teaches:
wherein receiving the input that indicates the subset of the time bins to be included in the heat map includes receiving one of: an input that adjusts a start time indicated by a time slider interface element while leaving an end time indicated by the time slider interface element constant; an input that adjusts the end time indicated by the time slider interface element while leaving the start time indicated by the time slider interface element constant; or an input that adjusts both the start time and the end time indicated by the time slider interface element by matching amounts (Dupont, [1048-1049, 1078], note sliding time window for start and end times).
Regarding Claim 31:
Dupont as modified shows the system as disclosed above;
Dupont as modified further teaches:
wherein generating the plurality of matrices representing the information from the data records includes: determining, by the server computing system, a plurality of time bins based on the start time and the end time (Dupont, [0369, 0373, 1049, 1324], note the resulting binned sequence can be treated as an array with each of its elements corresponding to the content of an individual bin; note sparse transition matrix; note time window with start and end times; note determining and visualizing the relevant matrices in response to the user);
for each time bin: initializing, by the server computing system, a matrix to be associated with the time bin, wherein the matrix includes a first dimension that represents a plurality of first dimension bins and a second dimension that represents a plurality of second dimension bins (Dupont, [0369, 0373, 1049, 1201, 1324], note performing multi-dimensional algorithm computation; note iterative step where a subset of tagged sequences sampled from the whole data set is positioned in a number of iteration loops, and an interpolation step in which all tagged sequences outside the sampled subset are positioned by comparing them only to their closest neighbors among subset sequences; note binning events; note matrices sizes), and
wherein each cell of the matrix indicates a count of data records from the time bin of the matrix that have a value in an associated first dimension bin and an associated second dimension bin (Dupont, [0369, 0376, 1049, 1324], note integer indicating the number of times instances of events of the class denoted by the index follow each other separated by a distance of time bins; note repetition count);
determining, by the server computing system, a set of data records of the plurality of data records that are associated with the time bin (Dupont, [0369, 0373, 0376, 1049, 1324], note the resulting binned sequence can be treated as an array with each of its elements corresponding to the content of an individual bin; note sparse transition matrix; note time window with start and end times; note integer indicating the number of times instances of events of the class denoted by the index follow each other separated by a distance of time bins; note repetition count);
for each data record in the set of data records: for each data point in the data record: determining, by the server computing system, a first dimension bin and a second dimension bin for the data point (Dupont, [0369, 0526, 1049, 1202, 1324], note performing multi-dimensional algorithm computation; note iterative step where a subset of tagged sequences sampled from the whole data set is positioned in a number of iteration loops, and an interpolation step in which all tagged sequences outside the sampled subset are positioned by comparing them only to their closest neighbors among subset sequences; note binning events; note matrices sizes); and
incrementing, by the server computing system, the count of the cell in the matrix associated with the first dimension bin and the second dimension bin (Dupont, [0224, 0369, 0526, 1049, 1324], note integer indicating the number of times instances of events of the class denoted by the index follow each other separated by a distance of time bins; note repetition count) (Malik, figures 5-6, [0023, 0053, 0055, 0061, 0064], note time bucket hierarchy is a hierarchical tree of data ordered according to their time bins and the parents are a summation of the children; note record count. When combined with the previously cited references this would be for the matrices as taught by Dupont);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Malik because all references are directed to data management and analysis and because Malik would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references data management and analysis and improve the systems efficiency by organization of the data (Malik, [0060]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dupont in view of Malik and Segalovitz et al. (US2019/0171876), hereinafter Segalovitz.
Regarding Claim 6:
Dupont as modified shows the method as disclosed above;
Dupont as modified further teaches:
wherein adjusting the brightness of the corresponding pixel in the heat map based on the comparison of the count of the cell to the maximum count (Dupont, [0376, 0526, 0569, 0800, 1212, 1214, 1241, 1335], note number of entries; note color saturation levels; note heat map; note intensity of visual cues of matrices indicate comparisons)
While Dupont as modified teaches adjusting brightness in the heat map, Dupont as modified doesn’t specifically teach raising a density value to a power associated with a user- adjustable contrast setting. However, Segalovitz is in the same field of endeavor, data management and analysis, and Segalovitz teaches:
wherein adjusting the brightness of the corresponding pixel in the heat map based on the comparison of the count of the cell to the maximum count includes raising a density value to a power associated with a user- adjustable contrast setting, wherein the density value is based on the comparison of the count of the cell to the maximum count (Segalovitz, [0022, 0123, 0261], note applying mathematical algorithms to generate greater pixel density or adjusting color balance, contrast and/or luminance; note heat maps; note enhanced density value. When combined with the previously cited references the adjust would be based on the maximum count as taught by Dupont).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Segalovitz because all references are directed to data management and analysis and because Segalovitz would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references data management and analysis and improve the systems usability by updating the heatmap pixels based on the comparison of data (Segalovitz, [0022, 0123, 0261]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dupont in view of Malik and Lam et al. (US2022/0138505), hereinafter Lam.
Regarding Claim 9:
Dupont as modified shows the method as disclosed above;
Dupont as modified further teaches:
wherein the plurality of matrices is a first plurality of matrices, wherein the first plurality of matrices is associated with a first data category, wherein the heat map is a first heat map (Dupont, [0157, 1240-1241], note categorization and classifiers; note visualizations; note matrices and heat maps);
While Dupont as modified teaches matrices and heat maps, Dupont as modified doesn’t specifically teach receiving, by the computing system, a second plurality of matrices associated with a second data category; and presenting, by the computing system, a second heat map based on the second plurality of matrices; wherein the second heat map is superimposed on the first heat map; wherein the first heat map uses a first color; and wherein the second heat map uses a second color; However, Lam is in the same field of endeavor, data management and analysis, and Lam teaches:
receiving, by the computing system, a second plurality of matrices associated with a second data category (Lam, [0108, 0129], note updated input samples and categories; note generating updated matrices); and
presenting, by the computing system, a second heat map based on the second plurality of matrices (Lam, [0108, 0129, 0163, 0171], note using the updated input sample to generate one or more heatmaps);
wherein the second heat map is superimposed on the first heat map (Lam, [0085], note the heatmap is combined with its interpretation sample showing the original sample superimposed with its respective heat map);
wherein the first heat map uses a first color (Lam, [0085, 0163], note heatmaps and first color); and
wherein the second heat map uses a second color (Lam, [0085, 0163], note heat maps and second color).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Lam because all references are directed to data management and analysis and because Lam would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references data management and analysis and improve the systems accuracy by displaying a plurality of data matrices for monitoring (Lam, [0085, 0108, 0129, 0163, 0171]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dupont in view of Malik and Larson et al. (US2022/0193558), hereinafter Larson.
Regarding Claim 13:
Dupont as modified shows the method as disclosed above;
Dupont as modified further teaches:
wherein determining the plurality of time bins based on the start time and the end time includes: determining a period of time between the start time and the end time (Dupont, [1049], note time window size with start and end times);
While Dupont as modified teaches matrices, heat maps, and time bins, Dupont as modified doesn’t specifically teach dividing the period of time based on a bucket size that provides a desired granularity for the period of time; However, Larson is in the same field of endeavor, data management and analysis, and Larson teaches:
dividing the period of time based on a bucket size that provides a desired granularity for the period of time (Larson, [0069], note time segments or buckets; note changing the time window size; note heat maps).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Larson because all references are directed to data management and analysis and because Larson would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references data management and analysis and improve the systems accuracy by allow the system to highlight specific time periods in the event data (Larson, [0069]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-22 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dupont in view of Malik and Aharoni et al. (US2013/0006406), hereinafter Aharoni.
Regarding Claim 21:
Dupont as modified shows the system as disclosed above;
Dupont as modified further teaches:
store the data as a data record in the data store (Dupont, [0517], note data store for records).
While Dupont teaches a data store for records, Dupont doesn’t specifically teach at least one sensor device configured to: collect data related to a manufacturing process; However, Aharoni is in the same field of endeavor, data management and analysis, and Aharoni teaches:
at least one sensor device configured to: collect data related to a manufacturing process (Aharoni, [0043], note heat maps related to collected data for manufacturing).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Aharoni because all references are directed to data management and analysis and because Aharoni would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references data management and analysis and improve the systems usability by utilizing the system for manufacturing applications.
Regarding Claim 22:
Dupont as modified shows the system as disclosed above;
Dupont as modified further teaches:
wherein the data includes at least one of a plurality of time-series data records or a plurality of metrology data records (Aharoni, figure 3, [0045, 0053], time-series data; note metrology data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Aharoni because all references are directed to data management and analysis and because Aharoni would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references data management and analysis and improve the systems usability by utilizing the system for manufacturing applications.
Regarding Claim 24:
Dupont as modified shows the system as disclosed above;
Dupont as modified further teaches:
wherein the manufacturing process is a semiconductor manufacturing process (Aharoni, [0043], note heat maps related to collected data for semiconductor manufacturing).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing to modify the cited references to incorporate the teachings of Aharoni because all references are directed to data management and analysis and because Aharoni would expand upon the teachings of the previously cited references data management and analysis and improve the systems usability by utilizing the system for manufacturing applications.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ostrovsky (US5606499) teaches hierarchical matrices;
/JOHN J MORRIS/Examiner, Art Unit 2151 7/25/2026
/James Trujillo/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2151