DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore,
“a button” of the one or more machines recited in Claim 4, Lines 4-5;
the machine including “a second button” recited in Claim 9, Line 15;
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kunimoto et al. (Hereinafter Kunimoto) US-PG-PUB No. 2019/0253547.
Regarding claim 1, Kunimoto teaches
A headphone apparatus (Fig. 7 shows a bone conduction headset 5A) comprising:
a speaker housing (Fig. 7 shows a headset main body 50) at a first section of the headphone apparatus (i.e. bone conduction headset 5A) as shown in Fig. 7, the speaker housing (i.e. headset main body 50) including:
a bone conduction speaker (Fig. 7 shows a bone conduction speaker 51) on a first side of the speaker housing (i.e. headset main body 50) as shown in Fig. 7;
a microphone (Fig. 7 shows a sound microphone 57); and
a button (Fig. 7 shows a push to talk (PTT) switch 62) on a second side of the speaker housing (i.e. support body 54) opposite the first side as shown in Fig. 7, the button (i.e. push to talk (PTT) switch 62) configured to enable push-to-talk (PTT) operation of the headphone apparatus (i.e. bone conduction headset 5A) such that depressing the button 160 enables local audio capture and transmission by the headphone apparatus (Bone conduction headset 5A according to the exemplary embodiment includes push to talk (PTT) switch 62 used to make communications with a communication partner holding an external device (Para. [0096], Lines 1-4)….PTT switch 62 is turned on when a button is pressed in a direction vertical to outside surface 54b1, i.e., toward a left side surface of a face. When PTT switch 62 is turned on, the user can make communications with the communication partner…..Para. [0097], Lines 3-7); and
a circuit housing (Fig. 7 shows a central part 54a) at a second section of the headphone apparatus (i.e. bone conduction headset 5A) different from the first section as shown in Fig. 7;
wherein the headphone apparatus (i.e. bone conduction headset 5A)is configured to be worn on an ear of a user (Headset main body 50 includes a pair of speakers 51 and a pair of ear hooks 52. Ear hooks 52 are to be hooked to ears of a human body…..Para. [0089], Lines 5-7).
Regarding claim 5, Kunimoto teaches
The headphone apparatus of claim 1 wherein the headphone apparatus is a first headphone apparatus (See Fig. 7 annotation below) configured to be worn on a first side of the user's head (Para. [0089], Lines 1-7), and wherein the button of the speaker housing of the first headphone apparatus (See Fig. 7 annotation below) is configured to enable PTT operation of a second headphone apparatus (See Fig. 7 annotation below) configured to be worn on a second side of the user's head different from the first side as shown in Fig. 7, wherein depressing the button of the speaker housing of the first headphone apparatus (See Fig. 7 annotation below) enables local audio capture and transmission by the second headphone apparatus (See Fig. 7 annotation below) (PTT switch 62 is turned on when a button is pressed in a direction vertical to outside surface 54b1, i.e., toward a left side surface of a face. When PTT switch 62 is turned on, the user can make communications with the communication partner…..Para. [0097], Lines 3-7).
Regarding claim 6, Kunimoto teaches
The headphone apparatus of claim 1 wherein the microphone (i.e. sound microphone 57) is positioned on a first surface of the speaker housing (i.e. headset main body 50) and the bone conduction speaker (i.e. bone conduction speaker 51) is positioned on a second surface of the speaker housing (i.e. headset main body 50) opposite the first surface as shown in Fig. 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 2-4, 9-13 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunimoto in view of See et al. (Hereinafter See) US-PG-PUB No. 2024/0053947.
Regarding claim 2, Kunimoto teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Kunimoto teaches that wherein the headphone apparatus is configured to be communicatively coupled to one or more machines (Communication device 9 is configured to perform wireless communications, via transceiver 7, with an external device possessed by a communication partner…..Para. [0063], Lines 1-3), and wherein the button of the speaker housing is configured to enable PTT operation of the one or more machines such that depressing the button enables local audio capture and transmission by the one or more machines (Bone conduction headset 5A according to the exemplary embodiment includes push to talk (PTT) switch 62 used to make communications with a communication partner holding an external device (Para. [0096], Lines 1-4)….PTT switch 62 is turned on when a button is pressed in a direction vertical to outside surface 54b1, i.e., toward a left side surface of a face. When PTT switch 62 is turned on, the user can make communications with the communication partner…..Para. [0097], Lines 3-7).
Kunimoto does not explicitly teach that the one or more machines including PTT functionality and configured to be worn by the user.
See teaches in Fig. 1 of a remote speaker microphone (RSM) accessory 102 is coupled to a portable radio 130 includes at least one push-to-talk (PTT) button 116 (Para. [0020], Lines 1-3). The RSM accessory 102 is coupled to the portable radio 130, typically worn at the waist or chest of the user……Para. [0021], Lines 9-10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify the Kunimoto’s headphone apparatus to include the RSM accessoryis coupled to the portable radio including PTT functionality and configured to be worn by the user, as taught by See. The advantage of such modification will allow the headphone apparatus to provide a user interface toggle switch that toggles between the headphone apparatus and the machine.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Kunimoto and See teach all the features with respect to claim 2 as outlined above. See teaches that at least one of the one or more machines is a radio device (The RSM accessory 102 is coupled to the portable radio 130, typically worn at the waist or chest of the user……Para. [0021], Lines 9-10).
Regarding claim 4, Kunimoto teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Kunimoto teaches that the headphone apparatus is configured to be communicatively coupled to one or more machines (Fig. 6 shows a communication device 9A includes bone conduction headset 5A is configured to perform wireless communications, via transceiver 7, with an external device).
Kunimoto does not explicitly teach that the one or more machines including PTT functionality and configured to be worn by the user, and wherein the one or more machines are configured to enable PTT operation of the headphone apparatus such that depressing a button of the one or more machines enables local audio capture and transmission by the headphone apparatus.
See teaches in Fig. 1 of a remote speaker microphone (RSM) accessory 102 is coupled to a portable radio 130 includes at least one push-to-talk (PTT) button 116 (Para. [0020], Lines 1-3). The ability of the user to switch from their secondary audio accessory (SAA) 108 to their RSM accessory 102 allows the user to remove the heavy duty SAA when moving to a quieter location. When the user moves back to the noisy environment, the embodiments provided herein facilitate the user's ability to switch back to the SAA device and maintain audio communication (Para. [0019], Lines 9-15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify the Kunimoto’s headphone apparatus to include the RSM accessory is coupled to the portable radio including PTT functionality and configured to be worn by the user, as taught by See. The advantage of such modification will allow the headphone apparatus to provide a user interface toggle switch that toggles between the headphone apparatus and the machine.
Regarding claim 9, Kunimoto teaches
A push-to-talk (PTT) system (Figs. 6 and 7 shows a push-to-talk (PTT) system) comprising:
a first headphone apparatus (See Fig. 7 annotation below) configured to be worn on a first side of a user's head as shown in Fig. 7, the first headphone apparatus (See Fig. 7 annotation below) including:
a speaker housing (Fig. 7 shows a headset main body 50) at a first section of the first headphone apparatus (See Fig. 7 annotation below), the speaker housing (i.e. headset main body 50) including:
a bone conduction speaker (Fig. 7 shows a bone conduction speaker 51) on a first side of the speaker housing (i.e. headset main body 50);
a microphone (Fig. 7 shows a sound microphone 57); and
a first button (Fig. 7 shows a push to talk (PTT) switch 62) on a second side of the speaker housing (i.e. headset main body 50) opposite the first side as shown in Fig. 7; and
a circuit housing (Fig. 7 shows a central part 54a) at a second section of the first headphone apparatus (See Fig. 7 annotation below) different from the first section as shown in Fig. 7;
a second headphone apparatus (See Fig. 7 annotation below) configured to be worn on a second side of the user's head different from the first side as shown in Fig. 7; and
a machine (Fig. 6 shows a transceiver 7, with an external device) communicatively coupled to at least one of the first and second headphone apparatuses (See Fig. 7 annotation below) (Communication device 9 is configured to perform wireless communications, via transceiver 7, with an external device possessed by a communication partner…..Para. [0063], Lines 1-3), wherein the first button of the first headphone apparatus is configured to enable PTT operation of at least one of the first and second headphone apparatuses (See Fig. 7 annotation below) such that depressing the first button enables local audio capture and transmission by at least one of the first and second headphone apparatuses (See Fig. 7 annotation below) (Bone conduction headset 5A according to the exemplary embodiment includes push to talk (PTT) switch 62 used to make communications with a communication partner holding an external device (Para. [0096], Lines 1-4)….PTT switch 62 is turned on when a button is pressed in a direction vertical to outside surface 54b1, i.e., toward a left side surface of a face. When PTT switch 62 is turned on, the user can make communications with the communication partner…..Para. [0097], Lines 3-7);
Kunimoto does not explicitly teach that the machine including a second button; and wherein the second button of the machine is configured to enable PTT operation of the machine such that depressing the second button enables local audio capture and transmission by the machine.
See teaches in Fig. 1 of a remote speaker microphone (RSM) accessory 102 is coupled to a portable radio 130 includes at least one push-to-talk (PTT) button 116 (Para. [0020], Lines 1-3). The ability of the user to switch from their secondary audio accessory (SAA) 108 to their RSM accessory 102 allows the user to remove the heavy duty SAA when moving to a quieter location. When the user moves back to the noisy environment, the embodiments provided herein facilitate the user's ability to switch back to the SAA device and maintain audio communication (Para. [0019], Lines 9-15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify the Kunimoto’s PTT system to include the RSM accessory is coupled to the portable radio including PTT functionality and configured to be worn by the user, as taught by See. The advantage of such modification will allow the PTT system to provide a user interface toggle switch that toggles between the headphone apparatus and the machine.
Regarding claim 10, Kunimoto teaches all the features with respect to claim 9 as outlined above. Kunimoto teaches that the first button of the first headphone apparatus is configured to enable PTT operation of the machine such that depressing the first button enables local audio capture and transmission by the machine (Bone conduction headset 5A according to the exemplary embodiment includes push to talk (PTT) switch 62 used to make communications with a communication partner holding an external device (Para. [0096], Lines 1-4)….PTT switch 62 is turned on when a button is pressed in a direction vertical to outside surface 54b1, i.e., toward a left side surface of a face. When PTT switch 62 is turned on, the user can make communications with the communication partner…..Para. [0097], Lines 3-7).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Kunimoto and See teach all the features with respect to claim 10 as outlined above. See teaches that the machine is a radio device (The RSM accessory 102 is coupled to the portable radio 130, typically worn at the waist or chest of the user……Para. [0021], Lines 9-10).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Kunimoto and See teach all the features with respect to claim 9 as outlined above. See teaches that the second button of the machine is configured to enable PTT operation of at least one of the first and second headphone apparatuses such that depressing the second button enables local audio capture and transmission by at least one of the first and second headphone apparatuses (Fig. 1 of a remote speaker microphone (RSM) accessory 102 is coupled to a portable radio 130 includes at least one push-to-talk (PTT) button 116….Para. [0020], Lines 1-3. The ability of the user to switch from their secondary audio accessory (SAA) 108 to their RSM accessory 102 allows the user to remove the heavy duty SAA when moving to a quieter location. When the user moves back to the noisy environment, the embodiments provided herein facilitate the user's ability to switch back to the SAA device and maintain audio communication…Para. [0019], Lines 9-15).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Kunimoto and See teach all the features with respect to claim 9 as outlined above. Kunimoto teaches that the microphone (i.e. sound microphone 57) is positioned on a first surface of the speaker housing (i.e. headset main body 50) and the bone conduction speaker (i.e. bone conduction speaker 51) is positioned on a second surface of the speaker housing (i.e. headset main body 50) opposite the first surface as shown in Fig. 7.
Regarding claim 16, Kunimoto teaches
A method comprising: positioning a headphone apparatus (Figs. 6 and 7 show a bone conduction headset 5A) about an ear of a user (Headset main body 50 includes ear hooks 52. Ear hooks 52 are to be hooked to ears of a human body…..Para. [0034], Lines 5-7), the headphone apparatus (i.e. bone conduction headset 5A) including a bone conduction speaker (i.e. bone conduction speaker 51) on a first side of the headphone apparatus (i.e. bone conduction headset 5A) and a button (Fig. 7 shows a push to talk (PTT) switch 62) on a second side of the headphone apparatus (i.e. bone conduction headset 5A) opposite the first side as shown in Fig. 7, the button (i.e. push to talk (PTT) switch 62) configured to enable push-to-talk (PTT) operation of the headphone apparatus (i.e. bone conduction headset 5A);
communicatively coupling the headphone apparatus with one or more machines, depressing the button on the headphone apparatus (Communication device 9 is configured to perform wireless communications, via transceiver 7, with an external device possessed by a communication partner…..Para. [0063], Lines 1-3); and
enabling local audio capture and transmission thereof from the headphone apparatus to the one or more machines based on depressing the button on the headphone apparatus (Bone conduction headset 5A according to the exemplary embodiment includes push to talk (PTT) switch 62 used to make communications with a communication partner holding an external device (Para. [0096], Lines 1-4)….PTT switch 62 is turned on when a button is pressed in a direction vertical to outside surface 54b1, i.e., toward a left side surface of a face. When PTT switch 62 is turned on, the user can make communications with the communication partner…..Para. [0097], Lines 3-7).
Kunimoto does not explicitly teach that the one or more machines including PTT functionality and configured to be worn by the user.
See teaches in Fig. 1 of a remote speaker microphone (RSM) accessory 102 is coupled to a portable radio 130 includes at least one push-to-talk (PTT) button 116 (Para. [0020], Lines 1-3). The RSM accessory 102 is coupled to the portable radio 130, typically worn at the waist or chest of the user……Para. [0021], Lines 9-10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify the Kunimoto’s headphone apparatus to include the RSM accessoryis coupled to the portable radio including PTT functionality and configured to be worn by the user, as taught by See. The advantage of such modification will allow the headphone apparatus to provide a user interface toggle switch that toggles between the headphone apparatus and the machine.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Kunimoto and See teach all the features with respect to claim 16 as outlined above. Kunimoto teaches enabling local audio capture and transmission thereof from the one or more machines based on depressing the button on the headphone apparatus (Bone conduction headset 5A according to the exemplary embodiment includes push to talk (PTT) switch 62 used to make communications with a communication partner holding an external device (Para. [0096], Lines 1-4)….PTT switch 62 is turned on when a button is pressed in a direction vertical to outside surface 54b1, i.e., toward a left side surface of a face. When PTT switch 62 is turned on, the user can make communications with the communication partner…..Para. [0097], Lines 3-7).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Kunimoto and See teach all the features with respect to claim 16 as outlined above. Kunimoto teaches that the headphone apparatus is a first headphone (See Fig. 7 annotation below) apparatus, and wherein the method further comprises: communicatively coupling the first headphone apparatus (See Fig. 7 annotation below) with a second headphone apparatus (See Fig. 7 annotation below); and enabling local audio capture and transmission thereof from the second headphone apparatus based on depressing the button on the first headphone apparatus (See Fig. 7 annotation below) (Bone conduction headset 5A according to the exemplary embodiment includes push to talk (PTT) switch 62 used to make communications with a communication partner holding an external device (Para. [0096], Lines 1-4)….PTT switch 62 is turned on when a button is pressed in a direction vertical to outside surface 54b1, i.e., toward a left side surface of a face. When PTT switch 62 is turned on, the user can make communications with the communication partner…..Para. [0097], Lines 3-7).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Kunimoto and See teach all the features with respect to claim 16 as outlined above. the combination of Kunimoto and See teach the button of the headphone apparatus is a first button and the one or more machines includes a second button, and wherein the method further comprises enabling local audio capture and transmission thereof from the headphone apparatus based on depressing the second button of the one or more machines (See-Fig. 1 of a remote speaker microphone (RSM) accessory 102 is coupled to a portable radio 130 includes at least one push-to-talk (PTT) button 116….Para. [0020], Lines 1-3. The ability of the user to switch from their secondary audio accessory (SAA) 108 to their RSM accessory 102 allows the user to remove the heavy duty SAA when moving to a quieter location. When the user moves back to the noisy environment, the embodiments provided herein facilitate the user's ability to switch back to the SAA device and maintain audio communication…Para. [0019], Lines 9-15).
8. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunimoto in view of Wang et al. (Hereinafter Wang) US-PG-PUB No. 2022/0369021.
Regarding claim 7, Kunimoto teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Kunimoto teaches that a curved section coupling the speaker housing to the circuit housing as shown in Fig. 7.
Kunimoto does not explicitly teach that the curved section is configured to be positioned on the ear of the user.
Wang teaches in Fig. 11 of an ear hook assembly 12A.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify the Kunimoto’s headphone apparatus to include the ear hook assembly, as taught by Wang. The advantage of such modification will improve the connection stability and structural reliability of the headphone apparatus.
8. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunimoto in view of Montazemi et al. (Hereinafter Montazemi) US-PG-PUB No. 2015/0304761.
Regarding claim 8, Kunimoto teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Kunimoto does not explicitly teach that the headphone apparatus is configured to be charged via placement in a charging case.
Montazemi teaches in Fig. 4 of a charging station which comprises one casing [25] and a headphones rest [29] where the pair of headphones can be rested on for charging.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to include the charging station, as taught by Montazemi with the headphone apparatus of Kunimoto. The advantage of such modification will make it quick and straightforward to keep the headphone apparatus powered without daily manual battery changes.
9. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunimoto in view of See and further in view of Montazemi et al. (Hereinafter Montazemi) US-PG-PUB No. 2015/0304761.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Kunimoto and See teach all the features with respect to claim 9 as outlined above.
The combination of Kunimoto and See do not explicitly teach that a charging case, wherein the first and second headphone apparatuses are configured to be received by the charging case.
Montazemi teaches in Fig. 4 of a charging station which comprises one casing [25] and a headphones rest [29] where the pair of headphones can be rested on for charging.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to include the charging station, as taught by Montazemi with the PTT system of the combination of Kunimoto and See. The advantage of such modification will make it quick and straightforward to keep the headphone apparatus powered without daily manual battery changes.
10. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination Kunimoto, See and Montazemi and further in view of Stratton et al. (Hereinafter Stratton) US-PG-PUB No. 2017/0104352.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Kunimoto, See and Montazemi teach all the features with respect to claim 14 as outlined above.
The combination of Kunimoto, See and Montazemi do not explicitly teach a charging cradle, wherein the charging case is configured to be received by the charging cradle, and wherein the charging cradle is configured to receive multiple charging cases.
Stratton teaches in Fig. 3 of a charging station 10 configured to receive charging receptacles 48 for headsets 12.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to include the charging station, as taught by Stratton with the PTT system of the combination of Kunimoto, See and Montazemi. The advantage of such modification will make it quick and straightforward to keep the multiple headphone apparatuses powered without daily manual battery changes.
11. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunimoto in view of See and further in view of Gil US-PG-PUB No. 2019/0297437.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Kunimoto and See teach all the features with respect to claim 16 as outlined above.
The combination of Kunimoto and See do not explicitly teach charging the headphone apparatus via a charging cradle configured to receive multiple headphone apparatuses.
Gil teaches in Fig. 3 of a recharging device 4 configured to receive multiple hearing aids. The advantage of such modification will make it quick and straightforward to keep the headphone apparatus powered without daily manual battery changes.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Harmke et al. US-PAT No. 9,998,577, Method And Apparatus For Managing Noise Levels Using Push-to-talk Event Activated Vibration Microphone, Fig. 1 shows a portable communication accessory system 10 comprises a remote speaker microphone (RSM) 102 having a single vibration microphone (130) are enabled by pressing a push-to-talk (PTT) button (108).
Skillicorn et al. US-PG-PUB No. 2003/0224838, Mask Communication System, Fig. 1 shows a microphone and ear speaker assembly 10 couple to transmission activation device 85 is a push-to-talk device.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANGELICA M MCKINNEY whose telephone number is (571)270-3321. The examiner can normally be reached 7AM-3PM EST M-F. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Vivian Chin can be reached at 571-272-7848. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ANGELICA M MCKINNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2694