DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “central connector” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-23 of U.S. Patent No. 12,221,781; Claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,987,971; and Claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,846,094. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they all are drawn to wells and a conduit connecting the wells with the subsurface having a hydraulic conductivity of at least 10-5 cm/s and located at a depth of at least 10 feet.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to Claim 1, the claim recites “a volume of water to a subsurface region”. It is unclear if this refers to the subsurface region in the preamble of the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
As to Claim 9, the claim recites “at least a well”. It is unclear if this well is part of the “two or more wells” of claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
As to Claim 11, the claim recites “a volume of water to a subsurface region”. It is unclear if this refers to the subsurface region in the preamble of the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
As to Claim 19, the claim recites “at least a well”. It is unclear if this well is part of the “two or more wells” of claim 11. Appropriate correction is required.
As to Claim 22, the claim recites “a volume of water to a subsurface region”. It is unclear if this refers to the subsurface region in the preamble of the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
The dependent claims are also rejected for depending on their respecting rejected independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5-12 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yi et al (China Patent Publication No. 112814120A).
As to Claim 1, Yi discloses a system for directing water to a subsurface region, comprising:
A network comprising two or more wells (3), each well comprising:
A conduit (4) for directing a volume of water to a subsurface region located below a land surface, the subsurface region being formed from an earth surface adapted to contact the water and having a hydraulic conductivity of at least 10-5 cm/s (Paragraph 0038: “In response to the serious problems of non-point source pollution and initial rainwater runoff pollution on both sides of urban rivers, geological survey data or geological drilling have revealed medium-coarse sand strata (permeability coefficient K greater than 0.006 cm/s, and medium-coarse sand strata are common on both sides of rivers) within a burial depth of 10 meters”),
Wherein an upper portion of the subsurface region is located at a distance of at least 10 feet below the land surface (Paragraph 0065: “Since it was found through geological survey data or geological drilling that there are medium-coarse sand strata within a burial depth of 10 meters, in order to better utilize the drainage capacity of the natural medium-coarse sand strata, the preferred deployment depth range of the initial rain purification well 3 is 4-10 meters”).
As to Claim 2, Yi discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Yi also discloses further comprising at least one trench (1) fluidically coupled to the network.
As to Claim 5, Yi discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Yi also discloses wherein the network is fluidically connected to a central connector (1).
As to Claim 6, Yi discloses the invention of Claim 5 (Refer to Claim 5 discussion). Yi also discloses wherein the central connector (1) connects the two or more wells (3).
As to Claim 7, Yi discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Yi also discloses wherein a well (3) of the two or more wells is a drainage well.
As to Claim 8, Yi discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Yi also discloses wherein the subsurface region is located in a ground layer (7) of bedrock.
As to Claim 9, Yi discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Yi also discloses wherein the conduit (4) is in fluidic communication with a combination of at least a trench (1) and at least a well (3).
As to Claim 10, Yi discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Yi also discloses wherein the two or more wells (3) of the network are positioned around a perimeter of a land structure (Figure 1).
As to Claim 11, Yi discloses a method of directing water to a subsurface region, comprising:
Directing a volume of water through a network (Figure 1), the network comprising two or more wells (3), each well comprising:
A conduit (4) for directing a volume of water to a subsurface region located below a land surface, the subsurface region being formed from an earth surface adapted to contact the water and having a hydraulic conductivity of at least 10-5 cm/s (Paragraph 0038: “In response to the serious problems of non-point source pollution and initial rainwater runoff pollution on both sides of urban rivers, geological survey data or geological drilling have revealed medium-coarse sand strata (permeability coefficient K greater than 0.006 cm/s, and medium-coarse sand strata are common on both sides of rivers) within a burial depth of 10 meters”); and
Wherein an upper portion of the subsurface region is located at a distance of at least 10 feet below the land surface (Paragraph 0065: “Since it was found through geological survey data or geological drilling that there are medium-coarse sand strata within a burial depth of 10 meters, in order to better utilize the drainage capacity of the natural medium-coarse sand strata, the preferred deployment depth range of the initial rain purification well 3 is 4-10 meters”).
As to Claim 12, Yi discloses the invention of Claim 11 (Refer to Claim 11 discussion). Yi also discloses further comprising at least one trench (1) fluidically coupled to the network.
As to Claim 15, Yi discloses the invention of Claim 11 (Refer to Claim 11 discussion). Yi also discloses further comprising wherein the network is fluidically connected to a central connector (1).
As to Claim 16, Yi discloses the invention of Claim 15 (Refer to Claim 15 discussion). Yi also discloses further comprising wherein the central connector (1) connects the two or more wells (3).
As to Claim 17, Yi discloses the invention of Claim 11 (Refer to Claim 11 discussion). Yi also discloses further comprising wherein a well of the two or more wells (3) is a drainage well.
As to Claim 18, Yi discloses the invention of Claim 11 (Refer to Claim 11 discussion). Yi also discloses further comprising wherein the subsurface region is located in a ground layer (7) of bedrock.
As to Claim 19, Yi discloses the invention of Claim 11 (Refer to Claim 11 discussion). Yi also discloses further comprising wherein the conduit (4) is in fluidic communication with a combination of at least a trench (1) and at least a well (3).
As to Claim 20, Yi discloses the invention of Claim 11 (Refer to Claim 11 discussion). Yi also discloses further comprising wherein the two or more wells (3) of the network are positioned around a perimeter of a land structure (Figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, 13, 14, 21 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi et al (China Patent Publication No. 112814120A) alone.
As to Claim 3, Yi discloses the invention of Claim 2 (Refer to Claim 2 discussion). However, Yi is silent about wherein the at least one trench has a depth of about 6 feet. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to make the at least one trench of a depth of about 6 feet, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
As to Claim 4, Yi discloses the invention of Claim 2 (Refer to Claim 2 discussion). However, Yi is silent about wherein the at least one trench has an exfiltration capacity of about 6 gallons per minute (gpm). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to make the at least one trench with an exfiltration capacity of about 6 gallons per minute (gpm), since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
As to Claim 13, Yi discloses the invention of Claim 12 (Refer to Claim 12 discussion). owever, Yi is silent about wherein the at least one trench has a depth of about 6 feet. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to make the at least one trench of a depth of about 6 feet, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
As to Claim 14, Yi discloses the invention of Claim 11 (Refer to Claim 11 discussion). However, Yi is silent about wherein the at least one trench has an exfiltration capacity of about 6 gallons per minute (gpm). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to make the at least one trench with an exfiltration capacity of about 6 gallons per minute (gpm), since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
As to Claim 21, Yi discloses a system for directing water to a subsurface region, the system comprising:
A network (Figure 1) comprising two or more drainage wells (3), each well comprising:
A conduit (4) for directing a volume of water to a subsurface region below a land surface, the subsurface region being formed from an earth surface adapted to contact the water and having a hydraulic conductivity of at least 10-5 cm/s (Paragraph 0038: “In response to the serious problems of non-point source pollution and initial rainwater runoff pollution on both sides of urban rivers, geological survey data or geological drilling have revealed medium-coarse sand strata (permeability coefficient K greater than 0.006 cm/s, and medium-coarse sand strata are common on both sides of rivers) within a burial depth of 10 meters”),
Wherein the conduit (4) is adapted to handle fluid volume flows.
However, Yi is silent about wherein the conduit is adapted to handle fluid volume flows generated during a 100 year storm. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a conduit adapted to handle fluid volume flows generated during a 100 year storm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
As to Claim 22, Yi as modified teaches the invention of Claim 21 (Refer to Claim 21 discussion). Yi as modified also teaches further comprising wherein a well of the two or more wells (3) is a drainage well.
Conclusion
/EDWIN J TOLEDO-DURAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678