DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kahn et al. (US 2024/0095544 A1, “Kahn”).
As to claims 1, 13, 20, Kahn discloses a method, comprising:
receiving, from a computing device, a dialogue data query (assistant system 140 receives a user request from client system 130, para. 0052; user query is parsed to identify intent and subject/slott, para. 0061);
executing the dialogue data query against a structured dataset comprising a set of dialogue segments and a set of structured links corresponding to the set of dialogue segments (assistant system 140 may access a prior user query and corresponding prior responses, the prior responses including intents and slots, para. 0077),
wherein executing the dialogue data query comprises:
identifying, in the structured dataset, a first structured link associating a target concept corresponding to a first dialogue segment with a dialogue goal corresponding to the first dialogue segment (para. 0077), and
based on the first structured link, generating a query response comprising at least one of: the target concept, or the dialogue goal (a first response may be from prior user inputs, para. 0072, a previous conversation, para. 0078; each response including an intent and slot, para. 0077);
transmitting the query response to the computing device in response to the dialogue data query (assistant system 140 generates a response for presentation to the user, para. 0080);
wherein the method is performed by at least one device including a hardware processor (computer system 1100, para. 0110-0119).
As to claim 2, Kahn discloses: wherein the dialogue goal comprises a purpose for a communication between a plurality of entities that is related to the target concept, the dialogue goal having been determined at least in part by applying a predictive model to the first dialogue segment (an intent is identified by NLU module 220, which may comprise a recurrent neural network grammar model, para. 0039, a machine learning model, para. 0053).
As to claim 3, Kahn discloses: wherein the target concept comprises terminology associated with a knowledge domain, the terminology of the target concept having been determined based on a weight indicating a relevancy of the first dialogue segment to the terminology associated with the knowledge domain (subject/slot may be determined using a semantic information aggregator 230 which provides ontology data associated with a plurality of predefined domains, para. 0039).
As to claims 4, 14, Kahn discloses: wherein executing the dialogue data query further comprises: determining that the first dialogue segment satisfies a query criterion of the dialogue data query; based on determining that the first dialogue segment satisfies the query criterion, identifying the first structured link corresponding to the first dialogue segment (historical data associated with the identified intents and slots, para. 0072).
As to claims 5, 15, Kahn discloses: wherein executing the dialogue data query further comprises: retrieving the dialogue goal based on the first structured link; generating the query response, wherein the query response comprises the dialogue goal (para. 0072, 0077).
As to claims 6, 16, Kahn discloses: wherein executing the dialogue data query further comprises: retrieving the target concept based on the first structured link; generating the query response, wherein the query response comprises the target concept (para. 0072, 0077).
As to claims 7, 17, Kahn discloses: based on the first structured link, identifying an extracted concept, wherein the first structured link associates the extracted concept with at least one of: the dialogue goal, or the target concept, the extracted concept having been determined from the target concept based on a semantic scheme (relevant concepts are selected, para. 0045).
As to claim 8, Kahn discloses: wherein the extracted concept comprises at least one of: a confirmation of the target concept, a validation of the target concept, a negation of the target concept, a denial of the target concept, a qualification of the target concept, or a quantification of the target concept (coherence of relevant concepts provides verification, para. 0045).
As to claims 9, 18, Kahn discloses: wherein executing the dialogue data query further comprises: determining that the target concept satisfies a query criterion of the dialogue data query; based on determining that the target concept satisfies the query criterion, identifying the first structured link corresponding to the first dialogue segment; retrieving the dialogue goal based on the first structured link; generating the query response, wherein the query response comprises the dialogue goal (para. 0048-0049, 0053-0057).
As to claims 10, 19, Kahn discloses: wherein executing the dialogue data query further comprises: determining that the dialogue goal satisfies a query criterion of the dialogue data query; based on determining that the dialogue goal satisfies the query criterion, identifying the first structured link corresponding to the first dialogue segment; retrieving the target concept based on the first structured link; generating the query response, wherein the query response comprises the target concept (para. 0048-0049, 0053-0057).
As to claim 11, Kahn discloses: wherein generating the query response comprises refraining from including the first dialogue segment in the query response (an object may be excluded from search results, para. 0102).
As to claim 12, Kahn discloses: wherein the first dialogue segment comprises communication between a first entity and a second entity, the communication comprising a first utterance corresponding to the first entity and a second utterance corresponding to the second entity, and wherein the dialogue goal comprises an underlying purpose for the communication (dialog between user and assistant (Fig. 7).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yuan et al. (US 2020/0005117 A1) teach extracting structured data from user conversation inputs by labeling intent and constraints for segments of prior conversation data.
Krishnaswamy et al. (US 2020/0142958 A1) teach generating conversation history from structured and unstructured information.
Havens et al. (US 2019/0340201 A1) teach generated structured data from unstructured inputs regarding user queries within a domain.
STELLA L. WOO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2693
/Stella L. Woo/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693