Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 18, 2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. (US 5681890) in view of Suzuki et al. (US 2022/0372351). Tanaka et al. disclose a coating composition containing 100 parts by weight of a resin composition consisting of 30 to 90 parts by weight of (A) a hydroxyl group-containing polyester resin and 10 to 70 parts by weight of (B) a melamine resin curing agent selected from the group consisting of a mixture of methyl etherified melamine resin with butyl etherified melamine resin (abstract). In a preferred embodiment, the first invention provides a coating composition which contains 100 parts by weight of a resin composition consisting of 60 to 85 parts by weight of the hydroxyl group-containing polyester resin (A) having a number average molecular weight of 4,000 to 30,000;, a glass transition temperature of -5.degree. C. to 35.degree. C. and a hydroxyl number of 3 to 25 mg KOH/g, and 15 to 40 parts by weight of the melamine resin curing agent (B) having a methyl etherified melamine resin (col 3, ln 10-25). The oil-free polyester resin is mainly an esterified product between a polybasic acid and polyhydric alcohol. Examples of the polybasic acid may include at least one dibasic acid selected from terephthalic acid and adipic acid and the like. Regarding claim 4, examples of polyhydric alcohol may include mainly dihydric alcohol such as ethylene glycol diethylene glycol and neopentyl glycol (col 4, ln 16-30). A mixing ratio of the polyester resin (A) to the melamine resin curing agent (B) in the coating composition of the present invention is such that (A)/(B) as a solid content weight ratio is in the range of 30/70 to 90/10 (col 7, ln 36-39). Regarding claim 6, Tanaka disclose a curing catalyst selected from the group consisting of p-toluenesulfonic acid and dodecylbenzene sulfonic acid (col 3, 43-45). Regarding claim 7, silica (i.e. silicon dioxide) is also included in the coating composition (col 8, ln 29-31). The composition also may contain a solvent (col 8, ln 3-18). Tanaka et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the specific teaching of a saturated aliphatic diol is in the composition and that the film is coated onto a base fabric.
Suzuki et al. (US 2022/0372351) disclose a polyester adhesive composition prepared from an aromatic compound and a polycarboxylic acid compound and a polyol (0014). The aromatic compound comprises terephthalic acid (0015). As required, the polyethylene terephthalate may be modified with a substance such as adipic acid compound or sebacic acid compound (0041). Examples of the divalent aliphatic diol include: acyclic aliphatic diols such as ethylene glycol, diethylene glycol, and neopentyl glycol (0061). The substrate can be fabrics made of synthetic fibers, including polyester resin (0196). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have used Suzuki’s adipic or sebacic acid along with the terephthalic acid of Tanaka et al., motivated by the desire to ensure that the polyester composition has more excellent adhesiveness.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, it would have been obvious to have used the fabric substrate of Suzuki et al. as the substrate along with the Tanaka coating composition, motivated by the desire to create a substrate with increased stain and impact resistance.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. (US 5681890) in view of Suzuki et al. (US 2022/0372351), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of AU 5791494 (hereinafter AU ‘494). Tanaka et al. and Suzuki et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the specific teaching of the particle size of the silica material.
AU ‘494 disclose a polyester film for use as an electrical insulator. The polyester film is suitable formed from terephthalic acid and ethylene glycol (pg 2, ln 9-21). The polymeric film also comprises a particulate inorganic filler (page 5, ln 15-21), such as silica, having an average particle size of from 0.1 to 10 µm (page 6, ln 9-21). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have made the silica of Tanaka et al. and Suzuki et al. have the particle size be from 0.1 to 10 µm, motivated by the desire to create a composition that has improved handling properties.
Conclusion
/ULA C RUDDOCK/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729