DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to an application filed 1/8/2025, wherein claims 1-20 are pending and being examined. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statement
The references cited in the PCT international search report by the International Searching Authority have been considered, but will not be listed on any patent resulting from this application because they were not provided on a separate list in compliance with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(1). In order to have the references printed on such resulting patent, a separate listing, preferably on a PTO/SB/08 form, must be filed within the set period for reply to this Office action.
An information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 6/17/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-10, 12, 13, 15-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thomas et al. (EP 4300477A1) (hereinafter Thomas).
In regard to claim 1, Thomas discloses a method of video decoding [¶0126; video encoders, video decoders], the method comprising:
reconstructing a coded picture including at least a first sample [¶0044; decoding encoded data from the bitstream in a decoded video sequence… pixels being derived from sample values of the decoded video sequence. ¶0170-¶0171], the coded picture being associated with a Supplemental Enhancement Information (SEI) message for a film grain synthesis process to be applied to the reconstructed picture [¶0115; alpha compositing or alpha blending is the process of combining one image with a background to create the appearance of partial or full transparency.. ¶0031; auxiliary pictures associated with primary pictures and SEI (Supplemental Enhancement Information) messages. ¶0106; content of said SEI message describes the post-decoding processing intended to be applied on the decoded video picture. ¶0098; alpha channel indicator is written into the bitstream. The alpha channel indicator indicates for which type of post-processing of the video sequence an alpha channel information associated with the video sequence is intended for], the SEI message for the film grain synthesis process including a syntax element indicating that alpha channel information is used in the film grain synthesis process [¶0054; alpha channel indicator is particular type of auxiliary picture signalled in an SEI message. ¶0047-¶0048; alpha channel indicator is a particular syntax element (alpha_channel_idc, alpha_channel_id) included in an alpha channel information SEI message]; and
applying the film grain synthesis process to the first sample based at least on the alpha channel information [¶0044; determining a transparency information mask from transparency information associated with the decoded alpha channel video sequence ; and adjusting pixels transparency of the transparent screen based on the transparency information mask, said pixels being derived from sample values of the decoded video sequence. ¶0085-¶0087; different pixel's transparency adjustment operations are intended to be executed in increasing order of alpha_channel_id values. ¶0116-¶0118. ¶0032].
In regard to claim 2, Thomas discloses the method of claim 1. Thomas further discloses,
wherein the film grain synthesis process based on the alpha channel information is not applied to a second sample in the reconstructed picture [¶0077-¶0078, ¶0088, ¶0091].
In regard to claim 4, Thomas discloses the method of claim 1. Thomas further discloses, wherein
the syntax element is an alpha channel adaptation flag [¶0076-¶0078], and
the alpha channel adaptation flag includes a first value when the alpha channel information is used in the film grain synthesis process [¶0076-¶0078, ¶0088-¶0091].
In regard to claim 5, Thomas discloses the method of claim 1. Thomas further discloses, wherein
the reconstructed picture includes a first region that includes the first sample [¶0063, ¶0118, ¶0170],
the SEI message includes spatial information of the first region and a flag indicating that the film grain synthesis process is to be applied to the first region [¶0070, ¶0075-¶0078, ¶0118], and
the applying the film grain synthesis process includes applying the film grain synthesis process to the first sample based on the alpha channel information and when the flag indicates that the film grain synthesis process is applied to the first region [¶0110-¶0118].
In regard to claim 7, Thomas discloses the method of claim 1. Thomas further discloses, wherein
the reconstructed picture includes a second region that includes a second sample [¶0063, ¶0118, ¶0170],
the SEI message includes spatial information of the second region and a flag indicating that the film grain synthesis process is not applied to the second region [¶0070, ¶0075-¶0078, ¶0118], and
the film grain synthesis process is not applied to the second sample [¶0077-¶0078, ¶0088, ¶0091].
In regard to claim 8, Thomas discloses the method of claim 1. Thomas further discloses,
wherein the alpha channel information is an alpha channel information SEI message [¶0106].
In regard to claim 9, this claim is drawn to an encoding method, corresponding to the decoding method of claim 1, wherein claim 9 contains the encoding steps corresponding to the decoding method of claim 1 and is therefore rejected upon the same basis. Thomas discloses encoding steps corresponding to the decoding steps in at least ¶0043 and ¶0102-¶0107.
In regard to claim 10, this claim is drawn to an encoding method, corresponding to the decoding method of claim 2, wherein claim 10 contains the encoding steps corresponding to the decoding method of claim 2 and is therefore rejected upon the same basis.
In regard to claim 12, this claim is drawn to an encoding method, corresponding to the decoding method of claim 4, wherein claim 12 contains the encoding steps corresponding to the decoding method of claim 4 and is therefore rejected upon the same basis.
In regard to claim 13, this claim is drawn to an encoding method, corresponding to the decoding method of claim 5, wherein claim 13 contains the encoding steps corresponding to the decoding method of claim 5 and is therefore rejected upon the same basis.
In regard to claim 15, this claim is drawn to an encoding method, corresponding to the decoding method of claim 7, wherein claim 15 contains the encoding steps corresponding to the decoding method of claim 7 and is therefore rejected upon the same basis.
In regard to claim 16, this claim is drawn to an encoding method, corresponding to the decoding method of claim 8, wherein claim 16 contains the encoding steps corresponding to the decoding method of claim 8 and is therefore rejected upon the same basis.
In regard to claim 17, Thomas discloses a method of processing visual media data [¶0126-¶0128; process data to provide encoded/decoded video picture data], the method comprising:
processing a bitstream of the visual media data according to a format rule [¶0055; bitstream, formatted to include encoded data and an alpha channel indicator. ¶0038, ¶0064-¶0068], wherein the bitstream includes coded information of a coded picture including at least a first sample [¶0044; decoding encoded data from the bitstream in a decoded video sequence… pixels being derived from sample values of the decoded video sequence. ¶0170-¶0171], the coded picture being associated with a Supplemental Enhancement Information (SEI) message for a film grain synthesis process to be applied to the coded picture that is reconstructed [¶0115; alpha compositing or alpha blending is the process of combining one image with a background to create the appearance of partial or full transparency.. ¶0031; auxiliary pictures associated with primary pictures and SEI (Supplemental Enhancement Information) messages. ¶0106; content of said SEI message describes the post-decoding processing intended to be applied on the decoded video picture. ¶0098; alpha channel indicator is written into the bitstream. The alpha channel indicator indicates for which type of post-processing of the video sequence an alpha channel information associated with the video sequence is intended for], the SEI message for the film grain synthesis process including a syntax element indicating that alpha channel information is used in the film grain synthesis process [¶0054; alpha channel indicator is particular type of auxiliary picture signalled in an SEI message. ¶0047-¶0048; alpha channel indicator is a particular syntax element (alpha_channel_idc, alpha_channel_id) included in an alpha channel information SEI message]; and
the format rule specifies that the film grain synthesis process is applied to the first sample based at least on the alpha channel information [¶0044; determining a transparency information mask from transparency information associated with the decoded alpha channel video sequence ; and adjusting pixels transparency of the transparent screen based on the transparency information mask, said pixels being derived from sample values of the decoded video sequence. ¶0085-¶0087; different pixel's transparency adjustment operations are intended to be executed in increasing order of alpha_channel_id values. ¶0116-¶0118. ¶0032].
In regard to claim 18, this claim is drawn to a method of processing visual media data, corresponding to the decoding method of claim 2, wherein claim 18 contains the same limitations as claim 2 and is therefore rejected upon the same basis.
In regard to claim 20, this claim is drawn to a method of processing visual media data, corresponding to the decoding method of claim 4, wherein claim 20 contains the same limitations as claim 4 and is therefore rejected upon the same basis.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6, 11, 14, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Radosavljevic et al. (US 2024/0323453) – Discloses communicating a bitstream via video encoding and decoding, wherein film grain synthesis parameters are communicated with the bitstream by using supplemental enhancement information (SEI) messages [Abstract, ¶0044-¶0045].
/REBECCA A VOLENTINE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483 January 8, 2026