DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7 April 2025 and 11 June 2025 are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “receiving unit” of claims 1 and 28, the “obtaining unit” of claims 1 and 28, the “conversion unit” of claims 1 and 28, the first correction unit” of claims 1 and 28, the “estimation unit” of claim 13, the “grouping unit” of claim 16, the “second determination unit” of claim 17, the “second correction unit” of claim 19, and the “generation un it” of claim 23 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a receiving unit configured to…” in claims 1 and 28 (No Detailed Disclosure);
“an obtaining unit configured to…” in claims 1 and 28 (No Detailed Disclosure);
“a conversion unit configured to…” in claims 1 and 28 (No Detailed Disclosure);
“a first correction unit configured to…” in claims 1 and 28 (No Detailed Disclosure);
“an estimation unit configured to…” in claim 13 (No Detailed Disclosure);
“a grouping unit configured to…” in claim 16 (No Detailed Disclosure);
“a second determination unit configured to…” in claim 17 (No Detailed Disclosure);
“a second correction unit configured to…” in claim 19 (No Detailed Disclosure); and
“a generation unit configured to…” in claim 23 (No Detailed Disclosure).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitations “a receiving unit configured to…” in claims 1 and 28, “an obtaining unit configured to…” in claims 1 and 28, “a conversion unit configured to…” in claims 1 and 28, “a first correction unit configured to…” in claims 1 and 28, “an estimation unit configured to…” in claim 13, “a grouping unit configured to…” in claim 16, “a second determination unit configured to…” in claim 17, “a second correction unit configured to…” in claim 19, and “a generation unit configured to…” in claim 23 invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any detailed structure that performs the function in the claim.
Therefore, claims 1-26 and 28 are indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim 27 recites the limitation "the receiving unit.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-28 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-25 of copending Application No. 19/012,431 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims and the copending claims are obvious variations.
Below is a comparison between present claim 1 and copending claim 18:
Present claim 1
Copending claim 18
An information processing apparatus comprising:
An information processing apparatus comprising:
a receiving unit configured to receive, from an apparatus configured to sequentially transmit respective divided images into which an image has been divided, a divided image;
wherein the first obtaining unit obtains the first color information from an image in a partial area in the first image.
wherein the partial area is an area constituted by one or more divided areas obtained by dividing the image into a plurality of areas.
an obtaining unit configured to obtain, from a first divided image received by the receiving unit, color information of a first color defined in a first color gamut and color information of a second color defined in the first color gamut;
a first obtaining unit configured to obtain first color information from a first image, which includes a pixel representing color information of a first color defined in a first color gamut and a pixel representing color information of a second color defined in the first color gamut;
a conversion unit configured to perform first color conversion processing for converting the first color into a third color defined in a second color gamut different from the first color gamut and converting the second color into a fourth color defined in the second color gamut; and
a conversion unit configured to perform color conversion processing in which the corrected first conversion parameter is used on a second image different from the first image.
a first correction unit configured to, in a case where a color difference between the third color and the fourth color is smaller than a predetermined threshold, correct the conversion parameter for the first color conversion processing such that a color difference between a fifth color obtained by converting the first color into a color defined in the second color gamut and the fourth color is greater than the color difference between the third color and the fourth color,
a first correction unit configured to, in a case where a color difference between a third color defined in a second color gamut and obtained by converting the first color by color conversion processing and a fourth color defined in the second color gamut and obtained by converting the second color by the color conversion processing is less than a predetermined threshold, correct a first conversion parameter for the color conversion processing such that a color obtained by converting the first color is a fifth color whose color difference from the fourth color is greater than the color difference between the third color and the fourth color and which is different from the third color; and
wherein the obtaining unit, the conversion unit, and the first correction unit operate in response to the receiving unit receiving the divided image.
As shown above, besides wording, the main difference between the claims is that present claim 1 recites “wherein the obtaining unit, the conversion unit, and the first correction unit operate in response to the receiving unit receiving the divided image” whereas copending claim 18 fails to recite this feature. However, clearly the image needs to be received for the units to perform their functions, and thus even without the feature being recited, the units clearly function in response to receiving the image. Therefore, the claims are merely obvious wording variations claiming the same inventions, and thus are not patentably distinct.
Claims 2-28 are similarly rejected over claims 1-25 of copending Application No. 19/012,431 (reference application).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented, however, it is noted that a Notice of Allowance has been issued in the copending application.
Claims 1-28 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of copending Application No. 18/957,482 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims and the copending claims are obvious variations.
Below is a comparison between present claim 1 and copending claim 19:
Present claim 1
Copending claim 19
An information processing apparatus comprising:
An information processing apparatus comprising:
at least one processor configured to function as:
a receiving unit configured to receive, from an apparatus configured to sequentially transmit respective divided images into which an image has been divided, a divided image;
wherein the obtaining unit obtains the first color information from an image of a partial area in the image.
wherein the partial area is an area constituted by one or more divided areas obtained by dividing the image into a plurality of areas
an obtaining unit configured to obtain, from a first divided image received by the receiving unit, color information of a first color defined in a first color gamut and color information of a second color defined in the first color gamut;
an obtaining unit configured to obtain first color information from an image that
includes a pixel representing color information of a first color defined in a first color gamut and a pixel representing color information of a second color defined in the first color
gamut;
a setting unit configured to set second color information indicating particular color information;
a conversion unit configured to perform first color conversion processing for converting the first color into a third color defined in a second color gamut different from the first color gamut and converting the second color into a fourth color defined in the second color gamut; and
a conversion unit configured to execute, on the image, color conversion processing for converting the first color into a third color defined in a second color gamut and converting the second color into a fourth color defined in the second color gamut; and
a first correction unit configured to, in a case where a color difference between the third color and the fourth color is smaller than a predetermined threshold, correct the conversion parameter for the first color conversion processing such that a color difference between a fifth color obtained by converting the first color into a color defined in the second color gamut and the fourth color is greater than the color difference between the third color and the fourth color,
a first correction unit configured to:
in a case where a color difference between the third color and the fourth color is less than a predetermined threshold,
in a case where the first color is not included in the particular color
information, correct a conversion parameter in the color conversion processing such that a color obtained by converting the first color is a fifth color whose color difference from the fourth color is greater than the color difference between the third color and the fourth color and which is defined in the second color gamut, and
in a case where the first color is included in the particular color information, correct a conversion parameter in the color conversion processing such that a color obtained by converting the second color is a sixth color whose color difference from the third color is greater than the color difference between the third color and the fourth color and which is defined in the second color gamut.
wherein the obtaining unit, the conversion unit, and the first correction unit operate in response to the receiving unit receiving the divided image.
As shown above, besides wording, and the fact that the present claims are generally broader, the main difference between the claims is that present claim 1 recites “wherein the obtaining unit, the conversion unit, and the first correction unit operate in response to the receiving unit receiving the divided image” whereas copending claim 19 fails to recite this feature. However, clearly the image needs to be received for the units to perform their functions, and thus even without the feature being recited, the units clearly function in response to receiving the image. Therefore, the claims are merely obvious wording variations claiming the same inventions, and thus are not patentably distinct.
Claims 2-28 are similarly rejected over claims 1-22 of copending Application No. 18/957,482 (reference application).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-28 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 18/602,872 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims and the copending claims are obvious variations.
Below is a comparison between present claim 1 and copending claim 1:
Present claim 1
Copending claim 2
An information processing apparatus comprising:
An image processing apparatus comprising:
a receiving unit configured to receive, from an apparatus configured to sequentially transmit respective divided images into which an image has been divided, a divided image;
a division unit configured to divide the image data into a plurality of region data;
an obtaining unit configured to obtain, from a first divided image received by the receiving unit, color information of a first color defined in a first color gamut and color information of a second color defined in the first color gamut;
an image obtaining unit configured to obtain image data;
a conversion unit configured to perform first color conversion processing for converting the first color into a third color defined in a second color gamut different from the first color gamut and converting the second color into a fourth color defined in the second color gamut; and
a conversion information obtaining unit configured to obtain first color conversion information applicable to the image data;
wherein the first color conversion information is conversion information for converting a color in a first color gamut into a color in a second color gamut in a predetermined color space.
a first correction unit configured to, in a case where a color difference between the third color and the fourth color is smaller than a predetermined threshold, correct the conversion parameter for the first color conversion processing such that a color difference between a fifth color obtained by converting the first color into a color defined in the second color gamut and the fourth color is greater than the color difference between the third color and the fourth color,
a correction unit configured to correct the first color conversion information to generate second color conversion information; and
a processing unit configured to apply, to each of the plurality of region data, color conversion processing based on one of the first color conversion information and the second color conversion information, wherein for each of the plurality of region data, if a color difference between a third color and a fourth color obtained by converting a first color and a second color included in the region data based on the first color conversion information is smaller than a predetermined color difference, the correction unit generates the second color conversion information such that a color difference between a fifth color and a sixth color obtained by converting the first color and the second color based on the second color conversion information becomes larger than the predetermined color difference, and the processing unit applies color conversion processing based on the second color conversion information corresponding to each region data to at least one region data among the plurality of region data, for which the second color conversion information is generated.
wherein the obtaining unit, the conversion unit, and the first correction unit operate in response to the receiving unit receiving the divided image.
As shown above, besides wording, the main difference between the claims is that (i) present claim 1 receives the divided image whereas copending claim 2 divides the image that is obtained, and (ii) present claim 1 recites “wherein the obtaining unit, the conversion unit, and the first correction unit operate in response to the receiving unit receiving the divided image” whereas copending claim 2 fails to recite this feature. However, clearly the image needs to be received/obtained for the units to perform their functions, and thus even without the feature being recited, the units clearly function in response to receiving the image. Further, it is merely an obvious design variation as to receiving a divided image vs dividing an image that is obtained. Therefore, the claims are merely obvious wording variations claiming the same inventions, and thus are not patentably distinct.
Claims 2-28 are similarly rejected over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 18/602,872 (reference application).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5 and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (EP 0 961 488 A2) in view of Youn et al. (US 2015/0243248).
Regarding claim 1, Ito et al. disclose an information processing apparatus comprising:
a receiving unit configured to receive, from an apparatus configured to sequentially transmit respective images, an image (Figure 2, the input picture in RGB is received from the monitor 62.);
an obtaining unit configured to obtain, from a first image received by the receiving unit, color information of a first color defined in a first color gamut and color information of a second color defined in the first color gamut (Figure 2 the color information of the RGB picture is obtained, which would have R G and B, thus comprising a first color and a second color in the first color gamut of the monitor.);
a conversion unit configured to perform first color conversion processing for converting the first color into a third color defined in a second color gamut different from the first color gamut and converting the second color into a fourth color defined in the second color gamut (Paragraph [0027], gamut mapping involves transforming the colors form the first gamut [input] to the second color gamut [output gamut of the printer], thus the first color will be mapped to a third color, and the second color will be mapped to a fourth color.); and
a first correction unit configured to, in a case where a color difference between the third color and the fourth color is smaller than a predetermined threshold, correct the conversion parameter for the first color conversion processing such that a color difference between a fifth color obtained by converting the first color into a color defined in the second color gamut and the fourth color is greater than the color difference between the third color and the fourth color (Paragraphs [0018] and [0042]-[0046] detail correction, where when a color difference between the converted colors is smaller than a threshold, then correction is made such that the color difference after correction is greater.),
wherein the obtaining unit, the conversion unit, and the first correction unit operate in response to the receiving unit receiving the image (Clearly the units will only function to perform their operations when an image is received.).
Ito et al. fails to teach wherein the image is a divided image
Youn et al. disclose wherein an image is a divided image (See Figure 2, S260).
Hence the prior art includes each element claimed although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of the actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference. In combination Ito et al. performs the same function as it does separately of performing gamut mapping, and Youn et al. performs the same function as it does separately of dividing an image.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performed the same function as it does separately. The results of the combination would have been predictable and resulted in the image being a divided image and performing gamut mapping on a divided image.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 4, Ito et al. and Youn et al. disclose the information processing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the first color and the second color are colors expressed in any color space among CIE-L*a*b*, RGB, HLS, and HSV (Ito et al.: Figure 2, RGB).
Regarding claim 5, Ito et al. and Youn et al. disclose the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the second color gamut is a color reproduction gamut for printing by an image forming apparatus (Ito et al.: Figure 2, output CMYK for the printer 63.).
Regarding claim 27, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1.
Regarding claim 28, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3 and 6-26 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, AND if a Terminal Disclaimer(s) is filed to overcome the Double Patenting rejections.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Young et al. (US 2022/0084260) disclose of efficient color mapping systems and methods.
/STEPHEN G SHERMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621
22 September 2026