Response to Amendment
Applicant's argument, filed on April 09,2026 has been entered and carefully considered. Claims 1, 6, 9, 12,15 and 18 are amended. Claims 7-8,10,16-17 and 20 have been canceled and claim 21 has been added. Claims 1-6,9,11-15,18-19 and 21 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 04/09/2026 remarks have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection which is deemed appropriate to address all of the needs at this time.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 11-14,19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gomila et al. (US 2006/0215767 A1) in view of RAMASUBRAMONIAN et al.( US 2020/0204809 A1) and further in view of Date et al. ( US 2009/0010623). .
Regarding claim 1, Gomila discloses a method of video decoding([Abstract; para [0009]- method entails film grain extraction and film grain characterization at the encoder to enable the film grain restoration at the decoder), comprising: receiving a coded video bitstream comprising coded information of a coded picture and receiving a supplemental enhancement information (SEI) message associated with the coded picture([para 009; 0015;0017]- incoming image is then encoded and the film grain characterization information transmitted which allows a decoder decoding the encoded image to restore the film grain in accordance with the information transmitted. The method transmits the film grain particulars as parallel information to the video coded stream, typically as a film grain Supplemental Enhancement Information (SEI) message when using the ITU-T H.264 video coding standard), the SEI message indicating a type of film grain that is applied to a first region including on or more first samples in the coded video([claim 1-5, abstract; para 0009; 0016 and 0018]- The use of parametric models requires the transmission of the estimated set of parameters. The parameters will depend on the type of model as specified in Table 2, or in the simplest case, will correspond to a unique film grain model known a priori from the type of film as described in Table 1. The parameters of a given film grain model should allow adjustment of the size of the film grain, its intensity, its spatial correlation, its color correlation; an encoder should transmit the parameters 'a', 'b' and 'd' to allow a decoder to simulate the original film grain. Note that the parameters of the model could depend on other factors, such as signal intensity, the color component, etc; metadata accompanying the input video stream 12 could identify the type of film stock in accordance with Table 1. Using its look-up table, the Film Grain Characterizer 23 will provide the parameters for the identified film, as well as corresponding film grain model for that film; the coded film grain characterization information stream 27 can take the form of the film grain Supplemental Enhancement Information (SEI) message as defined in the ITU-T H.264 video coding standard; receiving the film grain characterization information includes the step of receiving information indicative of film grain size, intensity, spatial correlation, and color correlation; receiving the film grain characterization information as a Supplemental Enhancement Information (SEI) Message); and reconstructing the coded picture that is associated with the SEI message (para [0023]-[0024]- Once the Film Grain Characterizer of FIG. 3 disposes of both the input video 12 with film grain, and a reconstructed video 24 resulting from Video Encoder 13, it can accomplish the task of characterizing the observed film grain)) ; and reconstructing the coded picture that is associated with the SEI message([see in Fig. 3 and para 0023-0024]- Once the Film Grain Characterizer of FIG. 3 disposes of both the input video 12 with film grain, and a reconstructed video 24 resulting from Video Encoder 13, it can accomplish the task of characterizing the observed film grain); reconstructing the coded picture that is associated with the SEI message, wherein the first type of film grain for the first region is indicated by a first value that is signaled for the first region within the SEI message, the first type of film grain indicated by the first value being different from a second type of film grain of a second region in the coded picture, the second region being different from the first region([abstract and [para 0009]]- Typically, the film grain is characterized based either on the type of film, or by using a particular model. In practice, the film grain particulars are transmitted as parallel information to the video coded stream, typically as a film grain Supplemental Enhancement Information (SEI) message when using the ITU T H.264 video coding standard; [0009]-discloses the film grain is characterized based either on the type of film, or using a particular model. The incoming image is then encoded and the film grain characterization information transmitted which allows a decoder decoding the encoded image to restore the film grain in accordance with the information transmitted. The method transmits the film grain particulars as parallel information to the video coded stream, typically as a film grain Supplemental Enhancement Information (SEI) message when using the ITU-T H.264 video coding standard).
However, Gomila does not exclusively disclose that is applied to a first region including one or more first samples in the coded picture; and reconstructing the coded picture that is associated with the SEI message.
In an analogous art, RAMASUBRAMONIAN discloses a first type of film grain that is applied to a first region including one or more first samples in the coded picture([para 0012 and 0015]- The regional nesting SEI message can include a plurality of region data defining multiple regions of a picture, and multiple nested SEI messages with sets of data and region identifiers; an SEI message that may have a region-specific application or function includes a film grain characteristics SEI message, which is used to convey a parametric model for film grain synthesis to the decoder. Film grain characteristics can be perceived differently in different parts of a picture (e.g., in different regions of the picture). Enabling region-based signaling would help in describing these characteristics). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of RAMASUBRAMONIAN to the modified system of Gomila for generating regional nesting messages for video pictures doing so would improve the coding efficiency of the system [RAMASUBRAMONIAN; para 0003 and 0005].
However, the combination of Gomila and RAMASUBRAMONIAN do not exclusively disclose reconstructing the coded picture that is associated with the SEI message, wherein the first type of film grain for the first region is indicated by a first value that is signaled for the first region within the SEI message, the first type of film grain indicated by the first value being different from a second type of film grain of a second region in the coded picture, the second region being different from the first region.
In an analogous art, Date discloses reconstructing the coded picture that is associated with the SEI message, wherein the first type of film grain for the first region is indicated by a first value that is signaled for the first region within the SEI message, the first type of film grain indicated by the first value being different from a second type of film grain of a second region in the coded picture, the second region being different from the first region([para 100];[0113]- film grain reproduction information, a Film Grain Characteristic Supplemental Enhancement Information (SEI) message in H.264/AVC is known. Moreover, the film grain estimation unit A603 receives region information A607, and describes it in the film grain reproduction information. The decoding side uses the region information A607 to check if a region of interest is a region to which film grain is to be added). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Date to the modified system of Gomila and RAMASUBRAMONIAN a method of Film Grain Technology (FGT) to improve issues when a weak film grain image is added to a decoded main image, i.e., when the value of information indicating the intensity of film grain of information required to reproduce film grain is small, the occurrence of a distortion is observed at the block vertical edges of an output image. This considerably impairs the quality of an output image [Date; 0007].
Regarding claim 2, RAMASUBRAMONIAN discloses wherein the SEI message is a film grain synthesis (FGS) extension SEI message that indicates spatial information of the first region ([para 0013-0015]- the SEI message 236 include region data defining different regions of the picture 230 and metadata defining a function that is to be performed on the region of the picture 230 corresponding to the particular SEI message. For example, the SEI message 234 includes region 1 data 241 defining a first region of the picture 230; the region 1 data 241 defining the first region of the picture 230 is signaled both for metadata 242 in SEI message 234 and for metadata 245 in SEI message 236).
Regarding claim 3, RAMASUBRAMONIAN discloses wherein the spatial information of the first region comprises a location and a size of the first region([para 0132;0140 and 0210]- the region data 351 includes syntax elements associated with the boundaries that specify the location of the top-left and the bottom-right samples of the rectangular region; the nested SEI messages 352 and 353 for which the regions are associated. In some cases, a region ID can be used to indicate a priority of the regions in a picture; ms_region_size_type_idc specifies the units in which the boundaries of the regional are specified in the SEI message).
Regarding claim 4, RAMASUBRAMONIAN discloses wherein the spatial information of the first region indicates that the first region is rectangular([0126]- regional nesting SEI message can be generated and signaled that specifies rectangular regions)).
Regarding claim 5, RAMASUBRAMONIAN discloses Incorporated teaches the method includes receiving a film grain synthesis (FGS) SEI message that is associated with the coded picture, the FGS SEI message indicates spatial information of the first region, and the SEI message is different from the FGS SEI message (para [0078], [0115], [0124]-[0129]- providing regional nesting messages that each includes multiple nested messages and data defining multiple regions. An example of a regional nesting message is a regional nesting Supplemental Enhancement Information (SEI) message; a film grain characteristics SEI message; set of data in a nested message defines a function that is to be performed on the one or more regions by a decoder device, a player device, or other device. For example, a set of data can define any suitable function, such as the functions performed using the film grain characteristics SEI message; The regional nesting SEI message 350 includes region data 351 defining multiple regions in the picture and also includes multiple nested SEI messages (nested SEI message 352 and nested SEI message 353)).
Regarding claim 11, RAMASUBRAMONIAN discloses wherein the coded video bitstream includes the SEI message ([para 0108]- Supplemental Enhancement Information (SEI) messages can be included in video bitstreams. The HEVC Specification includes several SEI messages that are not necessary for decoding of coded pictures).
Regarding claim 12, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1. Hence; all limitations for claim 12 have been met in claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 5.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 11.
Regarding claim 21, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1. Hence; all limitations for claim 21 have been met in claim 1.
Claim 6,9, 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gomila in view of RAMASUBRAMONIAN and Date as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of LLACH et al.( WO 2006055208 A1).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Gomila, RAMASUBRAMONIAN and Date do not exclusively disclose wherein the SEI message indicates the type of film grain, and the type of the film grain is one of a soft film grain type, an organic film grain type, a living film grain type, a 8mm film grain type, a 16mm film grain type, a 35mm film grain type, and a 65-70mm film grain type.
In an analogous art, LLACH discloses wherein the SEI message indicates the type of film grain, and the type of the film grain is one of a soft film grain type, an organic film grain type, a living film grain type, a 8mm film grain type, a 16mm film grain type, a 35mm film grain type, and a 65-70mm film grain type([pg. 6, lines 2-4]- a film grain pattern database enables film grain simulation in accordance with the parameters in a film grain.Supplemental Enhancement Information (SEI) message according to the H.264 I MPEG-4 A VC standard as discussed above. More specifically, devices and systems that implement the existing or future HD. DVD specifications can employ such a film grain pattern database to store samples of different film grain types). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of LLACH to the modified system of Gomila, RAMASUBRAMONIAN and Date a technique for simulating film grain in an image to improve for simulating a film grain pattern [LLACH; Technical Field ].
Regarding claim 9, LLACH discloses wherein the SEI message includes a flag indicating that the one or more of (i) the type of the film grain([pg. 6, lines 2-4]- a film grain pattern database enables film grain simulation in accordance with the parameters in a film grain. Supplemental Enhancement Information (SEI) message according to the H.264 I MPEG-4 A VC standard as discussed above. More specifically, devices and systems that implement the existing or future HD. DVD specifications can employ such a film grain pattern database to store samples of different film grain types), (ii) the purpose of the film grain, and (iii) the essentiality of the film grain are available in a payload of the SEI message ([pg. 6, lines 2-4]- a film grain pattern database enables film grain simulation in accordance with the parameters in a film grain. Supplemental Enhancement Information (SEI) message according to the H.264 I MPEG-4 A VC standard as discussed above. More specifically, devices and systems that implement the existing or future HD. DVD specifications can employ such a film grain pattern database to store samples of different film grain types).
Regarding claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 9.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art are made of record and not relied upon but considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
1. Radosavljevic et al., US 2024/0323453 A1, discloses a method and an apparatus are presented for efficiently processing film grain while encoding or decoding video.
2. Wang et. al., US 2014/0192149 A1, discloses an encoded representation of the video data, a non-nested Supplemental Enhancement Information (SEI) message that is not nested within another SEI message in the bitstream.
3. SJÖBERG et al., US 2023/0016432 A1, discloses method includes obtaining a film grain model syntax element from a parameter set in a coded data representation.
4. Ramasubramonian et al., US 2017/0332085 A1, techniques and systems are described for generating messages and/or metadata to be applied to one or more regions of video picture.
5. Su et al., US 2025/0063203 A1, discloses a system, and bitstream syntax are described for metadata signaling and film-grain parameter adaptation based on a viewing environment which may differ from a reference environment.
6. MCCARTHY et al., US 2024/0179330, discloses systems, and bitstream syntax are described for metadata signaling and conversion for film grain encoding and synthesis. Given a bitstream with MPEG film-grain SEI messaging.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MD N HAQUE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487