DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “the coupling member is disposed between the first sound generating structure and a periphery portion, which is adjacent to a short side, of the second sound generating structure and is not disposed between the first sound generating structure and a periphery portion, which is adjacent to a long side, of the second sound generating structure.” recited in Claim 2;
“the coupling member is disposed between the first vibration member and a periphery portion, which is adjacent to a short side, of the second vibration member and is not disposed between the first vibration member and a periphery portion, which is adjacent to a long side, of the second vibration member.” recited in Claim 4;
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1, 3, 5 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fujise et al. (Hereinafter Fujise) US-PG-PUB No. 2012/0057730.
Regarding claim 1, Fujise teaches
A sound apparatus (Fig. 8 shows a piezoelectric acoustic transducer 3), comprising:
a first sound generating structure (Fig. 8 shows a first piezoelectric diaphragm 44);
a second sound generating structure (Fig. 8 shows a second piezoelectric diaphragm 14) spaced apart from the first sound generating structure (i.e. first piezoelectric diaphragm 44) as shown in Fig. 8;
a coupling member (Fig. 8 shows an upper frame 77) partially provided between the first sound generating structure (i.e. first piezoelectric diaphragm 44) and the second sound generating structure (i.e. second piezoelectric diaphragm 14) as shown in Fig. 8; and
a connection member (Fig. 8 shows a lower frame 81) disposed along a rear periphery portion of the first sound generating structure (i.e. first piezoelectric diaphragm 44) as shown in Fig. 8.
Regarding claim 3, Fujise teaches
The sound apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first sound generating structure (i.e. first piezoelectric diaphragm 44) comprises: a first vibration member (Fig. 8 shows a board 45); and a first vibration apparatus (Fig. 8 shows piezoelectric elements 46 and 47) coupled to the first vibration member (i.e. board 45) and configured to vibrate the first vibration member (i.e. board 45) as shown in Fig. 9A, wherein the second sound generating structure (i.e. second piezoelectric diaphragm 14) comprises: a second vibration member (Fig. 8 shows a board 15); and a second vibration apparatus (Fig. 8 shows piezoelectric elements 16 and 17) coupled to the second vibration member (i.e. board 15) and configured to vibrate the second vibration member (i.e. board 15) as shown in Fig. 9A, and wherein the coupling member (i.e. upper frame 77) is partially provided between the first vibration member (i.e. board 45) and the second vibration member (i.e. board 15) as shown in Fig. 8.
Regarding claim 5, Fujise teaches
The sound apparatus of claim 3, further comprising: a first air gap between the first vibration member (i.e. board 45) and a periphery portion as shown in Fig. 8, which is adjacent to a first long side, of the second vibration member (i.e. board 15) as shown in Fig. 8; and a second air gap between the first vibration member (i.e. board 45) and a periphery portion as shown in Fig. 8, which is adjacent to a second long side, of the second vibration member (i.e. board 15) as shown in Fig. 8.
Regarding claim 7, Fujise teaches
The sound apparatus of claim 3, wherein each of the first vibration member (i.e. board 45) and the second vibration member (i.e. board 15) comprises a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface as shown in Fig. 8, wherein the first vibration apparatus (i.e. piezoelectric elements 46 and 47) comprises one or more vibration generators coupled to one or more of the first surface and the second surface of the first vibration member (i.e. board 45) as shown in Fig. 8, and wherein the second vibration apparatus (i.e. piezoelectric elements 16 and 17) comprises one or more vibration generators coupled to one or more of the first surface and the second surface of the second vibration member (i.e. board 15) as shown in Fig. 8.
Regarding claim 8, Fujise teaches
The sound apparatus of claim 7, wherein the one or more vibration generators of each of the first vibration apparatus (i.e. piezoelectric elements 46 and 47) and the second vibration apparatus (i.e. piezoelectric elements 16 and 17) comprises: a vibration part including a piezoelectric material (Typically, the piezoelectric element has a structure in which a printed wiring formed on a surface of the board and a flat plate electrode interpose therebetween a piezoelectric member…..Para. [0017], Lines 7-10); a first electrode part at a first surface of the vibration part (Typically, the piezoelectric element has a structure in which a printed wiring formed on a surface of the board and a flat plate electrode interpose therebetween a piezoelectric member…..Para. [0017], Lines 7-10); and a second electrode part at a second surface different from the first surface of the vibration part as shown Fig. 8. Note: Para. [0044], Lines 1-4 and Para. [0065], Lines 7-11 considered pertinent.
Regarding claim 9, Fujise teaches
The sound apparatus of claim 3, wherein the first vibration apparatus (i.e. piezoelectric elements 46 and 47) comprises a first vibration generator and a second vibration generator overlapping each other with the first vibration member (i.e. board 45) therebetween as shown in Fig. 8, and wherein the second vibration apparatus (i.e. piezoelectric elements 16 and 17) comprises a third vibration generator and a fourth vibration generator overlapping each other with the second vibration member (i.e. board 15) therebetween as shown in Fig. 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azima et al. US-PAT No. 6,332,029 (Hereinafter Azima) in view of Fujise et al. (Hereinafter Fujise) US-PG-PUB No. 2012/0057730.
Regarding claim 14, Azima teaches
A vehicular apparatus (Fig. 39 shows an automobile door 140), comprising:
an interior material (Figs. 39 and 40 show a door lining 104) exposed at an interior space as shown in Fig. 39; and
at least one or more sound generating apparatuses (Figs. 39 and 40 show a loudspeaker 81) coupled to the interior material (i.e. door lining 104) and configured to output a sound to the interior space as shown in Fig. 39, and wherein the interior material (i.e. door lining 104) is coupled to the connection member (Figs. 39 and 40 show a generally rectangular thin area 2) of the sound apparatus (i.e. loudspeaker 81) as shown in Fig. 40.
Azima does not explicitly teach that the at least one or more sound generating apparatuses comprise a sound apparatus including: a first sound generating structure; a second sound generating structure spaced apart from the first sound generating structure; a coupling member partially provided between the first sound generating structure and the second sound generating structure; and a connection member disposed along a rear periphery portion of the first sound generating structure.
Fujise teaches a sound apparatus (Fig. 8 shows a piezoelectric acoustic transducer 3), comprising: a first sound generating structure (Fig. 8 shows a first piezoelectric diaphragm 44); a second sound generating structure (Fig. 8 shows a second piezoelectric diaphragm 14) spaced apart from the first sound generating structure (i.e. first piezoelectric diaphragm 44) as shown in Fig. 8; a coupling member (Fig. 8 shows an upper frame 77) partially provided between the first sound generating structure (i.e. first piezoelectric diaphragm 44) and the second sound generating structure (i.e. second piezoelectric diaphragm 14) as shown in Fig. 8; and a connection member (Fig. 8shows a lower frame 81) disposed along a rear periphery portion of the first sound generating structure (i.e. first piezoelectric diaphragm 44) as shown in Fig. 8.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify the sound apparatus of Azima to include the sound apparatus features, as taught by Fujise. The modification is to enhances a sound characteristic of the sound apparatus. The modification allows a vibration generating unit to be configured as one part of the vehicular apparatus.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Azima and Fujise teach all the features with respect to claim 14 as outlined above. Fujise teaches that the interior material comprises one or more materials of plastic (Col. 41, Lines 30-31).
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Regarding claims 2, 4, 6 and 10-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Sashida et al. US-PG-PUB No. 2007/0013270, Piezoelectric Vibrator, Fig. 3(A) shows a piezoelectric vibrator 50 of the present embodiment is so constructed that both ends of the piezoelectric vibrating plates 16 and 24 are supported by pillars 52 and 54 such that the piezoelectric vibrating plates 16 and 24 are substantially parallel to the main surface of an enclosure 12.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANGELICA M MCKINNEY whose telephone number is (571)270-3321. The examiner can normally be reached 7AM-3PM EST M-F. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Vivian Chin can be reached at 571-272-7848. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ANGELICA M MCKINNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2694