DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argue the prior arts do not disclose “dump the cached images located in the buffer at a time of the indication of the abnormal event…enhance the detected event video to create a good quality video based on the cached images dumped from the buffer”. The Examiner disagrees. Figure 2 and Paragraph 48 of Fiore et al teach: “The signal processor 10 also includes an event processor 16 that is adapted to extract data frames starting from a data frame that is a predetermined number of data frames before the external event time provided by the server 20 as described in further detail below, and ending a predetermined number of data frames after the external event time. The extracted data frames are then stored in file system 17 thereby providing a permanent record of the data frames before, during, and after the event prior to the data frames being overwritten in the circular storage buffer 15 by more recent data frames…the event processor 16 of the present embodiment is also adapted to mark the input signal data being stored in the circular storage buffer 15 when an event occurs to thereby flag the location of an occurrence of an external event in the circular storage buffer 15”. So Fiore teach when an event is detected, frames (of the events) stored in the circular buffer 15 are extracted and transferred to the file system 17 for permanent record. These teaching corresponds to the claimed “dump the cached images located in the buffer at a time of the indication of the abnormal event”.
Gopinath also teaches, see paragraph 13: when some event occurs in the FOV of the network camera, the system 10 automatically triggers the use of enhance quality parameters in the camera to improve video quality. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enhance quality of image based on the images from the buffer of Fiore since the images of the buffer are part of the event.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6-10, 13, 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gopinath (US 2010/0283857) and further in view of Fiore et al (US 2002/0191952).
For claim 1, Gopinath teaches an information handling system comprising:
a camera to capture a plurality of images associated with the information handling system (e.g. figure 1, cameras 22…24);
a vision processor to communicate with the camera (e.g. figure 1, paragraph 15: video processors 26…28); and the processor to: receive an indication of an abnormal event for the information handling system (e.g. paragraph 13: “The automatic change in video quality of the camera can be triggered in the case of detection of any of a number of different types of predetermined events (e.g., motion or activity in the FOV of the camera, detected camera sabotage, any I/O or network related event, alarms from algorithms running on the camera…”);
enhance the detected event video to create a good quality video (e.g. paragraph 13: “When some event occurs in the FOV of the network camera, the system 10 automatically triggers the use of enhanced quality parameters in the camera to improve the video quality for some time after the event. This time period can be user configurable (e.g., 30 seconds, 1 minute, 2 minutes etc). ”); and
store the good quality video in a memory of the information handling system, wherein the good quality video provides information associated with the abnormal event (e.g. paragraphs 12, 17, figure 1: video is transmitted to the security system 16 or server).
Gopinath also teaches, see paragraph 13: when some event occurs in the FOV of the network camera, the system 10 automatically triggers the use of enhance quality parameters in the camera to improve video quality. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enhance quality of image based on the images from the buffer since the images of the buffer are part of the event (e.g. the teaching of Fiore et al below shows that some of the event images are stored in the circular buffer).
Gopinath does not further disclose a processor to communicate with the vision processor; based on the indication of the abnormal event, dump the cached images located in the buffer at a time of the indication of the abnormal event create a detected event video based on the cached images dumped from the buffer; enhance the detected event video to create a good quality video based on the cached images dumped from the buffer.
Fiore et al teach a processor to communicate with the vision processor (e.g. abstract, figure 4: event processor connects with storage control 14); a processor to communicate with the vision processor; based on the indication of the abnormal event, dump the cached images located in the buffer at a time of the indication of the abnormal event create a detected event video based on the cached images dumped from the buffer. (e.g. paragraph 47-48: “The signal processor 10 also includes an event processor 16 that is adapted to extract data frames starting from a data frame that is a predetermined number of data frames before the external event time provided by the server 20 as described in further detail below, and ending a predetermined number of data frames after the external event time. The extracted data frames are then stored in file system 17 thereby providing a permanent record… the event processor 16 of the present embodiment is also adapted to mark the input signal data being stored in the circular storage buffer 15 when an event occurs to thereby flag the location of an occurrence of an external event in the circular storage buffer 15”). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of the Fiore et al into the teaching of Gopinath to allow playback of stored video from buffer without interrupting simultaneous recording of new input signal (e.g. abstract, Fiore et al) to improve the robustness of the system.
Claim 10 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 1 above.
For claims 6 and 15, Gopinath executes an image model to enhance the detected event video (e.g. paragraphs 18: frame rate, resolution and bit rate; or paragraph 22: high range).
For claims 7 and 16, Gopinath teaches determine whether to provide the good quality video to a server; and in response to reception of a provide video notification, transmit the good quality video to the server (e.g. paragraph 13: “When some event occurs in the FOV of the network camera, the system 10 automatically triggers the use of enhanced quality parameters in the camera to improve the video quality for some time after the event. This time period can be user configurable (e.g., 30 seconds, 1 minute, 2 minutes etc).”).
For claims 9 and 18, Gopinath teaches detected event video is a low resolution video (e.g. paragraphs 18: frame rate, resolution and bit rate; or paragraph 22: high range).
For claims 8 and 17, Gopinath teaches in response to reception of a provide video notification, the processor to provide the good quality video for output on a graphical user interface of the information handling system (e.g. figure 3, paragraph 13: “When some event occurs in the FOV of the network camera, the system 10 automatically triggers the use of enhanced quality parameters in the camera to improve the video quality for some time after the event. This time period can be user configurable (e.g., 30 seconds, 1 minute, 2 minutes etc); paragraphs 12, 17, figure 1: video is transmitted to the security system 16 or server. Figure 3 also shows video can be display on a monitor).
For claims 4 and 13, Gopinath teaches determine whether another individual other than a user of the information handling system has accessed the information handling system; and in response to the another individual having accessed the information handling system, provide the indication of the abnormal event to the processor, wherein the abnormal event is the another individual having accessed the information handling system (e.g. paragraph 25: if cameras sabotage is detected (e.g., changing the FOV, blinding, blurring of video images, etc.), the camera video parameters can be altered automatically.).
Claims 2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gopinath and Fiore et al, as applied to claims 1,4, 6-10, 13, 15-18 above, and further in view of Mimar (US 2014/0139655).
For claims 2 and 11, Gopinath and Fiore et al do not further disclose a free fall processor to determine whether a free fall event has occurred in the information handling system; and in response to a detected free fall event, provide the indication of the abnormal event to the processor, wherein the abnormal event is the detected free fall event. Mimar teaches a free fall processor to determine whether a free fall event has occurred in the information handling system; and in response to a detected free fall event, provide the indication of the abnormal event to the processor, wherein the abnormal event is the detected free fall event (e.g. paragraph 187: “The device also contains a free-fall detector, and when detected, it will send an email showing time of fall…and associated video. The video will include three clips, one for each camera). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Mimar into the teaching Gopinath and Fiore et al to monitor tampering (e.g. paragraph 187, Mimar) to improve the robustness of the system.
Claims 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gopinath and Fiore et al, as applied to claims 1, 4, 6-10, 13, 15-18 above, and further in view of Atsumo (US 2023/0120235).
For claims 3 and 12, Gopinath and Fiore et al do not further disclose a shock event processor to determine whether a shock event has occurred in the information handling system; and in response to a detected shock event, provide the indication of the abnormal event to the processor, wherein the abnormal event is the detected shock event. Atsumo teaches a shock event processor to determine whether a shock event has occurred in the information handling system; and in response to a detected shock event, provide the indication of the abnormal event to the processor, wherein the abnormal event is the detected shock event (e.g. paragraph 4: there is a drive recorder in which an event such as an impact shock detected by an acceleration sensor is synchronized with the captured video, and the synchronized data is stored in an external storage such as an SD card. As a result, for example, it becomes possible to identify and clip the video data at a date and time of the impact shock due to an accident to the vehicle.). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Atsumo into the teaching Gopinath and Fiore et al to monitor tampering to improve the robustness of the system.
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gopinath, in view Fiore et al, in view of Mimar and further in view of Atsumo.
For claim 19, Gopinath teaches , Gopinath teaches an information handling system comprising:
a camera to capture a plurality of images associated with the information handling system (e.g. figure 1, cameras 22…24);
a vision processor to communicate with the camera (e.g. figure 1, paragraph 15: video processors 26…28); and
the processor to:
receive an indication of an abnormal event for the information handling system (e.g. paragraph 13: “The automatic change in video quality of the camera can be triggered in the case of detection of any of a number of different types of predetermined events (e.g., motion or activity in the FOV of the camera, detected camera sabotage, any I/O or network related event, alarms from algorithms running on the camera…”);
enhance the detected event video to create a good quality video (e.g. paragraph 13: “When some event occurs in the FOV of the network camera, the system 10 automatically triggers the use of enhanced quality parameters in the camera to improve the video quality for some time after the event. This time period can be user configurable (e.g., 30 seconds, 1 minute, 2 minutes etc). ”); and
store the good quality video in a memory of the information handling system, wherein the good quality video provides information associated with the abnormal event (e.g. paragraphs 12, 17, figure 1: video is transmitted to the security system 16 or server);
Gopinath also teaches, see paragraph 13: when some event occurs in the FOV of the network camera, the system 10 automatically triggers the use of enhance quality parameters in the camera to improve video quality. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enhance quality of image based on the images from the buffer since the images of the buffer are part of the event (e.g. the teaching of Fiore et al below shows that some of the event images are stored in the circular buffer).
Gopinath does not further disclose cache the images; a processor to communicate with the vision processor; based on the indication of the abnormal event, create a detected event video based on the cached images; a free fall processor to: determine whether a free fall event has occurred in the information handling system; and in response to a detected free fall event, provide the indication of the abnormal event to the processor, wherein the abnormal event is the detected free fall event; a shock event processor to: determine whether a shock event has occurred in the information handling system; and in response to a detected shock event, provide the indication of the abnormal event to the processor, wherein the abnormal event is the detected shock event.
Fiore et al teach a processor to communicate with the vision processor (e.g. abstract, figure 4: event processor connects with storage control 14); a processor to communicate with the vision processor; based on the indication of the abnormal event, dump the cached images located in the buffer at a time of the indication of the abnormal event create a detected event video based on the cached images dumped from the buffer. (e.g. paragraph 47-48: “The signal processor 10 also includes an event processor 16 that is adapted to extract data frames starting from a data frame that is a predetermined number of data frames before the external event time provided by the server 20 as described in further detail below, and ending a predetermined number of data frames after the external event time. The extracted data frames are then stored in file system 17 thereby providing a permanent record… the event processor 16 of the present embodiment is also adapted to mark the input signal data being stored in the circular storage buffer 15 when an event occurs to thereby flag the location of an occurrence of an external event in the circular storage buffer 15”). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of the Fiore et al into the teaching of Gopinath to allow playback of stored video from buffer without interrupting simultaneous recording of new input signal (e.g. abstract, Fiore et al) to improve the robustness of the system.
Gopinath and Fiore et al do not further disclose a free fall processor to: determine whether a free fall event has occurred in the information handling system; and in response to a detected free fall event, provide the indication of the abnormal event to the processor, wherein the abnormal event is the detected free fall event; a shock event processor to: determine whether a shock event has occurred in the information handling system; and in response to a detected shock event, provide the indication of the abnormal event to the processor, wherein the abnormal event is the detected shock event.
Mimar teaches a free fall processor to: determine whether a free fall event has occurred in the information handling system; and in response to a detected free fall event, provide the indication of the abnormal event to the processor, wherein the abnormal event is the detected free fall event (e.g. paragraph 187: “The device also contains a free-fall detector, and when detected, it will send an email showing time of fall…and associated video. The video will include three clips, one for each camera). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Mimar into the teaching Gopinath and Fiore et al to monitor tampering (e.g. paragraph 187, Mimar) to improve the robustness of the system.
Gopinath, Fiore et al and Mimar do not further disclose a shock event processor to: determine whether a shock event has occurred in the information handling system; and in response to a detected shock event, provide the indication of the abnormal event to the processor, wherein the abnormal event is the detected shock event.
Atsumo teaches a shock event processor to: determine whether a shock event has occurred in the information handling system; and in response to a detected shock event, provide the indication of the abnormal event to the processor, wherein the abnormal event is the detected shock event.(e.g. paragraph 4: there is a drive recorder in which an event such as an impact shock detected by an acceleration sensor is synchronized with the captured video, and the synchronized data is stored in an external storage such as an SD card. As a result, for example, it becomes possible to identify and clip the video data at a date and time of the impact shock due to an accident to the vehicle.). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Atsumo into the teaching Gopinath, Fiore et al and Mimar to monitor tampering to improve the robustness of the system.
For claim 20, Gopinath teaches determine whether to provide the good quality video to a server; and in response to reception of a provide video notification, transmit the good quality video to the server (e.g. paragraphs 12, 17, figure 1: video is transmitted to the security system 16 or server).
Claims 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gopinath and Fiore et al, as applied to claims 1, 4, 6-10, 13, 15-18 above, and further in view of Rabii (US 2012/0147531).
For claims 5 and 14, Gopinath and Fiore et al do not further disclose prior to reception of the indication of the abnormal event, the vision processor operates in a low power mode. Rabii teaches prior to reception of the indication of the abnormal event, the vision processor operates in a low power mode (e.g. paragraph 32: a relatively high power sensor of the apparatus 402 may transition to a dormant mode while a relatively low power sensor (e.g., an echolocator) is activated in order to maintain environmental awareness and improve battery life of the apparatus 402.). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Rabii into the teaching Gopinath and Fiore et al to maintain environmental awareness and improve battery life (e.g. paragraph 32, Rabii).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Email: daquan.zhao1@uspto.gov.
Phone: (571)270-1119
/DAQUAN ZHAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484